Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hound Dog Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Hound Dog Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Cut a clean edge along your walkways, driveways and curbs with the Hound Dog Steppin' Edger. This easy-to-use edger is designed to use your natural walking motion while cutting accurately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%19 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Steppin' Edger

08/21/2008
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does great around my cement padio, basketball court, and sidewalks. Smooth sailing in these areas and I no longer use the weedeater around these areas. I've tried this around my blacktop driveway and it's somewhat awkward as the edges of the driveway are more at a slant and not straight up and down. My husband said this device would be a waste of money but has had to eat his words. My daughter wants to borrow this to do the edges of blacktop driveway so I'm waiting to see how it does for her in this area.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Great product

11/16/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about how well this product would work but at the price I figured I would give it a try. I am so glad I did. This is the easiest manual edger I have ever used and it does a fantastic job. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Just fantastic

08/26/2009
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for, Low tech, straight forward, ease of use, greatest price online or brick and mortar stores. It could not be simpler to use, even on curved edges. Perfect for any one that is into yard work and is not affraid to break a sweat and get a great leg work out. No for the unfit and weak. They should stick with power operated stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Way too difficult

06/20/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You must jump on the foot plate for it to cut through the grass. Even then, there were places that it would not work. So, it is not a natural walking motion. Also, it is very difficult to be precise while jumping, so several passes are needed. You should go ahead and spend more for an electric edger because you will end up buying one anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Useful tool

04/22/2009
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little tool is awesome. I have a lot of edging in my back yard around flower beds. I didn't want a motorized edger as I am not mechanically inclined should it stop working. Once I got the hang of how to cut curves, it all went very quickly. I am not heavy enough to cut through thick rooted grass near the walkways, but being able to rock the foot plate back and forth as the handle is hinged is great. Having my legs do the work saves my neck and back. I paid a little more elsewhere because there is not a Walmart near me, but it was well worth it. I love the manicured look around my free form beds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Fun To Use

06/08/2009
By ,
Titusville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Hound Dog Steppin' Edger is lightweight and sharp and made sidewalk edging fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Steppin' Edger

10/05/2009
By ,
northwest Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hound Dog Steppin' Edger does a good job on flat surfaces like side walks, but does not produce as straight an edge as a power edger. Steppin' Edger definitely gives you a neater edge than using a flat-tipped shovel.
Steppin' Edger does do an excellent job on curbs where my power edger will not go because of the sloping top of the curb. This is the main reason I bought it.
At a fraction of the price of power edgers, Steppin' Edger is definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Great Edger

09/14/2010
By ,
Waldorf, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hubby, wife (me) and son (age 14) love this product. It does a really really nice job. It's easy to use and I LOVE that it's manual. I feel more comfortable assigning the chore to my son since it's not electric. Also, with power edgers, I have to wear pants and eye protective wear so as not be beaten with rocks, etc. Not so with this edger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Lightweight & Easy to use!

08/18/2010
By ,
Orange County Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to wait longer because I used site to store.
Once I received it, I was happy & find it a handy tool for edging the grass, and around trees.
I also use the end (the scraper) for scraping & moving bits of dirt to make the yard look nicer, level, clean.
Thanks Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

great product!

09/23/2010
By ,
Heart 'O Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this not really knowing if I would like it. I love it!! Works really well and is so easy. It uses your weight to cut through grass and you just rock with your foot on it. So easy!! And no gas or motor to deal with!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Not good on Bermuda Grass

09/10/2009
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Because of the way Bermuda grass grows (thick with runners underneath the ground), this item was not effective when edging my lawn. It's a shame because it really is easy to use. I think it works best on fescue type lawns.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

HoundDog Edger - Easy-to-use manual edger

07/17/2010
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This edger is very easy to use if the ground is not real dry. The day after a good rain is the best time to use it. I found it easy to maneuver and edge a straight line in my lawn. Also, it's pretty cheap!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Works well.

10/08/2008
By ,
tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually enjoyed it. It works like it's supposed to and it's quite easy on the back and you're not using electricity or gas! It's a good tool for small areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Excellent Product

08/19/2008
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very, very pleased....easy to use and does a great job of edging all my flower beds.
I have found it to be a very sturdy product even in my heavy clay soil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Wow!

07/21/2009
By ,
Mitchell, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a special tool to do my edging, and I found it! This is perfect for my landscaping jobs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger
09/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good on ground cover like periwinkle (low to ground).
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

A Fair Edger

07/28/2008
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a little tricky to use but it does work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

09/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great but husband managed to bend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger

Nice edge

08/10/2009
By ,
Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great tool so easy to handle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hound Dog Steppin' Edger
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5