Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Transferring patients safely from the wheelchair into the bathtub is made easy with the Medline Transfer Bench with back. Perfect for tubs up to 11" to 21" deep, this transfer bench is designed in such a way that two wide base suction-cup legs fit inside the bathtub and the other two rugged aluminum legs are placed outside the tub for a perfect balance. This bathroom bench allows you to adjust the back rest for added stability. The holes on the seat help drain down the water. As this Medline shower bench features a strong anodized aluminum frame, you can be assured of its improved performance for years to come. The height of the frame can even be adjusted from 16.5" to 21.5" in 1" increments for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(220 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
166
4 stars
44
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%209 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
166
4 stars
44
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

versatile and strong

01/13/2014
By ,
Wilson, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After an extended stay in the hospital and nursing facility, I needed a good chair to help me in the shower. This chair is a called a transfer bench used to transfer the patient into a bathtub. We have a large shower that is easy to get into and I did not need to transfer. However, due to the nature of my illness, I needed good support for my back as well as an arm rest to lean on or hold on to. This chair easily supported my 350lbs with no squeaking or wobbling. Finally, NO ONE can touch Walmart for pricing. I started at a medical supply store who would not quote me any price until they had all of my insurance information. I told them that I had not paid my deductable and would have to pay out of pocket to which they replied, the price changes depending on your insurance company's discounts. After much arguing, I was quoted a price in excess of $100.00, excluding shipping fees, and a 2 week shipping delay. Walmart cost: $66.00, free shipping, and I received it in 3 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Excellent bench for the price!

09/18/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a solidly built, basic transfer bench for someone who cannot stand in the shower or tub but still has some mobility and upper body strength. It does not have a sliding seat or anything sophisticated, but for a patient who can assist in his/her own movement it is excellent, and a real bargain. It is intended for use inside a regular bathtub, but is more useful in more situations than a simple shower chair, which assumes that a patient can use both legs to climb in. If a patient cannot use at least one leg, being able to sit down outside the tub and lift the legs over is ideal, but many of these benches are pretty pricey. This one does the job at a bargain price. The half that goes inside the tub has a pair of large suction cups on the legs to anchor it. The grab handle is solid and angled slightly away from the body so that the patient is not cramped up against it. The legs are adjustable up or down, and the back is both removable and reversible, all for maximum utility.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great bench for a bathrub works great

04/13/2014
By ,
La Mesa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, adjustable and is very comfortable Walmart was the cheapest price in most places shopped. Order the fastest mail service for 4 to 5 days and got it her in about 3. Very satisfied.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Does what I need

04/13/2014
By ,
north richland hills, texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits to the needs
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Nice gift

04/13/2014
By ,
Englewood co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom is proud
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Versatile and easy to set up

04/05/2014
By ,
washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had knee replacement surgery and it was great using it. Could stand in front and when feeling weak could sit down. Decided not to have seat back on but like to option, if needed. Feels secure to sit on. No slipping of feet. Would recommend for anyone of any age that needed assistance in tub. Would not work if your tub had a built-in shower door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

This bench really help me

03/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I broke my leg and arm it made it very hard to take showers Now I can get in and out of the shower with no help it makes me feel a lot more independent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Bench Will Work Very Well

03/16/2014
By ,
chico, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it easy to put together and, having tested it personally (I don't actually need it - it's for a beloved relative who visits now and then), for its purpose it gets five stars.
My only real complaint is that we'd planned to turn it sideways and store it in the tub, and the legs are too far apart to do that conveniently. I realize this has to do with stability, so can't complain TOO much, but we were disappointed that our slick storage idea hasn't worked out.
One other thing - the suction cups on the bottom of the legs that sit inside the tub are VERY "sticky" -- picking the bench up after use pretty much requires kneeling down and prying up the edge of each cup to break the suction.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

affordable quality

04/08/2014
By ,
apple valley mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave to my Mom ,It gives me great peace knowing she get take a shower safely
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

I would highly recommend this product!

12/18/2013
By ,
Tracy CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. It was exactly what it advertised it was...easy to assemble and fits my tub perfectly. Makes it easy to get in and out of the shower. Lets me keep my independent living...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

A very helpful and safe product

05/13/2009
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this transfer bench for my elderly parents who were having trouble getting in and out of the bath tub. Their PT recommended getting a transfer bench. Those at the medical equipment stores are much more expensive (up to twice as much or more). This bench is very sturdy and safe. My father who has spinal stenosis was able to sit down, lift his legs into the tub, and scoot over with no assistance. He was so proud! For my mother who prefers to stand in the tub and shower, this bench provides a safe method for her to get in and out and still leaves enough room for her to stand and take a shower. Also, purchased and installed a grab bar to help with that. We are very happy with this equipment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Good chair

03/23/2014
By ,
Deptford, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this chair for my parents. It was delivered quickly and was easy to assemble--it took about 5 minutes. Once in the bathub, the suction cups really kicked in--I couldn't even lift the chair again to move it--I ended up pushing the chair with my legs/feet! I did get the chair positioned as I wanted and was glad to know that the suction cups were that strong because it meant the chair would not move when in use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

WONDERFUL

04/19/2009
By ,
Moundsville Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with my shower bench. I was having such a hard time getting a shower before. Now taking a shower is wonderful. I'm so glad I have it. It's sturdy and well made I love it. If you need a shower chair bench this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great product, great price!

05/08/2012
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 85 year old mother who recently had partical hip replacement surgery. After two months of rehab she returned home but wasn't able to lift her leg into the bath tub. It was recommended that we purchase a transfer bench. I searched online, Walmart had the best price and I ordered it. The item came within 2 days of my order at the regular rate which was a much appreciated surprise. It was mostly preassembled with an attachment, back to the seat which didn't take much time. It fits perfectly in the tub and very easy for the nurse to help her with her shower. I would recommend this bench to anyone with difficulties getting in and out of the tub.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great value and ease!

11/15/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bench for my sister for her husband to use. The quality and price are fantastic. It arrived before promised and snapped together in about 2 minutes. Love it when things like this work so well and are so easy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Perfect for my Dad

03/09/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dad has a walk-in shower, he was nervous standing in the shower and the shower chairs didn't make him feel secure enough to get in and sit. With this transfer seat it's wide and long enough to help him sit and slide into the shower without fear of falling. Very sturdy, well built and can't understand how some people had put the grab handle in upside down like was noted in a couple reviews. Putting this together (seat, frame & back is assembled) adjustable legs and grab handle is all you have to do and honestly a ten year old could do that. Buy the chair well worth it! My dad loves it, he's 98!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Safe and user-friendly

09/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After foot surgery I was unable to put weight on one foot for six weeks. The transfer bench enabled me to sit on the part of the bench extending into the room and safely swing around to sit on the chair portion over the tub and use a hand-held shower and then safely maneuver back to the bathroom floor. I don't know what I would have done without this! Easy to assemble and use, and sturdy (rubber suction cups firmly attach to tub bottom). Also looked at shower chairs that were not transfer benches, but couldn't understand how someone who is disabled can safely get onto them -- a transfer bench seems much safer and user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great

05/14/2009
By ,
Kanona,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair was for an 88 year old and has worked out perfect! She can now shower with no problem of falling.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Good product, has worked great so far

03/21/2014
By ,
Columbus,OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this item a little over a week now. Holds my wife very well and gives her some confidence back about taking care of herself. Product is very well made. No issues about it not being able to be stable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Very useful

05/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purshased this for a family member who suffered a hip fracture and could no longer bathe in the shower or tub without assistance. Although hesitant to try it at first, she did finally use it and is now independent in bathing once again.
The bench is quite secure and sturdy, providing a safe method of getting into and out of the tub for showering. The only negative aspects would be 1) the size of the bench (it is quite large, especially in a small bathroom, and 2) the difficulty in keeping water from getting on the floor (since it extends outside the tub, it is hard to arrainge the shower curtain to keep the spray of water inside the tub.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next