Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

The Protron DVD Recorder offers the versatility of recording at five different quality settings. You can store up to six hours of video on a single DVD disc and enjoy crisp progressive scan playback. You can also record live TV programs (with the RF/coaxial antenna input and integrated TV tuner), composite video signals (e.g. a VCR or analog video camera), S video or IEEE-1394 (Firewire/DV-Link).
Average Customer Rating:
2.429 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation36%5 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100
10/11/2007
By ,
Concord NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this dvd recorder and it stopped recording after using it 4 times and the time display kept loosing time. It overheats all the time. I have took it back 3 times to exchange for another one and all 3 of them arent worth 5 dollars. This is the worst product ever made. DO NOT BUY THIS!!! You are waisting your money and time. Just payand extra 50 bucks and get a name brand that you have heard of. But I do have to say that the dvds that I did get to make was excellent quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 2 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

My Review on this DVD recorder

10/25/2007
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons..What they don't tell you in the product description is that it does not have a stereo tv tuner, it's only mono If your looking for a stereo tuner don't buy this recorder plus the tv tuner has a low hum in the recording. When it overheats it shuts down... you have to unpug it and reset your channels and time displays and has only 24 hour time settings not 12 hour settings..
Pros..It does however record in stereo from your vcr or cam corder ect... The recording are good in quality, It Plays DVD CD VCD SVCD MP3s DIVX and has about four audio/Video inputs for your other equipment..Depending what you are looking for this Recorder might or might not be right for you.. Hope my review helps....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 3 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

Here's why I ignored the reviews. BUYER BEWARE!

12/07/2007
By ,
Boston, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here's why I ignored the reviews.
Being a not so great product didn't mean much to me, as I needed a DVD recorder that would simply record shows. I didn't care about bells and whistles. The problem is that even with low expectations it's still very disappointing because it simply does not function correctly. At best a product should function and you should simply get what you pay for.
I even ignored the fact that it only takes DVDR plus disk, however it malfunctions exceedingly too often to be of any value. You simply do not have a DVR recorder when you buy this, you have a broken DVR recorder that looks okay near your TV.
CONS-
*Must use the red, white & yellow cables, coaxial will not work (not so big unless your TV is old).
* Shuts off all the time, VERY soon after buying it. It needs to be reset again and again. (not good if it’s under other equipment)
* The technical support is kind of clueless like most of the typical bad ones, that are not patient even though to try to understand where you are coming from, nor do they try to become creative in the approach to solve an issue, making your wait time a waste of time and your expectations of it working also a disappointment.
* can not do anything with it until you set the clock and BASIC settings.
* At times, controls wont respond, including eject.
That's as far as I have gotten, I am returning mine today. If this product were free, I might hold on to it and put it in a room that had a TV that I seldom watched, but that's if it were free and my expectations were even lower... That's my review, good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 4 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

Don't Buy

12/20/2007
By ,
Dry Ridge KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this for about 3 weeks the remote drives me crazy, it has a very slow response time on the third week, all it does now is flicker no picture through TV or DVD, It did record good but the remote will make you crazy. I am returning it tomorrow. Marlene
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

Black Friday Steal

11/24/2007
By ,
Scotch Plains, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this unit up at an unbeatable price and have already recorded about 8 hours of video via the AV3 composite input in SP mode. The composite source video, which is being played from and was recorded on HI 8 media on an RCA DSP3 Video Camera, has been reproduced well on the Protron PD-DVR100. I like the feature that stops recording if the source video goes to static or has extremely poor tracking. I read the manual right off the bat and for other than finalizing a DVD +R or DVD +RW, I have to say that so far, I'm very impressed and have found the operation of this unit to be relatively intuitive and reliable. The remote is packed with options but each is titled accordingly, ie DISK EDIT, SETUP, etc. Some other great features I have used are disc titling and auto chapter marking. I have not tried the IEEE 1394 port yet but this was a desired feature that I could not find on many other more expensive major name brand units in the store. I did not buy the unit with the intent of using it as a tuner, so I can't speak to that part of its functionality or the quality of it. Overall, the PD-DVR100 is a great value if you need a do it yourself machine to transfer any composite video source to DVD +R or DVD +RW and it does not require editing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

Happy Camper

12/30/2007
By ,
Brooklyn New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to give it away in a Christmas Grab Bag. There were 21 gifts that I wrapped up and this was one of them. But there were only 17 people there. No one Pick this Gift. So I gave it to myself for christmas. I love this Item. I should have just brought one for myself at this Unheard of Price. This item works just great. I purchase one at Radio Shack last year and It just stop recording. So I am willing to give this great DVD Recorder a Try. So far I have copied 5 Movies and the quality it just perfect. I would recommend this item to anyone who is looking for a Great DVD Recorder with out the fancy Name Brand Price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

good until goes bad

12/25/2007
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DVD recorder was fine for about 6 months - only used it to record then would unplug when not in use. Recorded 2 shows yesterday, went back about 3 hours later, pushed power button and all went blank - no reaction. The company website no longer exists, therefore no online technical support. You get what you pay for in this case
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

Don't Buy This

12/28/2007
By ,
Mountain Top, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my mom for x-mas. It didn't work. The door wouldn't even open on the thing. Don't waste your money. I'm taking this back to my local store to exchange it for something else. I just hope being that I bought it online that the local store will accept the exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

Protron DVD Recorder

12/30/2007
By ,
Rockland, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have yet to be able to set this up to record or play. It is very complicated and am thinking of bringing it back. This is not user friendly at all! I have had 2 different men try and hook this up, but to no avail.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

works great at a great price

01/03/2008
By ,
Hopkinsville, Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture is very clear and bright. The programs and remote control is easy to understand. The price was unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100

Save your $$

01/19/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The plain fact is that this device doesn't work. I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Protron DVD Recorder, PD-DVR100
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5