Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Regalo Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Average Customer Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(923 Reviews) 806
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
467
4 stars
241
3 stars
85
2 stars
55
1 star
75
Customer Recommendation82%760 out of 922reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 463 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
467
4 stars
241
3 stars
85
2 stars
55
1 star
75
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Used for a barrier for our new dog.

12/25/2012
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Fits like a charm with both extensions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Was not what I expected

03/19/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not like this product. I had very high hopes for it and I see my search still remains, because I intend to take this gate back to the store. The gate came advertised as "Fits 29"-52" doorways", my doorway that I was wanting blocked was 49" wide... apparently NOT one of the 2 advertised. This gate comes fitting to 3 exact entry sizes: 29", 34" and 52". Not what I ws expecting. The gate comes with a 6" extender and a 12" extender. If I used both then the gate was too big, if I used one or the other then it was too small. My husband ended up having to put some 2x4's on our walls on both sides just to make it fit. And even still, its not worth it. Because after all that, my 4 y/o twins figured out how to open the gate within the 1st 24 hours!!! Walls tore up for no reason-Very disappointing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+314points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Camas, WA
Thanks for the review
Posted 08/27/2013
Thanks for the size info of the gate and each extension. I want a gate that 4 y/o up can open but not 1 y/o. I might get this gate to try on my 42'' to 50'' wide stair.
0points
Customer Avatar
So. Cal.
Posted 08/17/2013
The opening I have is 49" and it works fine. If you feel this doesn't work for you, go with the standard wood multi-fit baby gate. :0)
0points
Customer Avatar
south carolina
if you go to their website you can get 4" ext also
Posted 08/04/2013
The company sells a 4" extension from their website for about $11, a bit high, and I have not successfully found them separate at any store, although the gate I bought only came with the 4" and I could use the 6" (plus the 4", as the 12" would be too big...) to fit in the new "handicap accessible" apartment I just moved into, where the hallways are all wide enough to accommodate a wheelchair. (even the stairway...)
0points
Customer Avatar
Gates are generally for babies and pets
Posted 02/28/2012
Gates are generally intended for babies and pets. By the time any kid is 2 or 3 years old they will be able to figure out how to get through or climb over them. At this stage of a child's life if there needs to be something to separate them from a part of the house your best bet is to put up a wall or door that will lock.
+6points
Customer Avatar
sounds like you missed something
Posted 09/15/2011
based on your description of "3 exact entry sizes" it sounds like you missed the 3" screw adjustments on both ends for a total of 6" adjustment space. for a 49" wide you would use the 34" + 12" and adjust the screws to fill in the gap. I would recommend using the cups that fasten to the wall.
+9points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Nice Gate

09/09/2010
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these gates. They were easy to instal and didn't take long at all. I used one on a 34 1/2 inch doorway without any extensions. The spindle rods had to be extended pretty far so the gate seems a little unstable. I think if I use the wall cups it will fix that problem. The other gate is being used for a 36in doorway. I did use the 6in extension and had to almost tighten the spindle rods all the way and squeeze it into the door way. It was a tight fit, but its not going any where. The gates are not very easy to open. I was hoping my 4yr old would be able to open the gate but she isn't strong enfough to pull back the lever and lift the gate at the same time. I like that the door swings both ways, but i wish it would close on its own. I also like the height of the gate. The doorway opening is not very large but it is not an issue for us. Over all it is a nice product at an affordable price.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

You get what you pay for.

06/30/2012
By ,
Parker, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I kept tripping over my old gate (a walk over), I got really fed up and returned it to Walmart. Unfortunately they didn't carry any walk through gates and recommended I looked online. When I found this gate, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was the same price as my other one and went ahead and bought it. Chose rush delivery (need a gate for a busy toddler!) and waited. Bought Thursday, shipped Friday, received Saturday. I was extremely pleased with shipping. As for the gate itself, I had no idea what to expect. The reviews are very up and down but decided to keep an open mind. When I received the box and opened it, it was exactly what I expected. Assembly was a breeze EXCEPT for ONE of the anchors. You are supposed to be able to slide it straight in, no resistance whatsoever. Well, that was the case for 3 but on the 4th, nope. Didn't want to go in and was stuck. Ended up having to take a hammer to it. Installing it on the wall isn't hard but you have to tighten it JUST perfectly otherwise you CANNOT open/close the gate. It fit well for my 42" hallway though.
After I got the exact measurements, the gate is a bit wobbly but sturdy enough, I guess. But it's what you get for $35!
Here's my video review where I show what I'm talking about more: www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCXy4K0tc_M
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tempe, AZ
Thanks for the video! It was very helpful!
Posted 09/16/2012
TO ALL READING REVIEWS....BE sure to see the video for this review!
Out of *all* of the walmart.com reviews, this is the *only* one I've ever seen w/ a video (link for youtube) posted! It was *so very very helpful* to see a product that had a straight forward review AND a video! So glad! Especially w/ this whole baby /pet gate search because it can be confusing, overwhelming and well, in general - some people's reviews are just plain superfluous!
Again thanks for posting the video! Having a visual reference for this product sure helped (a lot!!!)! I wish / hope that more people would post videos (&/or youtube links) for their reviews too! :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Works Great!

11/01/2008
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gate. We had no trouble installing it as a pressure mounted gate. It is very sturdy and keeps our 12 month old son out of daddy's office. He is very strong and he has not been able to budge the gate at all. It installed easily and we are able to have our double doors shut when complete quiet is needed. We even put both extensions on one side of the door so that we could have one door shut and still access the gate with the other door. The gate swings open in either direction and the latch is secure enough so that our older daughter can not figure it out. Very good design.
I can not tell you how happy we are with the gate. It is a very sturdy gate and an excellent price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

much better than the wooden kind

01/03/2009
By ,
Flint, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this after we bumped into our wooden baby gate so many times that it had splits in it. Our hallway is very wide so the standard gates don't fit, and we were really in need of something we could use frequently without tripping on it. (we were stepping over our old wooden gate because it didn't have a hinged door)
We love this gate; it's durable and has withstood a 19 month old hitting on it. The only thing we needed to modify was that there is a gap on the end that our cat was able to squeeze through so my husband had to put a strip of wood against the wall to narrow that gap. To be fair, our cat is long and skinny, but he can no longer get through since the modification. lol
All in all, this is a great product that we would highly recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Great Product For Very Wide Openings

07/22/2009
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this product a lil over 2 weeks ago. I had to use both extensions because I have a very large opening at the top of my steps. Once we put it together we realized that you can not put too much presser on the side the gate opens, because if you do the gate is very hard to open. So you have to put most of the presser on the opposite side.
At first I thought the gate wasn’t tight enough and that my son would push it right down, but he’s not strong enough to do that just yet. He LOVES shaking it, and screaming down the stairs. Not sure how reliable it’s gonna be when he gets strong enough to knock it down though.
-Pebbles
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate
02/10/2011
By ,
Mesa AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gate. I had to take the adjusting screws off to make it fit securely but it works nicely. Will be buying a second one shortly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

good study gate

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great gate takes a few mintures to pull up very studly gate fit my door and i have a very wide door 52 inchs wide one thing my dogs are small dogs and they can go bequin bars but on the whole it keeps them out good value
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Perfect for our use for a small pet

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We decided to get this gate to keep a new puppy within a certain area that had no carpeting while we house break her. But the area included a computer room, bathroom and kitchen as well as the front entry hallway. So, we needed something that can allow people to get through easily. We set it up within a 48" space and it is working beautifully. Have been using it for over a week.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Exactly what I needed

03/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate isn't the most attractive thing ever (so I had to detract a star), but it is the most affordable for what it is. I couldn't find anything that performed the same function for less anywhere. I needed a semi-permanent gate to put up for my dog. I learned quickly that the same exact gates sold as dog gates instantly adds about $50 to the price. This gate fit my 48" opening perfectly. My dog is small, about 15 pounds, and he can't get through it. He's a jumper but he can't get over it either. I used all 3 pieces that came with the main gate piece to fill my 48 inch space in a walk way so I could keep my dog contained when necessary. When connected one piece measures 8", the other 12 3/4", and the main piece with the gate is 24 3/4". It comes with 4 tension feet with screws coming out of them to screw into the sides of the gate. Those a a minimum of 1" to the width on each side when attached. With all of that I think you could make it fit most halls or doors. I found a great tip online for people who don't need the added child proofing...you can attach a zip tie in front of the slider on top of the gate so that you don't have to slide that piece over to open it anymore. Instead you just lift it to open it. If you're using it for a dog, this makes it easier to open and close. Also the fact that you can leave the gate open in either direction, and it doesn't close shut on it's own is a big help. I can't imagine having to open it every time you wanted to walk through.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Too wobbly in our opening

06/03/2013
By ,
Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The gate "attaches" by pressure against the doorway. The screw-in adjustment rods are not very stable. They need something more solid on the inside of the tubing to screw into. The rods end in attached round rubber pads which push against the sides of the doorway. The pads can fit into the 4 solid plastic "cups" which are supplied, to be screwed into the doorway and this helps to make it more secure. This might fit more securely in some doorway widths.?? Our opening is approx. 46".
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Great gate for puppy

07/17/2009
By ,
Hockessin, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this gate to fit a large opening from my kitchen to family room. The opening was an inch larger than the greatest size listed. The gate still works, but I ordered another so I can use the 12 inch extension in place of the 6 inch extension provided. This enabled the gate to fit this very large opening and gave me another gate for a smaller doorway in my kitchen. Easy to open, lightweight, and a great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

great gate

01/27/2009
By ,
ponca city oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have a pit bull not a mean or agressive one but a big o lap dog that we let stay in the house durring the winter and we got new furniture this month this gate stops her and actually our little miniture dachsund cant even get threw it or over it its awesome AND FIT OR ENTRY WAY THATS 49 OR 50 INCHES WIDE its a great gate seams to be well built and sturdy
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Great product!!

08/13/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was perfect for my strange uneven & wide entry way. The gate does a really good job preventing the baby and the dogs from running upstairs unsupervised. Another thing I love about this gate is that it was so affordable. It's a GREAT wide gate with a door that doesn't break the piggy-bank (since most parents know how expensive babies can get).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

LOVE these gates!

12/26/2007
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is the best! No steppind over gates, just open the gate door. We started with one and now own 4. Theh are durable and can be secured in the wall with the brackets (for use by stairs) or just secure them by tightening the gray ends to the wall. Wonderful and I need at least one more!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

GREAT!

09/01/2009
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked all over for a pressure mount, extra wide, gate. Cheapest I found was $90! This one is great! Only one tiny flaw (reason for only 4 stars on features) It locks but I think it would be easy for kids to figure out.. They could make that feature much better. Great gate for the money!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

You get what you pay for

06/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a much nicer gate than this before that was stolen from my home. I hoped to replace it with something less expensive, chose this one, and this gate disappoints. First, if you plan to use this on your stairs (which we do not), the instructions do include screwing a plastic mounting piece to the wall. So, it's not entirely a "pressure mounted" gate. We are using this in the kitchen where the instructions do not say the plastic mounting pieces are needed, so we don't have to screw anything into our cabinets or wall. That's good. But the gate is very flimsy. If I tighten it as far as it can go so that it firmly stands up, the latch does not latch. If I loosen the pressure caps so that the latch will open and close freely, then the gate is not sturdy and could easily be knocked down. The latch itself is also easy to use, too easy for a toddler. Our 3 year old had it figured out within minutes. We are keeping the gate for a few weeks to see if it serves its purpose or if I need to spend more money on a more expensive, better quality gate.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

The quick and dirty

06/06/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First time mom. We got this gate for the kitchen doorway(33" wide) and the top of the stairs (35" wide). We had some problems. The gate its self is 29" and you get a 6" extension. So for the kitchen the gate+extension doesnt fit. We had to extend the pressure feet really far out on both sides (with the mounting cap its sturdy). The stairs JUST fit. Remember to add the inch to each side for the width of the pressure feet. BOTTOM LINE: buy the regalo extra wide. Its the same gate but it comes with a 4" and 6" extension piece for the same price. Had we gotten that one the gate+4" extension would have been perfect. Otherwise gate is strudy and easy to use. The walk through section in a bit narrow and you have to remember to step over the bottom bar. But whats parenting without sacrafice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Easy Open Wide Gate

Useless

10/18/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Placed with an extension, the top end of the gate was wobbly, no matter how it was adjusted, and using the screw mounts wouldn't have corrected the problem. I put it in a 32" doorway with no extension, and it was still wobbly; not only did the gate wiggle (where the rubber feet screw in to the gate), it took only slight pressure to push it out of the doorway. The rubber ends have to be tightened quite a bit in order to hold the gate firmly in place, but that can only be done on the bottom because tightening the top end for a secure fit locks the gate in the closed position; if someone bumps into the pressure-fit gate, s/he will fall onto and be hurt more by the gate than if s/he had fallen without it. Ultimately, I decided not to use gates at all, and hung louvered swinging doors instead. When we don't need restricted access, we can walk through the doors without having to open a gate or step over a bar; and when we need to restrict access, we simply latch the doors closed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 807 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next