Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Camco Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Camco Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

The Camco 40126 RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser reaches every area of the holding tank for a thorough cleaning. The tank rinser is fitted with a 360 degree rotating head with multiple high-pressure nozzles for an easy and sanitary cleanup. The RV tank rinser also features ten moving water jets a backflow preventer and an exterior access hose for quick hose connection. Once the tank is emptied, this Tornado rotary tank rinser with hose helps remove stubborn waste deposits and odor-causing particles.
Average Customer Rating:
3.912 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%29 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

easy to install

12/25/2007
By ,
reno,nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makes my life so much easier not to have to drag a hose thru the rv to clean out the black water
now just hook up the hose outside the rv and flush
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Ingenuous

05/13/2010
By ,
Prescott, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is by far the easiest, and most thorough way to rinse your holding tank. If installed on the opposite side of the tank from the dump valve, you will get the most thorough cleaning possible with the least amount of effort. The only weakness is that the product comes with a 5 ft supply line and it really needs to be 8 to 9 feet long to successfully reach the opposite side of the tank. I solved this by attaching a 4 ft 1/2" water hose (another expense). I would recommend dumping the tank before it has completely filled. If the waste level remains high enough to completely cover the tornado for a period of time, it can eventually clog the jets to where it will cease to function. If properly installed and used, this product is something you won't want to be without. A little pricey, but no real competition on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Makes life much simpler

07/29/2008
By ,
Clearville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was sitting one day at the dump station, slowly filling the black tank up from the dump valve side of the tank, when it dawned on me that what I was really doing was pushing all the stuff back into the tanks...hoping it would come out on the second try, or the third, or the fourth...
Eureka, put one of these on the black tank, one on the gray tank. Mounted the hose connections (put quick connects on them) right next to the tank valves. Pull the black handle...while emptying, attach hose to the black Tornado connector, turn on, flush until clear...about 3 minutes. Repeat for the gray tank and we're outta there. Went from 20 minutes and more at the dumpstation to just a bit more than 10. Happy camper, definitely.
Two things though...they should provide longer hoses, both my tanks were longer than the lengths of hose in the kit - made extensions out of an old fresh water hose. Second - they need to make their water pressure recommendation in bigger print or somehow more prominent. It is there, just way at the end of the instruction page and well past the point most people would have quit reading, thinking they were finished. I've read some reviews where people complained about them "blowing up" or breaking. I suspect that they were using unregulated water pressure and just turning the valve on full tilt. I use a 40 psi regulator on the hose and slowly open the valve to let them "spin up" gradually and have had no problems. Looking at how they are made when I installed them, I can see how a sudden burst of water, particularly a high pressure burst, could cause them to either seize up or blow apart. Keep the pressure down, open the valve slowly and they work just fine :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Worth the trouble

06/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read some reviews of this product on Amazon and other sites and found it at Walmart's site. It was a little less costly and was delivered to my door rather than having to pick it up at the store, which actually isn't a problem.
I wanted to make sure that the black water tank on my travel trailer was as "cleaned out" as much as possible before putting it away for weeks at a time. I didn't want to drag a hose through my camper because it seemed more of a hassle and I also felt that if there was a line behind me at the dump station, that would just create more cold stares that anything else.
The install on this would have been easier had the frame of my camper not been as close to my water tank judging from other people's campers, I think it would have been a much easier install.
The manufacturer suggests to install on the opposite end from the drain valve, which I did and I barely had enough hose to reach, but it did so you might want to measure your tank before you install it or you'll have to install on the middle of the tank. After the drilling, I connected the hose adapter near the main drain valve and I was done. It took me about an hour to install, but on other trailers I imagine 15 minutes would be all that's required.
The first time I used this I had a regular, black colored adapter that connected to the sewer hose which didn't allow me to see what was going on. I scrapped that and bought a clear adapter to make sure that this thing was working. I couldn't really judge if it worked well or not, the first time because of the black adapter, but the second time I used it, I can tell you that it really did a good job of what it's advertised to do. After draining the black water tank, I turned on the hose and let it run for several minutes. I suggest letting it run for a while as it does take some time to make sure everything does move out. It did a great job of getting the areas of the tank that normally would not have been reached any other way and I could tell it worked by watching what flowed into the drain.
I would say that my only concern is if you live in a cold weather area of the country, buy a connector and compressor to blow out the hose before you store it as I would worry about the water in the hose and the "head" in the tank freezing and breaking during the winter. Definitely this is a great purchase and I would do it again.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Keep the water pressure down

08/27/2009
By ,
enola, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product. I am on my second one. The problem is you must control the water pressure otherwise you will blow the head off it. Other than that the product works great and saves a lot of time and mess at the dump station.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Great idea, poor product

06/05/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these since I have two gray tanks and one black. After reading some negative reviews I figured I better test them a bit before installing them to make sure they were OK. One of them didn't even spin right out of the package. The other two worked initially but then when I went to test them again they stopped turning as well. They turn easily by hand, but when the water is turned on they just sit there spraying water without spinning. If only one of them was bad I could accept that I received a bad one, but with all three being bad, this is clearly a poorly designed product. I will instead buy the Quickie Flush which has no moving parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

So far so good...

06/28/2012
By ,
Helena, MT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Installation was a bit tricky, since my blackwater tank is shallow and not easily accessed. By crawling under the rig and maneuvering a bit, I was able to drill the pilot holes and cut the opening. Be sure that your pilot holes are accurately drilled to make screw installation easier. I had a problem there and thus made more work for myself. Locating the hose hookup on near the drain valves is no easy task. I may have to add an extension to make flushing easier. I dumped my tank today and flushed it. The sensor for the tank still reads two-thirds full, however. I'm hoping that with further use, the sensors will read correctly. Only time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Does not spin as advertised.

07/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon receipt, hooked up to hose to check and the device does not spin to rinse. I am contacting the manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

A must have

06/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tornado is a camper black water tank rinsing device. Installation: Carefully drill the mounting holes in the black tank with the provided template, then mount the Tornado with sealant and a few screws. Use: When it is time to clean the black tank, take your 'tank cleaning ONLY' hose and connect it to the Tornado. Open the black tank valve and turn on the water. The Tornado will blast the inside of the tank and rinse it until it runs clear - no need to stand over the toilet with a hose anymore! It works so well that I immediately bought one for our second camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Does the job.

05/29/2014
By ,
Treasure Island, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second Camco Tank Rinser that I purchased. The first one broke off at the hose connection to the tank unit after only about 8 uses. The hose connector was made of plastic and I have now seen reports that this seems to be a common problem. The new connector is made of brass although it is attached to the unit which is still made of plastic. All that being said, when the unit was functional, it worked well and seemed to do a good job at rinsing the tank. I have used similar units in several prior RV's with good results and no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Good product works as described

04/07/2009
By ,
Belle Chasse, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend, Rinses as directed,,, no mess..
Caution: Look at your tank(s) on your RV before ordering. Plan ahead where you want to place it.
I had to lower the black tank slightly to mount correctly under the camper(due to a steel support beam) Once mounted, resecured tank in original position .. Unit works great,,, use light water pressure to start head turning then increase. Instant hard pressure could lock up the head from spinning...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Tornado Destroyed

08/16/2010
By ,
San Antonio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the product over a year ago. I've only used it to flush around 8 times. I have taken care to turn the pressure up slowly (as noted on some of the other reviews) but I noticed the last two times things weren't right. I removed the unit from the tank yesterday and found it was no longer spinning. Because of the fact it works well, when it works, and I've got a big hole in my black water tank I'll be getting a replacement, but there must be another out there that doesn't fail so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

RV tank rinser-excellent!

11/24/2009
By ,
Colrain, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install once you gain access to a side of your RV holding tank. I ran the Tornado rinser for 1 hour. All the holding tank level sensors that were not reading properly before, were now reading accurately. The residue that was causing the misreadings were very effectively removed! Easy to use and certainly better than the other methods I've tried & heard of for cleaning the level sensors. A terrific & cost effective device!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Defective product

07/22/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product to replace a previous one that had broken at the hose connection. The replacement from Walmart had been improved in that the hose connection was now metal, not plastic. It was defective in that the check valve, that was supposed to prevent holding tank contents from leaking back into the hose connection, leaked!! I had to buy another Tornado from a local RV dealer because of time constraints.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

a MUST for all RV'ers

08/31/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've installed these on the last three travel trailers I've owned. I don't go camping without them. It not only sprays down the whole inside of the tank it allows you to fill your tank with clean fresh water without having to run a hose into your rig! You can get your tank VERY VERY clean with this device!
Also works well to get rid of toilet paper on the sensors!
A+ product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

An improvement

08/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second time I have purchased this product. The 1st time (2 yars ago) the place where you atached the blackwater rinse hose was made of plastic and it eventually failed from tightening the hose. The new model has a metal fastener and should last much longer. Device works great if the user turns the water on slowly rather than full force immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Best price available, but still too high.

07/22/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Accessory vinyl hose that was included was badly kinked and nearly unusable. As useful as this kit is, it still should be a $12 to $15 item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

Spotless black tank!

08/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed this a year ago and have had a sparkling clean and odor free black tank since then. My only regret is paying big bucks to have it installed by the RV service guys. He did not tie up the tubes so they got caught on a stick and broke the collar. I replaced the part and I am back up and running.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

poorly tested product

09/14/2008
By ,
Canyon Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The spinner cleaner is poorly made and leaks at all the seams, I tried it out before installing to watch the tornado action and what a joke! its DOES NOT spin at any water pressure.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Camco RV Tornado Rotary Tank Rinser

toronado tank flusher

11/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tornado tank flusing product is easy to install and works great. I was impressed that you can hear the unit flushing. I will let you know how it holds up in a year!
ABEAR 1800
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next