Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lifetime Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Lifetime Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Easy to set up, this Basketball System allows you to play hoops on your driveway, in the backyard, or in any location you desire. The Lifetime 1533 Portable Basketball Hoop includes a high-impact 44" acrylic backboard and black classic rim. The heavy-duty, portable courtside base can be filled with water or sand for extra stability and rolled to the set location. The Quick Adjust II feature of this basketball system allows you to make height adjustments at six different levels. The black 44" acrylic fusion backboard comes with Blow-Molded High-Density Polyethylene Frame and playing surface with UV-protected, fade-resistant graphics. With a round powder-coated steel pole, this system also features a solid steel rim with steel braces and a net. The high-quality construction and design make this adjustable basketball hoop a highly functional portable basketball court.
Average Customer Rating:
4.229 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(354 Reviews) 314
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
166
4 stars
140
3 stars
24
2 stars
11
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation92%326 out of 354reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
81 Questions | 250 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
166
4 stars
140
3 stars
24
2 stars
11
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Great basketball goal for the price!!

09/11/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product as a birthday gift for my son, who turned 17. He and his 6-year old brother play on it daily. Good product, fairly easy to assemble. be sure to follow the instructions step by step!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Great goal for kids and most adults

05/16/2013
By ,
Leitchfield,KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think that this goal is very nice. It did have some confusing instructions at some points in it. It's really good for practicing your free throws and 2 and 3 point shots, I would not recommend doing dunks because its not a brake a way rim. Takes some time to assemble though it took around 2 1/2 to 3 hours for the two of us. I would highly recommend this product to other people looking for a intermediate basketball goal. I would recommend using water instead of sand cause if you use sand you have to buy quite a bit which could cost some more money, but if you just use water from the water hose then it should be up and ready to use in no time. I found that it was the same type of goal as the one at my local Walmart, but this goal was about $40 cheaper online, so I made a good deal on this basketball goal. PLEASE NOTE IF BUYING: make sure you have tools to assemble this goal because the Walmart website is misleading when it says "no tools required", this goal requires many different wrenches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

poor manufacturing

03/17/2012
By ,
Macedon, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before purchasing this hoop I asked my kid to check the reviews as far as product quality. The negatives were in shipping isssues and a wide spread of feed back on assembly, so we decided to buy, knowing that I am above average in assemblying these kind of things. The instructions are non verbal, all in drawings and very clear, with detail on tools required and parts provided. The booklet is about 45 pages and I can imagine some people being overwhelmed with that. The problem we had was not that assembly is difficult, rather that pieces were not cut properly. On instruction point 1.2 we had to put a screw into a slit that was cut too narrow. This is not difficulty in assembly, it is poor manufacture. So I am packing it up and taking it back for exchange. As nothing but waste of time, gas, and unnecessary work came from this purchase I have to give it the lowest rating possible. If the replacement works, I'll write a second review. I am just glad that the (first) defect showed up on step 1.2 and not on step 5.3 (the last one).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Great Basketball hoop but bring lots of tools!

01/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The end result is this is a great basketball hoop. The grandsons loved it when we were done and we like the adjustable height so as they get older and taller, they can still use it. My only criticism of this item (and want others to know so they are prepared) is the item says no tools required on the Walmart website and you need LOTS of tools to put it together and 2 people is highly recommended. We were a bit unprepared for this after the website said no tools required. We were visiting out of town and had some of the tools but not all of them and propably should have bought some to help out but suffered with substitute tools on some tasks. So my recommendation is to open the directions (follow them exactly too) and get your tools together first (even if you have to buy or borrow some of them. We had no missing parts and we are good at this type of assembly also but it did take hours and the kids got impatient so don't do it when they are watching and waiting if possible!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Assembly sabotaged by bad parts

01/31/2009
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This hoop is pretty nice, and seems sturdy and well constructed now that it is assembled.
The assembly was a nightmare. Having put together trampolines, furniture and bikes, I found this to be the worst assembly experience I have had.
You need a full wrench set - which isn't make clear in the description. The directions have difficult to follow diagrams (tiny) and not enough description. But neither of these are a huge problem.
The HUGE problem was that several of the parts were the wrong size. The support bars didn't align at all with the holes in the post and it too 20 minutes banging them out with a hammer to get them to match up. Even with the 'modification' it took a significant amount of effort to get the bolt through the poorly aligned holes. A couple of bolts drawn as actual size in the instructions are not the right size, they're short.
So, what seems to be a nice product was tarnished by wrong-sized parts. Sounds like others did not have this problem, so I may have been unlucky. Hope yours comes with the right parts!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

This is a good hoop for young kids under 16.

07/10/2012
By ,
monument co
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pro: good price, adjust from 8’ to 10’, the structure holding up the hoop is very sturdy
Con: the instructions are just pictures and not written instruction, probably will need two people to put it together, the backboard is just glued and it fell off on the first shot.
Conclusion: My son likes it and we are going to have fun with it.
This was the cheapest basketball system before taking a just in price to the really nice hoops. Right out of the box I could tell that this was going to be sturdy. I started putting the system together around 10 pm so probably not the best time to take on this project. Could have used an extra hand while putting it together. Got it tighter so my son could shoot some hoops in the morning. The first shot he took the plastic backboard fell off. This backboard comes pre-glued so I think I am just going to make a trip to the hardware store and screw it on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Very happy with the product

04/14/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking for 3 weeks, I bought this for my 9, 7, and 5 year old. It took a while to get it together because the instructions are a bit confusing, but the kids, and adults have had a blast with it.
I have found that after today, 04/14/2010, that it is a VERY sturdy product. No one would ever believe this even if they seen it for themselves.
The basketball hoop got hit at about 25 mph by a church bus today.(The bus went off the road and part way into my yard. No one got hurt.) I figured it would be very messed up. To my surprise, nothing broke off. The pole is all twisted up, and the hoop is bent, but the backboard did not shatter, and nothing flew off. This was a very good thing seems how 5 kids were standing by the basketball hoop.
It will be replaced with one just like it. It will be worth putting another one together. I could not have picked a better item to purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Basketball goal

06/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought this product for my new home. It is a great basketball goal. The only caution I would have for anyone who might buy this goal is the assembly. The instructions were extremely poor and really of no help.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Good hoop, but not for heavy-duty use

01/26/2014
By ,
Mulvane, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this hoop for my children who are 8 and 6. It is good for kids that age and adults who don't need a heavy-duty hoop; if you are going to play on this hoop all the time I'd recommend getting something more sturdy. Don't even think of trying to dunk on it or you'll knock it over like that insurance commercial where it falls onto a car hood.
Putting it together takes time, but was not terribly difficult. It took me about three hours, and only twice did I need a second set of hands. The only time it was a difficult task was putting the rim on the backboard. I would recommend having a good socket wrench and several size-specific wrenches. And make sure you have plenty of sand ready. It will fall over on its own without lots of weight into the base. I filled it with several hundred pounds of sand plus I placed several other large bags of sand on top of the base.
All in all a good goal and well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

A good goal for the price.

09/03/2008
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I feel like I got a good deal in this basketball goal. It was not very difficult to assemble. I put it together by myself in about 1 1/2 hour. The instructions recommend that two people work together in the assembly. I am sure that would have worked better, but I was alone and I still got it together.
One thing I must mention is that you should not expect this goal to measure up to the higher priced goals you might find in a gym. The backboard is smaller, and it does have a little "give" to it. If you are training for the NBA, spend more and get a fancy goal. However, if you are a weekend athlete like me who just wants to shoot some hoops with the kids, this goal is perfect. It is very mobile and not big enough to get in the way. My kids and I have had a lot of fun with it already.
A helpful hint is this: The manufacturer recommends that the base be filled with 362 pounds of sand. That may not be easy get, and may be extra expense. As a good alternative, you can fill the base with water from a garden hose. This is what I did and it works fine. The only caution is that unless you live in the tropics where the temperature never dips below freezing, you will have to drain the water before Winter. If you leave the water in it will freeze and crack the base, causing it to leak.
All in all, a great bargain!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+264points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Draper, Utah 84020
Put 1 Gallon of Antifreeze in base
Posted 01/14/2012
If you do live where it gets below freezing instead of draining the base for the cold just add 1 gallon of Antifreeze and you can keep and use your hoop all year long. This will prevent your water from freezing and save your base without the hassle of emptying it.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Basketball Technical Report

09/09/2010
By ,
Farmington, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the above basketball system No. 1533 as a birthday gift for our grandchildren (ages 13). My grandson and I assembled the system together and found this to be a quality time to spend together. First, the product was well packaged, with the hardware stored in separate bags. The instructions were very explicit every step of the way. In each step the manufacturer stated what specific tools were required, the parts that would be assembled in that operation, the specific hardware and quantity, along with any assembly notes to watch out for. While assembling this product, it was apparent that the parts and hardware were well designed and thought out to give both safety and product quality. This manufacturer is very concerned about customer safety and satisfaction. Our assembly time was approximately 2 1/2 hours. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Nice

06/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
İt's good quality, ıt's too tall my for boys. Since they are only 4 .. but they still love it.. Its is for 6 and up if they are new starter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

bb system

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fair price ,good quality assembly about 2hrs., Watch to not pull outthe middlepole until the assembly of the other end..because of the way it fits...checkit out
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Very well made. Grandchildren enjoy.

06/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Not bad. Not bad at all...

04/06/2009
By ,
Montgomery Co., PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waiting for over a week for delivery was excruciating, but it did arrive I set off with my 6 year old to pick it up. The box was JUST big enough that it did not want to fit into my compact SUV. It would have if I laid the back seat down, but as my son was with me, I threw it on top and drove home.
While setup for me was not simple, it was not the beastly experience that some reviewers imply here; I put it together by myself in about 60 minutes. The instructions are not perfect, but only because they offer no hints about the method to their madness. About one third of the way through, I began to understand the logic of the instructions. Most of the hardware bags are numbered and they relate to the numbers on the instructions. You also have to look at the pictures closely. I suggest a complete walk-through review of the instructions before you actually start.
The quality of backboard is better than I expected. It will certainly withstand my son for a couple of years or more. The adjustment mechanism is rather rough and could be a finger biter if one is not careful. It does the job, however. Contrary to the warnings, I used water, not sand and I consider it to be very safe.
All in all, I am happy with this product. Putting it together required thought, patience, and some commonsense. Once together, it is everything a 6-10 year old needs I expect it will last until my 6 year old is 10. For the money, I don't think anyone could go wrong with this purchase.
Crusty Curmudgeon
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Basketball Practice

02/01/2009
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good, sturdy product at a good price. My eight year old daughter and me put it together with ease. We filled it with water and some anti-freeze and we use it regularly. It is easy to move around also. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+171points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

My boys love it!

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this hoop for my 7 & 8 year old sons. They are loving it and so are their friends. My husband put it together in a couple of hours on his own. Don't think you can beat the price !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Basketball hoop

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my grandson, he loves it. Adjusts to his size and as he grows will be able to adjust it. Was relatively easy to put together, just followed the directions.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

My Kids Love It!

03/18/2012
By ,
Plano, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value for the money ($117 at my local store in Plano, TX). As previous reviewers have stated, don't expect a gym quality backboard or one that you can have a dunk contest on, but it is more than adequate for casual play. Not sure why others stated they had difficulty putting it together. It took my husband and I just under an hour. As long as you follow the instructions step by step, you should have no problem. All parts are grouped in separate bags per step. However, you will definitely need two people, especially for the final step of attaching the backboard to the pole. We filled the base with water because we didn't want to buy the ridiculous amount of sand recommended (362 pounds!) With water, it seems very sturdy with just a little wobble with harder shots. We will probably buy a large bag of sand just to lay on top of the base for added stability. Overall it was a great buy for my two boys, ages 8 and 5, and I expect it to last well into their teen years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lifetime 44" Acrylic Fusion Backboard Portable Basketball System, Model 1533

Excellent Buy

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very fast shipping. Easy to assemble. Good quality, very sturdy system. Great buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 315 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next