Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Snow Joe Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Snow Joe Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Need to tackle that heavy snowfall on your large driveway or walkway? The Snow Joe Ultra 19" Electric Snow Thrower is an efficient electric snow thrower that delivers the power of a gas machine with the convenience of an electric unit. Driven by a 13 amp motor, the Snow Joe Ultra moves up to 800 pounds of snow per minute.
Average Customer Rating:
3.69 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation77%109 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Snow Joe...Good to go!

02/27/2008
By ,
Elgin, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snow came at the Chicago area this year with an intensity that we haven't seen in years. My back was starting to REALLY feel it, so I thought I'd see about a snowblower. In researching, it looked like there are basically 3 types out there: a small electric hand-held model, the mid-sized electric and the 2-stage gas model. This Snow Joe model is in the middle category, and as such has it's pros and cons (but doesn't everything?).
Cons:
1st – Some assembly required. Ok, that’s not a deal breaker, but I know that some like it already assembled. There are 5 screws, 3 cord fasteners and a chute to open up. Follow the included instructions and you’ll be up in 20 minutes easy.
2nd - Let's be realistic...it's an electric snowblower. Don't expect it to throw snow 50 feet (though it does toss it pretty far when you have the chute pointed straight forward and not into the wind). I'll admit that when you turn the chute to the extreme left or right, the snow goes maybe 2-3 feet, but that works for me as my neighbor's driveway is only 3 feet away from my driveway. Pointing it at a 45 degree angle usually threw the snow about 10 feet.
3rd - Wet/compact snow (otherwise referred to as heart-attack snow) is tough to deal with. My first and second use of the Snow Joe was in this stuff. I was able to get through all of it, but not without struggles. I eventually learned that I was trying to force the Snow Joe to move more snow than it could handle and snow got stuck in the chute (it also made a very annoying screech when that happened). Once I slowed the pace down, it did MUCH better. I haven’t tried it with “regular” snow yet, but I can assume that it’ll do better.
4th – The cord gets in your way a lot. I’m learning to throw the cord over my shoulder so it doesn’t get under the blower’s blades. I’m thinking that I might be able to tie it to my jeans somehow, but I’ll have to try that another time. Do, however, tie a knot with the power cord around the unit’s handle before you plug the cord into the unit. You’ll save yourself a lot of frustration of having to plug the cord back in. And while I’m on the power cord subject, I was quite shocked to find out that the unit was only 2 pronged…my cord (12 gauge, 100’, 3 pronged) barely fit into the unit’s plug, but it did with a little, er…persuasion. BTW, the manual recommends a 12 gauge cord for 150’ of cord, 14 gauge for 100’ and 16 gauge for 50’.
5th – The chute has its issues. There are times when blowing snow that it appears that it’s blowing it everywhere. The crank starts out tough to move too…but I saw it suggested somewhere that you should spray it and the inside of the chute with a little WD-40 to loosen it up and lubricate the chute. It does move much more smoothly due to that.
Pros:
1st – It moves snow! I mean, that’s what I wanted it to do and it did just that. In fact, it gets all the way to the pavement! I was a bit shocked at how clear it really can clear a path. Once I got a route planned on my driveway (taking into account the wind and where I wanted the snow to eventually go), it was smooth sailing. In fact it may have pushed snow into my neighbor’s driveway, but with the time I saved with this machine, I easily cleared my neighbor’s driveway too as a courtesy. It even moved what the snowplow had left behind 12 hours earlier (though that was NOT as easy as when I was moving freshly fallen snow).
2nd – It is lightweight! Ok, it’s not a feather, but for a machine that throws as much weight around, you’d expect a MUCH heavier machine. I haven’t done so yet, but if need be I’m pretty sure I could put it in my Corolla and hop over to my Mom’s place to plow her drive.
3rd – Do a price search for this little baby and you’ll find that Wal-Mart has, by far, the best price around. Unfortunately, there weren’t any of the Snow Joes within 100 miles, so I had it shipped to the store nearest to me at work. It took about a week and a half to get here. I got to the store and the clerk was disgusted to find that someone had stacked it upside down! She turned it upright and we opened it together to make sure that everything inside was ok. It was, as the unit was VERY securely packed. The thing that almost got to me was that I had to REALLY force that box into the car…just barely able to squeeze it into my ’07 Corolla. Worse case scenario would’ve been to unpack it in the parking lot and put the pieces into the car, but I didn’t have to do that.
Conclusions:
I like this little guy! I know I’ll save time (now that I know how to use it) and it’ll save me back stress. And since there’s no oil or gas to mess with, it’s virtually maintenance-free! I would definitely recommend the Snow Joe.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Review 2 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Look out for Rocks

01/13/2009
By ,
Denver Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product works great. Actually very powerful for electic motor. Accomplishes what we need. Only problem the hardware case is made of weak material. One rock blow all the way thru the back and it is blowing snow both forward and back ward into your legs. The plastic material did not hold up well after only one use,. we are contacing the vendor to see how to repair...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 3 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

not to shabby

02/06/2008
By ,
Elkhart,In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice little snoe blower if you have a small driveway. I did't want to have to mess with gas and oil and pull the rope to start it. With snow joe you just push a button and it starts. I read a lot of reviews before selecting this model. Toro has one too but the parts are plastic snow joe has a very nice metel auger toro is plastic snow joe has more power too. Now all the reviews I read said that snow joe will throw the snow 20 even 30 feet NOT true which I knew it wouldn't not an electric snow blower. It will throw it about 4 to 5 feet but for a small driveway that is far enough. I have a 16 x 55' driveway and it is just fine. It will throw snow upto about 4"deep. It does push kind of hard it doesn't glide like I was hoping it would, but all and all it is much better then shoveling. Now the stuff at the end of your driveway that the snow plow leaves you needs a shovel unless it is just a little bit then snow joe can do it. I would say this little blower is prob. as good as the smallest gas one which will cost about 100 dollars more and the pain of gas and oil and ......So if if have read a lot of reviews like I did this one is honest.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Review 4 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Highly recommend it

01/23/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read lots of reviews and compared them with the only other similar product (Toro 1800, 12 Amp) reviews. There aren't too many electric snow throwers that imitate gas ones. Most reviews were good, except a few negative ones some of which reported defects. I was a bit skeptical because of them, but I had no choice. I am not a gas man :-). My lawn mover is not gas, my weed eater is not gas, so my snow thrower had to be electric. I used it just yesterday on about 2-3 inches wet snow. It performed adequately. This is the first snow thrower I have used, so I don't know how it compares with those giant gas ones, but as far as a snow thrower is concerned, it certainly does the job. It does exactly what it is supposed to do. I was able to clean my three car garage driveway and sidewalks within half an hour easily. It seemed powerful enough on wet snow, and even when I pushed it too fast, it still kept running, although I could hear the change in the motor noise. It throws the snow far enough. If you have reasonable expectations, then this is an excellent product for a typical single family house size driveways and sidewalks. I would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 5 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower
12/11/2008
By ,
Northern Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shopped online for an electric snow thrower and read the comments about this item from Walmart. Decided to order it and have it shipped to store. It came earlier than expected, which was nice because, it snowed twice already. This is an awesome machine. It cleans the snow down to the driveway really nice. Based upon some of the reviews I have read about this item, here are some recommendations:
1.
After you assemble the handle to the unit, tilt the front side toward you so that you have access to the blades. I tightened all the screws and nuts on the blades. The factory only tightens the screws and nuts for assembly, so going the extra mile to make sure they are tightened is a good idea. Somew screws and nuts were not that tight.
2.
After I tightened all the screws and nuts, I then wiped all the inside area where the blades are and the chute with silicone spray. This creates a slippery surface and will help prevent most of the snow from sticking.
3.
Extension cord. I bought a 100 foot 14 guage from Walmart. That was a bit overkill. Should have got a 50 ft and a 25 ft instead. But that's okay.
4.
As far as the extensinj cord getting in the way, if you go down the length of the driveway and then back up again, the cord could get in the way. It's a bit of a problem flipping the extension cord side to side. I decided to start at the garage door and work towards the end of the driveway by going side to side. That way the cord will not get in your way. That was sweet. Cord did not get in the way at all. Also, if the wind is blowing, go in the direction of the wind, if you don't, the snow will blow back in your face.
I think for the money, this is the best electric snow thrower you can buy, and what Walmart charges for it is a steal. The motor is very powerful and I have no problem with the snow thrower the first snowfall with wet snow about 2 - 3 inches deep. The second snow was more, about 3 - 6 inches and it went through that with no problem. Just need to remember to not force it through deep areas.
I would highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for an alternate to the expensive gas throwers. By the way, I checked out the Toro electric snow thrower ata home store and it looks and feels cheap. Snow Joe made a real good electric snow thrower
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+100points
Review 6 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

You get what you pay for.

02/28/2009
By ,
Shelton Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read all reviews before buying. I knew it was inferior to the Toro w/ same features but this one $100 less. I was throwing 8" snow and I only got half way done(45 Mins.) before a drive belt failed. This was my 1st usage. I finished up with a Toro that is half the size of this Snowjoe. I upgraded in size with the Snowjoe but I'm still undecided if I should have spent the Extra $100 and stayed with the Toro line. The Snowjoe was working OK until the belt failed. I got replacements in the mail from the company at my expense. I bought 2 belts for back up. I would recommend using this product in 5" or less snow for care free usage. Walmart Site to Store was a cool way to get my Snowjoe w/o shipping charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 7 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

So-so

12/27/2008
By ,
Clinton, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first time I used it was on a 3 - 4 inch powdery snow. It seemed to run too fast and the snow coming out of the chute was not a nice compact stream but a big mass of snow and I would get some drifting into my face. However I was somewhat pleased with the ease of use and time involved in removing the snow. The second time I used it was on a mix of rain, ice and snow. The plow had cleared the street so I worked on the pile at the end of my driveway. It worked well clearing this out except on my final pass something caught and the rotor stopped moving. Thinking that a shear bolt had broken I took it apart to see about replacing it. What I found was the big pulley which is made of plastic had cracked in half making the blower unusable. I found it very difficult to reach the manufacturer, kept getting disconnected, so I returned it to Walmart and they refunded my money with no questions. Verdict, displeased with the snowblower but pleased with Walmart. I then purchased a Toro Electric snowblower and I like it better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Snow Joe Did The Job

02/06/2010
By ,
Jackson, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the unit after the 14" New Jersey snow storm the Saturday before Christmas in Dec 2009. The next big storm came on Jan 6th when we got 16".
Snow Joe assembled easily. When put to the test the trick is to avoid overloading the unit in deep snow. It is rated for snow up to 11" deep. So with 16 inches I work horizontally by pushing along the side of higher banks until they fell and then I plowed them away.
I have a two car driveway that's about 20' long. The unit did the job well and saved my many hours of back breaking shoveling. I was very pleased. After five decades of snow shoveling, it's nice to have a friend.
I would suggest anyone who buys this machine order a couple of extra belts from the company. They are only $8 each and it's worth the piece of mind that you won't be caught with a dead machine in a blizzard if your belt wears out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 9 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Does the job

12/19/2009
By ,
Potomac, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does the job; however, you need to know its limitation to use it effectively.
Why I bought it?
1. Gas smell bad; not environmental friendly.
2. Gas blowers cost much more. In DC area, we see big snow only once every few years. Do not want to invest big money.
3. Gas blowers are big and heavy.
Limitations,
1. It requires 13 amps. My circuit breaker is 15 amps. IT hits the limit if I keep pushing it for too long. I have to turn off my AC on the same circuit to run this blower.
2. For snow higher than 6 inches, push it slowly so that it does not get overheated. I listen to the sound of the motor. If it slows down, I pull it back a bit to let it regain speed. This way I can keep it running for quit a while. It is ok to push it hard against snow for a short time, but do not push it for too long.
Overall, it does the job with some trick when dealing with 6 or more inches or snow. I did about 10-12 inches of snow with no problem today (with the trick I did). For 10 inches of snow, you just can not push it all the way for a long drive way. My drive way is about 100 feet long. Hope this information can help your buying decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 10 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Straight shooter

01/09/2009
By ,
Devils Lake ND
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This snow thrower is good if a person is blowing the snow straight forward.... but if a person is trying to throw snow to the side.. it seems to lose throwing power. Also, this machine spits snow to the side. The manufacture of this snow thrower needs to work on the chute...that seems to be the problem....the chute needs to be bigger around and it needs to be enclosed like a tube ....instead only one-half enclosed... and hopefully help the snow from not going out the sides before going up and out the chute. I live in ND where we get alot of snow over a course of a winter and I did not want to deal with a gas powered blower for the less then 4 inch snowfalls we get. It takes alittle bit to get use to .. since a person has to either plan blowing the snow straight forward or go in a side to side pattern shooting the snow forward starting at the garage door which helps not only with the electrical cord getting in the way.. but so the blower throws it away from the driveway. I think for the cost this blower is a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

close but not exactly

01/26/2009
By ,
Sterling Heights, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does a good job but came up a little short on the following...
cons:
power is good enough to go thru the heavy stuff that the plow leave at the end of the driveway but not as fast as I would like but what do you expect from an electric.. thrower will throw snow about 15 fts straight and then lower to above 2 fts when shoot is turn close to 90 deg.. more snow than expected are thrown forward from the blade and not out thru the shoot, i was expecting to be able to get a nice clean path with one pass..
pro:
get down to the bottom to pick up the snow.. light and easy to manuever.. enought power to go thru about 6" of heavy snow left from the plow at end of driveway.. pretty good return on investment and would recommend for the price, regret that I waited this long to get one for a 2 car driveway about 15 yards long and sidewalk in SE metro Detroit.
neutral:
cord does get in the way and take a little to get use too.. don't know about durability since I had this product for about two wks and went thru 2 snow storm in SE Detroit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

My back LOVES this snow thrower!

02/03/2010
By ,
Southern Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With older age come a few unexpected surprises - like an aching back after shoveling out a very large driveway...sigh.
I finally broke down this year and bought this electric snow thrower...much like other folks, my idea of fun does not include messing with gas, oil or spark plugs while standing in the snow, so electric was the way to go for me!
I woke up the other day to 8 to 12 inches of snow in the driveway (drifting snow in parts).
Oh boy, my boys are off to college now and hubby is off on business trip....looks like a (almost) 50 year old woman with a bad back gets to do it alone..yikes!....dig out the BenGay...sigh.
Happily I found out that this has a super easy start and the Snow Joe just chewed through even the deepest snow. I actually found myself looking for more snow to attack with the Snow Joe....this snow thrower made a miserable job almost fun!
The Snow Joe easily threw the snow 10 to 20 feet and cleared the snow down to the pavement.
The Snow Joe is light enough that I could easily carry it when done back through the snowy yard to the shed to put it away...and no BenGay was needed that night..yippee!!
As others have said;
- Make sure the nuts and blots are all tight when you receive your Snow Joe.
- Use a good quality extension cord and loop it around the bottom of the handle so it can't accidentally come unplugged while you're working.
- Stay off gravel and rocks. Plow only on pavement.
- Snow Joe works well in deep snow, but don't force it - just be patient and let it work it's way through the drift at it's own pace...the motor sound will let you know if you're forcing it too hard.
The only reason Snow Joe did not get 5 stars is, the rear wheels are a little cheesy...plastic.
I will be checking around for good quality rubber wheels to replace these with....but for what I paid for the Snow Joe, I can handle one tiny tweek.
All in all, I would recommend this snow thrower to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 13 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

It is ok

01/12/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok so reading the reviews I thought that I would still take a chance on this product knowing that not everyone that bought this snow blower had problems.
I bought this little guy because I have two ruptured disks and the thought of pulling a cord to start a gas powered guy would be to much for me. It starts easily and the cord thing is a bit of a pain but this guy turns very easily. The chute is a little small and there is some clogging if you try to go too fast. It also has some trouble with hard packed snow. It does not throw snow 20 feet sometimes it will not even throw 2 feet but it does save a lot of back pain. In the end I think that I would have bought a different electric snow blower rather than this one. If you are sitting there looking at the price thinking about taking the chance on this one I would reconsider and save up a bit more money for a different snow blower.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

A very good value

02/28/2009
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found products costing a lot more that did not have as many features and do as well . This is a good product for the price .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 15 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower
12/04/2008
By ,
Southwest PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only tried it once with a light snow....waiting for more and I know it's coming. It does not throw as far as claimed and if there is a wind, most of the snow will blow back. It's light and easily picked up and carried to the deck or porch if you need to.....a nice feature.
It's small enough so it doesn't take up a lot of room in the garage or basement. I would suggest a power cord that stays flexible in the cold. It is difficult to maneuver with a cold stiff cord tied to you.
For someone that has a small area to clear,does not anticipate heavy frequent snow and does not want the hassle of a gas powered blower, this is certainly a viable option.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 16 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

OK, but spend the extra $$ and get a gas model....

12/16/2013
By ,
western ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this to use on a small driveway 50' X 12" and a walkway. Does OK with up to 4" of snow, anymore than that it starts to struggle. The end of drive way snow the plow leaves that's 8" deep and somewhat packed takes a long time. I ended up shoveling faster and with less effort than the thrower would move it. The unit also tends to throw snow around and not straight out of the chute. The cord can be a hassle too. You need a 14/2 cord which can cost some if you have to buy a 100' type.
If you get 6 to 8 inches of snow periodically, pony up the extra $$ and buy a decent 4 stroke, single stage gas unit or a small two stage unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

SnowJoe Is a Disappointment

11/15/2009
By ,
Manchester, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had ordered the SnowJoe on the internet, and selected site to store delivery option. Normally, I have used many many years ago, Toro electric snow thrower. However, I had moved several years ago, and had no need for the snow blower, and sold it for $50.00. I should have kept the great machine. I had it for over 8 years. I went back to renting, and felt that I did not need a snow blower. Now that I purchased another home, I was shopping around again for a snow blower.
I didnt want to deal with gas machines, been there done that. I researched the pros and cons to SnowJoe, and WalMart had a great price. When I took my SnowJoe home, I was extremely disappointment with the integrity of the of the machine. The plastic parts seem very very cheap. And you know the good old saying...you get what you pay for. So, I returned the product the following day, and purchased a brand New Toro Electric Snow Thrower. I spent more money, but I have always had Toro, and their products and workmanship is great.
Walmart was selling snowjoe for $228, and I spent $299 for the Toro. I rather spend more money on a product that I am 100% confident with the quality of the product.
I hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 18 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Exceeded Expectations

12/28/2008
By ,
Pullman, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered my Snow Joe I had been looking at much higher priced gas powered snow blowers. I couldn't afford to buy one that I felt would cut through the drifts of last winter (2007 inland northwest). So, in desperation I decided to "go cheap" and see what an electric job would do. The first two huge storms we have had so far this winter were very cold, dry "champagne" snow. I had drifts up to the top of the Snow Joe that didn't even slow it down.
Snowplow berms slow it down, and you have to make several hits, but it still gets through. The storm we just had a few days was heavy wet, packing snow, about 10 inches. The snow was harder to handle, but Snow Joe still did what I needed. It just took longer.
If you don't mind wrestling with electrical cords, it is a great machine for small, paved driveways and walkways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

Not at all what I expected

12/17/2009
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not all impressed with this item. We had not had snow enough to shovel up to the point when the item was purchased but the day after I put it together we did. It was a hassle to get it out to the yard, the cord was not cooperating - and I have an electric lawn mower and am used to manuevering the cord. The machine was pushing the 4 inches of snow along the drive and what did go up the shoot came back at me instead of going off to the side and on to the lawn. It didn't even throw that little bit of snow 3 feet to the lawn. It took me less time to grab the shovel and clear the driveway manually. I returned the item the following day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Snow Joe Ultra 13-Amp 19" Electric Snow Thrower

brittle

12/17/2008
By ,
Winslow, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased and just used on a nice dry 6" of snow here in Maine. Actually, it removed the snow really well until just finishing. The non-moving plastice backing (that keeps the snow going up and out the shoot) blew out a big chunk of plastice and the snow starting throwing out the back the 5" HOLE made. So disappointed! There were no rocks or anything I could see...maybe just a chunk of ice...but it rendered the Snowjoe useless. On my last few passes I was covered with blowback snow. The good thing is that I bought is from Walmart online and had it shipped site-to-store. They refunded my money promptly, and I didn't have to unassemble and pack it back in box. I'm so sad!! It really worked well until the back blew out. Now whattamI gonna do with $50 worth of heavy duty 100' electric cord!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next