Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Transferring patients safely from the wheelchair into the bathtub is made easy with the Medline Transfer Bench with back. Perfect for tubs up to 11" to 21" deep, this transfer bench is designed in such a way that two wide base suction-cup legs fit inside the bathtub and the other two rugged aluminum legs are placed outside the tub for a perfect balance. This bathroom bench allows you to adjust the back rest for added stability. The holes on the seat help drain down the water. As this Medline shower bench features a strong anodized aluminum frame, you can be assured of its improved performance for years to come. The height of the frame can even be adjusted from 16.5" to 21.5" in 1" increments for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
52
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation95%240 out of 252reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 106 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
52
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

I love it

06/16/2014
By ,
Des Moines ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it so much
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

versatile and strong

01/13/2014
By ,
Wilson, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After an extended stay in the hospital and nursing facility, I needed a good chair to help me in the shower. This chair is a called a transfer bench used to transfer the patient into a bathtub. We have a large shower that is easy to get into and I did not need to transfer. However, due to the nature of my illness, I needed good support for my back as well as an arm rest to lean on or hold on to. This chair easily supported my 350lbs with no squeaking or wobbling. Finally, NO ONE can touch Walmart for pricing. I started at a medical supply store who would not quote me any price until they had all of my insurance information. I told them that I had not paid my deductable and would have to pay out of pocket to which they replied, the price changes depending on your insurance company's discounts. After much arguing, I was quoted a price in excess of $100.00, excluding shipping fees, and a 2 week shipping delay. Walmart cost: $66.00, free shipping, and I received it in 3 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Excellent bench for the price!

09/18/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a solidly built, basic transfer bench for someone who cannot stand in the shower or tub but still has some mobility and upper body strength. It does not have a sliding seat or anything sophisticated, but for a patient who can assist in his/her own movement it is excellent, and a real bargain. It is intended for use inside a regular bathtub, but is more useful in more situations than a simple shower chair, which assumes that a patient can use both legs to climb in. If a patient cannot use at least one leg, being able to sit down outside the tub and lift the legs over is ideal, but many of these benches are pretty pricey. This one does the job at a bargain price. The half that goes inside the tub has a pair of large suction cups on the legs to anchor it. The grab handle is solid and angled slightly away from the body so that the patient is not cramped up against it. The legs are adjustable up or down, and the back is both removable and reversible, all for maximum utility.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

it's very sturdy and reliable.

05/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
make sure and take something to the bathroom to release the leg suction cups if your removing it from the tub. they stick very well which is a good thing for safety. i used a spoon and was easy to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

bench

07/28/2014
By ,
hazard ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
recommend to anyone that has had knee replaced
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Don't be fooled

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the rest of you reading I did not think this product would meet up to the great reviews it had. I saw more expensive products with reviews not as good. Well I will tell you from personal experience this bench is a great product! It was easy to assemble and seems to be very sturdy. I would recommend this to anyone in the market for a transfer bench!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Nice shower chair

07/25/2014
By ,
Martin, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together and very stable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

easily assembly

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very durable and easy to adjust. Able to fix backrest for the side you want it to be on. Legs adjusted to exactly where we wanted them because of the alternating adjustment holes.
Two drawbacks though. The suction cups inside the tub are strong but release easily but you have to be able to reach over and down to release them. Also it is big. Check your measurements. It may not fit in a small bathroom. (almost didn't have enough room in ours)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

A perfect assistant

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bench is very sturdy, easy to set up and use. After knee replacement surgery, my wife was elated to shower, and felt confident she it wouldn't wiggle around, no matter what. Well worth the money. Good job Medline!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Didn't like

07/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke in three days
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

A very helpful and safe product

05/13/2009
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this transfer bench for my elderly parents who were having trouble getting in and out of the bath tub. Their PT recommended getting a transfer bench. Those at the medical equipment stores are much more expensive (up to twice as much or more). This bench is very sturdy and safe. My father who has spinal stenosis was able to sit down, lift his legs into the tub, and scoot over with no assistance. He was so proud! For my mother who prefers to stand in the tub and shower, this bench provides a safe method for her to get in and out and still leaves enough room for her to stand and take a shower. Also, purchased and installed a grab bar to help with that. We are very happy with this equipment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Sturdy easy to put together

07/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together. Very sturdy. Seat back is changeable directions but only on right side so person (opposite side of what is shown)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great product, great price!

05/08/2012
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 85 year old mother who recently had partical hip replacement surgery. After two months of rehab she returned home but wasn't able to lift her leg into the bath tub. It was recommended that we purchase a transfer bench. I searched online, Walmart had the best price and I ordered it. The item came within 2 days of my order at the regular rate which was a much appreciated surprise. It was mostly preassembled with an attachment, back to the seat which didn't take much time. It fits perfectly in the tub and very easy for the nurse to help her with her shower. I would recommend this bench to anyone with difficulties getting in and out of the tub.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Bench makes showering simple for rehabilitation.

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything that it was supposed to be and more. Makes easy showering that is otherwise difficult for a patient going through rehabilitation following knee replacement. Bench is sturdy and easy to assemble for regular use in a walk in shower. Bench is adaptable for a tub type shower & easy access from a wheelchair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

WONDERFUL

04/19/2009
By ,
Moundsville Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with my shower bench. I was having such a hard time getting a shower before. Now taking a shower is wonderful. I'm so glad I have it. It's sturdy and well made I love it. If you need a shower chair bench this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Bench Will Work Very Well

03/16/2014
By ,
chico, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it easy to put together and, having tested it personally (I don't actually need it - it's for a beloved relative who visits now and then), for its purpose it gets five stars.
My only real complaint is that we'd planned to turn it sideways and store it in the tub, and the legs are too far apart to do that conveniently. I realize this has to do with stability, so can't complain TOO much, but we were disappointed that our slick storage idea hasn't worked out.
One other thing - the suction cups on the bottom of the legs that sit inside the tub are VERY "sticky" -- picking the bench up after use pretty much requires kneeling down and prying up the edge of each cup to break the suction.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

too big bench

07/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought I had found my solution, but the bench was too big and awkward for my jacuzzi bath tub.
To make matters worse, it did not fit my other tub either because it has sliding glass doors.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Good value, idea...doesn't fit in avg Bathrooms

05/31/2014
By ,
Auburndale, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great idea...good value...doesn't fit in a medium size bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Very good bench for my use with handicap siblings.

07/05/2014
By ,
Baton Rouge, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bench fits perfect in the tub and very sturdy for the over 200 pounds it services. The price for this bench was perfect!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Very useful

05/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purshased this for a family member who suffered a hip fracture and could no longer bathe in the shower or tub without assistance. Although hesitant to try it at first, she did finally use it and is now independent in bathing once again.
The bench is quite secure and sturdy, providing a safe method of getting into and out of the tub for showering. The only negative aspects would be 1) the size of the bench (it is quite large, especially in a small bathroom, and 2) the difficulty in keeping water from getting on the floor (since it extends outside the tub, it is hard to arrainge the shower curtain to keep the spray of water inside the tub.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next