Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weber Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Weber Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Get hot coals for grilling in less than 15 minutes without the use of lighter fluid with this Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter. It is made of aluminized steel and features a cone-shaped grate that draws the fire up into the charcoal. Simply light some newspaper, wait for the coals to heat up and use the stay-cool handle on this Weber starter to pour the hot charcoal into your grill.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%50 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Buy One, Now...No, Buy Two=:-)

06/09/2014
By ,
NORTH CENTRAL FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well for getting coals ready for my Weber Smokey Mountain but I need another one for when I light charcoal for my grill, since this chimney only holds so much...and I usually use more coal with the grill. Yes, I'm going to buy a second chimney
Most any paper will work in the bottom. I have used the paper used to hold the charcoal (charcoal bag)... beats recycling, since you use the charcoal bag (after it's empty) to get the chimney lit
Weber also makes some nifty paraffin cubes you light and set under the chimney instead of using paper, to get the coals lit. I used one the other day and highly recommend you have some in arrears, in the event you don't have paper to start the chimney
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Worked Better Than Expected

06/20/2014
By ,
Boston MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't grill very often so having a hulking propane thing around has no appeal. I was skeptical about having the coals ready in 20 minutes and was pleasantly surprised that a few sheets of newspaper and one match turned into a heap of hot coals in about 15 minutes. I use wood coals instead of charcoal, not sure if that makes any difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Did what I hoped it would do.

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rolled two sheets of newspaper and put paper under chimney. Poured charcoal in then lite with two matches.The chimney worked great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Great Product!

04/15/2014
By ,
Birmingham, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product at a good price.......... used it several times used two sheets of newspaper as directed, charcoal was burning in less than ten minutes, great product, easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

What a difference!

04/16/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fantastic purchase, this makes grilling so much more enjoyable and by making it faster and having the coals evenly distributed temperatures. I would highly recommend this for the upcoming grilling season. O yes one more thing this completely eliminates lighter fluid and the taste of it as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pa
size
Posted 05/14/2014
Is it too large for the smaller smokey Joe model
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Excellent!!

06/09/2014
By ,
Carlsbad, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. With only two sheets of newspaper the charcoals are ready in 5 minutes!! I wish I had known about this product a long time ago. Now I need to figure out what to do with the two bottles of starter fluid I have left and will never use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Great Quality, Price and ease of use.

06/24/2014
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was excellent for such a well constructed product. Not flimsy and is very safe to use. Works exactly per instructions and charcoal is lit completely giving you an even cooking and even heat. Price is halt of what you expect to pay for this brand name and quality. GET ONE OR TWO NOW, YOU WON;T REGRET IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Simple idea-- works every time

05/21/2014
By ,
Georgetown, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works. I am very satisfied with this item. Why pour petroleum over your food cooking source? Use good charcoal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

larger than expected

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's not to like about this starter. Great size, cool handle...it's a little more expensive but well worth the extra $4-5. Will last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Easiest way to start a grill

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a simple concept but it works better than I would ever have imagined. I've fought with getting coals started for over 45 minutes in the past but it takes less than five minutes with the chimney.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Fast and strong

08/22/2014
By ,
Mount Dora, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lights wood chunks and charcoal fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Best Chimney Fire Starter

03/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one really works. Every time! 2 sheets of newspaper will start your charcoal in record time. It is much bigger than the ones I have used in the past and is made of heavier metal. The design draws the fire up into the charcoal and they are ready to cook on in about 20 minutes. I cook out 3-5 times a week (or more) so I will be using it a lot. It will pay for itself many times over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Getter Started

07/07/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well, but if you plan on cooking in a 22.5 Weber it's too small and you'll need to make a second. After using the first time, the metal will discolor. I would like it more if they would have made the handel more heat resistant.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

best charcoal ever

08/11/2014
By ,
corbin ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use, best ever
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Just what I expected. I was very pleased.

08/09/2014
By ,
Brea, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

More than worth it!

11/24/2008
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super product every BBQer should own. Makes starting and getting great coals very easy, with no lighter fluid!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Good Fire Starter

07/29/2014
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used it once so far but it did its job well. It arrived slightly bent out of round, but that didn't affect usage at all. It was easy to use and gave us good coals for the barbeque. Using newspaper does create a bit of ash that flies around, but you're not going to be using this product indoors. Just be aware of it so you don't use near wet paint or anything else where a bit of ash might cause problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Was doubtful Now not!

07/12/2013
By ,
S.E.Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of years I dealt with the lighter fluid smell and taste,Not anymore! The Weber Chimney is Awesome! At first I didn't think it was going to work with just 2 sheets of a small town news paper,I stuffed it in the bottom and poured charcoal in the top and lit it up. Smoked a bit and I thought I may have to try again but no it had lit the charcoal and was all ready to use in 10 minutes. Very impressed with this,Seen the littler ones for less but they matched the price CHEAP! Paid an little extra and got a well made and Weber quality Chimney was well worth it plus. Who needs Lighter Fluid again? Not this one! Urged for anyone who uses Charcoal to get one of these. The Taste of the food is way better too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

Great way to heat coals

08/01/2014
By ,
Warminster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best and ONLY way charcoal should be heated up. It's easy and mess free!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weber-Stephen Rapidfire Chimney Starter

love, love, love it!!

05/29/2010
By ,
Bethany Beach, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why didn't I buy this thing sooner?!?!?!?! Not only does my food NOT taste like lighter fluid but the charcoal is ready in like 10 minutes!! The first time I used it I had to add more charcoal because I was used to having to wait like 1/2 hour for the lighter fluid to burn off and the charcoal to be "ready" AWESOME PRODUCT!!! Highly recommend to anyone that will listen :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next