Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. Gold's Gym Treadmill Product Description: Whether you're training for a 10K or looking to shed a few pounds, the Gold's Gym Treadmill is an iPod-compatible treadmill that will get you into shape. This Gold's Gym Treadmill has a built-in Weight Loss Center that lets you program in your weight, number of calories to burn, and the amount of time you want to workout — to create a fully-customized workout based on your individual needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.198 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation87%137 out of 157reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Huge Disappointment

12/28/2008
By ,
Newport News VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so eager to get my new treadmill home and assembled so I can work out at home and lose all of my baby weight while my husband is deployed. The assembly went fine, my husband and I were able to put it together in about an hour. While tightning the walking belt is where we ran into trouble. The directions state to contunue tightening the belt 1/4 of a turn until it is properly tightened. We could not get the belt to run smoothly while I was walking on it. So my husband kept turning the rear roller adjustment bolts like the directions said and the right side sheared off!!! The rear roller bracket broke! Of course it's the weekend and the customer service line is closed until Monday. I'm crushed because my husband leaves this next weekend and I'm stuck with an assembled, non-working $500 treadmill. I should have went to a place that refurbishes actual gym equipment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Good bang for the buck

10/19/2009
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit apprehensive about buying this treadmill upon reading the reviews that it was difficult to put together. It was not easy and you definitely need two people to put this thing together. But, the instructions were well laid out, simple to understand. The only downside was that several of the screws I needed were missing in the box. I just went to Home Depot and got what I needed.
The Gold Gym treadmill is a dream! I had an old Weslo that had served me well. But, it was woefully outdated. This new Gold Gym treadmill has an output for an Ipod or MP3 player, a fan that generates more breeze than I expected. The operation is very quiet. That surprised me since my old treadmill was so noisy. It has a very attractive blue screen where you can see how fast you are going, distance, different workout programs you can choose from or just go manually. Overall, a well built treadmill that will provide years of great service if properly cared for. I am very pleased with it thus far after a month of operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

NICE!!

03/20/2008
By ,
warroad, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was easily assembled. instructions easy to read and follow. The workout this product gives is unbelievable. more than i expected!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Lovin' this!!!!

01/10/2010
By ,
Millington, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Santa bought me my treadmill this year, to replace the one I wore out after 20+ years of faithful service. I researched treadmills online and knew precisely what I wanted and how much I, umm Santa, should have to spend. This product works great, gives exactly what it offered, and was the best value for the money spent. I've used it every day since I got it and haven't repeated workouts yet. I love the pre-programmed workouts (and the fact that I can manually override when necessary) and the manual operation is so easy!!! Just push a button and the change is made. Wonderful!!
My teenage son and I put it together in just over an hour with no problems whatsoever. Reviews showed some people had difficulty with missing screws or mismatched holes (not mine), and some satisfaction issues with speaker volumes or fan efficiency (I have not found problems with either of these). I'm looking forward to decades of use with this treadmill. Thanks again, Santa!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Worked well until...

03/31/2010
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This treadmill was great for a few weeks. Now it will only operate at one speed, the slowest, and none of the controls will work, save for the fan. I e-mailed customer service. A very considerate rep e-mailed me back, wanted to know where it was stored. I naively sent back a lot of info, in the hopes that this would lead to a diagnoses of the problem. In no way was I asking for warranty service, but among the things I honestly mentioned was the fact that it was used in a garage, one in which the temperature routinely in the winter is about 15 or so degrees warmer than the outside. The next e-mail I received informed me that I had voided the warranty, since the treadmill was used in a garage, that the treadmill was to be used in a temperature-contolled environment. Yes, I had failed to read this in the manual, and no, on the Walmart site it is not mentioned that there are limitations on where the treadmill can be used. I now am faced with an additional expense of getting the treadmill fixed. I doubt I would have bought a treadmill if I had known that it couldn't be used in our garage, as I didn't want to take up space in a bedroom. I'll get over it, but I'm not pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Happy with treadmill

07/22/2009
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The treadmill was easy to put together, it took me about 3 hours. I've only used it for 2 weeks now so it's too soon to tell if there will be any problems. When I jog/run it squeeks but I'm not too concerned about that. The fan is useless, you can barely feel the air! I love the workout selections and the incline. I like that it has speakers for music. Seems like a pretty sturdy treadmill and worth the price I paid. Make sure you read the manual and get the correct adapter to plug it in. It was difficult to find one with all the specifications they said to get but I think they want you to buy the "gold's gym" brand. I bought one similar at my local hardware store. I would recommend this treadmill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

good treadmill

11/16/2008
By ,
Atkinson, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Easy to use. We are still learning all we can do with this treadmill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

All-Around Great, Even After 3 Months

07/03/2008
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just a few months ago I found myself looking at this very page, skimming through all of the reviews. I have to say that I am honestly very pleased with this treadmill. After wanting one for several years, my husband and I decided on this one. A bit more expensive than the cheaper brands, but still cost-efficient for us. And with quite a few of the bells and whistles that some of the higher-end treadmills have too. Well worth the money.
Things I love about this treadmill are:
*Ability to plug in your mp3 player - - although you do not have a volume control on the actual treadmill, the volume is controlled by your mp3 player. Turn up the volume on your mp3 unit, and you're set. If it's still too low, if you have iTunes, right-click on the individual song that is too soft, and check the volume there. More times than not, the volume is set to low--jack it up to 100% more, and that should do it. I've ran myself ragged on this treadmill and still have been able to hear the music just fine.
*Built-In Fan: It may not look like it will help much, but trust me when I say that both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised with this feature. It really does help quite a bit with helping cool down as you're working out, especially since there is both a Low setting and a High setting.
*Being able to set my weight on the treadmill so that I can see how many calories I've burned. This is helpful considering my husband and I both use this, knowing that we each burn calories at different rates.
*Quick Speed changes: Being able to simply press a particular numbered button to go that speed in an instant is nice. If you choose to go gradually, you can also use the arrow buttons to change the speed in 0.1 increments. Sometimes that gets to be a little time-consuming, so the ability to use the numbers for the speed is very helpful. (The incline also works in this same manner)
*Easy to Read Display: The display has a wealth of information including time elapsed, speed, burned calories, and distance. The distance is shown in two ways. At all times, you are also shown what looks to be a quarter-mile racetrack, and it shows you where you would be if you'd be on one.
**I have used this treadmill about 2-4 times per week every week for the past 3+ months. I work out on it mostly by racewalking, but with bursts of running lasting 1-2 minutes in length in between. The longest time period I've used it was for 1 hour and 40 minutes, and it ran great. My husband usually runs on it, and has had no problems.
The only thing that was a slight bummer was that once you hit 99 minutes and 59 seconds, the treadmill shuts off because the display will not reflect 100 minutes. But I haven't worked out for longer for quite some time, so it's not a huge deal.
***Overall, I am recommending this treadmill to everyone I know who wants to purchase one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Pretty good product (so far)

01/21/2009
By ,
Panama City, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had the treadmill for about two weeks now. It is a pretty good product for the price. Pros: 1) It is fairly easy assemble/set up for one person. You need two to carry it to where you are going to set it up. 2) It does what a treadmill is suppose to do. It is consistent and smooth and not too noisy when running. 3) The fan is a nice feature and helps keep you cooler. Cons: 1) Watch what type of flooring you set the machine on. I set it on a tiled floor and the belt has thrown off a good deal of oil on the floor directly underneath the belt. 2) The belt is noisy. After about 10-15 minutes, the best sounds like it is slapping the bottom as it goes around. Not slipping...slapping. Checked the tension on the belt and it seems fine and the belt is centered on the rollers. My size, 6'4" 199 lbs, may be pushing the product to its limit though. Time will tell. 3) As others have already stated, the speakers cannot be heard well with the MP3 player plugged in, but I didn't expect them to be loud to begin with.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Seeing Results

03/14/2008
By ,
North Platte,NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am LOVING! this treadmill. I've been using it almost every day. This is my first "home" equipment and the convenience is well worth it. Especially being a mom to a toddler. The features are AMAZING and what you get for the money!!! Wow, this is actually nicer than the Rec Center's equipment that I used.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Not bad

05/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the feel of the treadmill. The belt is very well cushioned to give a smooth walk/run. The fan is not very powerful but a nice feature to have.
Assemble was time consuming but the instructions were easy to follow. All in all a good buy for the buck.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Wimpy!

05/17/2009
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this product online via site to store. We picked it up and brought it home ourselves and were careful in handling. When we put it together 3 parts were broken (one plastic and two metal!). The company sent replacement parts, but after putting it together with the replacement parts it still didn't work. Finally, after talking to the company we were able to get further instructions (Yes, we read the manual first) on how to get it going. Now that it works it is still sort of jerky while walking on it. Neither my husband or I are large people, but the motor seems to have trouble handling the weight of a person on it. I am nervous to try running on it. It is disappointing because when you buy something (particularly at this price) you expect it to come out of the box working and be able to live up to the standards advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Wonderful Product

12/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this treadmill! I am planning to train for a marathon and this has all the program settings that I would need to assist in doing that. It was fairly easy to put together. It is the perfect size for what I wanted it for. I would recommend this treadmill or brand of treadmill to anyone!
LOVE IT!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Does the job for me

03/04/2009
By ,
Prescott AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the treadmill for Xmas 08. Had no problems with the assembly. Takes 2 people for part of the time bacause of the weight of the motor & belt unit. Other than that, just follow the instructions. After using it for about 6 weeks (30 minutes every other day), it started to squeek. After talking to the support center, and rejecting their offer of a service contract and $30 lubrication kit, I reviewed the assembly manual. I "assumed" that the belt would be properly adjusted from the factory. Wrong. The books says I should be able to lift the belt, in the center, between 2 & 3 inches. This belt was so tight It would only lift about 1/2 inch. I loosened the belt tension (2 adjusting screws) so it would lift 2 3/4 inches and what do you know, the squeek went away. The only thing I do not like, except it is not a big deal, is that the horizontal bar you grip on the head, is too far forward. If I grip this bar I either have to lean forward slightly or fully extend my arms to avoid bumping the motor housing with my feet when I walk. So, I clamped a home made bar to the 2 arms that stick out on either side, and grip that. Makes it easier for me at least. Try it, you'll like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Not Impressed

01/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this treadmill home and it was missing the back portion of the heart rate grips, and also the speed was calorbrated incorrectly. If I would hit the 4 MPH button the belt would go 4 MPH but the screen would read as 6.4 MPH, so if you where wanting to go a certain distance and see how long it would take all the readings would be off. I took the hood off the motor like the booklet said and tried to get the magnet and the reader as close as possible but that never helped with the speed reading. If you are going to spend this kind of money I would go for one that is of higher quality, also when running on the belt the "cushion deck" looked like it was going to snap in half more than it looked like it was giving under weight and the weight of the person running on it was 210 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Good and Bad

03/29/2010
By ,
Pittsburg, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm beside myself on how to rate this product. So I chose middle ground. Shipping was great. Assembly took about an hour. However, when I did my first run on it, it stuttered a lot and I nearly found myself flying over the front of it on a few instances. But for my wife it seems to work fine. I workout regularly and am in good shape, so it appears that this machine doesn't support the weight of an average adult male. I'm investigating to see if this can be adjusted and will update my review should I find anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Gold's Gym Treadmill 550

04/28/2008
By ,
Dayton area, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, I shopped around and nearly collapsed looking at the prices of treadmills at Dicks and other specialty stores. Bottom end - too cheap. Average cost - $1000 and up - way too expensive. Found this Gold's Gym model on the Wal-Mart website and researched it. Now, I couldn't see it in the store cuz it was only an online site-to-store order item. WOW! Talk about value packed, decent warrantee, great reviews. It also has a built-in audio jack/speakers for MP3, Ipod, Zune, etc. I ordered it and picked it up locally.
I've used it 3-4 times in the 2 weeks I've had it (part of a larger fitness program I do). My daughters also use it. Not a single complaint. I put it together myself in about 2 hours (taking my time). I'm pretty finicky about quality, but I try to balance frugality with value and quality. This is it. No doubt. Buy it and have fun - but USE it. Calories don't disappear on their own!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Worth it...

02/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this treadmill, Site to Store. When I picked it up, it was very large and heavy. My friend and I put it together in about an hour and 15 mins. The directions were easy to follow, altough the screws that came with it, were not the same as in the manual. Some were, but luckily I had screws at home to fit (it saved time rather than calling and having the right ones sent).
Everything turned on and it works perfectly. I didn't realise how large the machine actually was, so I had to do some re-arranging in my house.
I love it. I have had it for 3 weeks and have used it everyday. I was worried that I would spend a ton of money and it would be used as a "storage" device or clothes hanger.
I have it in my living room right next to the couch. I jump on while I'm watching TV. During a commercial, I hit mute on the TV and listen to the IPOD. I like loud music, but the speakers on the treadmill aren't that powerful. They aren't bad...just not great.
When I first used the treadmill, I completely forgot about the fan. When I realised it was there...I turned it on and it was great! I love it.
I would recommend this treadmill. It is worth the money. It is heavy duty, has nice features, and I like running on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

great product

02/10/2010
By ,
kc, mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product for the money. It did take a couple hours to assemble. All part were included, even had a few extra nuts/bolts. I had to adjust the belt- it was running a little to the left, but the instructions on how to do it were very clear and easy. The fan works great. I plug my ipod in and I feel the speakers work great. If you run at higher speeds, it tends to be a little loud and can drown out the speakers though. If you go into your itunes you can adjust the volume to accomodate. Overall very happy with the product, would recommend to anyone. In fact, my parents purchased the product after I had it a couple weeks. They had an older treadmill that was on its last leg. They say the difference between this and their last treadmill is amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Trainer 550 Treadmill

Wow!

02/05/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was always convinced that buying a home treadmill was wasting perfectly good money. But this treadmill is such a good quality for the cost. It's easy to use, doesn't take up much space, is relatively quiet, and operates well. That is, once you get it put together, which was not as easy as I had hoped. A couple of screws were missing from the package, which I didn't notice until the crucial moment when I needed them. I suggest checking ALL the hardware and reading ALL the directions BEFORE starting the assembly. I have only two complaints about the way that it works: the incline does not adjust to a flat zero percent, and the MP3 speakers are not great. Happy running!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next