Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
4.343 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%100 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Good Quality and Great Looking

06/09/2009
By ,
Sugar Land, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book shelf is very easy to assemble. My husband is a carpenter, and he was amazed at the design, and how easy it is to put the pieces together, and still look like a expensive shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 42 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Value!!

09/22/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a beautiful bookcase. The finish is very rich and expensive looking, the shelves are deep enough to hold 2 rows of books each, and my husband put it together in about 20 minutes. We've already received a lot of compliments on it, and no one can believe it came from Wal-Mart! We are very satisfied with this purchase, and with the Canopy 6 drawer dresser as well. I want to order more furniture soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
11/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book Shelf fits our need perfectly. It’s an outstanding value, easy to assemble, and looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 44 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
09/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we really like the bookcase - We use it in our living room as an entertainment center. we also have the end tables. The quality is outstanding and very nice to look at. FYI - its in a very large box :) and heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Beautiful and easy to put together

02/26/2010
By ,
Nashua, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing a lot of research for new bedroom furniture, I chose Canopy products from Walmart. Mostly based on price and the other customer reviews of the products I ended up purchasing. This bookcase is great quality for the price. It went together so easy. I would guess it took me about 30 minutes total. It looks beautiful and I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Exceeded expectations

12/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching everywhere for a desk set for our office. I needed something that would work for the whole family. The kids need a homework space and my husband and I need a place to work and file. I was looking at Pottery Barn Writer's Desk when I came upon this while searching online. I've never ordered from Walmart, but after reading the reviews and seeing that this furniture was made of wood, I decided to go for it. The value was incredible. So... it is now set up, in my house, and it is BEAUTIFUL!! It is HEAVY, real wood, the stain is beautiful, the drawers and construction is solid. I'm truly amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great value

06/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful piece. Easy to put together. They even provide a touch up stick for future scratches and a tether to mount the bookcase to the wall for safety. Good quality for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 48 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

We finally found what we want!

12/06/2010
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had plan to have a library set:2 bookshelves with a tv stand. We couldn't make up our mind either b/c of the price or the quality. But we are happy now we finally found what we want.
We got the tv stand free shipping to home arrived early, but the bookshelves charges almost $100 arrived 1 week after the tv stand.
The set up was easy, instruction is easy to follow. The bookshelves is tall. To be safe, we nail on the wall to make sure the bookshelves won't fall off, and I believe this is the most difficult part of the set up.
The whole set made from real wood. It worth the price compare to some other brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Looks good with matching TV stand

01/17/2009
By ,
Greensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this bookcase along with the matching TV stand in Chestnut Finish. They blend well with our dark oak furniture. It took about 1 1/2 hours to build both pieces. They are a steal for the quality and price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Clutter-buster

06/13/2009
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these bookcases to make "homes" for daughter's games, puzzles, books, etc in our living room area. Also purchased 4 baskets for the bottom shelves above the cabinet doors. The bookcase is easy to assemble, although helpful to have two adults on hand. The appearance is that of solid wood, definitely NOT cheapo "assembly required" quality. We are very happy with our purchase, and will be purchasing the bench, and possibly tables from this line. Great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Excellent

09/12/2010
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is beautiful and was easy to put together. It is partially assembled when it arrives. It has nice deep shelves and is sturdy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 52 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Better than expected

11/27/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easier to assemble than I expected, nice appearance,well built, hopefully will hold up well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 53 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Compliments Canopy Console Table

04/20/2009
By ,
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 bookcases with the Canopy console table in the middle. Makes a great entertainment center. One of the bookcase doors doesn't fit just right, it closes but is a few mms higher than the other bottom coor. But we are used to it and no one will notice. Nice and wide bookcases to hold lots. I couldn't believe one held our entire album collection in the bottom. Nice for large living room. Extremely easy to "put" together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 54 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

more like a media cabinet than a bookcase

08/04/2009
By ,
Monterey Country, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this item because it was listed as a bookcase. But once I started unpacking it I could see that it is designed more as a media cabinet. There is a hole in the back and cut outs at the back of all of the shelves for wires and cables. There is a weight limit on the shelves that probably is too low for the the books that would fit.
It is a beautiful piece of furniture, though and I didn't have any trouble putting it together by myself. Canopy furniture is well packed, well labled and has good instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 55 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
03/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very satisfied with this product. Easy to assemble and looked much better than the picture. Used it in my office and it was well received.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 56 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

a little disappointed

07/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it popped right of the box and was a breeze to put together. HOWEVER the shelves are not solid wood like we had been led to believe. they were particle board. the look fine BUT there is a line down the middle where the bookcase folds out for assembly. it is not too noticeable once you get books on the shelves. HINT there are levelers on the legs that help to make things line up right. these are barely mentioned but proved to be an important part of the assembly process. my least favorite piece in the line-we have the desk, file cabinet and the tv stand. they all look nice and serve our needs for an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
04/26/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to essemble. I looks wonderful and long lasting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Good, but not great....

05/04/2008
By ,
Tomball, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought the desk that goes with this and was happier with the desk. The bookcase is good, but lacks the refinement of the desk. I did not notice and "press board" on the desk, but did on the bookcase. Still, for the price (which would be a LOT more for a wood bookcase of this size at a furniture store), it is a nice piece of furniture and looks good with the desk (and end table) in my study.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 59 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Very easy to put together!!

12/07/2008
By ,
Apex, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this bookshelf today and by far this is probably one of the easiest pieces of furniture I have ever had to put together. You don't need any tools and it only took us approx 30 min or a little longer to put together. Looks great w/ the baskets that you can purchase seperate. Definitely reccommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 60 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Nice-looking bookshelf

01/30/2009
By ,
midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bookshelf is easy to assemble for the most part. The instructions were very easy to follow. I was already familiar with the process having purchased the endtables weeks before. They went together very well.
The factory-installed hardware could be better screwed to the frame than what it was. (It wasn't square with the wood.) This made it more difficult to attach some of the stationary shelves to the main frame of the bookshelf.
Had it all been square and level, the assembling would've taken minutes. Instead it took about 30-40 minutes with some twisting and prying.
All in all, I do like the bookshelf and it's durability. It's also set up for electronics which I wasn't aware of when I bought it. There is a cut-out in the back of each shelf making it possible to run cords all the way to the bottom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 96 total reviews