Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Zune Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Zune Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

It's brand-new, super-slim and goes anywhere. Highlights include wireless sharing, video playback, innovative touch controls and a built-in FM tuner. So get ready to discover and share some new tunes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation86%55 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Download software first

06/09/2009
By ,
Cleveland, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I couldn't wait for my Zune to arrive, but when I couldn't even get the Zune music software to load on my home computer I was very disappointed. I hoped the software would come with the actual Zune but it didn't. If you are looking to get a Zune I would make sure you can load the Zune music download software from their website before you purchase this MP3. I was able to load the software with no problems at work (XP) but at home (Vista) no matter what I did, I couldn't get it to load. I called their customer service number they sent me to a different website and even that didn't work. I finally decided that spending more time trying to get the software to load wasn't worth the money I spent when I belong to Rhapsody and have never had a problem. So, I returned the 8GB Zune and bought a Sansa 16GB View for less money!!! Not only is it lighter but the screen is a tad bigger and overall, more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 2 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

8GB Zune - Great Hardware

01/14/2008
By ,
Fort Walton Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought an 8 GB Zune for my wife as a Christmas present. I ordered from the WalMart web site, and before the hardware arrived I went to the Microsoft web site to download the Zune software. I am very computer-savvy, but even I had hassles with the Zune software. If you buy a Zune, make sure your PC is up to date with the latest Microsoft updates and patches, especially those related to the Microsoft Update service - the Zune software is completely dependent on being able to contact the internet, and if the Update capability isn't completely up-to-speed, the Zune software won't install, even though your PC has a perfectly good internet connection. It took a lot of digging through the Microsoft Zune web site to figure out a resolution to the installation issues I encountered. The software hassles are why I give an overall rating of four out of five stars.
The hardware is very nice - almost shockingly small. The display is very good - very legible, even though it's smaller than a business card. My wife likes the Zune, and now I need to go get a small belt clip carrying case for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

THE IPOD SMASHERS

04/19/2008
By ,
Ashtabula, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will start off by letting you guys know that I work at a Walmart in the electronics dept and that I have an 80gb zune, and my girlfriend just bought an 8gb zune. We love our zunes. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO KEEP THE MUSIC ON YOUR COMPUTER. I have music and vidoes on my zune from several different computers, and I have never had a problem with content "dissapearing" from my zune. I get to hear from customers which products they like or dislike and get too see which products get returned. The zune is a great product, and in my opinion, a little nicer than the equivilant ipods. GREAT BUY!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Not as good as the iPod

11/27/2007
By ,
Tacoma, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just purchased a new zune and it has its positives and negatives. One good thing I like is the new touchpad. You can now scroll up and down and left and right, which is a big improvement over the old zune. I was expecting the wifi to be a great social experience, but it drains the battery a ton and often doesn't work. Compared to the new ipod nano, it again falls behind. The video is ok, but the resolution isn't as great as the nano. I like the new thinner design, but again the iPod has had that for a while. I expected a bit more than I got with the Zune. I think the Zune is a good mp3 player, but compared with the super-popular iPod it isn't the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Review 5 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Great Player...minor flaws

07/23/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Zune to use when running and it has done a very great job in that department! After the numerous problems I had with the fruit companies player, I decided I would never buy anything of their's again and I went with the Zune. The radio is awesome and so are the visual effects. I have had no problem with the software either. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with a wall charger, so I have to plug it into my computer to charge or spend an extra $30 getting a wall charger. However, I highly reccomend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Excellent Device

02/17/2009
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waivered between the Zune and the iPod for a few months. Due to the popularity of the iPod it took a while to find someone I trust who actually owned a Zune. After speaking with them for quite a while and then speaking with others who were iPod users, I have to say that I am really happy with the Zune. Even though I only have the 8GB model, I already have 2 full length movies and almost 100 songs with over 5.5GB of storage left on the device. The only downside was that I purchased a program that converts my movies into one of the various formats supported by the Zune. It was an additional $30, but I feel worth the money. BTW, I have "played" with the iPod and feel that the Zune is easier to operate and I like the fact that I do not have to have iTunes to download any items. I can do it all from Windows media.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Excellent

06/10/2008
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the Zune as a Anniversary gift from my wife, and let me tell you I've been enjoying it from day one. Before I started using it I had to go to the Zune website and download the software and after that everything was so easy. I was sorprise how small it is and the pad is unique, is great not to be pressing buttons all the time, just rub your finger on the pad and it scrolls up and down.
I will recommend the Zune to all my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Zune Rocks

12/08/2007
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a few other mp3 players and this is by far the best. Easily sync's to your computer. Using microsoft points is the easiest way ive ever seen to buy music. The touch Pad works very nicely. Very awesome battery life. Would definately buy this over an ipod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Excellent

05/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this for about a month. Easy software, super sleek, excellent design. Like it better than the ipod. Easy to use--didn't take too long to figure it out. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

a Better choice

01/12/2008
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The included documentation is poor however this is a great product with better than ipod battery life and a really nice fm radio........grab one today
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Good Only For Eating Space On Your Computer

02/10/2008
By ,
OKC, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decided a few days ago to purchase my first mp3 player. Got tons of rave reviews on the Zune, and since it held 2000 songs I figured it was a good deal, and it is except for one problem. In order to put songs on your Zune you have to use the Zune software which is sketchy at best, and only the Zune software. Also if you want to keep the music on your Zune you have to keep the music you download from wherever on your computer. If you delete the music from your computer, the music disappears from your Zune and you have to redownload it all over again. Great LCD Display and great features except for this one. Don't buy unless you want to suck up all the space in your computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 12 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

A great media player choice

01/18/2009
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got a Zune over Christmas, and I've really enjoyed it. I bought it wanting a player that could hold my music, play radio, play podcasts, and show video with the additions of games and pictures. The Zune has come through on all counts.
The player has plenty of space for my songs, since I only have around 500 or so. In addition, I have four podcasts that I keep updated, as well as pictures, and a television pilot, and I still have a lot of space. If you don't have a lot of music, it'll be fine.
In addition, the podcast support is amazingly easy. You merely give the link to the podcast, or you pick it from the marketplace, and the next thing you do is pick how many episodes you want on the Zune. After that, it will download them automatically and keep them up to date, and even delete ones you have listened to (and keep track of how much you have listened to).
Finally, there are lots of neat little touches. The navigation is extremely versatile. You can go up and down in menues, as well as horizontally. Need to find another album by the same artist? You don't have to go up to the artist level, but you can instead go left and right on the wheel to see other albums. Other nifty things include the way it automatically pauses when your earphones are unplugged. Things like this are nice touches, but make the Zune a great player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Good player

06/11/2009
By ,
Rockingham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this player and only have one complaint and that is that it only picks up one station, and that is the gosphel station that is in my town. Other than that, it is everything that Microsoft said it was. It came in a bundle with a car charger/FM transmitter that when i hooked it up to this Zune, said that it needed updating. It said that it had updated, turned off, and never turned back on. Walmart is in the process of shipping me a new one, but made me return the player and charger/transmitter to do so, but I'm okay with that, because now I'm getting it in red.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

THE GREATEST INVENTION!!!

04/18/2009
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh If I could give the zune higher rating than 5 stars I would. I just bought the Zune 8gig in black yesterday and it is the greatest mp3 player available!! So much better than an Ipod. It took me a while to figure out the software but after speaking to the Zune techs they were extremly nice and I understood EVERYTHING! all the features on the zune are great! Just the same as an Ipod only 10x BETTER!!! This is the greatest thing you can buy! I love the soft toch pad. All I have to say Is the ZUNE IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

MP3 THAT ROCKS!

12/22/2008
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Zune offers everything you would expect from an mp3 plus a FM tuner. I like the versatility of being able to use workout playlists, relaxing playlists, hiking playlists, etc. and when I am tired of listening to my mixes and don't have time to change them out- I just turn to a favorite radio station. I also like to check in now and then to get local news, happenings, Griz games, etc. I am in college and can download podcasts for online classes and learn on the run. FANTASTIC!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

DONT BUY THIS!!!!

11/23/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this . Pile up your money and burn it instead!!! This device will not allow you to use it at all without proprietary software . You cannot use it without a 130 megabyte download!!! No software comes with it. If you are on dialup internet it will take you HOURS to download the software before it can be used. DO THE RESEARCH and buy a different product!!!!!!!! I am going to return mine as soon as possible. Microsoft wasted their time and mine with this , it is garbage.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Worth every cent!

08/23/2008
By ,
Monroeville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has been incredible. It it combines a small compact size with enough space to hold a ton (about 2000) of songs. It screen is very large and allows for easy viewing of album art. The battery lasts for a pretty long time, although I have no idea actually how long. I would also recommend buying the special package that comes with the premium headphones because they are much better than the out of the box headphones. Overall, much better than an ipod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

DO NOT BUY!!!

07/28/2008
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not make the same mistake I did. I bought this product without researching enough and now it's too late and I'm paying for it. I only have one chief complaint, but it is very important and that is battery life. It is terrible on the Zune. It seems like it loses power even when it is turned off. I can't run and listen to it more than two times before it runs out of battery. DO NOT BUY because you will spend more time charging it than listening to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 19 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

A Very Satisfied Customer

05/14/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this one so much I returned it for the 80GB. Now I can share family pictures with relatives in other states (It holds 20,000 pictures), view my favorite music videos on the airplane, and never be bored when I am early to a personal appointment. I also downloaded pictures of some of the most picturesque places in the world. Love the product. Now, if it would accommodate GIF pictures, my world would be complete. (Just kidding.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Zune 8GB MP3 Video Player, Black

Zune Better Than Ipod

02/15/2009
By ,
Clinton, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My nephews wanted IPODs for Xmas... I was just about to buy them IPODs when my mother told me about the Zunes. I was nervous because my brother had told me the IPODs are so much better... but I went with my gut and purchased the Zunes... well my brother now wants to get rid of his IPOD and get a ZUNE... he says they are WAY better, you can do more with them... the boys (my nephews) love them!!! I am going to go get one for myself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next