Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GE GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Average Customer Rating:
2.872 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation41%16 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Gosh that thing is big!

04/15/2008
By ,
Washington, D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sent this product as a gift to my daughter in college in Boca Raton, Florida. She had been complaining all year of not having a microwave. Well, mere days after I placed the order she called me to say "Mom, thanks so much for the microwave, but did you know that this thing is HUGE? I had to get a BOY to carry it for me to my room. And, I could cook a turkey in it, if I wanted to!" I was surprised. Not being a connoisseur of microwaves, I actually thought 1.4 cubic feet was kind of small and would fit nicely in her tiny dormitory room. Anyway, she loves it and has put the TV on top of it. I suppose that way she can watch it make popcorn and view her movies at the same time. I hear that it's made her quite popular with her friends who all congregate in her room to use it. LOL! Well, we love it and I'm extremely grateful to Walmart for making this item available at such a reasonable price and for delivering it so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Great value.

03/19/2008
By ,
New Orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I inherited an earlier model of an extremely similar microwave and after 8 years of daily home use, last night it started making a horrible noise all of a sudden. I think 8 years isn't too bad of a service record and GE, according to a certain consumer's rating magazine, owns 30% of the market and has a repair record about equal to the other top brands. This is a very nice one, with more space inside, more powerful, and two new features we wanted: a humidity sensor to help with single button cook settings and the ability to turn down or even mute the beeping of the button pad. One thing that makes a GE a nice option is the 30-second "express cook" button, in addition to the more common 1-6 minute buttons. Finally, it runs even more quietly than the old one did. I'm looking forward to several years of use out of this nice little unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

won't heat-worked 6 days!

04/04/2008
By ,
Ironton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought our microwave on Tuesday and the following Monday it quit heating. It would run and the panel would light up but no heat! Loved the design, size and the many cooking choices. We took it back and while waiting at the return desk we saw another microwave, same brand and model, sitting on the counter....with a sicker on it "won't work"...so we went with another brand. Makes me wonder if the problem wasn't a minor something that wasn't connected good....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Not a good purchase

06/11/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this and thought, because of the reviews, this would be wonderful. It was for about a week. Then we started having problems with it actually cooking. We thought it was a fluke so continued to use it, as it usually worked. Now it does not heat at all. We called GE to see what we could do since this is brand new. They wanted to send a service person out to look at it for $80+. I thought, we might as well get a new one, what if something else breaks on it and we have to pay the service person again. Unless GE gets back to us about a refund, I doubt I will be buying any GE products when we remodel our kitchen. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

this model seems like a dud

06/13/2008
By ,
IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The microwave cooked oatmeal and baked potatoes, but couldn't heat up canned veggies in a glass or microwavable bowl. Considering the other reviews, I think it's just hit or miss with this product. My mom bought it for me as a gift, and I called her today to see if she kept the receipt. I'm hoping she has because I'm not happy with the microwave though I was happy with it in the beginning. It did burn a brownie dessert which was being cooked in a plastic bowl. I really don't think this incident had anything to do with the microwave overall.
GE is a strong brand, so I thought. Why not make every appliance reliable?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 6 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

A Dud!

09/09/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this product about 4 months ago and we really liked the features and appearence. We had a much smaller and cheaper microwave that lasted for years but did not go with the decor in our new kitchen. This microwave seemed like the middle of the road. However, two days ago, the microwave just stopped working midway through some steamed vegetables. The lights just went out and the microwave has not worked since. I am very displeased with this product and GE is only willing to give us a gift certificate for half of what we paid. Why would I want to buy another one of their products? Buyer beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 7 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Stays on!!!

10/07/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave has a nice look, all the features I was looking for, all digital, perfect size, etc. I got it home and plugged it in, worked great. After the first use it would not turn off. No matter what button I pushed it just would not turn off. I unplugged it and plugged it back in and it still would not turn off. The display was blank but the light was on and it was cooking. I called the company to see if maybe I was doing something wrong or maybe needed to set something but they did not have an answer. I guess it will go back to WalMart and I will not purchase another one of the same brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 8 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Will give it a second chance

08/17/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased GE Microwave Oven unit and it stopped heating before the credit card bill arrived for payment. Worked well for 2 weeks and then stopped heating. I returned the unit to Wal Mart for credit, and the credit was issued without any hasstles.
The GE Microwave Oven unit has many excellent features for the price. I will purchase another identical unit and hope that the problem of not heating experienced with the first unit purchased does not reoocur. If it does, I'll return the unit to the Wal Mart store and purchase a Microwave Oven built by another manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black
02/19/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While this is a great-looking microwave and performs cooking functions as expected, the thing is poorly made. The metal housing is not attatched to the base on the left side, so every time you turn it has a really loud rattle/hum. So obnoxious I don't even want to use it. We tried putting electrical tape on the housing to connect it to the base, which helps a little, but it is still really loud. Also, the start button doesn't stand out from the others like one would expect. It took quite a while to get used to pressing it instead of the cancel button.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 10 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Sounds like a freight train

09/09/2008
By ,
Croton-on-Hudson, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After usint this product for a total of 3 times - it sounded like a freight train the next time it was used. I put ice cream in for 30 seconds and the bottom of the container was very hot. The next time I went to use it was for pouched eggs. Set the time for one minute, turned it on, and it sounded like a freight train. The eggs weren't even remotely hot. Tried again -same thing. I only had this product for a total of three days. Also I found the key pad very confusing. I rate this product a -10.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

not a wise choice

07/29/2008
By ,
little river , south carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was suprise that this ge microwave only lasted about 17 months. The oven would not come on while the time cook was activated( was told by ge repairman it was a switch that was activated by the door latch). and it would be in my interest to purchase a new unit as to getting the 17 month old repaired because of the cost factor. He claimed that these units are starting to be throw aways(under a 100 dollars.) The unit was only 17 months old...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

EXCELLENT expectations

04/14/2008
By ,
Englewood, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expect this machine to be fantastic especially after reading all the reviews. Husband brought this one home last night without reading reviews. Needed a new one after a wonderful Panasonic died early, within the first 2 years of use. Loved that machine but now will never, EVER buy another Panasonic microwave. Looked for it online and found it online with the exact review I would have written for it if the website had allowed me to write a panasonic review at the time.
In any case THIS machine has several new features I like the soft, medium or loud options for sound of beep alert.
The easy 30 minute one touch heatup option, as well as a convenient beverage option will be used every day.
Two of the best options which my last MW had, the reheat and the defrost of course are available with this fine, attractive GE.
We use all microwaves mostly for easy stuff, warming up hot beverages like cups of coffee and tea, quick steaming of supper veggies, and MV popcorn.
I like this size better as it is one size smaller than the last MV yet bigger than our very tiny MV we also have.
Would have liked this one in a stainless steel version but got this one in black exactly as it is on this website.
Glad it was available in the store as we wanted a new one right away.
Had hoped to try a MV combo/convection oven with options of broiling, roasting, etc... but after the briefest lifetime ever of the last MV, that Panasonic, we decided to go with just a microwave, as it is really all we need. So far, very good and expect it will out live our last one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black
05/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this microwave. When I bought my house the model that it replaced was in the house. It started to make clanking noises so we decided it was time to replace it. Discovered that it was 14 years old. I am glad I chose to get this model. I am able to turn off the sound so not to disturb others in the house. The buttons are clear and easy to use. I am not good with gadgets and this is very user friendly. I would definately recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Defective

07/08/2008
By ,
Meadville, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband purchased one for me for Christmas. It worked fine until June. Thankfully, it had a 1 yr. warranty and he registered it. It quit heating. I returned to Walmart on June 13 and exchanged it for the same model. We set it up on June 22 and it quit heating on July 5. Now I have to make a special trip to Walmart to return it again (nearest Walmart is 30 miles away). I hope I can get a different model - twice is enough for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THIS

04/16/2008
By ,
AULT, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IT TAKES LONGER TO COOK OR EVEN WARM UP FOOD. SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T EVEN WARM UP SOME FOOD. THE BOWLS I HAVE AT HOME THAT I USED IN MY OLD MICROWAVE WILL NOT WORK IN THIS MICROWAVE IT WON'T COOK THE FOOD (EVEN IF THEY ARE JUST PLASTIC BOWLS). IF I KEEP IT (WHICH I DOUBT I WILL) I WILL HAVE TO GO OUT AND BUY ALL NEW BOWLS IF I CAN FIND THE ONES THAT SAY "USE IN MICROWAVE ONLY. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THIS MICROWAVE.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

WILL NOT HEAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

08/26/2008
By ,
Lenexa, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Highly advise you not to buy this product!! Bought one in March 2008, it quit heating the food in August. GE replaced it for free, and now a week later, the new one has quit heating. Definately a defect in this model!! Do not bother with it!! My parents and sister have had GE microwaves for several years and no problems, but this model should be recalled!! Loved the features while it worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Easy to use

05/29/2008
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We owned a Sharp Microwave for many years that we were pleased with, but it was taking up so much room on our countertop that we decided to go with a smaller microwave. After comparing different microwaves we decided on the GE and are so happy we did, it has so many better features and cooks in much shorter time. We are extremely pleased with our GE Microwave and would highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Hugely Disappointed

06/24/2008
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After owning a full size Panasonic microwave for fifteen years it finally quit working. We had a hard time finding another full sized model in black and bought this mid sized GE model. It heated really well and looked great. Then after only three months and five days it stopped working. The return date had just passed but Walmart let me exchange it anyway. They were very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

Quick & Convenient

02/25/2008
By ,
Kyle, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Microwave, it heats things up before you know it. I have 3 boys who are always hungry and it warms food up so fast that the boys get to actually eat with each other. Other products take forever and by the time one kid finishes eating the next kids food is barley warm. I love the one touch buttons. Everything works better than I expected. I love it, it's great!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for GE 1.4 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, Black

I'll give it another try

07/27/2008
By ,
Arlington Heights IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this exactly two weeks ago today and have used it only 3-4 times. Last night, I was heating some vegetables up when I heard two snapping sounds. The food was cold; the heating element was dead.
I plan on taking it back and getting another one but if that one breaks down too, I'm done with GE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next