Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for South Shore Furniture South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

South Shore Furniture South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

The South Shore Cotton Candy Changing Table will fit seamlessly into any nursery dcor..It is available in pure white. This eco-friendly baby changing table is made from recovered and recycled material. The nursery changing table has a curved removable top, which gives it a classic look. The top is removable and the table can be used as a regular chest. You can easily store your baby essentials in the changing tables drawers and cabinet. This engineered wood changing table is long lasting and is easy to assemble.
Average Customer Rating:
3.51 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation67%33 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Low quality and takes forever to put together.

12/25/2012
By ,
Hoboken, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not recommend this piece of furniture to anyone. I did research for a white dresser/changing table combo that would fit in our small apartment. We are Ikea lovers and have been very happy with everything I have purchased from there, so we are well acquainted with putting furniture together. This took us over 5 hours to put together and once we were 3 hours in, began discovering many nicks in the paint, but were too far along to call it quits. In the end, it will do it's job, but the drawers have gaps around them and the drawer glides are made out of plastic. This quality doesn't even compare to Ikea's, but we couldn't find anything there that was the right size for us. Also, we've purchased other furniture from Walmart (our bedroom set is the from the Canopy collection: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Canopy-6-Drawer-Dresser-Chestnut-Finish/15184188) and that is great quality.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Overpriced for what you get, even with a low cost-

03/11/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this dresser two years ago and for the price I knew I was not getting top quality, but I thought it would be an item to last at least this long. Initially after putting it together, there was a big ding in it and we still kept it after all the time it took to put together. Since that time, it has significantly gone downhill. The paint has already worn down on all of the edges and the side door repeatedly comes off due to use (we use it for diapers and pajamas). I wish we had taken it back and spent a little more for much better quality- but still for $300 at the time, we should of had better quality. I am very disappointed in the product and in Walmart for carrying such a low quality product. The amount of time we have spent on this item reattching the door and trying to touch up the edges was not worth it and it still looks cheap. The removable top does not matter, because with the very little space of the drawers and the overall low quality, your child will not be able to grow with this product.
Cons-
Drawers are tiny and not deep at all
Cheap paint- comes off easily and quickly
Cheap Door- If you actually plan to use this, it will not last. We use without the door now and nice baskets instead after trying to reattach MULTIPLE times and ways
It takes a while to put together- not worth the time
Your child will not be able to grow with it due to the above
Positive-
The side shelves pull out
Free shipping to store
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Comes in a Million Pieces!

03/27/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited to receive this product. I couldnt wait to put it together! I had done SO MUCH research on changing tables and was very confident when choosing this particular one. When it came I was a litte concerned with the shape of the box...it was a little flat. I didnt realize how many pieces it would come in. It took my husband and I close to 8 hours of putting together all the pieces. The directions are sometimes unclear. Definately put it together on a carpet or blanket of some kind, as I had some issues when standing it up after it was complete and noticed some dings. All in all, i think it will be a good product, however, had I known the time it would take to put together, i would not have purchased. It definately takes 2 people and I didnt feel very helpful being 7.5 months pregnant and getting up and down constantly. It says no power tools but i wouldnt even bother with it unless you use an electric screwdriver!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Good but a pain

03/25/2012
By ,
Millersburg, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Searched long and hard for a changing table and finally decided on this one becuase it converts to a dresser after you take the changing table top off. And the color is a pure white like I wanted. After getting it put together it is good, but the process was madenning. The instructions are very vague and even sometimes incorrect, telling you to put the wrong piece in the wrong place. It came with all the appropriate pieces exept it was short about 1/2 of the nails to put the back on. And some of the pieces aren't labeled at all. It took my husband and I 3 1/2 hours to put this together, and we put a crib together in 30 minutes and a dresser in 1 hour. He's good at this kind of stuff. I am 23 weeks pregnant, so i haven't had the chance to use it yet. In the end, it is what I wanted and it feels sturdy enough to last a long while, but for the trouble it took putting it together, I wish it was a little bit cheaper. By the way I paired this with the Graco Charleston crib in white and the "Your zone ZZZ place to be 5 drawer chest" in white and it all looks great together in our nursery!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Great but very hard to put together

05/03/2014
By ,
Glendale, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The dresser is great but it is a pain to put together. The instructions are not easy to follow and it took my husband, MIL and FIL aover 5 hours to put together. I have yet to use it. I'm having my baby shower tomorrow and will be able to fill it up this weekend!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

broken parts twice

04/12/2013
By ,
Chicago, Il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When we opened the package for the dresser the legs were broken off. We called and they shipped out new parts quickly. When we received them the legs were broken again. The customer service was great but the product was not so great. Also the drawers and cabinet have a gap from the top of the drawer/cabinet to the dresser which kind of drives me crazy, since it looks like the drawers/cabinet are open.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Missing pieces

03/06/2014
By ,
Bolivar, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item didn't come with drawer slides had to call company and have them send them to me. Couldn't understand the lady on the phone, when you first call it's in a different language and then At the end it asks you to press a button for English instead. Takes forever to put together instructions have you shifting from piece to piece instead of doing one thing at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

dissatisfied

03/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the product was damaged when i received it and there is like a million pieces to put it together. i will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

cheap, cheap, cheap

06/07/2013
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This took for-EVER to put together and now that we've been using it for only 5 months, the door has come off twice and the middle drawer wont stay on it's tracks! I wish we would have just paid a little more for a quality piece. Ugg. Regret this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Difficult!!!

08/19/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The changing table is beautiful and very sturdy!! It's very solid, and very nice quality for an RTA. The only problem is that the directions on how to put it together are very, very confusing, and I had to constantly go back and check the hardware to make sure I had the right thing. I would have liked it better if they would have had something where you match up the screws and things to picture that shows the actual size. Also, one of the screws had a head that my husband has never seen. We had to go through all of my dad's tools (which are quite a few) to find something that even fit into the top.
I would recommend it because of how sturdy and beautiful it is, but I would also warn anybody that buys it to be prepared to spend about 6 hours (literally) putting it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

just wat i wanted!

09/30/2010
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this changing table. i have a very small space for my baby and needed all the storage i could get so this was just what i needed it fits sooo much. the only problem i had was it took awhile for it to come in, there was a small nick on one of the parts (but nothing i cant and will live with) and a very long time to put together since there is so many little pices but nothing horrable; and mine probably isnt going to last me as long as i would like it to since my boyfriend did not take his time on putting this together and really just looked at the pictures then reading what really should have been done. so my advice DEFF get it if your not 100% sure if it will meet all your needs. just make sure you get the right person to put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Missing pieces and broken parts

04/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So far we have had to reorder a broken part and then we are missing 3 other pieces that the manufacturer forgot to include in our package. So far we have been waiting for over 2 weeks for the parts, this has been the most annoying piece of furniture we have ever purchased and I would not recommend this to anyone.
There are a million pieces and even if we would have had all pieces (and none broken) it would have taken probably a good 8 h to put it together. The instructions are vague and I'm almost tempted to forget about the missing pieces and return the dresser but I don't know how long it would take for us to order and receive another dresser/changing table and I don't want to risk it before the baby gets here in June.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White
08/29/2013
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for when shopping for a changing table. My brother has one for his child and I thought it was great. I do like it and it serves its purpose but I cant say its the highest quailty of materials and there are ALOT of pieces to it. Be prepared to spend time putting it together. Also when it arrived 2 pieces were messed up and we had to order the pieces. Now we have had to wait over 2 weeks for the parts and all the pieces are everywhere in my house. It has been a pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

decent for the price

02/06/2008
By ,
atlanta, ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, this is a decent dresser/changing station combo. Assembly was time consuming and when it initially arrived, an entire bag of parts was missing - which delayed our assembly by about 1 week.
Definitely not a piece we will keep for a long period of time - but we figured as much given the price point. In a few places, the paint was chipped, revealing the particle board beneath. And the drawers don't line up perfectly but we're probably the only ones studying hard enough to notice.
Bottome line: if you're looking for an inexpensive piece to compliment your nursery, this is a good option. Just don't expect it to look perfect and don't expect it to last for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Great Product!

02/05/2010
By ,
Waterloo, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect much from this product, as with any other cheaper furniture things tend not to be very good quality, however, it's very different with this changing table. The quality is great, the drawers are spacious and slide very nicely (I used for clothing and other items, the door w/ shelves is great for diapers and other miscellaneous (I put baskets on the shelves to hold them), and the extra space at the top is great to hold wipes, lotion, and etc. The only bad thing about it is that the assembly is very difficult...my husband is in construction, had all the tools, and it still took us 4.5 hours. After it's been completed though, you should be very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Exactly what I wanted...

09/05/2013
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is perfect for my girls! I have a 3yo and soon to be newborn! Only thing I can complain about is how long it took to put this together, some holes were missing so my honey did have to drill, and there is a noticeable dent on the top of the dresser. 3 things that I don't like but the drawers and slide outs are smooth operating with little to no sound!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Great Product

09/03/2008
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this changing table online, and I love it. My husband is not very handy so I put it together by myself. (NINE MONTHS PREGNANT). The directions could be a little better, but if you really pay attention, read carefully, and take your time, assembly wont be difficult. It took me about four hours while watching TV, bathroom and snack breaks included. The changing table is very sturdy, and the changer can easily be removed with no damage to the dresser top. I changed the knobs to match my other nursery accesories, and it looks great! This is a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Great product!

02/15/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reviews were spot on for this item. It is great quality for the price and has tons of storage space with plenty of room on top for changing pad and a basket to hold diapers, wipes, etc.
It is time consuming to put together, but totally worth it. It looks great in our nursery.
PLEASE NOTE: It is not "Pure White" as described. It is a touch off white...you may describe it as "Sour Cream" colored. Our crib is "pure white" so we were sure to put the changing table on the opposite wall. You can't tell from there, but you would be able to if they were side by side!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

Great and what I expected!

05/19/2010
By ,
Boise, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband just put this dresser/changing table together this weekend and I have to say so far it's meeting our expectations. It did take him awhile (around 4.5 hours) and has a TON of parts, but it is well worth it. The dresser is sturdy and I am impressed with the quality for the money. There was one TINY little nick in the top part of the changing attachment, but nothing we can't live with. I see this dresser being a good investment because the changing attachment will come off for later use in our child's room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore - Cotton Candy Changing Table with Removable Changing Station, Pure White

I love it

10/12/2011
By ,
orlando, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be prepared that patience is needed when putting this product together. It is time consuming, a bit confusing and frustrating. That being said i love the finished product! It looks expensive and solid. I can see it holding up for years to come. I think its a great value for the money. Do be careful when moving it around that you dont just shove it. It is mdf after all. Use sliders. And in the instructions it says not to use a drill... Dont listen! Use the drill! It will save u time and headache.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next