Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Transferring patients safely from the wheelchair into the bathtub is made easy with the Medline Transfer Bench with back. Perfect for tubs up to 11" to 21" deep, this transfer bench is designed in such a way that two wide base suction-cup legs fit inside the bathtub and the other two rugged aluminum legs are placed outside the tub for a perfect balance. This bathroom bench allows you to adjust the back rest for added stability. The holes on the seat help drain down the water. As this Medline shower bench features a strong anodized aluminum frame, you can be assured of its improved performance for years to come. The height of the frame can even be adjusted from 16.5" to 21.5" in 1" increments for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.599 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(289 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
209
4 stars
62
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation95%273 out of 287reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
209
4 stars
62
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

I love it

06/16/2014
By ,
Des Moines ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it so much
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

versatile and strong

01/13/2014
By ,
Wilson, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After an extended stay in the hospital and nursing facility, I needed a good chair to help me in the shower. This chair is a called a transfer bench used to transfer the patient into a bathtub. We have a large shower that is easy to get into and I did not need to transfer. However, due to the nature of my illness, I needed good support for my back as well as an arm rest to lean on or hold on to. This chair easily supported my 350lbs with no squeaking or wobbling. Finally, NO ONE can touch Walmart for pricing. I started at a medical supply store who would not quote me any price until they had all of my insurance information. I told them that I had not paid my deductable and would have to pay out of pocket to which they replied, the price changes depending on your insurance company's discounts. After much arguing, I was quoted a price in excess of $100.00, excluding shipping fees, and a 2 week shipping delay. Walmart cost: $66.00, free shipping, and I received it in 3 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Excellent bench for the price!

09/18/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a solidly built, basic transfer bench for someone who cannot stand in the shower or tub but still has some mobility and upper body strength. It does not have a sliding seat or anything sophisticated, but for a patient who can assist in his/her own movement it is excellent, and a real bargain. It is intended for use inside a regular bathtub, but is more useful in more situations than a simple shower chair, which assumes that a patient can use both legs to climb in. If a patient cannot use at least one leg, being able to sit down outside the tub and lift the legs over is ideal, but many of these benches are pretty pricey. This one does the job at a bargain price. The half that goes inside the tub has a pair of large suction cups on the legs to anchor it. The grab handle is solid and angled slightly away from the body so that the patient is not cramped up against it. The legs are adjustable up or down, and the back is both removable and reversible, all for maximum utility.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

have a seat and take a shower

11/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a good product. i would have given it five stars but it was a little hard to put together due to some parts not lining up quite right. but its together now and is just what we needed. other products like this are far more expensive.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Start a new day with a wish and a wash.

11/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a need for help with my bath and this seat meets my need greatly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Singing in the shower!

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 84 year old mother and she loves it. It makes me feel better for her safety getting in and out of the bath tub. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

VERY HELPFUL

11/04/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I couldn't get in the shower anymore, I turned to the bathtub to get my cleaning. I needed to find a transfer bench to get my baths, so I turned to the website and found the best price at Wal-Mart. I ordered and it arrived earlier than I expected. A friend installed it for me since I'm disabled. It was great being able to get in the tub, and the transfer bench made it possible.
I got my bath and it was marvelous. Thank you Wal-Mart for yet another marvelous product at a great price.
I just wish they could find a better way to make them without getting water on the floor when you try to shower.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

shower chair

11/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sturdy, easy to use..only problem my shower has glass doors. Dont get this chair. Its not ideal for this type of bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Taking a shower again

11/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For being unable to apply weight to my left foot, this bench allows me to slide into the shower and feel clean again. Wonderful help!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

A very helpful and safe product

05/13/2009
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this transfer bench for my elderly parents who were having trouble getting in and out of the bath tub. Their PT recommended getting a transfer bench. Those at the medical equipment stores are much more expensive (up to twice as much or more). This bench is very sturdy and safe. My father who has spinal stenosis was able to sit down, lift his legs into the tub, and scoot over with no assistance. He was so proud! For my mother who prefers to stand in the tub and shower, this bench provides a safe method for her to get in and out and still leaves enough room for her to stand and take a shower. Also, purchased and installed a grab bar to help with that. We are very happy with this equipment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

great produvt

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item to purchase
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great product, great price!

05/08/2012
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 85 year old mother who recently had partical hip replacement surgery. After two months of rehab she returned home but wasn't able to lift her leg into the bath tub. It was recommended that we purchase a transfer bench. I searched online, Walmart had the best price and I ordered it. The item came within 2 days of my order at the regular rate which was a much appreciated surprise. It was mostly preassembled with an attachment, back to the seat which didn't take much time. It fits perfectly in the tub and very easy for the nurse to help her with her shower. I would recommend this bench to anyone with difficulties getting in and out of the tub.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

WONDERFUL

04/19/2009
By ,
Moundsville Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with my shower bench. I was having such a hard time getting a shower before. Now taking a shower is wonderful. I'm so glad I have it. It's sturdy and well made I love it. If you need a shower chair bench this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great help for getting a shower

11/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bench is an easy way for those of us who have difficulty getting in and out of the bathtub.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Best thing I've gotten from Walmart.

11/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need this given I am recovering from a hip replacement. It works well to get into and out of the tub for a shower. It seems pretty sturdy though I don't recall how much weight it will support. At least 300 pounds I would guess. It assembles without tools. It's a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

budget seat

11/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job but removing after a bath can be a pain and make sure you put a towel under the bench as some water will get out of the bath tub.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Very useful

05/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purshased this for a family member who suffered a hip fracture and could no longer bathe in the shower or tub without assistance. Although hesitant to try it at first, she did finally use it and is now independent in bathing once again.
The bench is quite secure and sturdy, providing a safe method of getting into and out of the tub for showering. The only negative aspects would be 1) the size of the bench (it is quite large, especially in a small bathroom, and 2) the difficulty in keeping water from getting on the floor (since it extends outside the tub, it is hard to arrainge the shower curtain to keep the spray of water inside the tub.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great

05/14/2009
By ,
Kanona,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair was for an 88 year old and has worked out perfect! She can now shower with no problem of falling.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Safe and user-friendly

09/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After foot surgery I was unable to put weight on one foot for six weeks. The transfer bench enabled me to sit on the part of the bench extending into the room and safely swing around to sit on the chair portion over the tub and use a hand-held shower and then safely maneuver back to the bathroom floor. I don't know what I would have done without this! Easy to assemble and use, and sturdy (rubber suction cups firmly attach to tub bottom). Also looked at shower chairs that were not transfer benches, but couldn't understand how someone who is disabled can safely get onto them -- a transfer bench seems much safer and user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Good bench but legs may be too wide

05/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bench was super easy to assemble and seemed to be the exact product that we needed for my mother, however, the legs were set too wide to fit comfortably in her bath tub. I believe her bathroom was just too small for this product. If you want to purchase this product but have a small space, you might want to consider a shower chair or seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 242 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next