Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Eureka Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Eureka Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%117 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Unbelievable for Price!

12/20/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I received this vacuum as a gift. It is unbelievably powerful, and my husband has already vacuumed the house 3 times in one day he loves it so much (and the man is NOT a neat freak or anything close to it). We had a Bissell bagless that was just terrible. We also had a Hoover Wind Tunnel Light that was ok, but not shockingly great like this vacuum. I just can't say enough about the performance of this vacuum. I will say this though: We have 2 dogs and 2 cats indoors and you would no longer know it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Gets The Job Done

03/14/2009
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product based on the consumer reviews and so far it meets my expectations. It does a great job of cleaning my berber carpets and tile floor. Although the pedal is a bit difficult to release, I find that if I use my heel it's easier to release. It is heavy, however, the description on the box does state that it's 25 pounds. The attachments are great for cleaning between sofa cushions and floor crevices. We own a Shiba Inu Dog and this breed SHEDS! The vacuum does a great job in retrieving all the hair. Overall I think for $150 it's a great buy. Surely you can buy a better product, but the cost will be over $300. I do recommend this vacuum.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Best Vac ever

11/05/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vac I have ever owned .We read reviews for everthing we buy. They were all great and correct. It is a little heavy like everyone says but the job it does is amazing. Our carpet is 10 mos old, the old bagless never pulled the pile back up.It always left dust and dirt eveywhere. When you switch it on you better have a hold of it,it will take off across the room. I will never buy a messy bagless again. Take the full bag out and throw it away.NO Mess no extra clean up. And no washing filters every month. If you need a new vac ,buy this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

BEST VACUUM EVER HAD !!

01/07/2008
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely worth every penny! I researched all before my purchase. Bought a bagless (thought
it would be wonderful not to have to buy bags) wrong ! The bagless was soo messy. This vacuum
has GREAT suction power and almost vacuums by
itself, it takes off when you turn it on. I have told
all my friends to buy this and would highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Eureka Euphoria!

02/13/2009
By ,
Indian Trail, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a newlywed & recent homeonwer, I finally realized I need a real vacuum cleaner. We have a 2-story home, we have carpet upstairs, hardwood downstairs & a dog. So I wanted a vacuum that will do it all. And I'm sooo happy this is it. First off the price is great, I really didn't think I'd get a good product for under $200. There is no need to cough up all that money on a dyson. I checked reviews from other owners & from consumer report & this vacuum had the best reviews at a great price. I love that it really cleans the dog hair off our furniture. We have a short-haired dog, & she's not allowed on the furniture (she's 75lbs) & yet her hair is still everywhere. Our livingroom furniture is tan microfiber material & the hair gets stuck on it. The upholsery nozzle has excellent suction-does the job! And I love the crevice tool b/c it really gets all the dust & hair along the wall. Even the brushroll is great for dusting. Totall recommend this vacuum!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Careful how you use it

12/23/2008
By ,
Aurora, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Eureka Smartvac 4870 because it was a "best Buy" or check rated by Consumer Reports.
In order to test it, I first vacuumed a room using my old "Tristar" vacuum which was supposedly a highly rated vacuum.
I was flabbergasted at how much dirt was in the bag of the Eureka after I went over the same area with it.
It will not go under a bed, or any of my furniture, or I would rate it higher. You can hit the release button a second time to lay it down flat, but it is still too high for a bed or furniture. I will go under my coffee table though.
My caution is if you press down too hard on the front of the machine while the beater bar is running, it disengages something, and acts like the belt has broken.
What I found out today by calling Eureka is if you rotate the carpet thickness lever from high carpet to bare floor four times, it resets the belt.
I am amazed at how much dirt I am getting up!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

The vacuum is GREAT!

04/07/2009
By ,
Concord, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Consumer Reports (this one is a recommended best buy) and the reviews here on this site I bought this vacuum. This thing is amazing! It floats around my house picking up all the darned dog and cat hair---my rugs look like new, and the floors are hairless. I am MUCH happier with a bag model (like this one is) than the bagless I used to have. Bagless vacuums are just plain gross and mine always smelled like wet dog (from all the dog hair)--not a single whiff of any bad smells out of this one.
I highly recommend this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

NOT built to last

02/21/2009
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a great vacuum for about 6 months ...went to use and it just would not turn on! No smoke, no sparks, no noise -- nadda!
I gave vacuum constant cleaning and care, so I do not attribute this malfunction due to neglect. Maybe, I got a 'lemon' ...maybe.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Sucks! - In a good way.

01/31/2008
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to buy a vacuum with a bag this time. After my last vacuum broke, I was desperate for an inexpensive vacuum so I wasted my money on a cheap bagless. I immediately returned it and invested in this Eureka. What can I say... I love it!
This vacuum has the strongest suction ever. Easy to operate, quieter than most, and feels good to operate. It's a little difficult to move back and forth because it's sucking so hard on my carpet and the vacuum is a little heavy. I also thought it was a little expensive for what you get, and I wasn't excited about the ugly green color. It doesn't include many bells & whistles, only a couple small attachments but honestly I rarely ever use them anyhow. But I have to say, it's one of the best investments I've made in awhile because this vacuum cleans up the stuff my old vacuum left behind. I'll be purchasing a lot more bags soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Great Cleaning Value

03/08/2009
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched vacuums and narrowed it down to three. We chose this one for the Consumer Reports great value rating and the reasonable price. When we brought it home we immediately tested it out on a new area rug that was shedding lots of wool. The vacuum did a great job. We cleaned several other rooms, and then the sofas using the tube attachment. Still great work and easy to use. However, when we went to vacuum the bedroom carpet, the machine had no suction. We fiddled with it and spent some time trying to figure out what had gone wrong. We finally realized that the belt had come off. When we got the belt back in place, all was working well again. So far, so good, but I hope the belt problem is not a recurring issue. We have had the vacuum for two weeks and so far are very pleased with its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum
09/27/2011
By ,
St. Aug, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is THE single worst vaccuum I've ever had in my life. Every single time I use it, I cuss like a sailor because I hate it sooo bad. It is durable...I'll say that...I've been trying to tear it up so I can sling this beast in a ditch. My lower legs get sandblasted from the dirt it misses and then shoots it out the back. I have to vacuum in a circle several times to get the dang dirt it misses and sprays everywhere behind it. It's just awful and I regret getting it sooo bad. Oh! And every now and again, the power button doesn't stay on and you have to keep trying until it decides to. Once turned off, you better have a dust pan and brush handy because you need it to sweep up the pile of dirt it leaves where you park it. I will never own one of these again and I'll be happy to retire this heap!!
Pros: Design
Cons: Cord Length, Ease of Use, Suction, Size & Weight
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bakersfield, CA
Posted 09/17/2012
YOU are a crack up. Thanks for your review and for making me laugh.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Great Product

12/23/2007
By ,
Chicago, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum cleaner I've bought. I cleans my carpets very well and I love the fact that I can just use the hose to clean my computer table and keyboard. It's lightweight and very easy to use and it cleans the bare floors!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Fabulous Vacuum for Cheap Price

03/27/2008
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!!!! Thats what I think of this vacuum.... I researced and researched the kind of vacuum I was to buy next.
This vacuum has awesome sucking capabilities.. and literally in a way moves itself along with you. I can't say enough good things about this vacuum. Very easy to put together, a few snaps here, 4 screws and bam it was done... All around Great vacuum for a fraction of the price on something you would think should cost way more.
The only Con to this vacuum would be it's weight. But really who doesn't need a good workout once in awhile. and it's only heavy to move up and down stairs. maybe you live somewhere without stairs.
After having my last vacuum for 4 years I honestly forgot what it was like to use a vacuum that actually worked... My how I love to vacuum now. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Hard to use

11/23/2008
By ,
Hartford, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found it very hard to press the release. Feels like I'm going to break it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Best Vacuum Ever!

05/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never write reviews on products but when I bought this vacuum I was blown away by how great it works so I just had to share! I just moved into my new home and I needed a strong vacuum to clean the house. At first when I opened the box, I have to agree with some of the other users about the plastic parts not being durable. However, this vacuum works like a charm! It was easy to assemble and very powerful. The best part is that it comes with a small duster; a brush-like apparatus with a hole in the middle that attaches to the hose. IT WORKS WONDERS FOR DUSTING!!! I always had a dusting problem because dusters just throw the dust into the air but this vacuum will sweep and suck the dust in. That alone makes this worth the purchase and the price is a steal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Great Heavy Duty Vacuum

12/03/2008
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I could give this vac 20 stars I would. It cleans super, has great features, feels like it will last, and doesn't clog up. It is a bit on the heavy side but I attribute that to the power and construction. Just put it on a higher carpet level setting and it pushes easier. I LOVE the fact that the beater bar stops when you put it in the upright postion - great when using the hose. And I love the Floor/Hose dial. As a suggestion, I couldn't find the bags locally so ordered them off eBay for a very good price. My husband was a bit hesitant to buy this one as it was more expensive than the one he was looking at, but am I glad we did. After returning a bagless Eureka that clogged after every 10 feet of vacuuming, I'm now a happy vacuumer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

EUREKA!!!!!!!!

08/24/2008
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I NEEDED TO PURCHASE A NEW VACUUM AND DID A LOT OF RESEARCH TO FIND THE BEST BUY & THE BEST VALUE. I READ ALOT (!!!) OF CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON THIS WAL MART WEB SITE AND TOOK WHAT CUSTOMERS SAID INTO CONSIDERATION SINCE WE ARE THE PEOPLE WHO USE THE PRODUCT, NOT JUST TESTING THEM. THIS WAS PRODUCT WAS AT THE TOP OF MY LIST. I THEN READ THE CONSUMER REPORTS ISSUE, THAT MY FATHER KEEPS, AND THIS WAS RATED A CR BEST BUY. I WAS SO HAPPY TO SEE THIS IN THE STORE AND NOT ONE THAT HAD TO BE ORDERED ON LINE. HAD IT TOGETHER IN 5 MINUTES AND USED IT RIGHT AWAY. VERY POWERFUL AND I WAS VERY PLEASED. UNLESS I'M NOT PUTTING THE DUSTING BRUSH IN CORRECTLY, IT FALLS OUT WHEN I USE THE MACHINE. MY ONLY COMPLAINT. THIS PURCHASE WAS WELL WORTH THE MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

The MOST EXCELLENT Picker Upper

05/28/2008
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like others, I researched for the best product at the best price before I purchased this vacuum. Based on Consumer Reports reviews, I knew I was purchasing this vacuum when I walked in the store. It is everything everyone says it is in all of these reviews. It has a lot of power and is easy to maneuver, except that it is heavy, but who cares when you're getting such value for your money? I gave 3 stars for features, since the on/off switch could be in a more convenient place, and the foot release is a bit awkward, but performance outweighs features. I have a dog and two cats and pet hair is no problem for this vacuum. I would purchase this same one over and over, although I suspect this one is going to last me for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum
09/01/2008
By ,
puyallup,Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THINGS I DON'T LIKE ABOUT THIS VACUME,
1.The hose ALWAYS comes off when I vacume and most of the time within mere seconds of starting.
2.It doesn't pick up things like Cheerios very well when I go over them so I always need to take out the vacume for that part
3.I have had this vacume for about 9 months and the hose already has a huge hole in it.
THINGS I LIKE ABOUT THIS VACUME,
1.It has very good suction
2.The bag only takes a few seconds to put in.SO easy!
3.I like the round handle.It makes it very easy and comfortable to vacume.
4.I like the clear hose.So theres no confusion if it gets clogged(It hasen't clogged though).
5.IT HAS A ONE YEAR WARANTY!!I recently noticed a huge hole in the hose.The other day I called to speak with someone about it.Honestly,I was prepared to go to battle with someone if I needed to.But the lady was very friendly and fast.She said that my new hose would be in the mail within 5-10 buisness days.No problems at all.She said all their vacumes had a 1 year waranty.
I would recommend this vacume to people.It might be a little heavy to push for someone with back problems so you might want to go to your neighborhood Walmart and try to pick one up in the vacume section to see if it is too heavy to pick up.
God Bless!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Eureka Boss SmartVac Ultra HEPA Upright Vacuum

Great Value

06/20/2008
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to write to tell everyone how much I love this vacuum. I used to have a Dirt Devil upright and liked it very much but it broke. I then bought another Dirt Devil bagless and HATED it! All I ever seemed to do was empty the cup, clean the filter and reassemmble. So I went out and bought this vacuum. It is a little heavy, but it does a great job! It really picks up the dirt. You can even see the suction pulling in any crumbs from the sides of the vacuum. It was reasonably priced and is fantastic! You can really feel it pulling the carpet so you know it is cleaning deep into the rug. I am very happy I bought this product. And what a joy to not have to deal with a bagless vacuum!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next