Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

The only thermoelectric cooler on wheels, the Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler is designed to fit neatly in your car. Two storage compartments keep food chilled and cool down to approximately 45 degrees F. The Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler also features a Forced Air Convection cooling system, which uses an internal fan to circulate cold air evenly, allowing plastic bottles to become as cold as cans and cool more quickly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%79 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Better than I expected

11/29/2007
By ,
Hammond, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been my best purchase ever for traveling.
It gets used a lot on road trips and Airport Security allows it to go on plane as long as no liquids are in it. I bring it to Hotel rooms to keep from using the vending machines so often, of which they usually don't carry my brand of soda. My husband is diabetic, so I keep Orange Juice in it in the Hotel room in case he needs it in the middle of the night.
Great for tail-gaiting too. Hot or Cold...it can handle it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Superb Traveling Accessory

01/12/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a retiree I travel a lot between several Texas cities. The Range Rover 20 is a most useful and practical cooler/heater for carrying consumables that are best kept cool/warm. When necessary this also includes prescription drugs that need to be kept cool.
The extendable handle and roller wheels makes it a snap to move around.
Good looking, sleek design as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 3 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

convenient

01/12/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No ICE!!!
Cools or warms - simple to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 4 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Fantastic Product

01/13/2008
By ,
Huntsville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Cooler/Heater! I bought a warm bottle of wine off the shelf to share with my family; by the time I got to their home (1 hour away) the bottle was cold! Ready to drink! Perfect! I am thrilled! Keeping drinks & food warm works great too & all I have to do is flip the cord over to switch from cold to hot... simple! Kudos for this one!! A++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

EXCELLENT!

02/20/2008
By ,
Porland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one while we were traveling back with our H2 limo. We picked one up one sometime after we left FL but before we hit NC. I'll tell you it was soo VERY nice having cold sodas, water and snacks in there. It was also VERY nice as we new we had a working cooler when we stopped in a hotel/motel for the night. I'm actually going to get one for my van so when I travel with the Boy Scouts I have old water, or when he family is just out and about. I hope this helps someone! I would LOVE to put 1 in each of the other 4 limos that we have! (5 in all)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 6 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

great travel companion

02/29/2008
By ,
Erie, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great item! Enough room for at least 6 cans of pop, plus 4 bottles of water, plus the contents of a lunchmeat, cheese and crackers package from the refrigerated section of the supermarket plus 4 pudding cups.
Lightweight, even when loaded, and easy to manuever. Telescoping handle so you can easily pull it along behind you. Sturdy handles on the long sides so you can carry it if you wish.
Small enough to easily fit between the front seat and back seat of the car. The power cord is of a good length. Very quiet. Double-zippered top makes it easy to open and close, even from the front seat.
There's a plastic divider provided that slides down slots spaced along the insides of the cooler. A nice detail that lets you sub-divide the cooler and keep things from moving around inside it.
Room temperature items placed in the cooler cool fairly rapidly. Keeps everything nice and cold without ice or cold-paks; no melted water to drain or thawed paks to re-freeze! Haven't tried keeping hot food hot yet, but I don't see why it wouldn't work as well doing that as it does keeping cold stuff cold.
Ran it three days in a row for 10 - 14 hours a day while driving cross-country with no problems.
If you're stopping overnight and don't have a refrigerator in the hotel, or if you're going to have the cooler outdoors for a long period, make sure that perishable items don't spoil by picking up an AC - DC converter to use the cooler indoors or outdoors where there's an AC outlet.
Depending on how many DC items you're running in your vehicle (GPS, cooler, MP3 player, charging the cell phone, etc.), and how many cigarette lighter/DC power outlets you have in your vehicle, keep in mind that you may need an adapter that will let you power more than one device from a cigarette lighter.
All in all, I'm quite happy with this and am happy to recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Review 7 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Good product but damaged

03/25/2008
By ,
London, Ontario
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler works well. Very portable and convenient. However, when we received it at the In-store site, it was damaged. Late arriving. Because we wanted to use it immediately, we did not send it back. The plastic that was broken on the inside can be repaired.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Best product out there for size & price

04/08/2008
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this cooler in our minivan from NC to FL and back. It ran for 10 hours non-stop with no problems. It was extremely quiet and kept everything inside chilled. We had it packed full all the time, so there was no empty space to fill with hot air. We did unplug it at rest areas, but since it was never opened it remained cool. We did not purchase the wall outlet plug because our hotels had refrigerators. We did cool all our items in the fridge before putting in the cooler for the trip. It fit in between the bucket seats perfectly in the 2nd row of our minivan and the cord had plenty of room to the front outlet.
We researched all online stores as well as local shops and couldn't find anything that beat this for the size and price. The rolling with handle aspect is an added bonus that we used, too. Would highly recommend this product for long car trips and travel with little ones who need milk or formula throughout the trip.
We packed 4 cans of soda, 1/2 gallon of milk, 2 sandwiches, 3 medium-sized sippy cups, 2 snack packs of applesauce, 2 small tupperware containers of veggies, and some baggies of cut-up deli meat in the cooler with no problem. It made the trip so much easier and more enjoyable for all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Review 9 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Great Product!!!

06/14/2008
By ,
Thornton. CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. I bought the in home charger too and they both work fantastic. Could not have asked for a better cooler. It heats and cools. We can take it ice fishing in the winter and boating in the summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Disappointing

06/18/2008
By ,
Mont Tremblant Quebec
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this car refrigerator for my car trip from Miami to Mont Tremblant, Quebec. It never got cold. There is no way to pre-cool this refrigerator without a cord for indoors. maybe if there was such a cord and the refrigerator could be cooled before putting food in, as suggested in the instructions, it would stay cool. Where would I buy this cord. The car cord has one side for cold and one side for hot. Stores do not carry this. Walmart did not carry this.When one stops the car which is about every 75 miles if one has a pet, the cord has to be disconnected from the cigarette lighter or it would burn out the battery according to precautions listed in instructions.
I live in the mountains.. I have to wait until I can drive t a town that has a Walmart to return this. Very bad purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Not as expected

06/18/2008
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I expected this cooler to make and keep cold things cold. I put cold drinks and some frozen food in the cooler but while traveling and taking the cooler into my hotel room, the food thawed and the drinks warmed several hrs later. This 'cooler' simply blows air over the contents of the cooler, there is no cooling elements in the motor, just a fan.
I returned it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 12 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

A great buy

06/25/2008
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the range roller because I was going on a cruise and there wasn't a refrigerator in our room. It came in handy for water bottles and for medications that needed to be refrigerated. I did buy the wall adapter so I could plug it into a wall outlet and that was very easy to hook up. Just remember to put your items in there already cold and it will keep them at that temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Good if long trip with no stops

07/01/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased to store breast milk after pumping throughout the day. My car is my home office since I'm in sales so I don't have access to a fridge and my standard cooler with icepacks wasn't working well with the summer heat. The cooler works great when I'm driving long distances however, if I'm out of the car for an hour or more it doesn't stay cool inside when the battery power is off. In addition, the instructions warn to unplug when the car is off to avoid it draining the battery source. It seems to work better with cans vs. plastic bottles. My Diet Coke stays real cold vs. the bottles when it's on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Very car friendly.

07/10/2008
By ,
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would like to say that everything about this cooler is perfect and exactly as described in the literature. How handy it is to transport too with the elongated handle and wide wheels.
The only thing missing which Walmart should sell as part of the package, or at least offer the option of purchasing, is the adapter for use with an electrical outlet which gives you twice the capability of use.
Centrigrade Products when contacted told me that Walmart decided not to carry the battery adapter, reason unknown.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Wonderful!

07/14/2008
By ,
Madison, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for my husband for Fathers Day. He is a driver and he LOVES it! He says its perfect for carrying his sodas and keeping them cold and he doenst have to stop to have a snack on the road! He was surprised to find it had heat too. We can take it to dinners where we are bringing hot food too! It was an excellent buy. We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Awesome Cooler

07/14/2008
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We drove all the way from Syracuse, New York to Madison, Wisconsin with this cooler, and everything we packed was still cold when we got there. The trip was almost 15 hours long. The fan is so quiet we couldn't hear it, even when we had the radio off. This is well worth the money for any traveler!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 17 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Convenient size

07/15/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prior to this cooler, we used to lug around a larger electric cooler (Coleman 40 quart, I think). But it was just too big for us to use regularly. In fact, we have not been using it for several years. Then, we ran across this one. It was just the perfect size for what we needed. We have three young kids. So, this Range Roller is perfect for a few juice boxes, some milk and a couple cans of soda (pop). Now, when we want to spend a day a the beach (two hour drive), we can use this cooler. The drinks stay cold enough. Don't expect this cooler to cool down the drinks in just a few hours though. We cool the drinks in our regular fridge the night before the trip.
We recently went on a 13-hour drive from Philadelphia to Indiana. This cooler was just perfect. It does not take up too much room. It keep the drinks cold enough to satisfy one's thirst.
Only one drawback: The lid uses a zipper to close. That is a bit inconvenient but not enough for us not to use the cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler
07/17/2008
By ,
Indiananpolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooler works great. It's big enough for a fairly long trip and is sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler
07/19/2008
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bigger than what we wanted but met our needs. Keeps items reasonably cool (especially medications). AC adapter makes total price a little spendy but overall works well as cooler. (Have not tried heater portion yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 20 for Range Roller 20 Portable Electric 12-Volt Car Cooler

Technology is Wonderful!

07/21/2008
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little cooler is just what I wanted. It cools surprisingly well. Everyone at the event I went to were jealous. They all wanted one. I have the converter so that I can plug it into the wall as well.
Would highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next