Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Reshape your body to a personalized soundtrack. The Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike lets you plug your MP3 player into the console and play your favorite music files through the built-in speaker. You'll have eight Personal Trainer workouts to choose from, each automatically adjusting your workout resistance. Plus, the Target Pacer indicator light lets you know when it's time to work a little harder or slow down — so you can get the most out of every workout on the Gold's Gym recumbent exercise bike.
Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(270 Reviews) 257
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
69
3 stars
28
2 stars
20
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation73%196 out of 270reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
69
3 stars
28
2 stars
20
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Save your Money

08/26/2009
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wished I had read all the reviews before purchasing.
I have had the same problems as several others with the seat adjustment. As you pedal the seat moves further away and will not stay tightened. After emailing the company I was told a new knob would not do any good just take the knob I have and rough it up with sandpaper to help it "catch" properly. Still will not stay tightened! Seems the company knows this is a problem. Do not waste your money. Is it easy to put together just impossible to use!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Great Value for the Price

02/24/2009
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We searched many exercise bikes before we settled on this one. Didn't have a lot of $$, so had to be a bit pickier than we wanted to be. Checked this one out online, read the reviews, looked at it in the store, then decided this one would be our best bet.
Didn't order it online because our local WalMart had one in stock. Bought it, brought it home and proceeded to put it together.
This is where it got a bit tougher than I'd expected. Everything went as the instructions indicated until we tried to adjust the frame for our height. No matter how we tried we couldn't get the extension to budge more than about an inch. Hmmm. It felt like it was catching on something.
We finally gave up and decided we needed to open the front cover to see what we could see. After removing about 12 screws, we dropped the side covers. Didn't find much that would help, but continued trying to adjust the frame extension. After a bit more juggling, pushing and pulling, the frame finally broke free from whatever it was caught on. Never did find out what it was. But it broke free and we were 'in business' once again. That is, after we managed to get all 12 or so screws put back in the front covers! THAT was a chore as no matter how we tried we couldn't get all of them lined up to match their respective holes on the opposite side of the cover. But being the stubborn old folks that we are, we finally got the screws back in too. Doesn't help that we were trying to put two screws in the same hole! Ha ha, joke was on us! Time to assemble turned out to be about two hours due to the issue with the frame adjustment. Had that not been so difficult, assembly would have been much quicker, about an 1 1/2 hours, tops!
Anyway, now that we've had this bike for about 4 days, I must say, I'm glad we bought it! The above is the only problem we had with the assembly. It seems to work quite well and does what is promised mechanically and electronically.
Hubby is even riding it a bit. He has some severe health issues but has managed to ride it about 15 minutes straight on two different days. It'll take him some time to build up his stamina, but at least he's working his leg muscles a bit. Beats his sitting at his computer, doing nothing for 20 hours/day.
I have been very impressed with the silent running of this bike and the ease of use of the different tension settings and the heart rate monitor.
HOWEVER, I should add for those that may not realize it, this bike doesn't come with a power adapter. It runs quite nicely on 4 D batteries. Don't know how long these standard batteries will last, we haven't gotten that far yet. But you can order a power adapter for it. I think I'll just buy a D battery charger and some rechargeable D batteries to use with it.
Haven't tried plugging my Ipod into it yet because I don't have a suitable cord for that connection. Will be getting that soon.
So, to wrap this up, I love this bike! For the money and the ease of use, it's a great choice!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Garbage

02/13/2010
By ,
Huntsville, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This machine is powered by batteries, unless you spend extra and order an A/C Adapter. The battery compartment "hatch" is junk. I had to tape mine on the first time I used it to keep it from popping open, and today, one year later, I attempted to change the batteries and the "hatch" broke - leaving me with no way to keep batteries in there, unless I duct tape the stupid thing on. The bike overall is not very well made. The pedals and resistance mechanism seem to slip. I would not recommend this bike. Buy a more expensive commercial model, used or new, but forget this "home gym" garbage. It will just disappoint.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Met my expectation

12/06/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Determined to have a home gym, I went with a well-known name, (Gold's) in fitness equipment. I read all the reviews and made my decision. Went to the store and bought it on BlackFriday; no it wasn't on sale, but hey, I am determined and the price was okay anyway.
The bike stands up to it's maker's reputation (I am 5/3 and 300# and need to lose weight for health and this is a wonderful start. My son put it together in no time flat. I am pleased with the heart monitor display as well. Make sure you place a lamp by your bike for enough light to see your display easier.
Overall, I have no complaints. Doesn't squeak and the seat is good and large enough for me. I would recommend it to anyone.
By the way, I got on the Gold's elliptical machine ($297) in the store and used it for a few mintues and I must say, that is next on my purchase! It didn't wobble or anything, very sturdy, just like the bike. Worth the buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Best bike I have ever owned.

12/05/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this bike a week ago. I have used it everyday but one. Love this machine. It is so Quiet. It has 8 intensity workouts: 2-20 minutes and 6-30 minute workouts and you will sweat, but you will not be overexhausted on this bike. There are pacing lights on the display so you can be sure that you are getting a good aerobic workout. You can also just choose to ride without the preset workouts. Each lap around the track is 1/4 mile. You can always choose to up or lower the intensity level no matter what workout you are doing. The seat is so comfortable and the ride is so smooth, the workout is over before you know it! The fan is a nice feature that enables you to go longer in comfort. And there is a water bottle holder. The plug for an MP3 player is awesome and makes the bike worth the money. My favorite feature is the small ledge that will hold a book, my DS or my MP3 player. The only con I have for this bike is the display is blue which makes it hard to see.
I would recommend this bike to anyone. So much better than a regular stationary bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Not Worth The Investment

01/20/2010
By ,
Millersburg, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We originally purchased this item with the goal of getting in shape. We both have difficulty with our knees and a recumbent bike was a great choice do to the low impact. After a few months this particular bike, like many others, developed a problem with the main console board that controls the entire bike. After looking online for other reviews we found out that others were having the same exact problems. Unfortunately, the only real solution is to replace the main control panel completely.
A replacement part will run you approximately $300 not including shipping. That is over $60 for the cost of a new bike. You would be best served not purchasing this brand as the issue seems to stem form the way the console is manufactured and the circuitry is made. It is our opinion that the only thing Gold Gym about this product is in fact the colored name printed on the side.
Presently, it resides in our enclosed screen room collecting dust as it is useless without being able to change the settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Comfortable Ride

07/08/2009
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used it yet but it is comfortable to sit in compared to my regular exercise bike which hurts my butt. Cons: only one speaker though it looks like it has two. Barely hear music with my thumb MP3 device all the way up. Adapter not included($24 to get 6VDC 2000mA on sale from manuf) I worry the screws that hold the display are not strong enough. I skinned my knuckle tightening the slide. I think I will drill a hole through it the size of the included allen wrench for leverage. As is doesn't hold tight enough, tech support said to not push the pedals too hard, duh! Pros: price, even $239 seems a good price(I wish I only paid $197 though). I like how the display looks like you're riding on an oval track.
It took all of 1.5 hours to assemble using wrenches and hex sockets. To do the bottom seat I had to lay the bike on its side. I sweated more putting it together than riding it probably. I am 300lbs (100 lbs overweight) and it supports me fine. I am 6 ft and I have the slide at No 5 to get so my legs never lock open at the knee.
I reccommend you buy it and use it, it's a nice looking and well designed bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

so frustrated! (batteries!)

04/26/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this bike in 4 days after ordering.
It looks sturdy and was not hard to put together. I was proud to find such a great deal when these machines normally cost a couple of hundred to a $1000 more. The first time i rode the bike for 10 joyous moments..... then the batteries fell out! and i havent been able to get them back in since. It seems as though the weight of the batteries is too much for the case to hold and now I cant ride my bike without first purchasing a power cord. So, really you dont have an option because the inconvenient upside down location of the battery portion of the bike forces you to buy an adapter due to the fact that it cant handle this many batteries. Sooooo if you are going to order this bike you need to also put into your cart the Jensen Universal Ac Adapter, 500 MAh (set to 6v positive tip).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+15points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

a good value

02/06/2009
By ,
wheeling wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bike was in perfect shape out of the box. i assembled it alone in about an hour. it works great-no noise-no broken parts. monitor screen is a little difficult to read. forget the batteries-wal-mart carries a 600ma ac to dc converter with multiple tips- one fits perfectly. set to 6 volts positive tip and you're in business! price is $12.98!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+182points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

A mixed review

02/08/2008
By ,
Richmond, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ordered this product for health reasons, and in the beginning was very happy when received. Assembly was easy, very good instructions and all nuts, bolts and parts were there. After assembly is when the headache started, unfortunately there is no way of checking the bike until it is completely assembled. Once the bike was assembled it did not work, all the electronics were working but the resistance could not be set. Upon removing the housing I found the components to be quality, but the factory preassmbling was was extremely poor. The "tension/spring" assembly that controls the magnet for resistant was not set properly and would cause the magnent to slam onto the metal resistance wheel. All the screw tabs that hold the housing together were cracked and ready to break or already broken, and the interior was full of plastic and metal shavings (not good when the main mechanism is magnetic). Being a DIY guy I was able to fix all the issues and the bike now works great. I contacted Icon/Golds Gym customer service and the were very pleasant and cared about the issues and made things right. They sent me new housings to replace the broken ones. All in all its a excercise bike for under $200.00 (I guess the old addage "you get what you pay for" is true). If you do purchase this bike examine and inspect it well before you invest time in assembling it, I hope this review helps other when making thier decision on purchasing this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Bang For Your Buck

09/13/2009
By ,
The Jersey Shore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is a real bargain for what I paid for it. I shopped around and felt this bike had what the real expensive bikes had but at a cost that is reasonable. It think it is well worth the price. It operates super quietly and it's pretty comfortable. The screen has all the info I need and the fan is a bonus........ I have not used the MP3 thing because I don't have the connection for my I Pod. But that's not why I bought the bike. I'll listen to my radio. Set up was real easy, it took about 1/2 an hour and all parts were in good shape.
There are a few points that make a minor down side to this bike. They were not a big deal for me, but could annoy others.
The battery pack should have come with the bike. Gold's Gym knew batteries don't last long and the design is a bit cheesy. They offered to sell you one in a flyer that was in the kit. I say add a few bucks to the price and include it. I bought one for $ 18.00 and it works like a charm.
The red LED is a bit annoying. It shines right in my eyes. I used a tiny piece of blue masking tape to cover the red light only. When its on I can see it, but it's not to bright.
My seat did come loose a few times. I scuffed the contact point with sand paper. It seems OK now.
I really recommend this for anyone who wants a good bike at a bargain price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

some good some bad

01/22/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the bike was easy to put together, the bike is easy to use, the bike didn't come with batteries, or an ac adapter, i had to order the adapter, took 2 days to get, batteries are hard to put in , they keep falling out, and they don't last long, you can't read the panel it looks like all 8 when you are on the bike, they need to figure out a better way to display the numbers on the panel so you can read it, if you read the other reviews, it's pretty much the same complaint on all of them, so why doesn't the company do anything about it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

A great value

02/20/2010
By ,
fort wayne, in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I decided it was time to get moving for our health. We are on our feet all day so we thought this would be the perfect way to get in exercise no excuses because you are sitting and it doesn't hurt your knees. We were right!! It is wonderful and it is very sturdy we are both overweight (250)+ and it supports us both great. Easy to put together only trouble we had was with the pedals we could not get it to screw in it just took a little extra work but overall a great buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

So far, so good

01/27/2010
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The husband and I bought this to lose weight. We've had it for a week and I have to say it has held up great so far. He put it together with minimal help from me. We did encounter one problem though, the height adjustment bar tends to slip back while we ride it. But we are over the weight limit and have put the front end against a heavy bookshelf to hold it in place while we ride. But like I said, I think that is because we are over the weight limit and do not blame it on the machine itself. The machine is whisper quiet and the husband can play video games while riding it. I like the fan, it helps cool you down and doesn't just blow a ton of air right in your face. We haven't used the MP3 feature so I can't comment on that but it does have a nice ledge to set it on if you did use it. I have only used one of the programmed workouts and it is a good workout. I would definitely purchase this bike again. I also plan on purchasing a Gold's Gym elliptical in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

great piece of equipment for the money

01/21/2008
By ,
dubuque, ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike has all the frills without the high price. assembly was easy and the bike is easy to adjust for different size users.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Great for it's price, but....

10/06/2010
By ,
Augusta, Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike on WalMart.com using Site-To-Store as it was $10 cheaper then buying at the store directly. The bike was easy to assemble as I put it together with my 6 year old daughter. It took about an hour to assemble. The bike is great, but.... The "sound system" is only 1 single speaker. When you look at the console it looks like it has two speakers. When I orignally connected it to my MP3 I thought that 1 speaker was bad. I called the Company and told them that only the right speaker was working. They aplogized and sent me a new console (a $150 value they told me) for free to replace the one I had. About a week later the new console came it and I installed it. Again only the right speaker worked, so I removed the screws and open up the console. You can see that two speakers could be installed, but it only comes with 1 speaker. So now I have a replacement console it 1 goes bad. The sound quality is very "tinny" so I connect my MP3 to a different sound system . The bike is very study and does not rock or sway which is a plus. Also, remember this is a magnetic resistance bike so when you ride on the higher levels (above 6) the peddling becomes "choppy" as the magnet tries to act as the resistance. Overall it's a nice bike for the money you pay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

As Expected

02/01/2010
By ,
Bradenton, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading all the reviews of the product we did purchase this bike. Many other reviewers explained the pro's and con's very well. We fully agree that the product is excellent for the price but it would have taken pennies to correct the three main faults. The battery pack should be rear loaded as the cover wouldn't even stay on without batteries weighing it down, so we bought the plug adapter when we purchased the bike ($14.88). I still need to tape the battery compartment shut as it easily falls off. The red light indicator is extremely bright even with 3 post it notes covering it up. My wife is only 5'-2" and I am 6' tall so frequent adjustment is necessary. My wife has a very difficult time in trying to adjust the seat and this is due to the bike "sagging" just where the adjustment screw is located. By simply placing a sock under the frame at this location, the bar slides freely. A permanent support at this location would solve that problem.
I would have thought that someone in their research and development department would have at least tried this machine out before mass producing as it would have been very obvious on these three flaws in the matter of minutes and all three could have been corrected for probably no additional cost. Seeing that I only needed to use some electrical tape to keep the battery compartment closed (only used electrical tape because it was black to match the compartment), a small piece of tape over the bright red light and a sock to support the frame for adjustments, the pro's far outweigh the con's and we are very pleased with our purchase. It is very quiet and very stable and will give us our much needed exercise while watching our favorite TV shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Broken!

02/27/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've wanted this bike for months, so my fiance finally gave in and bought it for me. After putting it together and struggling with the batteries (they're positioned on the bottom of the bike, very hard to insert) we realized something was wrong. The fan turned on, but the main screen wouldn't. When you call the customer service line there is a message telling you that they will call you back when its your turn (it took us a few hours to get a call back). The customer service rep said that she was sending us a part, but was very short and didnt verify anytihng with us. (Our mailing address is different than our home address) It's been about 2 weeks, and we have no idea how/if our part is coming. I am very disappointed with this product, and I am thinking about returning it if I don't get my part in the next few days. I've read better reviews on some of the cheaper bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Aggravating

08/13/2010
By ,
Eastman, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like many others, the battery cover broke the first time I tried to change the batteries. I didn't want to pay $20 for a new cover so we bought the AC adapter. Figured it would be cheaper than months of buying D batteries for it. After two or three days of using the charger with it, the display stopped working and I couldn't select workouts or change the magnetic resistance anymore.
I also think this bike is best for tall people. If I adjusted the seat so that I could reach the pedals, my knees hit the display. I couldn't reach the heart rate monitors while sitting up straight in the seat. I guess these aren't necessarily issues with the product itself, but just warnings for people with certain body types that this may not work for them.
We're taking it back today to try and exchange it for an upright version (the 210) if they have it in stock at our local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike

Love this bike

02/11/2008
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the reviews. I had this problem the first time I rode it of it sliding back. You just have to put a little muscle into tightening where you want it. I set mine on line 3 and my son sets it on line 5. I have no problem as long as you get it tight, it stays put. I love this bike cause I don't get back pain when I ride. My daughter in law is going to go buy one cause she likes it so much. Put a little muscle into tightening it where you want it and ride away!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 258 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next