Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lifetime Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Lifetime Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

If you are looking for a backboard to hone your basketball shooting skills, look no further than the Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System. Made of acrylic, the 44-inch sturdy backboard readily absorbs the impact of the ball without wear. It comes with a net made of nylon, which inspires resistance and durability across changing seasons and conditions. Also, the 3.5-inch pole that supports the basketball practice system endures the onslaught of the ever-transient weather. You can adjust the height of this basketball goal system to anything between 7.5' and 10' using the Quick Adjust II mechanism. The 5/8-inch steel ring adds to the stability and durability of the construction. You need to dig a hole in the ground and fill it with concrete in order to set up the goal system. Overall, the Lifetime 44" In-Ground Basketball System is an ideal choice if you are looking for a practice backboard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.181 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation87%72 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

impressed

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very nice product all parts were included and shipped on time: however box was very torn up but I still give it a rating of 4 stars excellent basketball goal for my 10 year old son thanks Walmart for a great price product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Just ok.

01/09/2010
By ,
CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved this item when I first installed it a year and a half ago. I hated the idea of those sand filled black bases taking up the driveway. However by the end of 6 monhts rust started to show in the lowest connection on the pole. The "stainless steel" screws that hold the last piece together rusted, but more the pole is rusting so that new screws don't have anything to bite on. Can't seem to find replacement poles, or they cost as much as the entire thing was new. After 18 months I am here shopping for another basketball set up because its coming down when the ground unfreezes. Plan on getting 2 - 3 years out of it. I won't park my car under it, just in case there the rusting deterioration has accelerated.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Good Quality at a good price

04/09/2014
By ,
Dallas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good family basketball goal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System
07/30/2012
By ,
Oberlin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just got this for our son. The shipping box, as other reviewers have mentioned, is not strong enough. Part of the contents fell out when I moved it from where FedEx left it. At least nothing was lost nor damaged.
I started assembling the back board this afternoon. The instructions are awful. The pictures are helpful but there isn't enough detail. I had a few things I had to redo because the instructions were so poor that when the next step was needed it wouldn't work because the previous was off a bit. I enjoy assembling things and like puzzles (my husband hates it). This has been quite a challenge. Some of the assembly I had to figure out based on what seemed logical the instructions were so incomplete. Once the cement is dry and we can get the whole thing up, I'll be interested to see how that goes.
The back board is some what flimsy feeling, I thought it would be thicker. We'll have to see how it holds up to teenagers.
Be sure to read, reread and finger tighten only, until you are sure everything is together correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Breakable Backboard

06/24/2009
By ,
Payson, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The backboard arrived cracked, like a hammer had hit it. The box was so flimsy for such a large, awkward item, we had to use packing tape to hold it together for returning to the store. Backboard is acrylic, which cracks. Why even make a backboard that cracks? Definitely getting a polycarbonate backboard. We tried to get a backboard with a pole diameter that matched the pole already in our backyard; when we measured poles in the store, they were several inches smaller in diameter and not uniform from model to model , even though the one in our yard was the same brand. The quality of the new models is cheaper; lighter weight support poles and all-over lighter durability. All around disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

great product for the price

09/03/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super easy to adjust the height. Best value we found after checking lots of places and the product seems to be sturdy and of good quality. Was a little tougher to assemble and concrete in the ground than we had expected. Be sure to give yourself a few days to get it put together and allow time for the cement to set before you want to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

good for kids good price

10/18/2009
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is good for kids but I would not reccomend it for someone serious about basketball the backboard it flimsy and cheap not solid like other boards but it works for my kids they are younger and just want to shoot the ball! very easy assembly says in instructions 2 people but with the help of 2 saw horses I was able to assemble the backboard alone. honestly digging the hole deep enough (frost line) and pouring the concrete were the hardest parts. Hope this review is helpful to someone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Good goal

03/05/2014
By ,
Thibodaux, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good basketball setup for my 8-year-old son. He loves it! However, I rated it a 4 because it was not very easy to put together as the instructions/pictures were not very clear. We had to go on the website to get clearer instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Good product for a great price

06/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This goal takes some patience in putting together, but it is about as easy as it can be. It actually took me 8 40 lb bags of concrete as opposed to the 6 the directions call for. Once I got it up though the goal exceeded my expectations in that there was only slight wobble and the ball reacts well off the backboard. This goal is suitable for a shootaround, but if you want to dunk and get very competitive then find a different goal. Adjusting the height of the goal is very easy and I prefer the broomstick method over the hydrolic or counterweight handle adjustment systems since less moving parts is always a plus in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Great purchase

09/09/2013
By ,
Sparta, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 year old loves the net and now we have a family activity that even my husband and I and the adult neighbors will play with him "shooting hoops" - we shoot on my lunch or right after school - nothing to pull out or clean up. Love the adjustable height.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Good Deal

07/01/2010
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had bought this pole,hoop, and backboard about 10 years ago and it lasted so very well, even with supplying entertainment for our 3 boys and all of the neighborhood kids (at least 20).
The only reason we had to by it again is because we moved and my husband had used so much concrete (in clay soil) that we could not bring it along.
You do need to make sure that you keep the rust at bay, as is normal for any metal exposed to the elements, but this is an awesome deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

You get what you pay for.

06/25/2009
By ,
Basketball Country, New Castle, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is of high quality and easy to assemble, however you get what you pay for and the overall material is average. The goal is the size it says and is OK for beginning players. The pole material is well made but a little thin and will flex some when you are shooting long ones. If you are looking for a goal for beginners and are willing to change when the players get better and need a steady backboard or for the best LOW cost unit, then this is the unit for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

hoop-la

08/10/2009
By ,
Rome, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our recent purchase of an inground basketball system has prvoen to be very successful. It was easy enough to install and the kids are getting alot of use from it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

For the price you can't go wrong.

06/07/2011
By ,
Boise, Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's made somewhat well, was disapointed with the backboard - not the greatest material.
But overall happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

You get what you pay for!

03/25/2012
By ,
Southern Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The assembly instructions need revamping! In the manual, there aren't any clear directions as in where the (MK# 1/2" x 2-5/16" metal spacers are to be installed. I later learned that these are vital to the proper spacing/alignment of the #LB/RB) brackets. You can get a much clearer look at how the spacers are to be installed by going to lifetime.com/customer-care. Take a look at the basketball system 90084. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the instruction manual link. "Open" the .pdf file. Scroll to page 27 of the manual and look at sections 3.1 and 3.2. There, you will see a MUCH better broken down diagram for this part of the assembly!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Last one lasted 15 years so can't lose!

11/28/2013
By ,
Ardmore, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hardly ever use this product but my children and grandchildren use this every holiday!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Super easy height adjustment

04/11/2012
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was by far the cheapest in ground system I found. It was easy to put together, seems sturdy yet not outrageously heavy. It does not require as much concrete as it said. We only used 3.5 bags of 40# mix. I followed the directions exactly. The best part is that it adjusts so easy. My 12 year old daughter can rise/lower it with the end of a broomstick, all the way from 10ft to 7ft. The backboard is a little small and I would not let anyone dunk or touch the rim. It's not shatter proof but for our use, it was the perfect buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

complete junk

04/11/2009
By ,
WOODSTOCK,VA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very bad instructions and engineering. contacted manufacture concerning the installation of the bottom pole assembly which was very misleading and confussing creating improper installation which left the basketball goal assembly 9 inches short of regulation level. also insrtuction manuel contained some miss prints as recognized also by the operator i was talking too. was told that they would look into modifing and correcting the assembly manuel for future customers to prevent improper installation to occur again. WHAT ABOUT ME NOW!got little to no cooperation on what they could do for my problem in this matter. told them NEVER AGAIN!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Great hoop

04/09/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect with this since I ordered it online. It's a good hoop and seems to be made pretty well. I have seen a lot of people complain about the instructions being complicated but I actually found them to be pretty easy to understand. I don't know if maybe the company improved the instructions after other people posted complaints but I didn't have any trouble understanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lifetime 1008 44" In-Ground Basketball System

Great Value for the $$

06/24/2009
By ,
Medina, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the $150 (appx), you cant beat it. I mean no its not as nice as the $1000 in-ground ones you can buy, but those definately arent 8x as nice either. Its decently sturdy, easy to assemble (my husband and I put it up ourselves) and its easy to adjust the height too.
Our kids are 7 and 4 and our 7yr old LOVES it and its not too big at all for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next