Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canon Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

The 6x optical zoom lens gives you twice the power of the 3x zoom typically found on most digital cameras. And optical image stabilizer technology ensures that images will be sharp throughout the zoom range. Canon's DIGIC III Image Processor offers advanced face detection technology and red-eye correction for memorable photos. An easy-to-use mode dial presents a wide array of options from fully manual to fully automatic operation. Other highlights include a print/share button and AA battery power.
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%154 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Awesome

03/27/2008
By ,
Weed, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome camera! I'm really into camera's and digital photography so before I purchased this camera I did a lot of research.
What I really like about the camera:
It's really easy to use. It takes only 2AA batteries which was a must for me (hiking in the outdoors for days, there are no computers or outlets to charge, definitely wanted batteries). Doesn't eat batteries. You can take excellent pictures on auto(my sister's pic), but certain settings for aperture and shutter speed create cool blurred backgrounds for a professional look (like the picture of my dog). The zoom is awesome and likewise the face detection and auto stabalization really help create the perfect picture. The video quality is also really amazing. By far the best quality of this camera is that when you are focusing on a subject(shutter button half way down), the camera automatically brings it into better, clearer focus which my HP photosmart did not do.
What could be improved:
Before I bought the camera online, I thought it looked pretty blah, you know just silver nothing cool about it. But when I received it, it's actually very sleek. A very tiny bit bulky, but for all the pros its perfect for me.
Overall love it. The pictures speak for themselves. Definitely happy with both Canon and Walmart. Great camera for everyone and great price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Good Camera

02/03/2008
By ,
Fort Fairfield, Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like this camera and the pictures turn out nice. I have found the flash to be quite strong on some close ups and sometimes need to shut it off but that causes some blur. I have found it is better to take the picture from a little further away and then crop it in my photo editor as I did with the black and white I posted. I was upgrading from an HP 4 mp camera. The feature that I miss on the HP is that I could just switch my color choice to black and white or sepia without having to put it on manual settings. With this Canon when I want black and white I also have to set the flash and stuff. I may also just work on the color in my photo editor. I do like that I'm able to use rechargeable batteries with this camera. My HP would deplete the batteries in about 5-10 pictures. I've taken over a hundred photos and the batteries are still going strong. All-in-all it's a good camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Good Value, EZ TO Use

04/17/2008
By ,
Clemson, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera for my wife to use on our recent Caribbean vacation. She is definitely a "point-and-shoot" kinda gal; and this camera worked well for her in Auto mode. I have a little more experience as a photographer, so I was able to go "old-school" and choose aperture or shutter speed priority based on the situation. Excellent results in either case.
I would recommend you purchase the soft case immediately with the camera, since the LCD display would get easily scratched if not protected. I also went for a 2 gig card, capable of holding hundreds of images at the highest resolution.
Downloading images to my PC was easy. I use the supplied CD for a coatser, it is filled with bloatware and is out of date straight from the box. Windows Vista recognizes the camera and loads the driver itself; Photo Gallery is all the image editing most folks will need.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

A GREAT PRODUCT!

04/08/2008
By ,
wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a GREAT buy and I'm definitely NOT disappointed. I had a Sony previously and it finally gave up on me after 5 years. The one thing I did not like about that camera was that it was blurry at times. Only one out of 10 shots turned out nice. When it was time for a new camera, I knew I had to get one with the image stabilizer. After shopping around for weeks, I tried my luck with the Canon PS A720. I loved the 2.5 inch LCD screen and heard that the Canon brand was the best! I believe it now! And get this, Walmart also had the best price! I got my camera three days after I ordered it online (standard shipping). Good job Walmart! I quickly fell in love with the cable cord. Being able to see yourself on such a big screen (on the tv) is helpful when you're your own photographer.
There's a few down sides to this camera. One being that the shutter speed is slow. So if you are a parent and want to capture your kid's special first moments, this is not the camera for you. But it does take great action shots (if you catch it), no blurriness! Another downside to this camera is that it gets blurry when you zoom in. This is not a big deal to me since I can always crop and zoom on photoshop. Lastly, do remember to buy a bigger memory card when purchasing this camera. The one it comes with only holds about 6-10 photos!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Awesome buy

04/15/2008
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this camera yesterday from walmart.com and it came today! I was most impressed with the speed of delivery. This is the first digital camera I have ever bought. I LOVE it. It takes great pictures with excellent clarity, and it is very easy to use. It was very inexpensive and I can't believe what a bargain I found. I am a picture person, I have 2 small children and I am sure we can save lots of great memories thanks to walmart and this camera. I HIGHLY recommend this camera!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Good purchase

07/04/2008
By ,
Addieville, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use my camera almost daily. It takes wonderful pictures! The only downfall is that if you want to do anything special with it you need to make sure you carry the book with you because there are so many different aspects of the camera (which I love) and some can only be used with different options. I am very please with this camera and would definately by it again! My pictures are better than with the camera I had before.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

AWESOME PICTURES!

05/06/2008
By ,
Janesville WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just picked up this camera today. It was recommended by my local camera shop but he could not get one. The picture quality is just awesome! I would say it is much better than a lesser brand name 10MP that my brother has. I take tons of pictures and this fit the bill, it even has an avalable scuba enclosure for underwater photography! Let's hope the batteries hold up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Great Camera

04/09/2008
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is easy to learn to use. It has a wonderful zoom range.
I took a picture of the dream catcher and of the feather on the bottom of it from the same spot.
I planned to give the camera to my daughter for her birthday after using it for a special event but may have to buy her another one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Nice cam

04/27/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like it very much and take better picture's than my
Kodak Ls443 and didnt cost as much ether
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

AWSOME

04/13/2008
By ,
Pennsauken, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Camera the zoom is great and the pictures are sooo clear!!!!!!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Great Gamera for Price Walmart,com has best price

07/26/2008
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes great pictures.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Very nice feature-rich camera.

02/04/2008
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice camera for the money. It is by no means perfect, but is about the best and most flexible point and shoot digital camera I could expect for the price.
The Good:
The color and white balance are exceptional, and earned above average marks in several professional reviews. The nice thing about it, and much of the reason I picked this model, is the manual modes. They make shooting tough situations, like indoor lit action with no flash, much easier (the shutter priority mode is a lifesaver here). When the shutter button is pressed halfway (even in full automatic mode), it will give you a preview of the picture as it sees it and what parameters it is using (ISO, shutter speed, apeture) so you will know if your settings will work or not, and what could be changed to improve it. It even has flash strength control. The automatic settings do a very good job with most normal situations, as well. The optics also earned above average marks, with very good performance across the zoom range, not to mention it zooms to 6x. The video mode is superb for a still camera. The resolution is just as good as an average camcorder when set to 640x480. The best feature is the Optical Image Stabilization. I have been able to take minimally blurred pictures as slow as 1/15 sec shutter speed without a tripod, which is impossible on a standard camera. It is completely optical based, not like many cameras that do it digitally, which uses a higher iso and degrades the image quality.
The Bad:
Not the most compact camera in the world, but I don't mind. It's decently sized, just it won't fit into a pocket so easily. The screen resolution bordered on disappointing. It is perfectly usable, just not amazing to look at. While shooting video, you can only digital zoom, and it won't focus on the fly either, which is about the only thing that would prevent it from replacing a real camcorder, but it's still just fine for less involved videoing. The image quality at higher ISO settings, although was better than some (much better than the similarly priced elph model), was not as good as it could be. It takes awesome pictures at ISO80 and even up to ISO200, but at ISO400 it starts to get kind of hairy. ISO800 is still pretty usable (more so than some other models) but grain is definitely noticable. ISO1600 is useless for all but quick snapshots that will be shrunk down. In manual modes, adjusting the flash is kind of hit-or-miss, as the camera has no way of knowing ahead of time what the flash will do for the picture. Like most compact cameras, the flash has very limited range (only about 10-15 ft). It devours batteries, but I guess that should come as no big surprise as digital cameras get more complicated. The specifications said it has a fast frame video mode that will take 640x480 video at 60fps (instead of the normal 30fps) for up to 1 minute, but the one I got has no such feature.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Beyond my Expectations

03/20/2008
By ,
Greencastle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera! It takes excellent pictures with a multitude of selections . I used this for my website business where I needed pictures of my items for sale. Excellent!
My videos are great; it doesnt show my shakiness like other cameras do.
This camera does not eat batteries. I always keep my 15 minute battery charger with me, but I haven't had to use it like my old Kodak.
Therre is so much to learn on this camera as far as the selections go, and I'ml oving every minute I spend doing it.
I bought a Kodak before this one but took it back when the camera did not have a viewer. I noticed that I shook when trying to use the kodak without a viewer. I got this Cannon and NO Problem at all, with or without a viewer. This Cannon has a viewer.
I cant say enough. I got this camera on sale on line and it was a fantastic deal! Just spend a few more dollars and get this one. You won't regret it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

A Pretty Good Camera

02/14/2008
By ,
Green Bay, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Canon PowerShot A720 IS is a pretty good camera I suppose. The face detection feature is pretty handy, and so is the image stabilization. Takes excellent videos also. It was a little tricky at first to learn how to operate it, but the manual is very handy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Best Camera Ever

03/02/2008
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking to get a new camera..looking at all the different types and trying to find the best one..for both quality and price...i had a kodak 5 mega pixel with 3 optical zoom for a few years now and i decided i needed a new one..i chose this canon camera..i have not have it for too long but i am EXTREMELY HAPPY so far..i tested out the camera to see how the quality of taking pictures in low dim areas and it is EXCELENT..it looks like it wolud in the day light or even better..it is a great camera to have if u are looking to take exce;;ent quality pictures plus the 6 optical zoom makes it one very unique camera for the price and qualitY!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

I love this camera!

02/08/2008
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently decided I needed a new camera since my last one was biting the dust. I narrowed it down to this one and a Kodak. A friend of mine had the Kodak and the quality of the pictures were poor and grainy so I looked at some reviews and purchased the Canon A720 IS. I absolutely love it and all of its features. It takes wonderful pictures and is VERY user friendly. I recommend this camera to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

FAB CAMERA

01/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing camera for the price. If you're an amateur like me, you'll impress and amaze with this little gadget....the pictures speak volumes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Love the camera !

04/20/2008
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera was an upgrade for my daughter from the A560 that she had. Controls are basically the same but many more features. Love the face detection. Color is good. We haven't used it long but haven't found anything we disliked yet on the pictures. Don't care for the memory card being in the battery compartment but we bought a 2G card so shouldn't have to take it out often. Regular batteries were going quick so now have rechargeable batteries. They work great in my S3 IS so feel they will here too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

Good camera

06/29/2008
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The range of options from full auto to full manual, including shutter and aperture priorities, make this a camera for nearly any situation, and the user can get as "involved" as he/she desires. Easy to transfer photos to PC. Overall ease of use.
A lot of camera for a great price.
Get a memory card and some rechargable batteries to complete the package.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot A720-IS Silver ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 6x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization & Face Detection

A720 is

04/19/2008
By ,
Toledo,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Camera ! Have had other Canon cameras so This one was not a disappointment. The thing I have found is I don't have to carry may cam corder along. It dos good video . Make your own DVD's just drag them into windows DVD maker if you have Vista .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next