Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
4.343 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%100 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Product

10/12/2008
By ,
Ridgeley, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel that this product is well made. It was very easy to put together and it seems very sturdy. I fell it will last a long time. I'm glad I purchased this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Highly Recommended!

03/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
did site to store, quick and easy transaction. super easy to assemble. looks great with the console table. very versatile!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great product for the money

03/27/2009
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just brought these home and assembled. Took a little less than 30 min. for 1st & only about 15 min. for 2nd since we knew what to do. Beautiful piece of furniture for the money. Compliments my existing furniture. Bought real expensive BR furniture. Bookshelf units from same manuf. were $1200. This stuff just under $500 for 2. Shipped to store to save on shipping. Nice heavy furniture, packed really well. No scratches or dings, everything fit together very well. Only one pilot hole was misaligned w/ pin. Hubby fixed in just a few min. w/ drill. Very sturdy. Lots of nice features...have hole in back of cabinet base for cords and space at rear of shelves for cords, touch up pen if needed, 2 color/finishes of door knobs to choose, wall anchors if needed. All shelves top & bottom adjustable. Nice fit side by side. Would highly recommend for a great piece for a little money. Much nicer than other similar products on market (assemble yourself)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Easy to assemble

03/29/2009
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new bookshelf! I have put together several pieces of furniture over the last 20 years... this bookshelf by far was the easiest and quickest. It looks great too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Exactly what we needed

03/31/2009
By ,
Monroe, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very simple to put together. It is very sturdy. We love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Very nice bookcase

03/20/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookcase was amazingly easy to put together. The two sides and back are hinged together and the bottom 2 "shelves" (above and below the doors) have metal brackets that fit snugly down into metal brackets on the sides to give the bookcase stability. The top sits on dowel rods and then has retaining pins to hold it on. As for the person who said it was flimsy and a safety risk--it also comes with safety brackets to anchor it to the wall.
It's very well built and to look at it you would never guess it is walmart furniture! I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Value!!

09/22/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a beautiful bookcase. The finish is very rich and expensive looking, the shelves are deep enough to hold 2 rows of books each, and my husband put it together in about 20 minutes. We've already received a lot of compliments on it, and no one can believe it came from Wal-Mart! We are very satisfied with this purchase, and with the Canopy 6 drawer dresser as well. I want to order more furniture soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
09/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we really like the bookcase - We use it in our living room as an entertainment center. we also have the end tables. The quality is outstanding and very nice to look at. FYI - its in a very large box :) and heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
03/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased the tv stand and the 2 towers as a group and it is simply beautiful.. I love it and it makes the livingroom. It was very very simple to assemble and was well packed. i was quited surprised at the quality of this product considering the price. Very good purchase for the price , i am sure you couldn't find any better.... It is cheaper if you buy it in the group package and it is really beautiful together....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Excellent

09/12/2010
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is beautiful and was easy to put together. It is partially assembled when it arrives. It has nice deep shelves and is sturdy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 51 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Very Good Buy

06/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easily and quickly put together. Has a nice cherry finish (hard to tell by some photos)...and it's real wood. Hides wires well and looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Easy as 123

11/02/2010
By ,
Newark, De
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid wood construction. Packaged well for shipping
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

We finally found what we want!

12/06/2010
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had plan to have a library set:2 bookshelves with a tv stand. We couldn't make up our mind either b/c of the price or the quality. But we are happy now we finally found what we want.
We got the tv stand free shipping to home arrived early, but the bookshelves charges almost $100 arrived 1 week after the tv stand.
The set up was easy, instruction is easy to follow. The bookshelves is tall. To be safe, we nail on the wall to make sure the bookshelves won't fall off, and I believe this is the most difficult part of the set up.
The whole set made from real wood. It worth the price compare to some other brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Nice piece

06/09/2009
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought the bookshelves and the tv stand to make an entertainment center. Overall, the furniture is great quality for the price, easy to put together, and looks great. Also, plenty of storage! The only complaint I have is that the depth of the bookshelves is not the same depth of the tv stand. We wanted to put our electronics up high on the bookshelves to keep little hands from using them as toys but our stereo/dvd system hangs off the ends a couple of inches. It is a Sony with a wireless adapter that has to be plugged in the back so this is the reason why it hangs over, but if you are considering using this as entertainment center furniture, just make sure to measure. If I had thought about it and checked beforehand, I would have known, but we're dealing with it. A small sacrifice to keep the equipment safe. I would give it 5 stars if both the bookshelves and tv stand were the same depth since they do suggest this setup as an option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 55 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

more like a media cabinet than a bookcase

08/04/2009
By ,
Monterey Country, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this item because it was listed as a bookcase. But once I started unpacking it I could see that it is designed more as a media cabinet. There is a hole in the back and cut outs at the back of all of the shelves for wires and cables. There is a weight limit on the shelves that probably is too low for the the books that would fit.
It is a beautiful piece of furniture, though and I didn't have any trouble putting it together by myself. Canopy furniture is well packed, well labled and has good instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 56 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
08/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought the whole set. VERY happy with the appearence and super easy to assemble!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 57 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Nice bookcase

03/30/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bookcase, like all of the Canopy products, was designed with the home buyer in mind. The box fit in our mini-van. It requires only a hammer to put together. It is not flimsy. It has just the features and dimensions that make it useful and versatile. The finish is nice, but not perfect, so the included marker is useful. The choice of knobs make the furniture adaptable to more formal or more country-like decor. No shipping with ship to store option makes it economical (read cheaper).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 58 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Nice Product

06/16/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the box and it was missing one shelf....that seems like a big thing to miss, but I called and they are sending out a replacement and it should be here in 5-7 business days. Overall I am happy, my husband was worried it was a cheap piece of fiberboard but was impressed with the quality. I am happy because I can fit all of my board games in the bottom so they are out of site. It looks good and is functional!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 59 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Not the best of the Canopy set

08/08/2009
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have previously purchased the media center and the desk which I was very pleased with, especially the media center. Although these are a good value, look good and were easy to assemble, they have a couple of design flaws.
I purshased two of them and one of them the back leg splintered when I moved it after assembly. It not visible and doesn't cause structural problems, so I I didn't return it. Basically, the hinge for the back panel was screwed in too close to the outside of the upright. The other problem is the doors don't hang straight and the bottom shelf over the doors tends to pop out of it mounts if you move it or even when opening and closing the doors. This occurs on both of the cabinets.
I was impressed that the back panel is wood. When I saw the seam in the pictures, I thought it would be one of those cheap paperboard panels that you tack onto the back of the furniture. Instead, the sides and back are shipped as one piece that fold out accordian style. I was impressed with the design, but not the shoddy assembly that caused the back leg to splinter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

a little disappointed

07/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it popped right of the box and was a breeze to put together. HOWEVER the shelves are not solid wood like we had been led to believe. they were particle board. the look fine BUT there is a line down the middle where the bookcase folds out for assembly. it is not too noticeable once you get books on the shelves. HINT there are levelers on the legs that help to make things line up right. these are barely mentioned but proved to be an important part of the assembly process. my least favorite piece in the line-we have the desk, file cabinet and the tv stand. they all look nice and serve our needs for an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 96 total reviews