Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weber Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Weber Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

The Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter lets you get your charcoal heated up faster so you can get food grilled sooner. It gets coals hot enough to cook with in less than 15 minutes and without the need for lighter fluid. Made of aluminized steel, the Weber chimney starter is not only durable and reliable but also good at conducting and encouraging the build-up of heat. There is a cone-shaped grate that draws the fire up into the charcoal, concentrating and focusing the flame. It is also easy to use. Simply light some newspaper and wait for the coals to heat up. A stay-cool allows handle you to safely maneuver this chimney grill starter, tipping the hot charcoal into your grill when it's ready. Its extra large capacity lets it hold an ample supply of coals so you can get the heat and cooking power you need for burgers, barbecue and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.861 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation100%72 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Buy One, Now...No, Buy Two=:-)

06/09/2014
By ,
NORTH CENTRAL FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well for getting coals ready for my Weber Smokey Mountain but I need another one for when I light charcoal for my grill, since this chimney only holds so much...and I usually use more coal with the grill. Yes, I'm going to buy a second chimney
Most any paper will work in the bottom. I have used the paper used to hold the charcoal (charcoal bag)... beats recycling, since you use the charcoal bag (after it's empty) to get the chimney lit
Weber also makes some nifty paraffin cubes you light and set under the chimney instead of using paper, to get the coals lit. I used one the other day and highly recommend you have some in arrears, in the event you don't have paper to start the chimney
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

FAST AND EFFICIENT!!!

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical when I purchased this item. But, it works!!! The charcoal was ready in less than 20 minutes. the secondary, flip, handle is an added plus when dumping the coals on to the iron!! The only downside to this product is the amount of smoke created while waiting for the coals to thoroughly burn. Neighbors thought my wooden fence was on fire--until they got close enough and realized the smoke was coming from my grill and they could smell the wood chips along with the coal. I no longer place wood chips in with the coal when using the starter. I wait until I have emptied the starter, then I add my wood chips on top of the coals. Regardless, the coal is lit and my grill is ready to use in under 20 minutes--25 minutes tops!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

BBQ Dude

07/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best charcoal starter In the world , No Fluids , No Long waiting for grill to be ready , No fast burning fluid soaked coals ,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Awesome!

07/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use and works great! Had the charcoal ready for burgers in 15 or 20 minutes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Really great!

07/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't get over that this charcoal chimney would light and be ready to cook in 15 minutes. I had never used this before and I liked it very much. I wish I had bought one years ago!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Keeps the BBQ going!

07/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The charcoal starter kept my BBQ going without a hiccup! Great investment for backyard BBQ'S
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Best Chimney Fire Starter

03/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one really works. Every time! 2 sheets of newspaper will start your charcoal in record time. It is much bigger than the ones I have used in the past and is made of heavier metal. The design draws the fire up into the charcoal and they are ready to cook on in about 20 minutes. I cook out 3-5 times a week (or more) so I will be using it a lot. It will pay for itself many times over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Great Chimney

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this and immediately took it on a five-day camping trip. It's a game changer and you can't beat it for the price. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

What a difference!

04/16/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fantastic purchase, this makes grilling so much more enjoyable and by making it faster and having the coals evenly distributed temperatures. I would highly recommend this for the upcoming grilling season. O yes one more thing this completely eliminates lighter fluid and the taste of it as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pa
size
Posted 05/14/2014
Is it too large for the smaller smokey Joe model
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

More than worth it!

11/24/2008
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super product every BBQer should own. Makes starting and getting great coals very easy, with no lighter fluid!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

quanda

07/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used this weekend for the 4th of july and they can in handed love them
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Very Good Product

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best replacement for charcoal starter fluid and it's safe to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Great Product!

04/15/2014
By ,
Birmingham, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product at a good price.......... used it several times used two sheets of newspaper as directed, charcoal was burning in less than ten minutes, great product, easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Did what I hoped it would do.

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rolled two sheets of newspaper and put paper under chimney. Poured charcoal in then lite with two matches.The chimney worked great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

No nonsense product

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy product, works like a charm, burned charcoal briquette fast.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

love, love, love it!!

05/29/2010
By ,
Bethany Beach, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why didn't I buy this thing sooner?!?!?!?! Not only does my food NOT taste like lighter fluid but the charcoal is ready in like 10 minutes!! The first time I used it I had to add more charcoal because I was used to having to wait like 1/2 hour for the lighter fluid to burn off and the charcoal to be "ready" AWESOME PRODUCT!!! Highly recommend to anyone that will listen :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Was doubtful Now not!

07/12/2013
By ,
S.E.Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of years I dealt with the lighter fluid smell and taste,Not anymore! The Weber Chimney is Awesome! At first I didn't think it was going to work with just 2 sheets of a small town news paper,I stuffed it in the bottom and poured charcoal in the top and lit it up. Smoked a bit and I thought I may have to try again but no it had lit the charcoal and was all ready to use in 10 minutes. Very impressed with this,Seen the littler ones for less but they matched the price CHEAP! Paid an little extra and got a well made and Weber quality Chimney was well worth it plus. Who needs Lighter Fluid again? Not this one! Urged for anyone who uses Charcoal to get one of these. The Taste of the food is way better too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Finally A Great Product

09/14/2014
By ,
Westland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a single mom with a 16 yr old that loves going to everyone's BBQ's for the great food. I say everyone else's because I could never get the first started and if I did, it would never stay going. I recently went camping and saw a chimney and asked about it. I did a site to store the very next week and it was ready for pick up the same day. It was a little bent, but not enough for me to return it. We went to the park the very next weekend for burgers and brauts on the grill and let me just say the coals were golden orange and burned hot for a long time The only down side was the couple sheets of paper didn't get the fire going. So we took several pieces, rolled them up and stuck them in several openings then added the charcoal. That got it going really well. Easy for anyone and I can't wait until next summer to get more usage out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

love it

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love being able to use 1 piece of news paper light the coal come back 15 min later and the coals are ready
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

No more bad taste

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the chimney starter. takes only a few minutes to start. no fluid needed. just a piece of newspaper.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next