Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Camp Chef Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Camp Chef Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Prepare delicious meals with the hearty flavor only achieved with the Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven. This cast iron Dutch oven features a beautiful mule deer etching, three legs, a handled lid, and bale. The raised lip around the lid of the Camp Chef Dutch oven is excellent for cooking with charcoal briquettes or wood. This cast iron Dutch oven is seasoned and ready to cook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%36 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Excellent Dutch Oven for Camping and Home

07/14/2008
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great product for a low price and I got it quick. I ordered this product using the ship-to-store service. I only camp a few times a year but this is a versatile product to cook scrambled eggs or pancakes (on the inside of the lid), and other stews and soups. The 3-legs make it perfect for wood or charcoal fires. The product came already seasoned. I did another seasoning by applying a light coat of vegetable oil all over the dutch oven, then oven bake it at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Use this when camping instead of taking a few pots. It can do it all. Lots of camping or backyard recipes are available by searching the internet. Though I have not done so, this can also be used on your patio (in your charcoal grill) or on your stove/oven. I am very satisfied not only with the product, but with Wal-Mart for finding great values for their customers! ;-) - Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Just as Good as Lodge Logic

11/29/2010
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic dutch oven and a Lodge Logic Deep bigger dutch oven (I forget which size).
While I'm no metalurgist, I honestly can't tell the difference. I cook in both, at the same time, and get terrific results. My wife and I cook cornbread in the CC while it sits atop our LL filled with bbq ribs.
Perfect every time. I don't need to spend more cash on a brand name. I'll stick with Camp Chef.
(pic shows ribs in the Lodge and homemade cornbread in the smaller Camp Chef)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

great cheap camping dutch oven

06/06/2011
By ,
Rocky Mount, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it's not a lodge, which seems to be the benchmark for these things, but it works wonderfully. the legs are taller than most cheaper brands so the coals fit under perfectly, the lip on the lid is fairly high helping to keep the ash out of the food. the handle does NOT have the little bump in it that makes hanging the oven over a fire easier, but that is a low level inconvenience.
DO NOT TRUST THE PRESEASONING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it says you can open teh box and cook in it, but it's going to smoke like a banshee the 1st time you add heat, I can only imagine what that would taste like, I burned the oven off, even took the lid off and let the inside smoke out as well, once it stopped smoking I then oiled the oven down and used it as normal.
you are hard pressed to find anything this cheep at this quality out there, there is one site that does lodge pretty cheap, but even there you will be spending another $15 on the oven then $50 for shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Great oven!

08/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got into dutch oven cooking and it's great! This oven has worked great so far. I made peach cobbler and pineapple upside down cake at camp last week and the campers next to us wanted to know what smelled so good.
There's lots of recipes on the net. Go find them and start cooking!
Now I need another oven to cook a meal while the desert is baking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

1st usage

05/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We made biscuits the first time in this dutch oven and they were wonderful. It was great to have biscuits with breakfast at our campsite. Recommend this product. We put foil in between to make two rows and then had to switch places halfway through so the bottom didn't burn. They were good. Yum yum
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Lid not as advertised.

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dutch oven looks to be well made and should perform as intended. It did not come with a mule dear lid as advertised.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

It's not a Lodge

04/13/2011
By ,
Stone Mountain, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased the Camp Chef 12" camp oven from Walmart.com for our recent trip to South Carolina. I was looking at a replacement lid for an old 10" dutch oven and wanted a camp oven lid to use while camping. Looking at prices, it was cheaper to buy a new Camp Chef 12" camp oven instead of a replacement lid for the 10". It is cast iron, preseasoned and ready to use from the box. We used it to roast some chicken, make some beer bread, and sweet rolls. We are planning on using it to cook some lamb for Easter.. Only complaints I should mention is the lid did not twist smoothly the first couple of cookings and the round lid hook (on the lid) is smaller than Lodge so make sure you have the hook lid lifter. Also the site to site was delayed so we did not get to take it with us.
For the price, it is great as a starter camp oven. You can find great recipies and tips on line to get the most out of this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Great Purchase

09/12/2011
By ,
Mountain Home, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting a dutch oven for camping and fire pits but did not want to pay the price for the more expensive ones. I got this one and for the price I love it. I only used it once but can't wait to use it again. It was ready to use right out of the box. I cooked a whole chicken in it without any trouble. The meat fell off the bones and the vegetables were perfect. With the leftover veggies and broth I made soup the next day for lunch. It was easy to clean. In my research I read that after the use mineral oil was used on it instead of regular vegetable oil. It helps it keep a shine and looking new. The lid lifter is a must. I got the 9 inch lifter without realizing it. I wish I had gotten the longer one but it still works good. I used wood coals instead of charcoal and it worked just fine. We have a burn pit and lots of wood to burn so I see a lot of use out of this oven. I am looking forward to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Excellent!

05/15/2009
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a camping trip. LOVED IT! Very versatile. Extremely happy with our purchase. Recommend it HIGHLY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Great outdoor cooking

04/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once a year about 20 of us get together for our early spring campout in the North Georgia Mountains. I bought this oven for this years camp out. It was a HIT !!! There is nothing like the smell of fresh baked bisquits early in the morning at camp. I plan to buy another one, so I can combine more meal items and have them all ready at the same time. Oven cleans easy. I would like to see more accessories for this on walmart's web site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

A Must Need Piece of Camping Equipment

02/09/2011
By ,
Dallas, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been camping for 40 years, This dutch oven is a must, Price, quality, is just as good as a High name Brand, Have made everything under the sun in this dutch Oven, Biscuits are the best. I perfer to use it as a oven, place 3 small rocks same size in bottom and use a biscuit pan, put coals under dutch, put pan in side, put lid on it and coals on top, takes about 10 mins and golden brown.. fixing to but 2nd one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

AWESOME!!!

03/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And I haven't even taken it camping yet. Tested it out on my gas burner, even though it has legs, and it baked a loaf of bread, made great pot roast, chicken, potatoes, etc. It's not ideal for bread without coals on the top since it didn't brown very well but in an emergency, it will do very nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Meets and exceeds expectations!

05/17/2012
By ,
Central NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After always using the dutch ovens from our Boy Scout troop, I decided to purchase one for myself and also for use when camping with my Cub Scout pack camping trips. This was the best quality item for the best practical price. I don't see how the more expensive ones could be any better. Walls are thick and handle is strong....practially bullet proof. Even though it came pre-seasoned out of the box I gave it a once over with Crisco @ 350 for 30 and it was like a glass coating. I know I will get a lifetime of use out of this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Well seasoned dutch oven

07/27/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of the box this dutch oven was ready to go! They pre-seasoned it correctly so food does not stick. We made pizzas and cobbler on camping trip - it was really easy to clean up after.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Not what I expected

06/10/2009
By ,
Southern AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately I had to return this product it was flawed and smelled rancid. I then purchased a different brand which was practically perfect. No rancid smell was a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Just as as expected

03/23/2013
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product heavy duty Cast Iron good product. Wish the lid lifter was included with product. Burn the first thing I tried due to my fault secound time came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

magic pot

06/21/2010
By ,
Kearney, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have now tried several recipes in this "magic pot" from cinnamon rolls to jumbalaya and everything has been great, it's been fun experimenting while sitting around the campfire. We would highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Great Value!!!

08/23/2009
By ,
Corpus Christi, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product at a GREAT price. Dutch ovens are fun to use if you like cooking outdoors. There are other brands like Lodge, but this one is the least expensive and is 99% the same. Enjoy...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Awesome Value

09/30/2009
By ,
Rio Rancho, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared to other dutch ovens, this one is large size at small price. Seems really heavy! Haven't had the chance to use it yet, but seems as nice as expensive models.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic Dutch Oven

Great product

10/02/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this to cook on the camp fire last weekend. Evenly heated and cooked well. High recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a Cast Iron Dutch Oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next