Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Statolounger Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Statolounger Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

The Donovan Black Recliner by Stratford offers comfortable seating for your favorite activities, such as watching television, knitting, reading, gaming and napping. This item features durable construction and stitching for added support. Adults and kids alike will enjoy this contemporary piece. Place this tufted recliner in a living room, family room, home entertainment center or library. It's suitable for compact-size apartments, as well as full-scale homes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation84%16 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Just what we needed

05/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a small living room and I wanted a recliner that looked like a normal living room chair, but still was tall enough to provide head support for Hubby who is over 6 ft. This is it!
We got one for me for Mothers day and since Hubby fits in it comfortably, He gets one on Fathers day. We each have napped in it. just need a small head pillow to watch tv and sometimes a lumbar pillow for the Mr.
It is nice looking real leather where ever your body touches, and matching vinyl in the other areas--really does match and looks and feels like leather.
To recline you push your body back and the foot support comes up.
When sitting, Hubby's feet touch the floor, mine do not (I'm 5'5) unless I have a pillow at my back.
The the seat of the chair is 22" in Length and 21" wide. From the seat to the top of the chair is 26".
We used site to store free shipping and got it home in our van (Walmart employee will take it out to your car for you)
To assemble you just screw in the legs, and slip the back in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 2 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

great chair

11/28/2008
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks clean slick and modern. Doesnt take up nearly as much room as the usual recliners. I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Not what I ordered

02/13/2009
By ,
Pine Bluff, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the Donovan Recliner. It was supposed to be "Product in Inches (L x W x H): 34.0 x 38.0 x 36.0" The chair I received was ONLY 30 INCHES WIDE. The chair was also supposed to have smooth arms. There is a seam across the middle of each arm. Now I have to find some way to get it back to Walmart to return it. Not happy at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 4 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Great Recliner

05/26/2008
By ,
philly
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recliner is the best chair anyone can ever own, very relaxing to seat or sleep in and looks great...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Fantastic Chair !!!!

01/26/2009
By ,
New York,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this chair. Its the right size for most rooms and looks great also! Real comfortable. You can just sit back and recline and fall asleep in this chair.
We looked at alot of recliners and this the most affordable, but still a high quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Just what I wanted

03/13/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The chair is comfortable and fits well in a not-so-roomy space. As I read in other reviews, it is rather high up off the floor. Someone said they purchased different "feet" and the chair looks great and the owner can now touch the floor with their feet while sitting upright. I may end up doing that, but for now I thought I'd enjoy the "free" feeling of dangling my feet. (Makes me feel young again!) It was easy to set up and looks very nice in the living room. It doesn't have a lever to make it recline -- one must push back and/or use their arms to recline the chair. This is what I wanted, but if you aren't looking for that, then this wouldn't be the chair for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Perfect size for a smaller room

02/16/2009
By ,
Milton, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very comfortable recliner although a bit higher off floor than I expected. Nicely sized for a smaller room. Well worth the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

very comfy

12/05/2008
By ,
Las Vegas,NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this chair! It not too big and not too small! It's the perfect size and very comfy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

You should always sit in a chair before buying it

03/17/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The chair is a beauty. I am quite pleased with the style. It does sit a little higher than I had expected. It leans back when you recline so it is not something that can be used for eating and reclyning or lap top and reclyning or watching tv and reclyning I would probably not have purchased it if I had known that. Although it is beautiful as long as you don't need to use it as I do. I'm sure you could recline in it for a nap say or just sit in it quite confortably.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 10 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

recliner

07/11/2010
By ,
Remus, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up my recliner 2 weeks ago and have enjoyed it ever since. It is easy to assemble and looks great. I wanted a small recliner for a reading area and this worked out great. I'm 6'2" and have no problem reclining comfortably in the chair. I like the taller legs because it doesn't look so much like a recliner and without the side handle you can't tell that it is. I am considering another one for a bedroom area. All in all I'm very happy with it and with the speed it was delivered to the store for pickup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

comfortable when reclined

02/13/2009
By ,
cleveland, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This chair is most comfortable when reclining. I put a small flat pillow behind my head to watch TV and it's perfect. I found the chair feet/legs to be too tall and my feet didn't reach the floor when chair was not reclined. I bought new short, round feet at the hardware store and put sliders on them and it really improved the chair in looks and in comfort. (cost about $12, well worth it!) Chair is a good size, not huge like most recliners. I'm glad I bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Not as anticipated

03/08/2009
By ,
Tucson, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had read all the reviews on this recliner before purchasing and really had high expectations. I was disappointed, the foot rest on the recliner does not come up high enough to elevate your feet and it is not very comfortable to sit in. At this point my dog is enjoying the chair more! The legs made the chair sit so high off the ground, I finally took them off. Chair was just not what I had expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Donovan Recliner

01/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a site to store purchase, my first. This was one of the easiest orders ever as it came early and was waiting for me at the store. I really like the ease of putting this chair together. Be advised it's big and heavy so have some help with you. It is a very nice chair and it looks really good. I'd buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Just right!

02/15/2009
By ,
Hyden, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair is like Papa Bear's in "Goldilocks and the Three Bears," just right. I wanted a chair that wasn't as large as most recliners. The chair looks great, is comfortable and is easy clean. Three steps to put together: (1) screw on legs, (2) snap in back, (3) snap on back cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

not bad for the price

05/14/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the back isnt as cushiony as it looks in the picture and it could use locking feature to keep it reclined but i got use to it already. i'm 5'10 180lbs and is a good size for me. quality is okay, it should last as long as its not abused. it was also the best deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Great product for the Money

12/29/2008
By ,
Jacksonville Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was actually very surprised at this recliner for the price. Looks great and feels very comfortable and for under $300.00 this was a great find. There was numerous delays in the shipping but overall I am happy with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Great chair

03/24/2009
By ,
Howell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this chair for my son's room and it is a perfect fit. The chair is a perfect size for a bedroom. Quality of the chair is good and I used ship to store which was fast and saved on shipping costs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Great Chair!

05/09/2010
By ,
Twin Lakes, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We'd never ordered furniture online before and were surprised by the quality of this product. Looks great, sits great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Donovan Recliner by Stratford, Black

Very Comfortable

10/18/2008
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair is very comfortable and the price was great. Thanks a lot! I am really enjoying this chair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points