Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Black & Decker Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Having a party or busy with work? The Black & Decker RC436 Rice Cooker in White is the solution to your cooking problems. Make firm or fluffy rice the fast and easy way with this 16-cup rice cooker. It's fast and simple; you don't have to wait by the pot for your favorite recipes to cook. Just add dry rice, measure in the water, and turn the unit on. Once the rice has fully cooked, the kitchen appliance automatically switches over to keep-warm mode, which maintains an ideal serving temperature without over-cooking. You can now cook your favorite rice recipes, savory soups or stews with ease. The Black and Decker rice cooker comes with a see-through glass lid that keeps in heat and moisture allowing you to check the food without releasing steam. It also features a spoon hanger detachable condensation catcher for convenience. The cooker has a non stick cooking bowl for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(428 Reviews) 297
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
240
4 stars
117
3 stars
23
2 stars
20
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation86%367 out of 426reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
240
4 stars
117
3 stars
23
2 stars
20
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Good, But not as expected

12/25/2012
By ,
Alameda, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for somthing bigger than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Encore

08/08/2014
By ,
Oceanside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this model rice cooker after the previous model I had by Black and Decker kicked the bucket -- after a very busy life of 20 years or so cooking rice at least every week. I had high hopes for the non-stick feature, and was completely thrilled to find that it is in fact, non-stick (the older model wasn't). I don't know if it's dishwasher proof or not, so I have been cleaning it by hand. Also, I do not follow the directions for measurements given by the manufacturer. I use a 2:1 water (or liquid) to white rice ratio, and it turns out beautifully. I like my rice a bit on the sticky side, and this is how it turns out with that ratio, so if you like yours dry and separated, use different measurements. I haven't used the steamer, and am not likely too. But as a rice cooker, this model exceeded my expectations, and couldn't be easier to use (except it would be nice to know if it can be washed in the dishwasher).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Amazing little appliance

03/29/2014
By ,
Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooker some time ago and just got around to using it. It is so easy to use and made the best Basmati rice I've ever eaten. The pot is non-stick which is a plus.
I didn't use the measure that came with the cooker or the measurements on the pot.
This is what I did and it was perfect.
2 cups rice
1 teaspoon oil
3 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon salt
Put rice in the pot,add the oil and stir until all the rice is coated
Add salt and chicken broth.
Plug the cooker in and press the cook button. Cooker will go to warm when rice is cooked,but I will time it next time so I can remove the pot from the cooker as this time it started to get a little brown on the bottom. I think the oil on the rice did that. It had an excellent flavor and grains didn't stick together.
I'm going to try brown rice next time.
This is a great buy for $20.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

My Black & Decker

05/10/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wondered why there were so many complaints about this product, but I guess some people are following the instructions that come with the cooker. Wrong! I went to Cuba, got hooked on rice, and my future mother-in-law showed me how to make the best rice with the cooker. Basically, one measure of rice (a full measure in the cup that comes with the rice cooker) should be matched with a cup and 1/2 of water. (2 full measures + 3 full measures of water and so on) She adds a little oil and some salt to make white rice. I have never had the dripping or splattering problem. The flavored rices (like Goya) are excellent when made with this cooker. Also, steaming is pretty easy and very efficient with this cooker.
Also, "mi mamucha" showed me how to seat the cooking container in the cooker before cooking: spin it counter-clockwise before beginning to cook. I use the cooker at least three times a week. The oly problem is positioning the unit in an area where the steam will not discolor cabinets. If you are fortunate to have an ample kitchen, you're cool.
Scary! When I got home from work on the day after I ordered this product it was sitting in its FedEx box on my porch! That was after paying the lowest shipping rate. Unbelievable! I bought this product twice. I plan to stuff my new unit in a duffle bag and take it to mamucha to replace her aging, metal rice cooker. I can't wait to see their faces when I pull it out of the bag!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

A great product

01/12/2011
By ,
tuscaloosa, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some reviews before purchasing this product. What concerned me was when others mentioned that the water spilled over or bubbled over onto counter tops. But after using this product for a while, i don't know where those reviewers got that idea. It's never bubbled over and i think the only reason why it will bubble over is if you put in too much water. And the hard crust will only form if you leave it on warm for an extended period of time. Besides, the manual mentions that there will be some crust formation so i took that as being forewarned. This is a great product and it does what it says it will do so i will recommend it to everyone.I haven't used it for that long so i can't comment on the durability though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

easy to use

10/14/2014
By ,
Falcon, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very easy to use and comes with measuring cup and recipes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

spews out top

10/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'll be returning this rice cooker because it bubbles and spews out the top while cooking, even with the minimum amount of water required.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/14/2014
Hi Mama25boys, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 41000174 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Good for the price

10/07/2014
By ,
Newport, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well though the rice at the bottom is always overcooked no matter how much water you put in. It says 16-cup but really only good for up to 5-6 people. I use it to cook for two people and I don't find it too big. I purposely chose this product because I love hot pot and it might be used for hot pot too. Anyway, it's good for the price if you are not picky at the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Control the Spitting with a wet cloth

11/08/2010
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooker make great rice, with easy cleanup. Rice on the bottom is a little crispy, but not burned, and I like the bottom layer the best. My old rice cooker was such a pain to clean. This cooker can be wiped off with a wet sponge.
The only problem is the mess from spitting starchy liquid out the vent hole. You can control that mess by loosely placing a wet paper towel or dish cloth on top of the hole, allowing steam to vent but catching the wet mess that comes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

great product

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

perfect rice

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i love rice but i can never get it to come out fluffy with this every time its fluffy and perfect great buy if you eat a lot of rice buy this my Spanish rice recipe brown a cup of long grain white rice on the stove top after brown put in in cooker with one small can of tomato sauce add garlic one chopped onion and one or 2 chicken bouillon cubes stir and let cook this is how i make my Spanish rice i hope you like it enjoy :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

owned mine for over 3 yr.s now!

10/30/2011
By ,
houma, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this little jewel has served me well over the past few years. originally, the low price plus the light weight of the cooker had me convinced i'd be replacing it in a year or so because i cook rice at least 3 times weekly!
WRONG! i've moved a few times, it's been banged around, shuffled about and used extensively but, "she keeps on tickin'"... : ) it's not loaded with bells/whistles but the cooking feature automatically flipping to warming feature, is all i need. i cook brown rice mostly and get the same perfectly cooked rice as i do when using white. in fact, i'm purchasing one for my south louisiana daughter whose whole family are serious rice eaters! no more lending her mine : )
i join some of these other reviewers who have been surprised at some people writing about an issue w/bubbling thru the vent hole. i've never had that problem.
add a little cumin and a jar of picante sauce and the results are a deliciously easy spanish rice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

A great rice cooker for a small party.

01/09/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using a same brand of 3-cup rice cooker for 4 years now. When I say 3-cup, I mean, 3 cups of uncooked rice. The description of this rice cooker says it's a 16-cup rice cooker, 16 cups means the yield or the cooked rice after cooking 7 cups (max.) of uncooked rice. It's a bit confusing. Anyway, I don't really need a big rice cooker. I just need a bigger one than what we already have, for potluck party. This is a great rice cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Worth the $$

01/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've used rice cookers before, and know for sure, that this one meets the expectations of a decent rice cooker, without pinching the pocket. Not many fancy features - just the "Cook" and "Warm" buttons. I haven't had the problem of water from the vent in the lid - that some others have complained about. But then, we've had it only for about a month now, and I haven't tried to fill it to the brim (I've seen this happen with my old rice cookers, as well, and usually the cause is when we try to fill the cooker to the brim).
The shipping cost and times were very reasonable (though the site said 1 week, we got it in 2 days).
I think it is overall a very good value - other non-stick cookers doing the same thing cost at least twice, in any online or retail store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Cooks fast and Nice Product

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good rice cooker and u can make a 4 cup of (uncooked ) rice . Fits our needs . There is steamer basket as well with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Good Steamer

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used it to cook rice yet as I just got it, but I have steamed lots of veggies and they come out great. I wanted a decent veggie steamer that was inexpensive and this fits the bill. Veggies that are boiled or microwaved or baked just don't cut it taste wise and you lose all the vitamins, so this works perfectly and clean up is a snap.
It also looks really nice for the money and comes with the spoon and rice cup. The glass lid was a must so that you can see how your veggies or whatever you are making are doing.
Nice roomy size too!! Well detailed instruction booklet with times for many different dishes. If you are looking for a solid budget product this is a great one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Good price, kind of messy but managebale

01/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well though it sprays slime surrounding countertop and floor. Actually it sprays only if you use too much water, otherwise it is kind of ok...The good think is that it takes less time to cook both brown and white rice compare to other rice cooker like Aroma...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

does the job

12/11/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this to replace ours that just broke. It was the exact same one and lasted us 6 years. We used it approx 3x per month. Liked it well enogh to buy the same one again.
Sometimes rice on the bottom of the pan gets overcooked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Smaller than expected

04/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a cooker that can cook 5 to 7 cups of rice and went for this B&D 16-cup cooker. It was much smaller that expected. Definitely not 16 cup capacity nor 8. Not sure what the manufacturer actually meant by 16 cups. I returned it without using it but in my opinion it will probably cook 3 cups of un-cooked rice (going by 1 cup rice - 2 cups water ratio). May be the $20 price was an indicator but could not judge it and went by the '16 cup' description. The cooker itself looked good though so will probably be looking for a bigger cooker may be '32 cups' or higher by manufacturers description!
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/16/2014
Hi aW, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40907681 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Black & Decker 16-Cup Rice Cooker, White, RC436

Very Nice

11/09/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. This is very nice and we almost daily cook rice in this cooker. We cook brown and white rice and the results are awesome. Rice (White Basmati Rice) cooked very well with aroma and separated grains. If you add appropriate amount of rice and water you will get excellent results.
We are completely satisfied with this product. We have not tried soup in this cooker yet.
There should be some mechanism to completely auto turn off the cooker once the rice or food is cooked. It goes into heat/warm mode from cook mode once the cooking is done, which is nice as you get warm food always and bad since it eats electricity to keep your food/rice warm until you unplug the cooker/device.
Overall, nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 298 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next