Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Medline Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Transferring patients safely from the wheelchair into the bathtub is made easy with the Medline Transfer Bench with back. Perfect for tubs up to 11" to 21" deep, this transfer bench is designed in such a way that two wide base suction-cup legs fit inside the bathtub and the other two rugged aluminum legs are placed outside the tub for a perfect balance. This bathroom bench allows you to adjust the back rest for added stability. The holes on the seat help drain down the water. As this Medline shower bench features a strong anodized aluminum frame, you can be assured of its improved performance for years to come. The height of the frame can even be adjusted from 16.5" to 21.5" in 1" increments for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.614 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(267 Reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
56
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation95%252 out of 265reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 110 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
56
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

I love it

06/16/2014
By ,
Des Moines ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it so much
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

versatile and strong

01/13/2014
By ,
Wilson, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After an extended stay in the hospital and nursing facility, I needed a good chair to help me in the shower. This chair is a called a transfer bench used to transfer the patient into a bathtub. We have a large shower that is easy to get into and I did not need to transfer. However, due to the nature of my illness, I needed good support for my back as well as an arm rest to lean on or hold on to. This chair easily supported my 350lbs with no squeaking or wobbling. Finally, NO ONE can touch Walmart for pricing. I started at a medical supply store who would not quote me any price until they had all of my insurance information. I told them that I had not paid my deductable and would have to pay out of pocket to which they replied, the price changes depending on your insurance company's discounts. After much arguing, I was quoted a price in excess of $100.00, excluding shipping fees, and a 2 week shipping delay. Walmart cost: $66.00, free shipping, and I received it in 3 days.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Excellent bench for the price!

09/18/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a solidly built, basic transfer bench for someone who cannot stand in the shower or tub but still has some mobility and upper body strength. It does not have a sliding seat or anything sophisticated, but for a patient who can assist in his/her own movement it is excellent, and a real bargain. It is intended for use inside a regular bathtub, but is more useful in more situations than a simple shower chair, which assumes that a patient can use both legs to climb in. If a patient cannot use at least one leg, being able to sit down outside the tub and lift the legs over is ideal, but many of these benches are pretty pricey. This one does the job at a bargain price. The half that goes inside the tub has a pair of large suction cups on the legs to anchor it. The grab handle is solid and angled slightly away from the body so that the patient is not cramped up against it. The legs are adjustable up or down, and the back is both removable and reversible, all for maximum utility.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Safe and Convenient

09/14/2014
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bench works very good allowing a person to safely slide across into the tub. Very sturdy.
However, when having to share the bathroom with others, it becomes a problem, taking up way too much space. It would be great if it would fold up some.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great value for safety bath chair

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for Mom who had hip replacement surgery! It was recommended
By the physical therapist at her rehab facility because of it's safety features
And Walmart's great price! Shipping was free and it was easy to put together! I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great value, durable, safe and easy to assemble

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

sturdy worth the money

08/30/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased for my spouse easy to put together just a few clicks of a button
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

A very helpful and safe product

05/13/2009
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this transfer bench for my elderly parents who were having trouble getting in and out of the bath tub. Their PT recommended getting a transfer bench. Those at the medical equipment stores are much more expensive (up to twice as much or more). This bench is very sturdy and safe. My father who has spinal stenosis was able to sit down, lift his legs into the tub, and scoot over with no assistance. He was so proud! For my mother who prefers to stand in the tub and shower, this bench provides a safe method for her to get in and out and still leaves enough room for her to stand and take a shower. Also, purchased and installed a grab bar to help with that. We are very happy with this equipment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great product, great price!

05/08/2012
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 85 year old mother who recently had partical hip replacement surgery. After two months of rehab she returned home but wasn't able to lift her leg into the bath tub. It was recommended that we purchase a transfer bench. I searched online, Walmart had the best price and I ordered it. The item came within 2 days of my order at the regular rate which was a much appreciated surprise. It was mostly preassembled with an attachment, back to the seat which didn't take much time. It fits perfectly in the tub and very easy for the nurse to help her with her shower. I would recommend this bench to anyone with difficulties getting in and out of the tub.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

it's very sturdy and reliable.

05/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
make sure and take something to the bathroom to release the leg suction cups if your removing it from the tub. they stick very well which is a good thing for safety. i used a spoon and was easy to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

WONDERFUL

04/19/2009
By ,
Moundsville Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with my shower bench. I was having such a hard time getting a shower before. Now taking a shower is wonderful. I'm so glad I have it. It's sturdy and well made I love it. If you need a shower chair bench this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Good bench, good price

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted and the best price anywhere. The only problem I had with assembly was adjusting the height of the legs -- the ones in the tub need a different height than those on the floor. I am using it in the only tub with enough bathroom space and it is a whirlpool tub, which is oval shaped. The bench would be perfect in a rectangular tub, but this is still very helpful in bathing my husband.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Very useful

05/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purshased this for a family member who suffered a hip fracture and could no longer bathe in the shower or tub without assistance. Although hesitant to try it at first, she did finally use it and is now independent in bathing once again.
The bench is quite secure and sturdy, providing a safe method of getting into and out of the tub for showering. The only negative aspects would be 1) the size of the bench (it is quite large, especially in a small bathroom, and 2) the difficulty in keeping water from getting on the floor (since it extends outside the tub, it is hard to arrainge the shower curtain to keep the spray of water inside the tub.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Safe and user-friendly

09/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After foot surgery I was unable to put weight on one foot for six weeks. The transfer bench enabled me to sit on the part of the bench extending into the room and safely swing around to sit on the chair portion over the tub and use a hand-held shower and then safely maneuver back to the bathroom floor. I don't know what I would have done without this! Easy to assemble and use, and sturdy (rubber suction cups firmly attach to tub bottom). Also looked at shower chairs that were not transfer benches, but couldn't understand how someone who is disabled can safely get onto them -- a transfer bench seems much safer and user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great

05/14/2009
By ,
Kanona,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair was for an 88 year old and has worked out perfect! She can now shower with no problem of falling.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

very helpful item

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to use, sturdy and well built.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

2 day delivery wow

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to assemble I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Great Product with a Great Price!

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a knee replacement surgery and needed a shower chair. My husband picked this one out so I'm really surprised that he did so well choosing this chair. It's VERY sturdy & well made! If you want a good chair with a great price...this is the chair you want! Also, I chose the free shipping even though I needed it sooner than Walmart's expected delivery date. I had it a day before the date that Walmart said that I should received it. YEAH Walmart! Great job on the FREE Shipping!
Queen Victoria!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Good bench but legs may be too wide

05/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bench was super easy to assemble and seemed to be the exact product that we needed for my mother, however, the legs were set too wide to fit comfortably in her bath tub. I believe her bathroom was just too small for this product. If you want to purchase this product but have a small space, you might want to consider a shower chair or seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Medline Transfer Bench with Back

Don't be fooled

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the rest of you reading I did not think this product would meet up to the great reviews it had. I saw more expensive products with reviews not as good. Well I will tell you from personal experience this bench is a great product! It was easy to assemble and seems to be very sturdy. I would recommend this to anyone in the market for a transfer bench!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next