Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
4.343 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%100 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Fantastic piece of furniture!

04/23/2008
By ,
Pomona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When shopping for room furnishings, space efficiency was my number one priority. My room is 9.5' x 10' (which technically is smaller than a jail cell!) so with this product being only 30" wide, it packs a lot of stuff! I have my printer, my sound system control, a few decorative pieces, books, on the shelves; and a LOT of dvds and cds in the bottom cabinet area. This piece truly took me by surprise! I would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Beautiful

08/12/2009
By ,
Whitewater, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This furniture is beautiful; the finish shows darker than in the pictures in the lighting of an apartment, but I love it anyway!
I bought the full living room and bedroom sets and I'm so happy with them.. great quality for a Wal-Mart product and they were so simple to put together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 43 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Exceeded expectations

12/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching everywhere for a desk set for our office. I needed something that would work for the whole family. The kids need a homework space and my husband and I need a place to work and file. I was looking at Pottery Barn Writer's Desk when I came upon this while searching online. I've never ordered from Walmart, but after reading the reviews and seeing that this furniture was made of wood, I decided to go for it. The value was incredible. So... it is now set up, in my house, and it is BEAUTIFUL!! It is HEAVY, real wood, the stain is beautiful, the drawers and construction is solid. I'm truly amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
11/29/2008
By ,
ottawa, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this to sit next to the tv stand. It looks great. I put this together myself in abouth 10 minutes. The back panel is hinged so all you have to do is put the shelves on and the doors. The set looks expensive and great quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Looks good with matching TV stand

01/17/2009
By ,
Greensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this bookcase along with the matching TV stand in Chestnut Finish. They blend well with our dark oak furniture. It took about 1 1/2 hours to build both pieces. They are a steal for the quality and price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Clutter-buster

06/13/2009
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these bookcases to make "homes" for daughter's games, puzzles, books, etc in our living room area. Also purchased 4 baskets for the bottom shelves above the cabinet doors. The bookcase is easy to assemble, although helpful to have two adults on hand. The appearance is that of solid wood, definitely NOT cheapo "assembly required" quality. We are very happy with our purchase, and will be purchasing the bench, and possibly tables from this line. Great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Excellent

09/12/2010
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is beautiful and was easy to put together. It is partially assembled when it arrives. It has nice deep shelves and is sturdy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 48 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
11/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book Shelf fits our need perfectly. It’s an outstanding value, easy to assemble, and looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 49 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Better than expected

11/27/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easier to assemble than I expected, nice appearance,well built, hopefully will hold up well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 50 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

looks sharp

05/27/2008
By ,
Billings, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together and looks great in my home office. Item was very heavy and hard for me to unload by myself, but besides that, I am extremely happy with the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Compliments Canopy Console Table

04/20/2009
By ,
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 bookcases with the Canopy console table in the middle. Makes a great entertainment center. One of the bookcase doors doesn't fit just right, it closes but is a few mms higher than the other bottom coor. But we are used to it and no one will notice. Nice and wide bookcases to hold lots. I couldn't believe one held our entire album collection in the bottom. Nice for large living room. Extremely easy to "put" together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 52 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Bookcases! Easy Assembly!

08/30/2010
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bookcases are easy to put together, sturdy, and they look great with the matching TV stand!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Office Work Space

10/12/2008
By ,
Panhandle of Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly is super easy and the finished product looks great! We were especially impressed that you can adjust the feet of this bookcase. Good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

more like a media cabinet than a bookcase

08/04/2009
By ,
Monterey Country, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this item because it was listed as a bookcase. But once I started unpacking it I could see that it is designed more as a media cabinet. There is a hole in the back and cut outs at the back of all of the shelves for wires and cables. There is a weight limit on the shelves that probably is too low for the the books that would fit.
It is a beautiful piece of furniture, though and I didn't have any trouble putting it together by myself. Canopy furniture is well packed, well labled and has good instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 55 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

a little disappointed

07/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it popped right of the box and was a breeze to put together. HOWEVER the shelves are not solid wood like we had been led to believe. they were particle board. the look fine BUT there is a line down the middle where the bookcase folds out for assembly. it is not too noticeable once you get books on the shelves. HINT there are levelers on the legs that help to make things line up right. these are barely mentioned but proved to be an important part of the assembly process. my least favorite piece in the line-we have the desk, file cabinet and the tv stand. they all look nice and serve our needs for an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Good bookcase but has assemble problems

07/25/2009
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good looking bookcase... but the assemble was really a problem. Holes didn't line up, and the way in which it's constructed wasn't the best design. We also had to saw one of the shelves in order for it to fit. It's sturdy now, but not the best I've seen. All in all I like the bookcase. It's really appealing in appearance and fits well into my spare room. I will recommend this product, however I think the designer need to go and gets some tips from IKEA on how to make funiture easier to asssemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

A decent product

08/02/2010
By ,
Rockwall, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Difficult to put the first 2 shelves in place; they were not quite made correctly, and they still wobble a bit. The two shelves in question do not lock into place; they just sit in some slots. Also, I was disappointed that the material is actually pressboard with a laminate finish.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Nice-looking bookshelf

01/30/2009
By ,
midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bookshelf is easy to assemble for the most part. The instructions were very easy to follow. I was already familiar with the process having purchased the endtables weeks before. They went together very well.
The factory-installed hardware could be better screwed to the frame than what it was. (It wasn't square with the wood.) This made it more difficult to attach some of the stationary shelves to the main frame of the bookshelf.
Had it all been square and level, the assembling would've taken minutes. Instead it took about 30-40 minutes with some twisting and prying.
All in all, I do like the bookshelf and it's durability. It's also set up for electronics which I wasn't aware of when I bought it. There is a cut-out in the back of each shelf making it possible to run cords all the way to the bottom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
03/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very satisfied with this product. Easy to assemble and looked much better than the picture. Used it in my office and it was well received.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 60 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
04/26/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to essemble. I looks wonderful and long lasting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 96 total reviews