Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mag-Lite MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Mag-Lite MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

The MagLite LED Flashlight is designed for professional and consumer use with the craftsmanship, engineering and advanced technology present in all Mag flashlights. With a highly refined reflector and a quality LED, this black LED flashlight provides a brilliant adjustable beam. Simply rotate the head to focus the powerful projecting beam. This 3 D-cell flashlight is built tough with rugged, machined aluminum construction and a case that is anodized inside and out for corrosion resistance. The MagLite LED Flashlight is water resistant and shock resistant so that it can be used in tough conditions. The knurled design on the handle makes it easier to grip. This black LED flashlight features Intelligent Energy Source Management, providing high brightness balanced with extended battery life. It also features an interchangeable light source, so you can use either the installed LED module or the Krypton lamp that is stored in the tail cap.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation76%13 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

LED not replaceable and the warranty is misleading

04/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this because of the Lifetime warranty, but when I read the fine print, it said that the warranty does not cover a burnt out LED, so guess what, if the LED fails you just have to throw out the whole thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Litchfield, Mi
Sure it is
Posted 01/01/2014
Why would you toss it? The LED bulb is replaceable and it comes with a stock bulb in the tail cap. They sell the LED as a replacement for a standard Mag-light, so you can change a older one over to LED. The LED bulb is rated like 10,000 hours.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Incredible Value

11/04/2008
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I understand that police officers require abnormally well made products, but I believe the officer who rated this poorly must have gotten a lemon. This flashlight is amazing. It's well worth the money. I've purchased flashlights that cost $180 that didn't perform a whole lot better than the 3D Mag LED. With spot focus, I can easily see over 300 yards. This light pierces the dark with ease and casts a very white light with a slight bluish tint (which is normal for LED flashlights). I'm an avid outdoorsman and I'd strongly recommend this to anyone who's in need of an affordable, extremely durable, and very bright flashlight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Great durable light

03/18/2011
By ,
Colton,Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all my Maglites. I have a few, 1 in my golf cart, 1 in my truck and a few more in the house. always work great for me and I went and bought a new one today then I called the company and asked about a switch for my old one and they said, mail it to us and we will fix it free. Now with that kind of service why would I buy anything else. And walmart always has great prices... Thanks Maglite :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Heck of a light

06/01/2010
By ,
Grants Pass, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned Maglites for many years and have not been disappointed. This LED light is the ultimate. It has no bells and whistles that slice, dice, fricassee, strobe, SOS, etc.. You turn it on, you turn it off. The beam can be focused to a narrow shaft that reaches way out there. I use it at home and on frequent camping trips. Sometimes on dark nights(especially in camp) I illuminate something just to be impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Excellent Light

02/22/2011
By ,
Astoria Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the 3D cell LED light initially for home use. I was so impressed with the high light output and long battery life, I purchased one for work. (Law Enforcement). This light is excellent, bright, durable, and long battery life. What more is there? Bought 2 more for Christmas gifts for Dad and Uncle. They would say the same.....excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Piece of junk!! Don't buy!!

05/31/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a very bright light. Seems to be extremely well made. I loved it right off the bat. Can spot channel markers on a boat with it at night a mile out. So I went out and bought several, even the mini led maglites. Everyone of them broke!! The led came off the one of large ones from where it was soldered on. Rubber switch covers popped off. Contacts inside would wear out and lose contact with the batteries. For some reason they would make the batteries corrode way before expiration dates as well. All of this in less than a year. All of them are junk. Bright light for the money , but buy a brinkman or something instead. All my brinkmans aren't as bright , but have had for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Maglite is becoming junk..........

10/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this flashlight less than 6 months ago at a local Walmart, and am incredibly frustrated with it now. The flashlight was fine while it worked. It stopped working about 1 month ago (I haven't had time to deal with it), and AFTER it stopped working, I discovered that NONE of the internals are user serviceable - you can't even change the bulb. Does that mean this $35 flashlight is disposable? I cannot find the locations of service shops on your site either. I believed Maglight to be a superior product, and have always owned them in the past - this might be the last one I buy. Re-posting this to other sites.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Waste of Money

07/05/2008
By ,
Mitch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This flashlight is not worth the money. I purchased mine back in February of 2008 for work. I work in Law Enforcement on the midnight shift. This flashlight is not a true LED in any way. It's not even very bright. Your better off with a regular flashlight. My coworkers have all seen my Maglight LED and commented on how dull the light's beam was. It really doesn't reach out that far. It is the above reasons why I cannot recommend this flashlight.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black
09/29/2013
By ,
Cookeville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Believe it or not, this light is even brighter than my 4 cell with a Maglight
LED conversion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

great

05/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flashlight is brighter than the halogen maglite and it work good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Very pleased.

07/02/2013
By ,
Dothan, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read good and bad reviews for this flashlight. I decided to take a gamble and I'm so glad I did. It has a very strong, bright beam. I can stand on my porch and look over my entire backyard when I let my dogs out at night. I have to be careful to keep the beam out of my neighbors yards. It's that strong. I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Great light

12/13/2008
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a regular light and I loved it so I thought I would try the LED and it is a lot brighter. I have the D’s and AA’s and I like all of them. Before Maglites I had to beat and bang to get my flashlights to work and they didn’t last long. These lights work all the time any time. They are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Great Flashlight

07/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy, long lasting, and overall superior flashlight. I read the one star review from the law enforcement type. Someone must have sold him a regular Maglite. My 3-cell outperforms Streamlight by miles. 300 yards on directed beam is about exactly right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Great Light

01/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great example of an American made product that works perfect. I compared the led with a krypton bulb and the difference is amazing. in other words a great light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

A Great Brite Lite

12/30/2009
By ,
taylors, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The flashlight is fantastic! I bought it to use to locate my black labrador retriever when he is let out in the dark. I can see him from 200 ft away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black

Great Flashlight!

12/12/2009
By ,
Seymour, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work in the Fire Service and have used this flashlight for 3 months. It has good battery life and a very strong beam. I would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for MagLite LED 3 D-Cell Flashlight, Black
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5