Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
4.343 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%100 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
08/03/2009
By ,
NE Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this bookcase for our son's room. It has ample amount of storage for all his books and games. It was vary simple to put together and came packaged well with no scratches, dents ect.
We were pleasantly surprised at how well this bookcase is made for the price. It has a wood back which is nice if using it other than flush against a wall. We also used the site to store option to save on shipping cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Clutter-buster

06/13/2009
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these bookcases to make "homes" for daughter's games, puzzles, books, etc in our living room area. Also purchased 4 baskets for the bottom shelves above the cabinet doors. The bookcase is easy to assemble, although helpful to have two adults on hand. The appearance is that of solid wood, definitely NOT cheapo "assembly required" quality. We are very happy with our purchase, and will be purchasing the bench, and possibly tables from this line. Great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
12/16/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easiest thing to put together ever....done in 5 minutes
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 44 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Better than expected

11/27/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easier to assemble than I expected, nice appearance,well built, hopefully will hold up well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 45 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Fantastic piece of furniture!

04/23/2008
By ,
Pomona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When shopping for room furnishings, space efficiency was my number one priority. My room is 9.5' x 10' (which technically is smaller than a jail cell!) so with this product being only 30" wide, it packs a lot of stuff! I have my printer, my sound system control, a few decorative pieces, books, on the shelves; and a LOT of dvds and cds in the bottom cabinet area. This piece truly took me by surprise! I would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Beautiful

08/12/2009
By ,
Whitewater, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This furniture is beautiful; the finish shows darker than in the pictures in the lighting of an apartment, but I love it anyway!
I bought the full living room and bedroom sets and I'm so happy with them.. great quality for a Wal-Mart product and they were so simple to put together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 47 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Beautiful and easy to put together

02/26/2010
By ,
Nashua, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing a lot of research for new bedroom furniture, I chose Canopy products from Walmart. Mostly based on price and the other customer reviews of the products I ended up purchasing. This bookcase is great quality for the price. It went together so easy. I would guess it took me about 30 minutes total. It looks beautiful and I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

This one is great!

06/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the set: bookcase, file cabinet, and desk. Of all three, the bookcase was easiest to put together. It looks really nice.
The only thing is that if you are trying to live greener the amount of packaging involved will probably make you feel a bit guilty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 49 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Compliments Canopy Console Table

04/20/2009
By ,
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 bookcases with the Canopy console table in the middle. Makes a great entertainment center. One of the bookcase doors doesn't fit just right, it closes but is a few mms higher than the other bottom coor. But we are used to it and no one will notice. Nice and wide bookcases to hold lots. I couldn't believe one held our entire album collection in the bottom. Nice for large living room. Extremely easy to "put" together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 50 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Value

10/19/2009
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, I think these are a great set of shelves. Hard to find shelves that are deaper than 12 inches so I was thrilled to get these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
12/28/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product more than met my expectations. It was of high quality and was so easy to put together. In fact, I have never purchased any other piece of furniture that required assembly that was as easy to put together as this product was. I also purchased the TV stand to go with these bookcases and it was equally easy to assemble. I think that it would be hard to match the quality, ease of assembly and price anywhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

high quality!!

04/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised to get these nice solid wood bookcases. We bought two of these with the tv stand to make an entertainment center and we are very impressed. My husband was skeptical, but he even admitted that he really loves how they look and how solid they are. I put them together myself, but it would have been easier with a helper. I really like the fact that they come with self-levelers on the legs. Overall my family is absolutely thrilled with the quality and look of this furniture!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 53 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Love the new bookshelf!!!

04/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new bookcase. It looks really nice in my bedroom! I would definitely recommend this product. My husband who is not handy, whatsoever, actually had an easy time putting this together.
It was a bit larger in the box than I expected! I did this as a deliver to store option to save on shipping. So, I pick up my new book case and it was really, really long. I have a little toyota corolla and there was no way this was going to fit in the trunk. We (the Wal-Mart stock boys) put it in the back seat of my car. It totally hung out my window by a couple of feet, but I made it home safely--hallelujah!
Good buy! My inner child loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 54 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Good, but not great....

05/04/2008
By ,
Tomball, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought the desk that goes with this and was happier with the desk. The bookcase is good, but lacks the refinement of the desk. I did not notice and "press board" on the desk, but did on the bookcase. Still, for the price (which would be a LOT more for a wood bookcase of this size at a furniture store), it is a nice piece of furniture and looks good with the desk (and end table) in my study.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 55 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
03/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very satisfied with this product. Easy to assemble and looked much better than the picture. Used it in my office and it was well received.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 56 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Canopy Tall Bookcase, Chestnut Finish

06/28/2009
By ,
Dublin, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the pieces came damaged and unfortunately it's noticeable to me. It came with a touch up marker, but that only made it worse. I guess because the dent/ chip is to big. Would still recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

A decent product

08/02/2010
By ,
Rockwall, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Difficult to put the first 2 shelves in place; they were not quite made correctly, and they still wobble a bit. The two shelves in question do not lock into place; they just sit in some slots. Also, I was disappointed that the material is actually pressboard with a laminate finish.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

A good product to have

01/03/2010
By ,
South Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I work from home ... specifically from my office in our bedroom. I needed storage space without making the space look like an office. I used an old (but beautiful) desk and flanked it with these bookcases. The look of the old and new together looks like a picture from a magazine!
I was skeptical when I first brought the boxes home. But set up was easy ... I took extra time in assembling them ... and in the end the quality is really nice.
I am considering other pieces in the Canopy line as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Canopy Chestnut Office set

06/10/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good quality for the money. Everything was great except I ordered the set of a desk, bookcase, and file cabinet and all three are different colors. Each piece is darker that the other and they do not look like a set because of the difference in colr. It is not off by just a little, it is a big color difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Nice-looking bookshelf

01/30/2009
By ,
midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bookshelf is easy to assemble for the most part. The instructions were very easy to follow. I was already familiar with the process having purchased the endtables weeks before. They went together very well.
The factory-installed hardware could be better screwed to the frame than what it was. (It wasn't square with the wood.) This made it more difficult to attach some of the stationary shelves to the main frame of the bookshelf.
Had it all been square and level, the assembling would've taken minutes. Instead it took about 30-40 minutes with some twisting and prying.
All in all, I do like the bookshelf and it's durability. It's also set up for electronics which I wasn't aware of when I bought it. There is a cut-out in the back of each shelf making it possible to run cords all the way to the bottom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 96 total reviews