Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pelonis Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pelonis Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

This modern radiator-style heater has encased mineral oil that heats the element and quietly radiates warmth throughout your room. It automatically maintains your desired room temperature with three heat settings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.827 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation80%60 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Great Heat

10/26/2007
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this heater for my large "play room" I have. Since my central air/heat drop down, I had to convert to room heaters. This unit puts out as much heat as my small kerosene heater, which really surprises me. I like that this is a OIL Filled unit, dont buy them cheap ones that use water, buddy of mine has one, not as good. Great heater for a mid sized room and will certainly heat the heck out of a small bedroom. Unit is completely quiet and has a temp you can adjust to keep the room at a constant temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+87points
Review 2 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Great heating alternative

11/16/2007
By ,
Mocksville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these 2 years ago to use in my daughter's room and a play room. They heat the entire room evenly and safely. The unit does get a bit hot, but not hot enough to cause a burn. This will be the third winter that I am using these. One is working just like it did when I bought it. Last winter the second one had a "button malfunction". One of the switches (600watt) just wouldn't move. This year the other switch (900watt) is now stuck. I am still going to buy another of the same product because I think that overall this is a great product for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+15points
Review 3 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

very good product

11/19/2009
By ,
Salem,Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater cause my power bill is so high. I have used it for a month and i must say it really does the job. I plan on putting one in all the cold places in my apartment. Would recomend this product to everyone. This heater was the best buy i have ever done, and it is a very good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 4 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Good for Large Enclosed Rooms

01/04/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never used a radiator-type heater before.
I have tested the ceramic and air-blown heaters before --- have about 4 of those in the past.
This was my first --- was very skeptical as this has no mechanism for creating its own air flow other than relying on the natural convection movement of hot air.
I used it in our masters bedroom --- about 17 x 25, with some drafts.
At the highest setting, it added 5 degrees in about an hour or two. I did use the central heater but kept this at 62 degrees. It was 22 degrees outside.
Overnite - it made the room too toasty ... so I recommend quickly resetting from 1500 watts to 750 watts in about 1-2 hours - as soon as the ideal ambient temp has been reached.
I tried using this in our open kitchen/family room/dining room/foyer - partially separated by walls. This was about 30 x 30. I situated it right by the bay window in the kitchen. It barely made a difference.... roughly equivalent to our gas fireplace which is rated at 25,000 BTU.
So my suggestion and recommendation is - use it in an enclosed space (mine was 17 x 25 ft).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Good Product

12/23/2009
By ,
Iowa City, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I placed this heater in my bedroom and it makes it very nice and comfortable. The heat is more a warm by fire sort of heat compared to burn your face or scorch lungs kind of heat.
I tried putting this in my living room, about 280 to 300 square feet with attached kitchen. Did absolutely NOTHING for that room, was like it wasn't there with setting on it's highest.
Put into my bedroom instead, somewhere around 200 sq. ft. with no attached rooms, two windows with plastic wrap on them and it took a good 3 to 4 hours or so to reach 68 to 70 degrees with this heater.
Once it reaches the temp you set, to maintain it you have to turn the heat to the middle setting and turn the temp gauge to where it clicks off / on and set it a little higher than this click.
Anything less especially on lowest setting and temp in room will decrease.
The smell from this heater is nice, it is not unpleasant and I personally like it actually.
If you have a larger room, 400 sq ft or more. It will probably take a good 5 hours or so to get it to a comfortable range. If you have a room 600 sq ft or more you need at least two, this one by itself I don't see getting temp of a LARGE room to anything comfortable and maintain it.
If you have a room, that is drafty or has connecting rooms that has no door to close to seperate off the room you use this heater in. Forget it, this heater will never do anything. Go get something else, and you will need at least 2 or 3 of whatever other product you choose just to maintain a 5 degree increase.
You will need to be able to seperate the room you use this heater in from all others by closing a door, or using a thick or multi-layered quilt or something to cover doors to close off the room.
This heater radiates heat and needs to be able to build up the heat in a room. If it can't build up that initial heat it can't heat the room at all.
If you want something to warm you right away, forget this heater also. It is not meant for NOW heat it is long term heat that builds up over HOURS and then you maintain that level you choose by reducing the heat level and temperature setting.
Anyway that is how I found this product to work. Sitting it in my living room, with draft and connecting kitchen and hallway to bedrooms. FORGET IT, doesn't work at all in that situation.
Needs closed door room with ZERO drafts to make this work and maintain any level of heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 6 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Toasty warm

02/05/2008
By ,
Springfield, Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are thrilled with this product. We paid half what we would have been charged anywhere else, if not more; it works really well and warms even our coldest room quickly. I also like the fact that it has so many settings. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 7 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Great Heater

11/30/2007
By ,
Jackson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this heater. We had one years ago and it was great!! So when I moved to my new place and needed a heater I knew to get this one. I tell all my friends that fuss about there light bill because of the their central heat to get one or two of these. They did and their light bill went down!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Does the job!

02/21/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall build of heater is what should be expected from a Wal-Mart product. The heater was painted a little too light in some areas and undercoat is visible.
After a $400 power bill from a cold December, I did some research online on how to save money. I found that using the central heat (heat pump in my case) if ran constantly can use up to $1.50 per hour. I also found out that this product on high setting (1500 Watts) will use 1.5Kw per hour. I looked at my last electric bill and @ 11.9 cents per Kw is only costing 17.8 cents to use this product per hour. Much more economical to heat the room I am in instead of heating the whole house! It does kick out plenty of heat and works great on small to medium rooms with the door shut. Wheels and handle make is very easy to move it to another room with me.
Since it is a radiant heat it does take some time to warm a room, but it is an even heat throughout the room.
I did try it in a larger room which does not have doors that can be shut and it seemed to just take the chill off the room.
Overall very satisfied with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Very good room heater

01/01/2010
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have this heater in a family room that is an addition to my home. Could not duct the furnace into this room. Approx. 200 sq. ft. There are a lot of windows and the room is built on a cement slab so it stays pretty cold in the winter in Michigan. Have used unvented gas in the past but it stinks and leaves a film on my windows. This heater takes a while to heat the room up but once it is heated up it stays nice. No smell, no mess. It is on rollers that move easy if I want to move it around. Works great. I like it. Can't say it is costly to use. Does not seem to have affected my electric bill much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Toasty!

11/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, have owned and used product for over 2 months. Makes pinging noises when you turn it on for the first time and the fist time only, overall very silent. Heats my room within an hour, on high, its awesome. I get to have my room be nice and toasty and not have to worry about my roomates throwing a fit about me turning up the central heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Quiet Safe and Warm

12/19/2007
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to lower our heating bills while selectively heating some bedrooms and couldn't be more satisfied. No portable heater is as hot as a roaring fire except propane or kerosene heaters but we didn't want the mess or carbon monoxide risk. Fan heaters work well but could be dangerous if the fan quit. The oil radiator is the safest to leave running while you sleep. And the large surface distributes the heat making it safe to touch. In a bedroom they provide ample heat without making a sound or stirring up air. Ideal for allergy sufferers and anyone who dislikes the draft from fan heaters or household air ducts. And, place your towels nearby for warmed towels! By allowing you to lower your thermostat, pays for itself in 1 month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Very Disappointed.....

12/10/2007
By ,
Amsterdam, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this heater, today actually, because I had read so many good reviews about it. I brought it home, set it to the highest setting and turned it on. Within 1/2 hour to 45 minutes it was shutting itself off. During the 1/2 that it was on, I stood just about on top of the thing, and could only feel minimal heat radiating from it. I brought that thing back to the store so fast that it was still warm to the touch when the CSR received it over the counter. I then took my refund and went to the heating section, purchased the Pelonis Oscillating Tower Heater, and went home. Much happier with this one. In fact, I'm going back to the store next week to purchase another Pelonis.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Works pretty good

01/31/2010
By ,
Howell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this a couple days ago to help take the chill out of our master bedroom, which is roughly 14X16 (224sq ft). I have an older trailer so needless to say, it does have its share of drafts, I put this in the bedroom and left the door open and within about 2hrs the bedroom was comfortable as was a portion of the hallway leading to the bedroom. I am very happy with this item, and was even happier that it was about $3 cheaper in store than online (the store I purchased from had at least 20 units in stock). Would def recommend this for anyone looking to heater a smaller sized room, just dont try to heat a living room with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Not Toasty

02/11/2010
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This little heater is just that, a little heater good for a little room, IMHO, not more that 150 SQ FT. My master bedroom is 12x16 and a attached 7x5 bathroom. I purchased a heater to keep this room temperature from dropping over night when I have the furnace set lower at night and the little heater would not do that. I did not expect it to raise the temperature, but I thought it would hold the temperature already established. My bedroom does have two outside walls, but is well insulated (15 Y/O home), it is far from drafty. It just does not rate up to 1500 AMP/5000 Btu standards that should heat a 400 SQ FT area.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Works great... bad odor

01/19/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love oil filled radiators, I have two and they heat even large rooms nicely. I thought they might run up my electricity bill but they do not at all, nothing like space heaters which ran my bill up $800 last winter! The only thing with this particular unit is that I have noticed a bad smell coming from it ever since I first got it. Other reviewers have mentioned this (on amazon) but it usually goes away after time, mine has not improved. The other heater I have (heat Essentials) does not do this. If you are sensitive to odors you may want to pass on this brand, but I definitely recommend an oil heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Not enough heat

11/10/2009
By ,
Boaz, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this heater to accommodate a small bedroom that I use as an office, approx. 10x12. It took a long time to heat up, and even when it reached max capacity, it put off very little heat.
I returned it to the store and purchased a Honeywell HZ-725 Cool Touch All Room Heater that I love! It heats up fast & emits the heat without the use of a fan. The front gets a little warm, but not dangerously so. I now use the Honeywell to heat the Living/Dining Room area, which is more than twice the size of the office room I originally purchased the Pelonis Radiator Heater for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

HORRIBLE

12/24/2007
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have been living in this house that to say the least is NOT efficient in heating. Well we ran out of propane and so we went out and got a heater. We got the Lakewood Radiator Heater from walmart. We got it home and it was WONDERFUL! So we went to get a couple more. We went to a different store and all they had were the above heater. Well we got a couple of them thinking they would work great, well it doesn't. You have to put your hand right on top of it to feel any heat, it's horrible! Needless to say they are going back to walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 18 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

no warrenty

12/29/2009
By ,
Seattle Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap switch & company won't repiace. One month old.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 19 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Horrible

11/07/2009
By ,
Lacey, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read reviews before I purchase products, no matter what they are. This one did have a pretty good rating overall so decided to try it. What a waste of time and money. The thing immediately blew my fuse. Then once I got it where it would work ok, after 45 minutes, and wasnt warm in the room at all. I decided to touch it, and it was so cool I dont even think it was on. Returned it immediately. I need some thing to work straight from the box. Its a waste of time and money if it doesnt, and unfortunately, this was a waste of both
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Review 20 for Pelonis Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Supplemental Heater

11/08/2009
By ,
Quinlan, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried one of these heaters this past winter.
I liked it so much I bought two more for this winter
from Walmart online. This is a supplemental
heater designed to add heat to places where primary source heat doesn't reach very well like a back bedroom. It got down to 15 degrees outside but this Pelonis heater kept the temperature at 55-60
degrees in my small back bedroom at the middle
setting. When you live in a small cottage with only
a fireplace for heat, these pelonis radiator heaters
make cool rooms comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next