Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

The Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 500 has four Target Toning workouts that let you focus on your specific trouble spots, four Weight Loss workouts that help you burn as many calories as possible to help speed up your weight loss goals, and four Personal Trainer workouts to tone and sculpt your body. You can listen to your own music through the built-in speaker by plugging your MP3 player into the Interplay Music Port.
Average Customer Rating:
2.978 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation58%26 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Good but you need to grease this...

03/06/2009
By ,
Washington DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
…product! I am an avid physical trainer and sometimes elliptical machines at the gym are a three-deep wait. So, I wanted one at home to finish my workout. True, this is no PROFORM $3000 machine but it worked just fine with a bit of TLC. I heard the squeaks common to these reviews, I have a mechanical background so I identified the sound as metal-on-metal (the grease the machine comes with is not adequate). For a $2.85 investment at Walmart in the auto section I picked up some high temperature auto grease. In about 20 minutes I generously applied the lubricant to all of the moving joints and a small amount of Pam cooking oil on the wheel tracks. My machine is almost completely silent and works perfectly even for hour plus workouts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Great Purchase

04/11/2009
By ,
North Eastern PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband bought this about a month ago and loves it. He uses it every other day and loves it. It fits his needs and gives him a great workout. When we got it home it took my husband just over an hour to put it together and that was with the help of several kittens and watching tv. We have not had any problems with this elliptical at all. We did buy the ac adapter, but that was only to save on batteries. For those that had problems within the 90 day return period I don't understand why you didn't just return the product instead of giving it a bad review. As I said we have had no problems the price was great and the elliptical is everything we expected of it. We have not had one regret with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Very Disappointing

06/19/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Real axle broke while using after not even 2 months of use!!! We were within the weight limits, very disappointing. Now I have to figure out how I am going to get my money back - I dont even want a replacement for this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

disappointed

08/15/2010
By ,
Newton, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this for my wife, but she never used it so we put it in storage. i decided to use it myself after a few months, and everything was ok for about 2 weeks. the machine is very noisy, lots of creaking, etc. i even sprayed wd-40 on various parts just so i would be able to hear the t.v. while in use. after a few more weeks, one of the wheels broke, and after looking online, the cheapest wheel was $41. but you might as well replace both right? anyways, it also does not come with a wall power adapter, so u will need plenty of D cell batteries, not included either. After a quick search online for the power adapter, i found one for $63. the back plate that hold the batteries in is being held up with tape, because the batteries will fall out while in use. The built-in fan is barely noticable, and the mp3 plug and play feature sounds like music from across the yard on a tin can telephone. i recommend taking the 145 dollars u will spend on parts and wd-40 and add it to your elliptical budget, and buy a better elliptical, or gym membership.. i sincerely regret this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Great, Sweaty Workout

02/08/2009
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just purchased the Gold's Gym 500 Elliptical today. It took a couple hours to assemble it, but it wasn't difficult. The children extended the time a bit I suppose. I have given it about a 20-minute test workout, and it functions quite nicely. I don't like that I have to buy a separate power adapter for it, but that's not a deciding factor in my eyes. The fan is nice, not strong, but strong enough to just help. I haven't tried out the speakers with an mp3 player yet. Overall, I would say it was money well spent and recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Don't Buy This Junk!!!

02/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this machine for my girlfriend in October 2009 and she uses it religiously. The machine started squeaking after about two months and in January 2010 the left crank arm (axle) which is a major part snapped in half and this is a solid steal piece of metal!!! Fortunately I paid the extra $20 for a 2 year extended warranty through Walmart and I was able to get the technician to order the replacement part and he fixed it, but once it was fixed the machine was grinding and squeaking so now he is going to submit paperwork to the warranty company to send me a full refund ($299). But most likely I will have to disassemble this huge bulky machine and find a box big enough to ship this thing back to them. So long story short, if you want a product that is going to break down after a few months then this is the machine for you, but make sure you buy the extended warranty through Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

get what you pay for

07/14/2008
By ,
massachuesetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is built very poorly. The unit is stable and wont rock, but the quality of internal components is terrible. I used this machine for 2 months. for 3 weeks it was great. a little bit of noise from the rear drive components after that. almost 2 months in a scraping sound from rear then the shaft snapped. When this happened I was able to actually see how this was made. The belt housing is vinyl, no guards to keep the belt on and no stablizing bars to keep it aligned. I was working out 5 times a week for 30-45 minutes for 2 months and the shaft broke. Im 5'10 240lbs and this unit is supposed to handle 275lbs. There is no way this unit will last. I guarantee it wont. Buyer beware spend more like $1000.00 and get asole product. I love saving money but the time and aggrevation of putting together and returning is way to much.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Not Happy

12/27/2009
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product broke within four months. The rear axle snapped. We ordered parts on-line, but the parts require a special press even though the operator at the manufacturer said it's not needed. We could not get part to work. We had to pay for a technician to come out and put part on, he stated that it needed a press to put part on - but he didn't have it with him. He tried to put back together with metal glue, and asked us to wait 24 hours to set. 36 hours later, machine did not work correctly. While technician was here, he showed us were the rubberband will wear down the big plastic socket over time. The alignment comes off over time due to the way the part was badly manufacturered.
This was a bad purchase! Still not resolved. Very unpappy! Paid around $200 for technician and part within six months of breaking down and still doesn't work!
Thanks ICON Health & Fitness...NOT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

not worth it

01/05/2010
By ,
Charlton Heights, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like most people on here, my machine is making a weird noise on the back like metal clanking or something. The fan is completely useless. I have to carry my floor fan downstairs to point it at my face instead. The battery issue is a pain. I haven't used the machine that much and they are already dead. They do not provide you with nearly enough grease to put it together. It took myself and my husband to put it together and it was more complicated than some people on here say. One of the wheels squeak. And the worst part of it all is after using the machine for about 10 minutes, the left arm bar would start to unscrew itself and we put it together exactly as it said, so you have to stop your workout and tighten the screw back up to continue... Definitely not worth $400! The only pro is that I do get a good workout on it between screwing it back together.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

not worth the time it took to bring it home

02/26/2009
By ,
charlestown wv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we had the product for about a month then it started to squeak and grind, hubby checked nuts and bolts all was fine, then mid stride, snap the rear axle snapped right in half...i have read other reviews too little too late..same problem all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Great Buy for Less Money

03/11/2010
By ,
Middle Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did extensive research and found this buy to be the best value. What you probably didn't know is that about 80% of elliptical equipment is manufactured by ICONN (believe is the name, out of China). Anyway, purchase a product that is backed when considering the costs more than $500. Other stores did not back there elliptical's the way Walmart does. Walmart offers a service plan for very little - thinking about 30$ or so.
The machine is very sturdy. After using it for about 3 days started to get the 'squeak'. It is very annoying. Went to Lowe's purchased rubber washers/grommets -- installed them on each side of bolt on the legs. Prevents the plastic from rubbing. Also, it offers a little more cushion to prevent the frame from breaking. Assembly was pretty easy. Took about an hour.
Great workout - accurate calorie count - a plus!
CONS - if your tall and half blind like I am - the screen is super small which is a disadvantage. Also, power plug sold separately. Purchased one at Radio Shack instead of special ordering -- correct DC adapter sold separate of that. Should be included with the product.
Screen is dark - hard to see the numbers in poor lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Really Good

01/06/2009
By ,
MB, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when I decided to shop for a Elliptical I went @ couple stores to check the price, then decided to go @ walmart, I was going to buy the 300, but then got this one, and believe me couldn't be better, of course if u want to put it together anything, u have to do patiently, and use the tools that they say so! And for me wasn't difficult because even know that I am a woman, I have a tool box and usually I like to put everything together, even my baby's room I'm the one that fixed! And for that machine, as any other u have to give a maintenance and tight the screws once a week, or so! if u keep doing that way u always going to have a good exercise machine! Or maybe I was just luck enough to buy something that didn't give any headaches! other thing, buy at the stores and give a good look before u buy anything!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

junk

02/19/2009
By ,
clarksville, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The machine worked well for about 1 month except for an occasional grinding sound in the rear. After that residue from the belt appeared on the floor, followed by the belt falling off. I removed the sides and put the belt back on and tightened it according to directions in manual. While screwing the side back on, the connector in the rear of the machine broke off. I finally got it back together and it continued to make a grinding sound. Then the axle broke in two rendering the machine useless. I would not buy another nor would I take a new one free. An absolute piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Great value

03/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two weeks ago and use it every day. Assembly, by myself, was not a problem. Had to stop running due to back problems and this worked out great. Used a high quality automotive grease during assembly. Still started sqeaking a little, just recently, but sprayed a little lithium grease on the pivot points and cleared it up. Don't think I'm burning the amount of calories it says I am but still a good workout. Batteries still fine after two weeks but purchased an A/C power adapter on amazon.com for $15, so I don't have to keep buying batteries when the time comes. I am 5'7" and weigh about 215 and have had no issues. I would highly recommend this machine. Will post later if anything significant comes up...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Good Value

09/29/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the machine on clearance for $299 plus tax and a $20 two year warranty. The machine was easy to assemble, great instructions and a card with all the nuts, bolts, and washers provided and numbered. The machine is quiet works great and I am very happy with the selection of workouts. It will pay for itself in 8 months of gym fees. After reading the other reviews, I think some of the others put it together improperly. For steel shafts to break takes quite a binding which would occur with improper assembly or denial of actual weight of said user. Great product for the price I got mine at. The ONLY drawback is the power cord not being included which I will take care of economically at Wal-Mart or Radio Shack
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Battery Pack = Junk!

01/27/2010
By ,
Bloomfield, MO.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife loves this unit, however, Gold's Gym wants a fortune for the plug-in, if you use batteries in the unit, the battery pack is cheaply made and the unit eats batteries quickly. After the third battery change the battery cover tabs broke (the unit is only 2 weeks old). For the price paid for this unit it should have came with the AC/DC Cord and not be optional! When you pay $400.00 for something you expect it to be quality and to be complaining over something as simple as a battery pack design is stupid on Gold's Gym! SIMPLY PUT GOLD'S GYM will not see another purchase with my money....I expect quality from a big name and to tell me a power adapter is $75.00 plus shipping they can bite me!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

never worked!!! 05

04/24/2009
By ,
Hoboken, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It took three hours to put together, which you can do by yourself. Once it was assembled, the machine never worked. The console would turn on but nothing would happen the time would not start nor would a program. Eventually it would shut off. I called the manufactor and getting someone on the phone was the hardest thing ever. Their solution was to send me another console, once i got the new console it still did not work. They than told me to try fixing the turning wheel which is not east at all, by the time i got the cover off I still could not fix it. I returned the machince and bought one from sports authority. Also it does not come with a power cord you have to buy that for an extra $90.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Bravo Gold's Gym

03/02/2010
By ,
el paso, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great piece of equipment! Take it froma guy who has spent thousands of hours at a gym and used some of the best exercise equipment, this is professional level at a great price. I like the fact that you can manipulate the incline angle manually vs. mechanically because you don't have to worry about a motor going out. Ok, so the little gadgets (i.e. fan, i pod connection, digital screen) are not the world's class; so what! What matters is that you are going to get a smoot action with variable resistance workout with low impact on joints. This machine is comparable to the $4,000.00 models at gyms. Finally, I put mine together in less that 2 hours by myself; it's worth the time!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500
10/15/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the eliptical and it works great. The only problem I had was when I got it the side cover was broke. Wal-mart was very helpful and willing to pick up immediately. The manufacturer not so much. They were willing to send me the replacement part but wanted to charge me a handling fee to do so. Not good customer service from them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Stride Elliptical Trainer 500

Poor Workmanship

11/16/2008
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I shopped around and decided to purchase this unit. After spending a couple hours getting it assembled I found myself very upset because the console unit had been smashed and does not work. Now, I have to spend $250 to replace the console. My advise is to look to better units, and not settle for cheap workmanship and packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next