Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Black & Decker Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Having a party or busy with work? The Black & Decker RC436 Rice Cooker in White is the solution to your cooking problems. Make firm or fluffy rice the fast and easy way with this 16-cup rice cooker. It's fast and simple; you don't have to wait by the pot for your favorite recipes to cook. Just add dry rice, measure in the water, and turn the unit on. Once the rice has fully cooked, the kitchen appliance automatically switches over to keep-warm mode, which maintains an ideal serving temperature without over-cooking. You can now cook your favorite rice recipes, savory soups or stews with ease. The Black and Decker rice cooker comes with a see-through glass lid that keeps in heat and moisture allowing you to check the food without releasing steam. It also features a spoon hanger detachable condensation catcher for convenience. The cooker has a non stick cooking bowl for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(394 Reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
221
4 stars
107
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation86%337 out of 392reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
221
4 stars
107
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Good, But not as expected

12/25/2012
By ,
Alameda, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for somthing bigger than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Amazing little appliance

03/29/2014
By ,
Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooker some time ago and just got around to using it. It is so easy to use and made the best Basmati rice I've ever eaten. The pot is non-stick which is a plus.
I didn't use the measure that came with the cooker or the measurements on the pot.
This is what I did and it was perfect.
2 cups rice
1 teaspoon oil
3 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon salt
Put rice in the pot,add the oil and stir until all the rice is coated
Add salt and chicken broth.
Plug the cooker in and press the cook button. Cooker will go to warm when rice is cooked,but I will time it next time so I can remove the pot from the cooker as this time it started to get a little brown on the bottom. I think the oil on the rice did that. It had an excellent flavor and grains didn't stick together.
I'm going to try brown rice next time.
This is a great buy for $20.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

A great rice cooker for a small party.

01/09/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using a same brand of 3-cup rice cooker for 4 years now. When I say 3-cup, I mean, 3 cups of uncooked rice. The description of this rice cooker says it's a 16-cup rice cooker, 16 cups means the yield or the cooked rice after cooking 7 cups (max.) of uncooked rice. It's a bit confusing. Anyway, I don't really need a big rice cooker. I just need a bigger one than what we already have, for potluck party. This is a great rice cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Smaller than expected

04/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a cooker that can cook 5 to 7 cups of rice and went for this B&D 16-cup cooker. It was much smaller that expected. Definitely not 16 cup capacity nor 8. Not sure what the manufacturer actually meant by 16 cups. I returned it without using it but in my opinion it will probably cook 3 cups of un-cooked rice (going by 1 cup rice - 2 cups water ratio). May be the $20 price was an indicator but could not judge it and went by the '16 cup' description. The cooker itself looked good though so will probably be looking for a bigger cooker may be '32 cups' or higher by manufacturers description!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/16/2014
Hi aW, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40907681 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Good price, kind of messy but managebale

01/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well though it sprays slime surrounding countertop and floor. Actually it sprays only if you use too much water, otherwise it is kind of ok...The good think is that it takes less time to cook both brown and white rice compare to other rice cooker like Aroma...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

It cooks rice well.

03/27/2014
By ,
Alpharetta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is about the fourth one of this same model we've been through. My wife eats a LOT of rice and this cooker is used on a daily basis. With heavy usage they tend to last about 1 year. The first thing that will wear out is the teflon coating on the inside of the pot. You'll start to see the aluminum underneath after a dozen or so uses. The next thing to wear out will either be the thermal fuse in the electronic portion which, with a little soldering, can be replaced or shunted. Then there is a spring loaded switch at the bottom of the base which the pan sits on. If it's lasted long enough eventually that switch will simply lock in the up position and the pan will never seat properly into the base again. That's the point when I replaced my last one. The lids seem to last forever if you don't drop anything heavy on them. Even when the teflon wears off the pan it still cooks rice well. That's why we keep buying this model. Plus, the fact that the steam hole in the lid is easily moveable by simply spinning the lid so if you have cabinets above your rice cooker it's easier to get the steam aimed away from your wood cabinets. Some models I've had seem to think a fixed steam vent in the back of the cooker is a good idea. To those manufacturers, I assure them that it's NOT. An adjustable steam vent is a BIG PLUS and that's one of the reasons I keep buying the RC436 model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

does the job

12/11/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this to replace ours that just broke. It was the exact same one and lasted us 6 years. We used it approx 3x per month. Liked it well enogh to buy the same one again.
Sometimes rice on the bottom of the pan gets overcooked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Easy to use

12/12/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a non-sticky rice cooker. Meaning the rice doesn't stick on the pot when it's cooked. This is why a PLus. Price is affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

A great product

01/12/2011
By ,
tuscaloosa, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some reviews before purchasing this product. What concerned me was when others mentioned that the water spilled over or bubbled over onto counter tops. But after using this product for a while, i don't know where those reviewers got that idea. It's never bubbled over and i think the only reason why it will bubble over is if you put in too much water. And the hard crust will only form if you leave it on warm for an extended period of time. Besides, the manual mentions that there will be some crust formation so i took that as being forewarned. This is a great product and it does what it says it will do so i will recommend it to everyone.I haven't used it for that long so i can't comment on the durability though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

no problems

04/14/2014
By ,
North Haven, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only used this a few times but had no issues. Everything cooked up perfect and easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

My Black & Decker

05/10/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wondered why there were so many complaints about this product, but I guess some people are following the instructions that come with the cooker. Wrong! I went to Cuba, got hooked on rice, and my future mother-in-law showed me how to make the best rice with the cooker. Basically, one measure of rice (a full measure in the cup that comes with the rice cooker) should be matched with a cup and 1/2 of water. (2 full measures + 3 full measures of water and so on) She adds a little oil and some salt to make white rice. I have never had the dripping or splattering problem. The flavored rices (like Goya) are excellent when made with this cooker. Also, steaming is pretty easy and very efficient with this cooker.
Also, "mi mamucha" showed me how to seat the cooking container in the cooker before cooking: spin it counter-clockwise before beginning to cook. I use the cooker at least three times a week. The oly problem is positioning the unit in an area where the steam will not discolor cabinets. If you are fortunate to have an ample kitchen, you're cool.
Scary! When I got home from work on the day after I ordered this product it was sitting in its FedEx box on my porch! That was after paying the lowest shipping rate. Unbelievable! I bought this product twice. I plan to stuff my new unit in a duffle bag and take it to mamucha to replace her aging, metal rice cooker. I can't wait to see their faces when I pull it out of the bag!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Another Satisfied customer of Walmart

04/11/2014
By ,
Boise, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product was good, would have been better if this was available in the store... Fully satisfied with the product and the value for my money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Control the Spitting with a wet cloth

11/08/2010
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooker make great rice, with easy cleanup. Rice on the bottom is a little crispy, but not burned, and I like the bottom layer the best. My old rice cooker was such a pain to clean. This cooker can be wiped off with a wet sponge.
The only problem is the mess from spitting starchy liquid out the vent hole. You can control that mess by loosely placing a wet paper towel or dish cloth on top of the hole, allowing steam to vent but catching the wet mess that comes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Great rice cooker but doesn't cook 16 cups of rice

03/13/2014
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really excited when I saw this rice cooker on line because our Black and Decker rice cooker that we have had for over 10 yrs just died. We figured we would get a bigger one of the same brand since we loved it and cook rice at least once a week. We have a large family so we wanted to go up to the next size so we would have to cook rice less often. We were really surprised when we opened it up when it arrived and it is EXACTLY the same rice cooker we currently have! We can only cook 3 cups of uncooked rice in it and it fills all the way to the top (comes out to be 6 cups cooked). This was a disappointment but we are still happy we can still make rice the way we have been for our family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Sadly disappointed

03/28/2014
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously owned a similar model Black & Decker Rice Cooker for 19 years. It finally died. I was so pleased with it that I decided to try this model RC436. Much to my disappointment, this model is nothing like the one I had before. The first time I used it I cooked 4 measures (cup provided with the cooker) of rice, the maximum is 7. By no means was this a full pot of rice. It spewed starchy water outside of the rice cooker unto my counter top and the rice was gummy. On my second attempt I had the same results. Okay, I've been cooking and using a rice cooker almost daily for 42 years, surely there had to be a resolution to this problem. The next several times I used it, I reduced the amount of water by half a cup less than the amount of rice and that seemed to do the trick, great results. Not so fast--new problem--after 4 weeks of using this rice cooker it doesn't complete the cook cycle. It goes into the warm cycle leaving me with a pot of hot water and uncooked rice. I thought it was just a fluke the first time it happened, but it has done it now 3 days in a row. Boxed it up and bringing back to Walmart. I really am disappointed. By the way, where it states "16-cup rice cooker"--that is totally misleading and erroneous. As it states in the manual, "The rice measure provided is based on 5-1/2 oz. [150 g]. Your rice cooker can handle a maximum of 7 rice measures of dry rice---yielding approximately 16, 8 oz. [227 g] cups of cooked rice. Actually this is a 4.8125 cup rice cooker. Black & Decker needs to correct how they label their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/31/2014
Hi Darlingwife, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40898425 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

WhatAyeThink

03/25/2014
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Black and Decker has the products mixed up.. The inner non-stick bowl of this 16 cup Rice Cooker fits better in the 14 cup Rice Cooker frame and vice versa. I hope they get this fixed.
Regarding functionality: You cannot find a better Rice Cooker for the money. Simply great rice in very little time. Don't look for it to stay warm all day, though, this is a cooker of rice that is to be eaten right away, not one to be keeping rice warm to eat whenever you want it during the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Worth the $$

01/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've used rice cookers before, and know for sure, that this one meets the expectations of a decent rice cooker, without pinching the pocket. Not many fancy features - just the "Cook" and "Warm" buttons. I haven't had the problem of water from the vent in the lid - that some others have complained about. But then, we've had it only for about a month now, and I haven't tried to fill it to the brim (I've seen this happen with my old rice cookers, as well, and usually the cause is when we try to fill the cooker to the brim).
The shipping cost and times were very reasonable (though the site said 1 week, we got it in 2 days).
I think it is overall a very good value - other non-stick cookers doing the same thing cost at least twice, in any online or retail store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

GREAT FOR QUICK & EASY MEALS

02/21/2014
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I had my doubts before using The Rice Cooker Plus. But I have been won over. I am very happy with my new appliance. It is easy to use and every meal I have cooked in it came out delicious.
CONVENIENCE should be the rice cooker's name!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

good

03/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Best rice cooker

02/21/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iv tried many rice cookers but this is the only one that cooks rice like the Iranian style. I recommend it to all people who cares about the quality of their meals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next