Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summer Infant Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Summer Infant Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

The Summer Infant Extra Tall Decorative Walk Thru Gate helps you maintain a safe environment for your child at home. Safeguard you child against any accidents with this extra tall swing metal baby stair gate. Its stylish looks allow it to blend in nicely with any contemporary home decor. This baby stair gate has a swing mechanism and it opens easily in either direction. It also automatically shuts close after it is opened. This Summer infant decorative extra tall gate comes with a hardware mounted option, making it easy for you to install it at the head of any staircase in your house. The gate is designed with a height of 36" to ensure your child does not manage to climb over it. Bring home the Summer Infant Extra Tall Decorative Walk Thru Gate and make your home a safer place for your child.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(508 Reviews) 450
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
369
4 stars
100
3 stars
19
2 stars
10
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation93%472 out of 508reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 304 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
369
4 stars
100
3 stars
19
2 stars
10
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

LOVED

12/19/2012
By ,
Germany
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to test how it was. I read some pretty negative reviews so I was fearing that I gambled on the product. It met my expectations and was higher. GREAT product. I do not understand everyones comments about how it took forever to set up, LOL. It took me exactly four minutes. Nice and sturdy and it looks great! We have no problems using it. No cracks, chips, and the door automatically shuts perfectly. We have a home based kenneling business and even the biggest dog can't move it. My german sheperd has tried to figure out how to open it but has since given up. I love having the latch up top and its easy to use one hand. Love this product. What made it even better is that we are military and living in Germany. I ordered this on a Sunday and it arrive Wednesday! Super priority shipping.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

A must have!!!

02/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 2 small dogs that have been able to get through or over every baracade we have ever set up. We had originally bought the basic child gate to keep them from going upstairs or into rooms they were not suppose to be, but some how they were still able to jump over that. We then decided to get this gate based on it's hieght and price and found it to be more than we could hope for. It is easy to set up, looks great, and the bars are close enough together that my 8lbs dogs can't squeeze through. Also with be being in property managment I have recommended it to all my residents because it doesn't require screws to mount so it doesn't damage the walls, and it is tall enough that small children cannot climb over it. You also don't have to worry about it fitting in your extra wide entry ways because it comes with extra extentions too! You MUST buy this today!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Easy to install and sturdy (well built)

08/30/2013
By ,
Bergen County, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I generally don't write reviews because I am downright lazy. I do benefit from other peoples reviews and thought that this product warranted one. I had to purchase two gates for two staircases in my home. I first bought two Munchkin gates from Target and one did not fit the span so I returned it. The other was difficult to assemble and is not very sturdy (see picture).
Subsequently, I purchased the Summer Infant gate and am very satisfied with it. The assembly and install was seamless and it feels much sturdier that the Munchkin gate. If it wasn't for the hefty price tag of the gates, I would discard the Munchkin (I threw out the box and additional parts after installing it) and buy another Summer Infant.
Good luck
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Solid construction, durable metal

06/23/2013
By ,
Portland OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this gate for the office of Nwplaza Antique Coin Buyers. The height of this gate was the original appeal, however the hardware and material used are durable and certainly designed to last.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

I like this gate, but had some problems

02/03/2014
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great gate, now that it's installed. Installation was a problem--not because of the gate but because I live in an older home with uneven floors and door frame--even tho it didn't look uneven. I had to add a 1 x 2 board on each side of the molding to make it fit. Once installed, it is great. Easy to operate once you remember to first push the thumb release, then lift the gate, then push one direction only. You can remove the stopper that keeps the gate from swinging both ways, but we left it on. Sometimes takes me 2 hands to open. Would be hard to open if carrying a baby or basket of wash. Also, it is a narrow opening. Many of my friends have to go a little sideways to get in (actual opening is only 18" wide). Attractive color and shape.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Great Gate! Not what we expected!

03/22/2009
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gate! We got the gate to keep our 9 1/2 month old in our living room and kitchen area during the day. It works great for that, but it also keeps our dogs out of the kitchen too! Great product for your moneys worth. It's nice too that is comes with extra extensions! Some of the other gates you had to buy the extensions. The gate does come warped, but it's made to be that way! It tells you right on the gate. Once it is properly installed the gate is straight. Also the latch will work depending on if the gate has too much tension or not. Adjust and it works great! The gate does swing closed on its own as long as you open it wide enough. If you don't open it wide enough it wont shut and lock all the way every time. Very strong too! Our daughter climbs on it, bangs on it, and hangs on it and it doesn't budge! I would recommend this gate to everyone who is looking for a great baby gate for a decent price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Awesome Gate

11/06/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was easy to install. I bought it to keep my small dog from going upstairs. It works well for my 3 year old as well. It opens easily with one hand and swings shut behind you. We currently have it only pressure mounted and my son can not knock it down. This gate is a great buy an well worth the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Nice solid gate.

03/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, I was expecting something more flimsy like the last gate I had put at the top of the stairs and the gate door broke. This seems more solid and more stable. The gate is a light brown color, which goes better with our stair railings than the white gate we had previously. Relatively easy to set up; you have to make sure the gate is aligned exactly to make the gate door shuts tight after you open it. It springs back to the shut/locked position if aligned correctly.
Keeps both kids and dogs contained, and I like the tall gate height. This spans wide spaces with the extra extensions. We used all three extensions to expand to a space of 45-inches.
So far we are a fan; we'll see how long this one will last; I hope longer than the 3 months that my old one lasted.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

great gates

11/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't want the normal wooden or plastic gates you see everywhere. I saw these and had to have them. They match the deocr of my home and they are very sturdy. I would have even paid a little more for them if I had seen them in person next to the cheaper plastic gates.
I must say though, the babies weren't as excited as me. :-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

A great gate!

03/18/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate to keep our two 5lb miniature pinschers enclosed in our outer kitchen. I had previously purchased a higher priced gate at Petsmart, but returned it because they could escape at the ends and it looked horrible. This gate is wonderful! Not only does it keep our dogs safe while we are at work, but it is very stylish (I have received many compliments about it). It was very easy to put together & it stands up to our grandsons pulling/trying to climb on it when they come to visit. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Awesome gate!!

10/08/2013
By ,
House Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was completely impressed when I put this gate up. I thought it was going to be a pain when I first took the gate out of the box and seen all of the parts, but it was very easy to assemble. The directions were a little unclear, but it was more common sense. I love this gate. It looks great against our log stairs. It doesn't stand out. I use for the bottom of the stairs and love how I don't have to screw it into the wall. I would definitely buy another one if I needed a permanent gate. Most importantly my daughter will never be able to figure out how to open it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

LOVE IT!!!!!

01/05/2012
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just came in the mail today. Only got 1 and I love it that I want another one! extremely east to put together/up. looks very nice. Using it between our kitchen and playroom which is 47" Works great! I was able to cook unintrupted FINALLY! Took the stopper out for the stairs. Now I just need another one for our stairs as you can adjust each tension and i have tried over 4 other gates and b/c of how our stairs are they don't work and we don't want screws in our walls or spindles for the stairs. I did notice when I was tightening the tension screws that if you do them too tight you cannot open the gate...easily fixed just untighten a little bit! I am not a big or little person and i fit through the opening just fine...but i can see how this could cause issues with bigger people. Can't wait to get another one!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Not worth the extra money

03/14/2011
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought two of these gates for our kitchen entries to keep the pets out of the kitchen and were hoping to use them to keep our future baby out when that time came (I'm 7 months pregnant). At first they were great; stylish, tall enough that the cat can't jump over, easy to operate... but then after about 4 weeks of high traffic use the "auto close" feature quit working and the gate would just hit the side and bounce back open, which stinks, but you can just close it by hand, so no big deal. Well about 2 weeks after that the sliding piece on the top that you are supposed to slide over before lifting the gate to open doesn't work... you don't have to even touch it to open the gate, just lift and the gate swings open. Even the gate on the other side of the kitchen that doesn't get nearly as much use did the same thing after a couple more weeks. Not worth the extra money if it's not going to even last more than 2 months! If we had kept the boxes, these would be going back to the store!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

A Lucky Find

07/03/2009
By ,
Mogadore, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the BEST gate I have come across. It far exceeded my exptectations and was such a great price for what you get. I had already been through the plastic gates that have to be pryed open with a handle and then crammed back into the door frame as well as the wooden accordian gates; neither of which held up against children or pets. I searched for weeks and thought there has got be a 'REAL' gate out there and after reading the reviews for this one, I just had to try it.
This gate is made of heavy duty steel with an auto latching behind you. The walk through and style is the highlight. I have this at the top of my steps and feel very safe that it is not going anywhere. Skip the others. This was so worth the money.
BTW I set this up myself as a permanent (with the nail options provided) gate since it would be at the top of the steps while my husband was at work. Very easy..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

better than expected

01/08/2011
By ,
Tampa,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't take the time to write product reviews, but I was so impressed with this product that I decided to write.We have 2 large dogs and one small one and needed a gate to keep them out of certain rooms. I wanted a pressure mounted gate with a door so we could leave it in place yet move it easily to another location. I also needed something that could expand to various sizes and looked stylish. This particular gate fit the bill, but when I saw the $54.00 price I thought it must be poorly made or not look as well as pictured. I was desperate for something so I ordered it anyway. Not only does this gate work great I actually get compliments on it by everyone that comes to my house.It is easy to install and remove and the door in the gate can actually swing both ways which is great. I even imediately bought a second one. Unfortunatley the price went up after Christmas to $64.00 but it is still well worth the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

What a Awesome product

02/27/2009
By ,
oak harbor ,wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 2 boys are very curious boys and keeping them out the kitchen was a task definitly with those flimsy wood gates this strong looks like steel gate was an awesome choice not only can they not open the gate and my sons are a 2 and 3 year old but they still havent figured out how to open the gate with the gate shutting without me closing it is awesome but remember you have to align it right and evenly to make it do that but after trial and error i got it working perfectly i bought a second gate after 5 days to make sure that they wernt gonna figure it out and i'm so excited to get it so i can put it on the stairs so i dont have to lock all the bedrooms so the kids wont get in lol yeah it was that serious lol. This is an awesome price right now cant beat that forsure a wonderful beautiful gate that i think will last for ever i can probably sell it after i'm done using it with my kids cause it stays in perfect condition with just a simple whip down with water i love this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

Safety happiness

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the tall gate! It was the only one that was wide enough to fit our area. It provides extra side panels if needed to cover a wider area and that is exactly what we needed. It's extra tall too. It has a safety device to use to open it so that children can not open it and an automatic swing close spring. It is also an attractive looking gate. It was extremely easy to put together. We are very pleased with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

For the money, it's the best!

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installs easily. Pressure mounted or hardware provided for permanent
installation. Sturdy. Door operates without difficulty. Extra height assures
no small child escapes. Wouldn't pay less for similar type product as this
one just meets a parent's expectations. Less investment would make one
wonder about quality, sturdiness and the safety factors.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

I love this gate!

08/26/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this gate to keep my 4 large dogs out of my kitchen and living room. It's tall enough that they can't jump over it, but not so tall that it looks like it belongs in a jail. Easy to open with one hand. Springs closed every time, but it took a while to get the adjustments just right. You can use it with or without the hardware to mount it to the side walls (you have to use the hardware on top of stairs for safety reasons.) I'm using it without the hardware and the dogs haven't knocked it over yet. Very easy to set up and comes with three additional panels to use on large openings. I highly recommend this gate. (I just wish that it cost less.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Summer Infant - Decorative Extra Tall Gate

The "hardware mount" it a joke

08/19/2011
By ,
Cedar Grove, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is a nice looking gate, and the metal seems very sturdy. I was looking for a hardware mounted gate and the description of this gate stated "pressure or hardware mounted". When picking it up at the store, the box only stated "pressure mounted". I left it at the store and checked the description on the website again. So back to the store. At home, I unpacked the gate. The "hardware mounted" means that you have little flimsy plastic cups that are supposed to hold the pressure mounts in place. After having tried this already numerous times with various gates I have to say, it does not work. I bought the gate not only for my grandkids, but also to keep the dogs away from the stairs. Have you ever seen a flimsy plastic cup compete with a European Great Dane. The plastic cup will definitely loose, as already proven a few times. I will have to return this and hunt the internet for a real "hardware mounted" gate that will fit the large opening at the top of the stairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 451 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next