Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

The Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 500 has four Target Toning workouts that let you focus on your specific trouble spots, four Weight Loss workouts that help you burn as many calories as possible to help speed up your weight loss goals, and four Personal Trainer workouts to tone and sculpt your body. You can listen to your own music through the built-in speaker by plugging your MP3 player into the Interplay Music Port.
Average Customer Rating:
2.978 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation58%26 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

disappointed

08/15/2010
By ,
Newton, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this for my wife, but she never used it so we put it in storage. i decided to use it myself after a few months, and everything was ok for about 2 weeks. the machine is very noisy, lots of creaking, etc. i even sprayed wd-40 on various parts just so i would be able to hear the t.v. while in use. after a few more weeks, one of the wheels broke, and after looking online, the cheapest wheel was $41. but you might as well replace both right? anyways, it also does not come with a wall power adapter, so u will need plenty of D cell batteries, not included either. After a quick search online for the power adapter, i found one for $63. the back plate that hold the batteries in is being held up with tape, because the batteries will fall out while in use. The built-in fan is barely noticable, and the mp3 plug and play feature sounds like music from across the yard on a tin can telephone. i recommend taking the 145 dollars u will spend on parts and wd-40 and add it to your elliptical budget, and buy a better elliptical, or gym membership.. i sincerely regret this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Good value for the money

04/14/2010
By ,
Lexington, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I share alot of the same sentiments as the other posters here...re: Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500. I had a friend help me assemble the elliptical ... about 1& 45min ... not too bad.. i add my kudo's for the way they packaged the hardware... excellent in the way it was done (thankyou).
the only drawback is the power cord SHOULD BE included and is not...and it's a hassle trying to find the correct one... don't buy it from the ICON though as they want to charge you an insane amount of $ for a charger you can easily buy for $12-$15.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Do not buy this product

03/17/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 4 months ago. A week after the warranty ran out the crank shaft broke. I called the company, they sent me a new shaft for $36.63. I installed it. Now the console is broke.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Great value

03/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two weeks ago and use it every day. Assembly, by myself, was not a problem. Had to stop running due to back problems and this worked out great. Used a high quality automotive grease during assembly. Still started sqeaking a little, just recently, but sprayed a little lithium grease on the pivot points and cleared it up. Don't think I'm burning the amount of calories it says I am but still a good workout. Batteries still fine after two weeks but purchased an A/C power adapter on amazon.com for $15, so I don't have to keep buying batteries when the time comes. I am 5'7" and weigh about 215 and have had no issues. I would highly recommend this machine. Will post later if anything significant comes up...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Great Buy for Less Money

03/11/2010
By ,
Middle Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did extensive research and found this buy to be the best value. What you probably didn't know is that about 80% of elliptical equipment is manufactured by ICONN (believe is the name, out of China). Anyway, purchase a product that is backed when considering the costs more than $500. Other stores did not back there elliptical's the way Walmart does. Walmart offers a service plan for very little - thinking about 30$ or so.
The machine is very sturdy. After using it for about 3 days started to get the 'squeak'. It is very annoying. Went to Lowe's purchased rubber washers/grommets -- installed them on each side of bolt on the legs. Prevents the plastic from rubbing. Also, it offers a little more cushion to prevent the frame from breaking. Assembly was pretty easy. Took about an hour.
Great workout - accurate calorie count - a plus!
CONS - if your tall and half blind like I am - the screen is super small which is a disadvantage. Also, power plug sold separately. Purchased one at Radio Shack instead of special ordering -- correct DC adapter sold separate of that. Should be included with the product.
Screen is dark - hard to see the numbers in poor lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Bravo Gold's Gym

03/02/2010
By ,
el paso, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great piece of equipment! Take it froma guy who has spent thousands of hours at a gym and used some of the best exercise equipment, this is professional level at a great price. I like the fact that you can manipulate the incline angle manually vs. mechanically because you don't have to worry about a motor going out. Ok, so the little gadgets (i.e. fan, i pod connection, digital screen) are not the world's class; so what! What matters is that you are going to get a smoot action with variable resistance workout with low impact on joints. This machine is comparable to the $4,000.00 models at gyms. Finally, I put mine together in less that 2 hours by myself; it's worth the time!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

bad design

02/26/2010
By ,
new york
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like others we purchased this machine for daily use,
my wife and i use at least once a day,after 5 months the crank broke like other peoples,The manufacturer would not stand behind the product,however the local wal-mart manager paid
for the replacement part.The installation of the new part was not easy and the crank arms would not
seat properly.After further inspection we found that
the crank arm bolts are too long,Try shorter bolts
when installing new crank arm we did and works better than new,smoother and quiet.Also get extra
grease before putting together it will save you from trying to find the squeaks later.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

DO NOT BUY

02/19/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this and it broke in half a few months after using it. It is the biggest piece of junk. I cant believe golds gym would put their name on this product. The bottom has a metal section in the middle that is attached to plastic. Those two pieces just broke in half which is what supports the entire machine. It wobbles all over the place when you use it too. I absolutely would say save your money and go buy a good one, not this cheap one because you will end up spending more replacing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Don't Buy This Junk!!!

02/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this machine for my girlfriend in October 2009 and she uses it religiously. The machine started squeaking after about two months and in January 2010 the left crank arm (axle) which is a major part snapped in half and this is a solid steal piece of metal!!! Fortunately I paid the extra $20 for a 2 year extended warranty through Walmart and I was able to get the technician to order the replacement part and he fixed it, but once it was fixed the machine was grinding and squeaking so now he is going to submit paperwork to the warranty company to send me a full refund ($299). But most likely I will have to disassemble this huge bulky machine and find a box big enough to ship this thing back to them. So long story short, if you want a product that is going to break down after a few months then this is the machine for you, but make sure you buy the extended warranty through Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Great Value

01/27/2010
By ,
London, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pleased with this purchase.
It takes about two hours to put together. One person can put it together alone, but easier with two. Their products aren't numbered like the instructions instruct you, but take some extra time and look at the pictures closely.
It's a great workout with some noise. Disappointed it doesn't come with the cord for power. Will have to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Battery Pack = Junk!

01/27/2010
By ,
Bloomfield, MO.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife loves this unit, however, Gold's Gym wants a fortune for the plug-in, if you use batteries in the unit, the battery pack is cheaply made and the unit eats batteries quickly. After the third battery change the battery cover tabs broke (the unit is only 2 weeks old). For the price paid for this unit it should have came with the AC/DC Cord and not be optional! When you pay $400.00 for something you expect it to be quality and to be complaining over something as simple as a battery pack design is stupid on Gold's Gym! SIMPLY PUT GOLD'S GYM will not see another purchase with my money....I expect quality from a big name and to tell me a power adapter is $75.00 plus shipping they can bite me!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

not worth it

01/05/2010
By ,
Charlton Heights, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like most people on here, my machine is making a weird noise on the back like metal clanking or something. The fan is completely useless. I have to carry my floor fan downstairs to point it at my face instead. The battery issue is a pain. I haven't used the machine that much and they are already dead. They do not provide you with nearly enough grease to put it together. It took myself and my husband to put it together and it was more complicated than some people on here say. One of the wheels squeak. And the worst part of it all is after using the machine for about 10 minutes, the left arm bar would start to unscrew itself and we put it together exactly as it said, so you have to stop your workout and tighten the screw back up to continue... Definitely not worth $400! The only pro is that I do get a good workout on it between screwing it back together.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

elliptical trainer 500

01/02/2010
By ,
New Kensington, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this machine on clearance yesterday at walmart for $150.00/ after reading the reviews I am a bit unsure of what kind of deal it was... I plan to buy a power cord(6v) and skip the batteries. My husband didnt have to assemble it for me, as it was a display. So far, no horrible noises that make me think the rear axle is near breaking. But, I canceled my YMCA membership - so even if it only lasts 3 moinths, I will be out no more money than my gym membership had cost-minus the waiting in line for the machine :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Not Happy

12/27/2009
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product broke within four months. The rear axle snapped. We ordered parts on-line, but the parts require a special press even though the operator at the manufacturer said it's not needed. We could not get part to work. We had to pay for a technician to come out and put part on, he stated that it needed a press to put part on - but he didn't have it with him. He tried to put back together with metal glue, and asked us to wait 24 hours to set. 36 hours later, machine did not work correctly. While technician was here, he showed us were the rubberband will wear down the big plastic socket over time. The alignment comes off over time due to the way the part was badly manufacturered.
This was a bad purchase! Still not resolved. Very unpappy! Paid around $200 for technician and part within six months of breaking down and still doesn't work!
Thanks ICON Health & Fitness...NOT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

short & simple

11/04/2009
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased mine in-store already assembled, so I didn't have any problems with that. This is a great work-out machine. I havent had any problems and I havent heard any squeaking either. I have used ones at the gym and whereas you can tell this Gold's 500 isn't the same, it is a great value for the qualtiy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Enjoy this elliptical

10/15/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are pleased with the Gold Gym Stride Trainer. All four of us use it, and it gives a good work out. We do have a question about using the Wal-mart power supply/6 V adapter though. The directions say that you need to check the machine for the polarity so that you use the correct tip, either negative or postive. I was unable to find any indication on the machine or get any information from the manufacturer. Does anyone know which polarity tip is the correct one for the Elliptical Trainer 500? I don't want to ruin the console.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Good Value

09/29/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the machine on clearance for $299 plus tax and a $20 two year warranty. The machine was easy to assemble, great instructions and a card with all the nuts, bolts, and washers provided and numbered. The machine is quiet works great and I am very happy with the selection of workouts. It will pay for itself in 8 months of gym fees. After reading the other reviews, I think some of the others put it together improperly. For steel shafts to break takes quite a binding which would occur with improper assembly or denial of actual weight of said user. Great product for the price I got mine at. The ONLY drawback is the power cord not being included which I will take care of economically at Wal-Mart or Radio Shack
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Fun to use

07/11/2009
By ,
Battle Mountain, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually like to run 2 miles, but I was getting tired of it. It was also hard on my knees. I decided to buy this one since the one i wanted, they no longer sold. Good thing I had a husband to put it together for me! It works great other than I don't like the speaker system on it. I also don't think it is stable enough. Once you get going it wobbles side to side a little and is a bit squeeky. It definelty give a good workout and i think it was harder than running 2 miles!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

good product for the price

06/24/2009
By ,
tallahassee, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this at my local walmart for 397.00. I really like it alot. Don't order the power cord on line for 90.00 instead just buy an universal power cord 6V for 15.00 and you are set to go without changing batteries when it goes dead on this machine. It does great for what it's worth One good thing about buying it at walmart is free assembly. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Very Disappointing

06/19/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Real axle broke while using after not even 2 months of use!!! We were within the weight limits, very disappointing. Now I have to figure out how I am going to get my money back - I dont even want a replacement for this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next