Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hamilton Beach Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

The Cook Magic talking microwave verbally guides you through your cooking with just the touch of a button. Ideal for the sight-impaired, you can program the voice to speak in English or Spanish. The ten power levels, eight preset functions for common foods and five memory setting buttons save time and make cooking easy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
29
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation98%180 out of 184reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
29
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Amanecho likes Timo

10/01/2008
By ,
Longview, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timo has a female voice, my husband was happy about that. I am satisfied with the performance and features. I like the red color and mirrored door of the microwave, and the size. It's not a small, single-serving size microwave, and it's not too large for my counter. My teenagers even like it. I've had the unit for about two weeks now and I'm happy I decided on this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 2 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Love this Product

03/13/2009
By ,
St. Louis, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this microwave!
It is just awsome!
The entire family loves it!
You can't get enough of listening to it speak to you!
This is one of the best purchases I have ever made!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

SO GREAT!

03/31/2009
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old microwave just stopped working on me for no reason. I shopped around a lot because I really wanted a red microwave. This microwave is AMAZING!! So much better than the red one at another store that is smaller and doesn't talk, but costs the same. When I picked it up, I made hot chocolate for everyone and showed it off, it was a good time. It's just a beautiful microwave and looks really nice with my black appliances. It's pretty cool that you can change the language, I can brush up on my Spanish skills!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Love it!

07/07/2009
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this microwave because of the color and reviews...I wanted a pop of red in the kitchen. I've only had it for a couple of weeks but I'm very happy with it. Love the color!..the perfect candy apple red. Works great! You can turn the voice off but we still have it on...helps others that do not use it often to operate it right....I'm talking about the males in the family :) I don't like taking space up on the counters so I have it on top of the refrigerator...very easy to reach and operate from there.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Functionally gimicky

08/22/2009
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought I was paying more for the talking feature over the ability to heat food. Found out that the talking feature is quite helpful and the product works better than more expensive microwaves I've had in the past.
It's really the best of both worlds.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

What a great idea!

12/17/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this talking microwave for my vision-impaired daughter, and am very impressed. First, it looks gorgeous (every room, even a kitchen, benefits from a little dash of red). Second, the size is perfect--not tinker-toy sized but compact enough for a small kitchen. Third, the talking feature works great. You have a choice of loud, soft, or no voice, and a very pleasant voice it is. My daughter had no problem at all learning to use all the features, including a knob that has presets for many food items--just turn it until your choice is announced.
I can't speak for the durability, as we just got the unit recently, but if it wears as well as it's designed I'll be happy. And the Walmart price was certainy right--little more than half what amazon is asking (and that's the only other place I could find it).
If I could give this one 7 or 8 stars, I would!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Review 7 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

red microwove

06/09/2009
By ,
Ft myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ratings below pretty much say it all. I bought it while my wife was out of town and when she returned she loved it. That was my main goal. The rating for durability is left blank because I have only owned it for 3 or 4 weeks. The voice part is pretty cool. Now if it also did voice commands........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 8 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Wonderful!

08/15/2009
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Microwave as a gift for my daughter. After checking reviews on the red microwave she wanted at another retailer, I knew I would not waste my money, and she would end up disappointed if I got it for her. My daughter wanted only red for her kitchen counter top appliances. You can imagine I didn't have a lot to choose from. After looking on wal mart.com I found this red, talking(plus feature) microwave.
THe first one which I had shipped to her house had a big dent in the side. I ordered another and had it shipped to the store just in case it too was dented. It was fine and works fantastic. My daughter has a 2 year old who LOVES to push buttons. Fortunatly this microwave has a safety feature. She turns on the feature and my grandson can push buttons all day and the micowave will do nothing. She turns off the feature and is able to use the micowave as SHE needs to. Wish it came in another color, I would buy one in a heart beat. Love, Love, Love this microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Excellent Microwave

06/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always use product customer reviews to help in my purchase decisions, and the ones listed about this microwave are completely accurate. The microwave is very attractive and larger than I had expected. I don't like a lot of stuff sitting out on my kitchen counters, but this looks more like an added kitchen decoration than an appliance! The color red is perfect, and I love the sleek design/appearance. There aren't a million buttons on the front of it to make it look cluttered and confusing to use. Although I've only had the microwave for about a month, it seems very sturdy and durable. It's definitely not a light-weight/cheap appliance. The talking feature on the microwave drives my husband nuts, but you can easily turn the volume down to low or turn the voice off completely with one push of a button. I personally think the talking feature is cute, but it's whatever you prefer! Even without using this feature, I still would've picked this microwave above any others simply because the beautiful color and sleek appearance. You'll love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Talking Microwave!

04/23/2008
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to replace our midsize revolving microwave oven. I really shopped around and compared features and prices. I am, no WE are, so pleased with this product. My elderly mother, who is both visually challenged and overwhelmed by any technology(including today's telephones), even enjoys using this microwave. It is very attractive and it talks you through the process. Can you imagine?
My husband, who insists he knows everything, swears this is a professional level microwave based on the power and speed he has experienced in heating his food. I rather believe this simply has more power and speed than our old model. However, I too am impressed. After burning our mouths, because we attempted to heat at the level of our old microwave, we have found that most of our dishes are hot after just pressing the "1 minute express" button.
This thing is just really pretty in the kitchen and a great help in saving time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red
10/06/2009
By ,
Rochester New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother is 100 years old and legally blind and cooks eveerything in the microwave. This microwave is excellent for some one that can't see. It is also so easy for her to understand because at 100 she doesn't always comprehend much. This microwave has been a God sent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

it really meets the requirement

12/31/2007
By ,
ville platte, louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it this microwave it works really goods the kids love it and everybody that uses it say it is a really good products
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Cook Magic talking microwave

03/13/2009
By ,
Centerville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked on line for a red microwave as I had received a neat red metallic toaster for Christmas. I was worried that I had not had this brand before but I need not have been. It is a great microwave. It is very nice looking and dresses up the kitchen. It is so cool to use and so easy to learn. I have not even read the instructions yet because it is so self-explanatory.
I am so hoping it holds up and is not just a gimmick (the talking part, etc.). I think I would have to go on a search for one just like it if it goes out on me down the road. Love it. And I am an appliance junkie. Gotta have anything new. So I know my appliances. You gotta get one if you like red. I collect Coca Cola and have it in my kitchen and it looks awesome with all that stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

visually stunning

01/22/2009
By ,
concord, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am currently in the process of moving into a new place, and decided I wanted to redesign my kitchen. I decided on a red and stainless steel theme. one day while shopping online I came across this microwave and immediately Knew I just had to have one. I ordered it site to store on friday and it was avail to pick on wed which i tought was great service,. When I opened the box i was speechless never B4 had I seen an appliance that was so visually appealing ,this microwave is stunningggggg the red is so unique it really is a conversation piece. I also have the fabberware red and stainless steel knives and they too turn heads my kitchen really looks original and rich the talking feature also makes the microwave unique and it cooks well too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

I LOVE IT....

03/24/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old microwave gave out on me and it was only a year old. I went online to Walmart and decided to do a little research before making another purchase.
I love a bargain, but I had to stay away from the products that were $50 and under. I am saying this because every year, I end up purchasing a new
microwave.
Well, this one is not only cute, but smart. My five
year old son loves to help me around the kitchen.
This is a easy to use product and it has a voice.
Wow, a talking microwave.
It cooks my food better than the other one's that I
had and it lets you know when the food is completed.
If you are looking for a dependable product and something that looks good; this is the one for you.
I LOVE IT!
Great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Perfect Gift For Aging Parents

12/28/2008
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for my in-laws when we saw they had tape on their old microwave to try to feel where the minutes were on the dial & heard horror stories of how they ruined food in the microwave. They are 88 years old with failing eyes in an assisted living facility & there are days when they are too tired to go down to the dining room. They love the pre-set buttons easily felt in a row on the right side, that say the minutes when you press them & the way the dial talks when they turn it so theres no guessing , to" beverage, popcorn, plate, defrost" etc. They said someone brought them a plate of food & they put it in & turned dial till it said "plate" & food was perfect. My mother-in-law loves the bright red color. We bought them a recording device that we say the cooking times on off stuff that they have in their freezer , "tv dinners 6 minutes, egg sandwich 2 minutes, soup 1 minute " etc. The 5 pre-set buttons down the right side are 1 , 2, 3, 4, & 5 minutes. It couldn't be any easier !! There are many talking microwaves on the market for alot more money , but what do you do if there's a problem with it ? We bought from Wallmart.com & had it delivered to the Wallmart by us for free ( no delivery charge ) & if there is ever a problem, we bring it back to the store. SIMPLE & PERFECT !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

a wonderful product

01/07/2009
By ,
friendswood
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my first review. I loved it so much i wanted to set the record straight. The candy apple red is beautiful. the size is just right for any microwave stand, yet not too small. There is additional room since this has a turntable. The only thing i can't review at this time correctly is the durablity. I have only had since 2 days before Christmas.(The delivery was excellent also it came in 2 days around holiday's that was awesome!) I would highly recommend this unit, the voice feature is an added feature that just WOW's everyone. Very creative.. When company comes over and we go into the kitchen the first thing that is noticed is the microwave it's bold color stands out from the rest!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

A wonderfully helpful product

08/28/2009
By ,
St. Joseph, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this microwave for my mom who is legally blind due to macular degeneration. We had tried so many other microwaves that seemed user friendly for visually impaired people, but with no success. When I saw this talking microwave on Walmart.com, I thought "well why not try it?" but had little hope. Boy was I wrong! My mom loves it and she can't stop raving about it! To say that it's helpful is an understatement. Since my mom is so limited in what kitchen appliances she can use - this microwave is a God send! To Walmart I must say thank you for offering this wonderful applicance - but more importantly, thank you for offering it at such great price. Totally satisfied, and then some!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

Looks great

07/22/2009
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I didn't think I'd find something this good looking at Wal-Mart. I wanted red appliances to go in my new kitchen and this was not only the best looking, but also the most affordable. And the fact it's a talking microwave makes it very unique. You have to get used to the turn knob to set the time, but it's about the easiest microwave I've used. I'm not familiar with the power and cubic inches of torque it provides, or if it has a CV joint... but lets be honest. In this day and age it's pretty tough to screw up a microwave. This looks elegant, warms things up nicely and talks to ya. A perfect companion for a bachelor
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Red

I love it!!

11/29/2008
By ,
Cordova, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this product for a few weeks and I must say that I love it!!!!!!!!! The color is what I was most concerned about because when you buy RED products, it must be the perfect red or it will look awful. The red is the BOMB!!!! It is a great looking red. Shiny and red ALL AROUND the microwave, not just the door. So it is great. The voice is nice as well. And the blue that lights up on it is great as well. I debated about this thing for months and when I finally decided to get it, it was out of stock. Which it was out of stock for 6 months plus. So when I finally saw it come back available, I stepped on it to get it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next