Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Lose inches and shed pounds with the Gold's Gym 450, the impressive weight loss treadmill that creates customized, calorie-burn workouts specifically for your needs. Simply plug in your weight, the number of calories you want to burn, how long you want to workout, and press go, and you're on your way to a trimmer, healthier you. The Gold's Gym treadmill also offers StepTech cushion technology, which maximizes workout comfort while reducing impact on your joints.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(731 Reviews) 631
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
421
4 stars
206
3 stars
34
2 stars
12
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation89%650 out of 731reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
421
4 stars
206
3 stars
34
2 stars
12
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Great Machine

10/31/2008
By ,
Fort Stewart, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was pretty easy to put together! The heartrate sensors are not accurate at all, but other than that, I have no complaints. Folds easily, and does not take up much room when down. Cord is not long, so take that into consideration when placing it somewhere to use! Fan is a nice addition also. Operates smoothly, and makes a minimal amount of noise when used. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a decent machine for their home.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill
11/06/2008
By ,
Hemphill, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is good but arrived damaged from shipping - some breaks on the cosmetic plastic area in front of the treadmill walking surface.... Appeared to have been hit by a forklift
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Very nice treadmill

10/31/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked a perfect box out of several badly damaged boxes that was in the store. Lord have mercy now I was stuck on assembling it myself or finding someone to do it. They have a phone number for you can make arrangement to have someone to do it but it was $169 and it will be around 3-5 days as I was told. Save your money me and my daughter 11 years old put this thing together. MAKE SURE THE PARTS ARE THERE BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING IS VERY IMPORTANT. It was a breeze because we took our time. I did call them for minor issues. The only thing that was messed up after doing 90% of the installation the ground wire screws are too big for the little hole. They suggest the could mail me 2 more what a joke. I told I will go to a local hardware store. I have a jar full of screws and none fit. They suggest not to drill so don't. I wen to the hardward store and purchased it 5 cents but just see if you have a screw that can fit and make sure it silver.
Now this critique this treadmill it is SWEET. I have worked out on it for 2 days now. I get a full work out for sure. There are various programs I use the simple on called P1 but it has a downside for me is that is tends to speed up very fast you have immediately lower to a speed that is comfortable. you do not have to use the program like a freestyle for your taste. There is a place for drinks. It can incline. The other features like the fan works good for me any breeze I feel when I am sweating is very welcoming. the pulse looks like it works to me because when I am really moving my pulse is high and when I cooling down so is my pulse. Sorry for the long review just want help anyone interested in this treadmill. I informed the company that I wish the could imbed the nos. of each part. The base pad was not identified in the manual for all the parts. but you will see it in the diagram. it was not a glitch at all. I am serious you and another person and do this. You need someone to hold the left and right upright when you are screwing it on. and the final piece console. Almost forgot get that surge suppressor. I went to Home Depot and gotten a Belkin surge protector under $9. The manual suggests it they are selling it for $13. That is all I can think of hope I have help. It is very close to a treadmill at the spas.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Love Love Love it!

05/14/2009
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fiancé and I bought this treadmill as a gift for ourselves for Christmas. It has bypassed both of our expectations. I did my research and this treadmill appeared to be the best bang for my buck. It is very quiet compared to other treadmills. I would recommend this treadmill to all ages and sizes. I walk on it for 2 to 3 hours at a time and it has never gotten hot. My fiancé is not tiny and he runs as full speed on the treadmill and loves it! I would recommend this treadmill to my both my college friends and grandparents! We thought about buying the treadmill pad that goes under the treadmill but i'm glad we didnt. The cord is kinda short and that should be taken into consideration before you decide were you want to put it. Also, I read a bunch of the reviews before hand and was scared it was going to be to difficult to put together by ourselves, but it was really easy and we had it assembled in about 35 mins. Overall great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Be Close & Grounded

12/24/2007
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this treadmill 6 - 7 times a week - its a great product. I am disappointed with one aspect - the heart rate sensors are nowhere near accurate. Other than that, I have no complaints. If you do buy this product, make sure you have a grounded outlet very near to where you want to put this thing. The cord on the treadmill isn't long and you can't (or aren't supposed to) hook it up with an extension cord. Luckily my uncle was able to put a grounded outlet where I needed one. And if you are wondering, this treadmill does fold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

OUTSTANDING!

02/20/2008
By ,
Andalusia, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an outstanding purchase! The machine is so easy to work with and I love it! It doesn't take up very much room when down and little to no room when upright in the storage position. I am really impressed with the programing also. Haven't found anything wrong with the machine yet......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Love it!!

04/04/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There seems to be a lot of fuss about assembly ... and although it's not easy to assemble solo, it's not impossible either. It took me (a 21 year old that has no idea where my windshield washer fluid goes in my car) about 2 hours to do it on my own. A Phillips Screwdriver is the only addtional tool needed. This treadmill is incredibly easy to fold up, and there is a latch that holds it upright so no need to worry about it getting bumped and falling.
The incline is a bit noisy but it takes all of five seconds to adjust. The heart rate monitor isn't the most accurate but I'll live with that because it is relatively inexpensive and I feel a great product for the price. I don't use the fan, but I'm about 5'2'' and it blows right over my head unless I am fairly close to the console.
All in all, I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a decent treadmill at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Great value for the $$$

01/02/2009
By ,
Shoreham, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well after reading all the reviews on this product I decided to take the plunge. Admittedly I have only used a couple of treadmills in the past but for what it’s worth here are my thoughts on this unit. I consider myself an accomplished assembler having put together many items in the past. I think some of criticism in some of the reviews may be based on skill set and not necessarily on the product or instructions. One thing to note that I only discovered after completion is that they recommend a single outlet surge protector (not included).
ASSEMBLY:
As far as this one goes I would say it’s pretty straight forward and the instructions and reviews all basically said have another pair of hands available. I was able to assemble the unit without the second pair of hands but having them would have shaved off some time. Overall I was able to assemble the unit in about an hour and the instructions were very clear and easily followed. The only issue encountered in the process was attaching the ground screw for the control panel. No matter how hard I tried I could not get it to start in the pre-drilled hole on the frame. After double checking that I was using the right screw a couple of times and fearing I would strip the head or threads of the screw I used a a cordless drill and bit to make the pilot hole slightly larger and this remedied the situation.
OPERATION:
The unit works excellent. In reading the reviews I have to agree with many of the comments like A great bang for the $$$, well built/sturdy, and easily stored. It has a rich set of features found on many much more expensive units. It runs fairly quiet with the exception of the blower fan that is there to cool you down during your workout. It’s a great idea and well worth having even with the little extra noise. I’ve been using the unit for about a month now and the pre-programmed workouts are a really nice feature that will get other newbies like me gradually acclimated to working out. As far as the reviews on the pulse monitor accuracy I can honestly say I have not measured mine and the fact you have to hold a handle in order to get a reading just defeats part of the workout by having to keep your arms stationary. I will most likely purchase one of the wrist watch type units so I can move my arms freely and get the most out of my workouts. In summary I don’t think you will find another unit in this price range as well built and feature packed.
Assembly: Simple (Depending on skill set)
Operation: Simple, straight forward, and quiet
Storage: Excellent (Folds easily and compact)
Quality: Excellent
Features: Excellent
Price: Excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+135points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Excellent !!!

11/27/2007
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I research several sites and machines, this is by far the best bang for your buck!! I use this every day and I am seeing great results. My strength and endurance is returning and I am getting better everyday. Thank you Wal-Mart and Golds Gym
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Easy to Use, Hard to Assemble

07/19/2009
By ,
San Bernardino, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shipping box is is 3 feet wide by a foot deep and about 6 feet long, so be prepared that it probably won't fit in many cars. You will need two people for assembly, although the second person need not be strong at all - just another pair of hands.
The assembly instructions were of average clarity.
The bolts and nuts worked fine.
However, there were definite problems with some of the screw-holes. The hole for the grounding wire was too small for the single silver-colored screw that is supposed to go there. I had to obtain and use a smaller screw.
Also, the screws for attaching the display console would not go in and hold the relevant 2 pieces together. I had to very slowly and carefully (do not strip!) "drill" them out by putting the screws in just the bottom pieces alone, then took the screws back out, and started over again with the two pieces to go together as intended.
The product has worked great for the one week I have had it, but assembly does require some patience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Good product

12/06/2009
By ,
missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently moved and was not able to join a gym in the area my family moved to because there isn't one. I was running 3 miles a day on the tredmil at the gym & missed it very much. I did alot of research before buying this tredmil. It isn't as high of quality that one would find at the gym but for the cost it is awesome. My husband & I both run on it. It was easy to put together..I would suggest putting it together in the room you want it in. Getting it down a hall & through a doorway wasn't as easy as I had hoped. It is loud and so is the fan but I just turn on the closed caption on the t.v. and I'm good to go. If you're looking for a lower cost tredmil without alot of bells & whistles that will get the job done then I would definetly recommend this tredmil..Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Buyer Beware

04/10/2009
By ,
US
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not recommend this product to anyone based on two factors: quality issues with the product and lack of ability to reach a "live body" for support after the sale.
Like so many other reviewers, I bought this, lugged it home, put it together, and when I plugged it in, the incline motor went all the way up, and the unit quit working. Very frustrating to spend that amount of time and money, only to have a dud out of the box.
Getting through to Icon Fitness' customer care line was next to impossible. They were, however, very prompt in responding to emails. After I explained my situation, they offered to send someone out to fix the unit (something I didn't see with other reviewers), but later rescinded that offer. Their suggestion was to return it to Wal Mart.
I will do that, and have bought a non Icon Fitness produced treadmill -- which is a challenge as they make just about every brand available at big box retailers.
Very frustrating experience, I do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Great Value

03/14/2009
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this treadmill for about 2 weeks, used site to store and it came 3 days early. I am very satisfied with the quality and value. It was extremely easy to put together, it was intimidating looking at it in the box and after reading the reviews I assumed it would take 2 or more hours but I got it done (with minimal help), in only 1 hour. The box is enormous though and very heavy, which is of course to be expected.
Some of the reviews said that it was loud, I don't find this to be true, it is fairly quiet and I don't have to turn my TV up to some unearthly number, unless the fan is going, that is a little noisy. I am 5'3 and for me the placement of the fan is perfect.
Overall I am very happy with this treadmill, I had considered buying a more expensive one but then realized, when am I ever going to use 12 preprogrammed workouts, and I don't even own and i-pod so why do I need a treadmill with a place for that? Bottom line...this is a great treadmill for those that dont need the fancy schmancies, it's very sturdy, quiet, a breeze to put together, great quality for the value, and I would definitley recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Once I got the thing working...

03/20/2008
By ,
Inglewood, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought treadmill (great price!), put it together (fairly simple to put together) only to find that it didn't work... AT ALL! Performed troubleshooting per manual...still no luck...called manufacturer the next day (not open on Sunday's) , they had me take the base apart & check for loose wiring on the motor & motor control board (a "mini computer mother-board" where all of the wires connect to in order to function).. No loose wiring, they had me check some other things then they said that it is "most likely" a non-functioning motor control... They shipped another one out to me and I received it literally 1 week later. I swapped the old motor control with the new one (basically re-plugging in wires one by one)...THAT FIXED IT!...Treadmill works great now...so far...! So besides the hassle & inconvenience of (1) Taking the thing apart and performing surgery on it (2) Waiting a week & a half to actually use it, its a pretty cool product. I just pray that it LASTS me a while!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Gold's Gym Customer service nonexistent

03/03/2009
By ,
new york
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, it definitely needs two people to put it together, which really wasn't that difficult. Where the wheels are on it makes it harder to move, but if you angle it the right way you can use the wheels to move it. when the incline goes to move it does scrape the floor, so if you put it on the rubber mat it will rub a hole in it if not rip it. Unless you are 6 foot tall or are leaning into it, the fan doesn't reach you when you're on it. I'm 5'4 and the fan is useless, my husband is 5'10 and even he has to lean into the fan for it to reach him. As for the treadmill, well it worked great for the first two days, then the belt stopped. Gold's Gym customer service number is a run around of press 1 for this, etc, then you get a recording telling you to leave a message. They never call back, and they don't respond to emails either, so I returned it to walmart and am out the shipping. Because of the lack of service from Gold's Gym I won't purchase anything else from that company.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

450 Gold's Gym Treadmill

05/21/2009
By ,
Leavenworth, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to put the treadmill together by myself.
The grounding flat screw was too large for the grounding hole in the frame, so I had to buy a smaller one. The light could be brighter but it is efficient. The pulse reader is way off and the fan is for a taller person ( I am 5'4"). But in saying this,
the treadmill is solid and sturdy and runs well and
is quiet enough. I've had it for a month and I use it everyday. I'm happy with it. The warrenty is someting that has monthly payments though and when you read the fine print it tells you what it does not cover which is about everything. But I love the treadmill and recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Never Buy This Product!!

08/22/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this treadmill six months ago. So far the motor has went bad and the console. I had to fight with the company just to get them to stand behind there warranty. Now the console display has went bad. It cost $165 to replace, since that part of the warranty has conveniently ran out. Who wants to spend close to $400 and then $165 six months later. Do not buy this machine, the customer service is terrible and it just doesn't last like it should. I regret buying it every day!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Worth what you pay

01/11/2009
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My fiance and I bought this to use during the winter instead of a gym membership. He is training for his job and I am just trying to stay in shape. So far it has been a great addition to our small apartment.
It did take some work putting it together but you really just need patience. I did order it site to store and the base was cracked a little as stated in some other reviews. Not a big deal though.
The only real issue is that the belt did seem to slip a lot. We were really worried that we had wasted our money. However, we found that if we tighten the belt every couple times we use it, it works fine. Kind of a pain but definitely worth it for the price.
It is really easy to use, the programs work nicely and the fan is a really great addition. It is definitely not whisper quiet, but it makes the noise you would imagine.
Overall, definitely worth the price. If you are looking for a cheap way to exercise and don't need a million different features, this is what you should get. Perfect for daily use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Works just fine!!!!!!

07/07/2009
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After months and months of researching for a perfect treadmill without wanting to spend thousands of dollars or even over 500 dollars on something you can just walk outside for free! I read many reviews and BTW thanks everyone for your reviews they have helped me out tremendously! But I was trying to research many treadmills and read ratings and I was kind of skeptical on buying this one because it didnt look as durable! But it works just fine! I love it! I've had it since March 09 which was what 3 months ago? And from March to the end of May I have already lost 25lbs! Thats with a fairly healthy diet and working out 3-4 times a week! Its incredible! I watch my favorite shows that I TiVO for about 30 mins a day while working out and it keeps me busy! But I do have to admit I am kind of bored of it now but I wont be for long because I've found fun treadmill work outs online to keep me going! The noise is kind of loud and annoying as you increase speed and incline but if you turn up your tv then your fine! My TV wont go as loud but it depends on what type of show I'm watching and what channel! Some channels do have louder volume than others! Overall, I love it and I would rate it a 4 1/2 only because of the noise problem! Everything else is perfect! Oh and also the heart rate monitor which is useless to me! But the Weight loss workouts are too hard for me considering the most I can do is 4mph or 5mph! If anyone wants a cheap treadmill that does the same thing an expensive one does this is the treadmill to pick if you can handle the loud noise! :) Hope this helps everyone out!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 20 for Gold's Gym 450 Treadmill

Good

01/22/2009
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy! Came damaged but an easy part to repair. Directions could be a bit better explained. Basic slot A into slot B but way too many parts to assemble to be unspecfic with what goes where. Grounding wire is a little short so that takes some time getting the display attached. Though the assembly was a bit of a challenge happy with the product. Nothing fancy just a good product to go for a stroll. Also cool thing since its a bit noisy. I find a product in the Walmart store. It is a wireless headset which you can hook to your TV or radio. By using that you can't use the excuse that you don't want to walk because your favorite soap or drama is on and you don't want to miss it since you would not hear it. Also you can avoid the old way of watching the TV with the treadmill which is turning up the volume to an annoying level. Used that option for the first time and was able to walk while watching Criminal Minds. So add that product and I am satisfied with everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 632 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next