Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stansport Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Stansport Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

Warm up to the great outdoors with this Portable Outdoor Butane Heater, boasting ultra-quiet operation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation67%10 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

AWESOME HEATER

12/05/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was leary about this unit because it was priced low but this heater can keep about a 6ft by 6ft area warm.easy to use and the butane last long and is very cheap about $2.50 a can and last about 5 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Review 2 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

Most cost efficient way - to heat up a cool day.

11/06/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really, this is a great, efficient & inexpensive product. It's not a focused blast-furnace of heat, but it is quiet, efficient, and plenty warm. Compared to propane fired heaters, this thing is as quiet as a church-mouse. You can't even tell it's on, except for the heat and the warm orange glow.
I got this unit to take camping/hunting/fishing... because those fall and winter mornings can now be that much nicer. On a recent public land pheasant hunt, I received many good comments from other hunters who gathered around this heater at a pre-hunt meeting. I can see this would be great as an emergency heat source for power outage situations! It also can keep my garage work-area nice and toasty... it's a real luxury. An electric heater would do the same - but cost FAR more to operate.
It is just what you would hope - and more than I think I paid for. Great deal - especially at the Wal-Mart.com price. Don't hesitate - this is 1/2 the cost of a Coleman or Mr. Heater - with twice the BTU's and fuel is 1/3 the price for twice the burn time. You can't go wrong!
The canisters of fuel (I found on Amazon.com, Smart & Final & Big 5) are all about $2-$2.50 each. I have yet to burn one full canister out... and I've been using this heater for hours. Average burn time is 5 hours+ from what I can tell - ON HIGH. $2.50 for 5 hours of heat is VERY inexpensive! The extra effort put in to finding a source for the fuel is well worth the value secured by using this unit.
Buy one - you will be pleased that you did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 3 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

no use buying

09/28/2008
By ,
Herrick Il.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Takes a special tank of butane and walmart don't sell it. returned heater to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 4 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

nice product but....

01/23/2008
By ,
n.syracuse
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
couldn't find canister to fit it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

Could be Better

01/20/2008
By ,
Blaine, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice little heater for the price paid, however, if you plan on using for keeping warm in an icehouse/shack beware that you may not be as warm as might expect from other portable heaters. It is very convenient and portable one downfall is the butane containers you need to make it run are somewhat hard to find in my neck of the woods, there's always online ordering though. My one big suggestion for this is maybe include a carrying case for when its not in use so no interior mechanisms get ruined. I would recommend using this for camping in cool/dry weather, definately not for damp cold ice fishing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 6 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

5 Star ... except for fuel search

12/29/2009
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The heater is an absolutely excellent product in every way.
However, Wal-Mart does not sell the required fuel canisters. I had to search forever till I found 2 online stores! The canisters themselves are very inexpensive - but the shipping cost is a whopper. I ordered 12 for 13.97, totalling 27.00 with shipping, which nearly doubles the canister's overall cost.
BUT, if that doesn't matter, then I highly recommend this heater. It may be lightweight and small, but it works like a mighty giant.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 7 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

No good when COLD!

12/29/2009
By ,
Sacramento, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live in Northern California, so I figued this would be ideal, however, this heater doesn't work below +40 degrees F worth a darn, it freezes up and sputters before it can heat my small van. It works great if I can get it running before it drops below 40. This is also true for all of the portable butane stoves, since butane fails to vaporize below 31 degrees F. Stick with propane, it vaporizes to -48F.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

try again

10/14/2009
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
heater met expectations but ignitor didn't work. I returned unit to store (no problem - thanks Wal Mart!) It really worked well when lit with a lighter but manufacturer needs better quality control. Unit shipped with scratches in paint, pointed out by son and I believe it was a previous return that wasn't put through a quality check before resending. going to order another and see what happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater
01/13/2008
By ,
Woodland Hills, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very difficult to start. Not easy to find type of fluid (butane) to light the heater. I was able to light it one time after many attempts, and moving it to different levels. Once lit it will give off good heat for the size. I froze after 3.5 hours, due to enability to restart. Not worth it unless you buy another heater as backup.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 10 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

Nice Product

12/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these items, one for me and one for my parents. So far I like the heater. It works great for what I need it for, and should work good for what they will need it for. I found butane fuel at Academy Sports for around $2.50 a can. I would not recommend this if you can not find the butane cans for it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Review 11 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

Best Portable Heater

02/02/2010
By ,
Englewood, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater for ice fishing tent. It worked perfectly and kept inside tent very warm. 1 can of 8oz butane gas lasted more than 6 hours. Walmart does not carry this butane gas but any Asian grocery stores carry it all the time at very cheap cost. (1 can less than $1) Highly recommended for outdoor use !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

Good purchase

01/04/2010
By ,
Bulverde, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice little heater. It's not as big as some of the others on the market but it does the job for a personal heater. It uses a special canister of fuel. I got mine from Big 5 sporting goods for under $2 a can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

very warm and nice product

06/26/2008
By ,
Lapeer, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this product , It keeps my camper nice and warm and on a full tank it last a long time between fill up. For the price you get mor then what you paid for I think.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

awesom heater

12/30/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great heater, High heat output from such a small unit !! Fuel is somewhat hard to find, but very cheap about 2.00 a can
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Stansport Portable Outdoor Butane Heater

Love it - perfect for deer blinds!

12/28/2009
By ,
Humble, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the butane heater - only problem is Walmart sells the product but not the butane????? Go figure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points