Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%12 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Poor Quality Blu Ray

01/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Regardless of other reviews I found that much of the movie is poor visual quality, very grainy in spots. Almost like looking through a screen door.
I guess I should not have expected much for under $10. Disappointed to say the least.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 2 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Terrific Movie Reborn

12/19/2007
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is incredible in the blu-ray format. Great bonus items. Would recommend to anyone. If you love Close Encounters, you'll love it all over again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 3 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

A must-have classic

02/02/2011
By ,
Tampa Bay, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three versions of the film (theatrical, special edition, director's cut), tons of special features, wonderful picture and sound. The ultimate version of Close Encounters of the Third Kind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 4 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Best Blu-Ray ever

08/31/2010
By ,
Canton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that this movie should have never been on VHS. I think this movie this whole time should have been on DVD or BLU-RAY. I think this movie and Halloween(1978) are the bes blu-ray transfers. They have crisp picture and sound. No pops in the sound or nothing. I whould strongly recommend that you by the blu-ray and not the dvd of this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 5 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Close Encounters of the Third Kind in Blu-Ray

10/09/2009
By ,
Brant, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I love this movie. We couldn't wait for it to come out on Blu-Ray at a reasonable price. Walmart had the best price on this movie at 31.99. We are so glad that we bought it, as the Blu-Ray version makes the movie seem like a new release!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 6 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

A great value!

04/01/2010
By ,
Pinellas Park, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed watching this movie when i was a child, and thanks to Walmart and Blu Ray, i am enjoying it all over again as if i was watching it for the first time! Hi-Def! Crisp Clarity!, Great Sound! I recommend this movie!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

great movie!!

05/01/2009
By ,
dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie!! Took me 27 years to watch it and now its one of my favorites. The Blu-Ray transfer is amazing. I own some older movies on Blu-Ray and they are not even close to how clean this movie is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 8 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Fun for a Spielberg fan

05/07/2009
By ,
Mid-America
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed seeing the evolution of his thought thru the evolving versions.
I felt I got my money's worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
0points
Review 9 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Classic

10/31/2009
By ,
Harlingen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a great movie. My whole family liked it. Still haven't watched all three versions, but I will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

GREAT COLLECTORS DVD!!

05/13/2011
By ,
BUENA VISTA, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well put together. you get the whole story. And in Blu-Ray, Great movie to see again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Close Encounters Of The Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition) (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5