Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

The Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse is an easy-to-use electric smoker that allows you to cook your favorite foods. This powder-coated steel smoker is styled like a refrigerator and has the capacity of holding up to 30 pounds of smoked foods, including treats such as barbecue chicken, jerky, or ribs. This Digital Electric Smoker has a digital control panel that allows you to set the temperature anywhere between 100 and 275 degrees Fahrenheit. You can also conveniently set the timer for up to 24 hours. You must of course be around to add wood chips, but this can be done with ease through the convenient side door. This Masterbuilt electric smokehouse has an internal smoking space of 4320 cubic inches. It also comes with four steel wire mesh cooking racks. The 800 watt heating element ensures quick cooking of the most difficult meats.
Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(490 Reviews) 443
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
330
4 stars
123
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation94%462 out of 489reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 365 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
330
4 stars
123
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

ES 30"

07/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this smoker. Clean and season it as directed to burn off any chemicals/glue residue. I was a little put off the the amount of fumes that it produces during the cleaning process but could not taste it on my first smoke. I would recommend smoking something cheap with a short cook time the first time you use it (chicken thighs, fatty, etc) just in case there is some residual odor. The second day I had it, I smoked a 6.5 lb boston butt for 12 hours and it turned out excellent pulled pork with a good bark. The smoker performed flawlessly and held temperature like a champ. I highly recommend a separate thermometer, I use the Maverick ET-732, to monitor meat and grate temps without opening the door. My smoker seems to run about 10 degrees F cooler than the readout according to my thermometer. I also got the 3 year protection plan putting it at a clean $200 delivered to my door. Shipping was quick and easy to track. I have used it for jerky several times with great results.
This is a popular electric smoker with a lot of recipes and advice on various forums. I bought this after using my friends MES in stainless with a glass door and meat probe. The glass smoked up and the probe was inaccurate. I suggest buying this one, investing in a good thermometer you can trust, and doing lot of research. Google MES 30 and watch some youtube videos and read the forums. The digital controls are effortless and take the guess work out of temperature setting, especially compare to the dial version.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Used to own a BBQ joint- now use this at home

11/01/2013
By ,
GNV FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I still miss my commercial smoker that held 800lbs, but this is absolutely a suitable replacement. I built a cement block stand so it is at the right height and I do not have to lean down for meat movement, but this little machine packs a punch. In fact, I still cater for up to 300 folks and have smoked for those events in this smoker. I can fit 4 large pork butts at a time, close to 150 wings, have done ribs, salmon, smoke turkeys for my old customers for the holidays. So easy.
Only a few short comings:
Wish there were rib racks as I prefer to smoke ribs on their side as opposed to flat.
'Drip pan removeable for easy cleanup": when you load this puppy up (as I do), this silly tray runs over and it is still a hot mess. I suggest bringing an empty dog food bag over to the smoker and carefully lifting the tray out and then just dump the extra juices in the bag.
I wish the liquid container had a lid with a small side opening so steam still came out but my drippings didn't all fall into the pan. No problem- wrap most of it in foil and just have small areas for the steam to escape. Easier clean up.
I unplug her, move her onto a concrete cleaning pad I built off to the side and hose her out just like I did the commercial smoker.
Also, once the inside is clean, do yourself a favor (especially if you live in the south where it is humid AND hot) and put a Damprid container inside when it is closed.
Resist the urge to overfill the wood- it doesn't need much. I soak mine in apple cider before I put it in the smoker.
Love using this smoker- virtually anyone with a good rub and the right meat and wood can look like a championship smoker.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Good value-works great

09/26/2008
By ,
Sunset, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker is easy to use and food has been delicious every time. Do a little or fill every shelf. Get it started and walk away. Simple to clean up too. Even if you have never used a smoker before, the directions are thorough & easy to follow. This model doesn't use much electricity and plugs into any household outlet. No shipping charge to pick up at any Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Beyond my expectations.

08/01/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There was some minor assembly required. Plugging in and mounting the digital control panel, one way plug and one screw. VERY simple.
The packaging had some damage but the contents were not damaged in the least.
The directions tell you to season the smoker by letting it run at 275 degrees for 3 hours, adding wood chips for the last 15 minutes. However I would recommend a few additional cycles at 275 and lower, adding wood the entire time as needed to maintain a constant smoke. This will give you a better feel for the timing of adding wood chips to maintain your smoke, better familiarize yourself with the controls, and the more the smoker is used the better the food tastes!
So far I have smoked Salmon, Beef Ribs, Pork Ribs, Chicken Leg Quarters, and a Pork Shoulder.
All turned out excellent!
I have been smoking meats for years using real wood for the fire and water soaked chunks to generate the smoke. I would go thru 50 to 75 pounds of wood for my fire to keep a supply of coals to feed the smoker. Adding coals as needed to maintain my desired temperature. A "normal" smoke would take 12 to 16 hours of constant tending of the fire, watching the temp in the smoker, opening or closing vents adding chunks for smoke, lather rinse repeat.........
This smoker has put an end to all of that hard work. Pick the temperature that you desire, from 100 degrees to 275 degrees, pick the time that you wish to smoke, up to 24 hours, and let the smoker do the work.
It is NOT completely "set it and forget it". You are still required to add dry wood for smoke generation as needed. The intervals between adding chips is dependent upon your chosen temperature, the higher the temp the faster the wood smokes out and the sooner you will need to add more chips. The all day smoke of the pork shoulder at 225 degrees required additional wood every 45 minutes to an hour.
I say chips but you can use whatever form of wood that you prefer....... twigs, chips, chunks, pellets (food grade)..... As long as they are small enough to fit into the loading mechanism.
You load your chips into the barrel loader, insert barrel thru the right hand side of the unit until it stops, rotate 360 degrees to dump chips into the chip pan, and wait for the smoke to start. A note of caution, the handle of the barrel remains cool but the rest of the barrel WILL BE HOT!
I use dropped and trimmed limbs from the trees in my yard cut into pieces about the size of your thumb. They are Oak and Maple. To Smoke the shoulder all day took about half of a gallon pitcher filled with thumb size and smaller chunks of wood. Compared to burning 50 to 75 pounds of wood before to attain the same results is terrific!
This unit is also very well insulated. After several hours with the temperature set to 275 degrees the outer shell is barely warm to the touch!
There are four cooking racks inside. With the eleven pound shoulder I could only use three racks since the shoulder was taller than the spacing for the racks. It was a very thick shoulder.
If you have smoked meats before with charcoal or wood fires and you are used to seeing billowing white smoke from your soaked chunks of wood, don't be alarmed when you only see wisps of Thin Blue Smoke exiting the vent on the top. The smoke being generated is "just enough" smoke and no more. When you open the door to mop your ribs or spritz with apple juice you will be met with a cloud of smoke in the cabinet. The vent on top is the only place that you will see smoke escaping since the door has a gasket seal and an adjustable latch..... no smoke thru the door unless you open it.
The temperature recovery after opening the door is very quick. Within a matter of minutes it will return from 140 to 225.
Over all I would highly recommend this smoker to anyone wanting to smoke foods. Anyone from novice to pro can easily create great food in this unit!
Also with the ability to control the temperature down to 100 degrees you can smoke cheeses, nuts, and most anything else that you can think of including making fantastic jerky!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+108points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Great smoker

02/02/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got into smoking...maybe 2 moths ago. After reviewing a ton of different smokers, reading the pros/cons of electric smokers...and all the positive reviews about this unit I decided to give it a try. I am very happy I did.
First, the ease of use is incredible. The digital controls are very user-friendly, adding wood is very easy using the side tray, and all the parts are easy to access and clean.
Most importantly...this unit produces really good BBQ. The temps hold steady, even in a very stiff, cold breeze. The seal is really tight, so the smoke doesn't escape easily. I've done ribs, smoked chuck roasts, and a few briskets...all of which have been excellent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Husband loves it!

06/21/2014
By ,
United States Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY husband made the best ribs ever. . He loves this smoker. . Best fathers day gift ever
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Great smoker. Smoking everything in sight.

07/25/2013
By ,
New Baltimore, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assembly & pretty straight forward on how to use. A better guide for temperature & times world be a plus. Our teenage grandson's are lovin it too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Excellent Smoker

04/01/2012
By ,
Northern Rural Ranch, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Masterbuilt 30" electric smoker is fantastic. I've been smoking for 45+ years. It is way easier with better results than my wood or gas smokers. It has digital controls for temp and timer. It has a water pan for ultimate in tenderizing while you smoke. You can turn the air flow off to hold the moisture in. There is no need for foil. It has a bayonet tray so you can add wood chips without opening the door. No wetting the wood chips. It cost $3 for a 9 hour smoke Vs. $12 propane for same. The whole smoker is insulated. I bought a cheap dolly drilled holes through the plate leaving 1” gap at smoker side, feet bolts in holes and a strap at the top door hinge. I also bought the Backyard Grill Wireless Thermometer meat probe that I put in the meat 2-3 hours before it is expected to be done. The cord goes through the front door seal. No more fuss with wood temp swings, wind, dry meat and gas taste. No need to buy expensive wood pellets or disks. Masterbuilt electric 30” black with no smoked up glass is the way to go.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Great smoker for the family

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one, nothing wrong with the old one just needed new racks and they cost more than a whole brand new smoker....just like buying prints it's cheaper to buy a new one than it is to buy ink cartridges.lol But the bottom line is this is the best smoker for the money than any other I've seen, most of my friends have smokers, we smoke something every weekend and by far mine is the best. The Masterbuilt Electric Smoker rocks! I put mine in the garage to keep it out of the weather and made a smoke pipe that goes out of the garage so it's never in the weather and it work perfectly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Saving money,... eating better!

01/27/2010
By ,
Weirton, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. So far, 2 Briskets, a Turkey and 2 Chickens. Easy to clean and use. Use in 14 degree and 23 degree weather so far. I had no trouble with the digital temp controls. I do recommend an internal thermometer as I found that the temp is a bit higher than actually shown on the digital unit. I am thinking due to the extreme cold. Also buy a meat thermometer and follow directions. You will love this smoker. My first run with a Brisket was good but not as tender as I expected. Mainly because I rushed it a bit. However, my second Brisket was purchased at WalMart,... "Steakhouse" brand. I didn't rush and it was the same weight as my first, but a nicer cut with a great taste after being inthe Smoker. Simply put, you can't go wrong here. I also bought the "Jim Beam" Oak wood for starters. WOW,.... what a great taste! If you are debating this Smoker,.... DON'T! Best purchase I ever made food wise.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Very good product

02/20/2011
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Stable temps. The new upgrades have removed the faults the older units had. Check out Smoking Meats using a search engine for recipe ideas for using your smoker.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Best smoker

01/22/2010
By ,
Lake Mill Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker is great have smoked the following: stuffed pork loin, brisket, whole ham, and rib and all came out GREAT!!!
the only problem is temp is off by 10* and if its below 32 * you have to warm the probe inside on the back wall not a big issue just hold with fingers for a few sec. or use lighter for a sec. I give this smoker a A++++++
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Great Smoker

03/09/2009
By ,
Grapevine, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a big BBQ food fan, but I've always been nervous about learning to smoke meats. It almost seems more art than science. However, with a lot of research I decided to to give the Masterbuilt Electric Smokehouse a try.
The Electric Smoker is great. It was very easy to setup and use, with easy controls. Basically you just set the temp and time (it has a timer), put in the meat, and monitor the wood chips. My first attempt at brisket was awesome. The second day I smoked whole chickens and a pork shoulder. The smoke from the unit caused all my neighbors to stop by for "samples". My standing in the neighborhood Guy League has gone up considerably. LOL.
Be sure to follow indtructions. Season the unit before using. Soak the wood chips for at least 30 minutes. Try different kinds of wood like apple or alder or pecan. I am still learning about different sizes of wood chips: small shavings ignite fast but dont last long; whereas larger chunks take a while to get going but last longer. I've been mixing both sizes in an attempt to minimize the number of times I have to open the door.
Dryness can be an issue, and one that I'm still learning to solve. I will attempt wrapping the brisket in foil next time about two hours before they are finished cooking. As I said in the beginning, there is a lot to learn, but it's a fun and delicious food hobby!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse
08/01/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have done BBQ for a bunch of years, But within the last year I moved to an active senior community. Left the big (450 pounds) smoker behind and just recentlyl bought this propane powerd smoker. I swore that I would never cook with gas, but here I am.
I have only cooked on it for two dinners. So, really to new to rate, Both the meals turned out really well. I think I over cooked the turkey, in that it was a bit dry. But the Tri-Tips, the chicken breasts, the ribs and the sausages turned out well. Just a matter of knowing how long and at what temp you wish to cook.
I guess my only complaint is the fact that the built in thermometer does not read correctly. I would suggest an remote instant read to know where your smoker temp is all the time.
But, if you are looking for a good way to smoke some small meals (up to maybe 6 folks.), this is the way to go, IMHO.
Mike in Sacramento.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Best reasonally priced electric

08/21/2012
By ,
Independence, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent weeks researching electric smokers because of ease of use and convenience. I chose the Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse and have not been sorry. This is one of two units I found that are insulated. I have smoked ribs, chicken, brisket with great success. If you enjoy melt in your mouth smoked meats without the work and frustration, this is the one. I purchased this model because who needs a window that covers with smoke and requires additional cleaning. The reason I didn't give it five stars is that at 33" tall you have to stoop a little unless you put it on a stand. A few tips are 1. Cover the water pan and drip pan in foil and spray grates with Pam, makes for easy cleanup. 2, Order the Masterbuilt remote meat probe Model 20100111, you can keep it with you as you do other things and will sound an alarm when meat reaches desired internal temp. Do not buy the available Masterbuilt cover, instead get the Masterforge 0360134 cover. Better quality and less expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

smoker

05/17/2012
By ,
sanborn,mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this masterbuilt smoker works great for me even when using a extension cord. but if using one it be must be able to handle the power the smoker requires. I used a regular outdoor cord and it took my smoker forever to heat up. I ended up buying a heavy duty 25' 12/3 15A contractor extension cord and smoker heated up quick & worked it the way it was meant to work. this smoker is very easy to use and puts out good smoke although it does not put out smoke with temps under 200F not sure if that's because I use wet chips I haven't tried using dry chips yet. I'm very happy with this smoker so far I've only smoked ribs & chicken and turned out very good. there has been a lot of reviews about getting parts for this smoker & dealing with Masterbuilt customer service. I haven't dealt with C/S so I don't know about that as far as finding parts I found a web site that sells parts for model# 20070106 & model# 200709010 the site is
http://www.appliancefactoryparts.com/gasgrillparts/brands/masterbuilt/
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Good Electric smoker for the price

04/23/2013
By ,
WICHITA, KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great smoker for a change of pace, I been old school charcoal for years and there comes a point when your tired of baby sitting the coals and fire and walking around smelling like smoke, this smoker is nice, set the temp, toss in the food and add wood chips once every few hours or so, when you buy this you will be happy, I hear about the burners and controls going out on these so I bought the Walmart 3 year warranty for piece of mind 19 bucks, it is big enough for a turkey and everything seems to turn out great on this, ribs/ pulled pork/chicken, best BBQ you ever had,buy it and the warranty, when your cooking only foil the bottom drip tray and a small piece of foil on top of the smoker box for easy clean up, don't foil the racks because it will not allow for the air to flow right, this smoker has no trouble holding temperature, I hear people complain about it not getting to temp if you foil the cooking racks it can't circulate air right or hold temp, leave the cooking racks alone and the temp will always be dead on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Need more time to evaluate quality

10/29/2012
By ,
Northfield OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the cover as a set and saved about $15.00 over purchasing separatley. Have only had the Smoker 2 weeks and have used it 2 times. I have the smokehouse on a Covered Deck. The cover is a good Idea for storing the unit outdoors. The cover came a week after the smokehouse and I had to wipe it down after a week to get it back to looking like new again. I also purchased separatley a cordless meat thermometer and ran the wire through the vent. The Smokehouse is easy to set up and use. The insulated unit keeps the temperature within + or - 7 degrees of the setting. I did the initial burn in seasoning of the unit and smoked a Pork Butt cut into Western Ribs the next day, they turned out as expected at the reccomended 225 degree setting. Only had to add chips about every 45 min to 1hr. I smoked pork sausage next but at the low setting of 165 degrees the casing burned in some places. So far 1 for 2. I hope to find the reason for the burnt casings and continue to use the Smokehouse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse
01/11/2012
By ,
WISCONSIN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE'VE HAD OURS FOR OVER A YEAR {BOUGHT DEC 2010}SMOKED JUST ABOUT EVERY KIND OF MEAT. HERE'S SOME TIPS I FOUND THAT HOPEFULLY WILL HELP CUSTOMERS HAVING DIFFICULTY. FIRST UNIT WILL NOT TURN ON WHEN TEMPS ARE AROUND 30-35 DEG. WARM UP INSIDE A LTTTLE. IF YOU HAVE MOISTURE SEAPING AT BOTTOM OF SMOKER, OPEN UP THE VENT MORE, THE MOISTURE HAS TO GO SOMEWHERE, ALSO FRONT LEGS ARE ADJUSTABLE. UNSCREW THEM SO IT TIPS SMOKER BACK A BIT. BE VERY CAEFULL ON CLEANING THE GRATES ,DONT USE A SCOTCHPAD ON THEM. I FOUND JUST SOAKING THEM IN HOT WATER&DAWN WORKS GREAT--OR DISHWASHER. I READ A REVIEW FROM A CUSTOMER
THAT COULD NOT GET A REPLACEMENT ELEMENT, 2 THINGS HERE,ONE I KNOW THEY STILL MAKE THESE SMOKERS SO THERE HAS TO BE PARTS AVAILABLE AT SOME POINT. TWO REMEMBER WHERE THESE ARE MADE AND ACCEPT THAT. IN THE LAST THREE YEARS OR SO SO THERE HAVE BEEN GOOD IMPROVMENTS ON THIS APPLIANCE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse

Great Smoker and Great Price

03/06/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Masterbuilt Smoker has been developing a real strong following amongst both novice smokers who want an easier entry to quality smoking and experienced smokers who don't always want to fiddle with monitoring temperatures.
It has a good amount of space, is easy to tend, is well insulated, and perhaps best of all if something does go wrong has the best customer service I've experienced in a long time.
The plastic grip on my door was cracked by Walmart in shipping I suspect. I called Masterbuilt. They checked the smoker model #, took my address and shipped me out a whole new door. Wow.
The food I've made has also gotten wow reviews. Chickens, briskets, sausages, goat, pork shoulders. Get yourself a nice digital probe thermometer set your temperature, and other than adding wood to keep a constant smoke, you're set.
You really can't go wrong with this one unless you want to do cold smoking (< 90 degrees) or want to cook at high temps (>300). But since most smoking is done between 210-250, it should really be all you need.
Now the only thing better is if Walmart carried to larger size that their cousin Sams Clubs do as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 444 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next