Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canopy Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
4.343 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%100 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

mixed

07/31/2009
By ,
Sparta, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was just the right height, width, and depth for our nook. It arrived in excellent shape. All the parts were there, and the first read of the instructions seemed simple enough. Inserting the bottom and second shelf in the upright position and with help did not go well. We were unable the get all four brackets to slide into the hooks. Attempts to get the fourth pracket to slide into the hook was never successful and even with replacement shelves had the same problem. Support was called and they suggested assembling bookcase lying on its back. Still same problem. I would not order if I knew what I know now.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Exceeded expectations

12/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching everywhere for a desk set for our office. I needed something that would work for the whole family. The kids need a homework space and my husband and I need a place to work and file. I was looking at Pottery Barn Writer's Desk when I came upon this while searching online. I've never ordered from Walmart, but after reading the reviews and seeing that this furniture was made of wood, I decided to go for it. The value was incredible. So... it is now set up, in my house, and it is BEAUTIFUL!! It is HEAVY, real wood, the stain is beautiful, the drawers and construction is solid. I'm truly amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Junk

04/01/2008
By ,
St. Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered 1 shelf to test the quality of the Canopy office furniture, and I'm glad we did. The box showed no damage, but the shelf frame has fallen apart in the box. In addition, one of the doors has major scratches from shipping, and a couple of the shelves had minor damage. The shelves were engineered board covered with veneer. I guess that qualifies as wood, but in my book it's press board.
In short, we were very dissapointed, and will send the furniture back. I guess if you ordered 4-5 shelves you could probably but together 1 perfect shelf, but it's not worth my time. Buyer beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 24 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Very nice bookcase

03/20/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookcase was amazingly easy to put together. The two sides and back are hinged together and the bottom 2 "shelves" (above and below the doors) have metal brackets that fit snugly down into metal brackets on the sides to give the bookcase stability. The top sits on dowel rods and then has retaining pins to hold it on. As for the person who said it was flimsy and a safety risk--it also comes with safety brackets to anchor it to the wall.
It's very well built and to look at it you would never guess it is walmart furniture! I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

A great value

08/08/2010
By ,
Laramie, WY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bookcase along with the matching dresser and night stands. I am really impressed with all the pieces. My only comment about the book case is that the back is not a solid piece, it is a folded piece of wood. The other pieces honestly look like they could be from a mall furniture store, but I do think the back of the book case looks a little cheap. However, I still think this set is a great value, and as soon as I finish decorating the shelves, the back of the bookcase will not show. I would definitely recommend this set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Beyond expectations

02/28/2009
By ,
Oak Hill, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot believe how easy it was to put this together! It took less than 30 minutes from opening the box to putting books on the shelf. It is amazing even the doors went on easy. The thing is solid wood with nearly no particle board and very sturdy for its price. It even handles all my anatomy and medical books without bowing. I recommend this product without hesitation. I am very satisfied and will certainly purchase more canopy products in the future!
ps It even came with a touch up marker if you happen to scratch it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Good value if not damaged

07/19/2010
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 2 of these. The boxes came via fedex with extra corner protectors. The outside of the box looked fine. However, the inside was a joke. Some pieces were severely scratched and others were completely broken into multiple pieces. The inside is tightly packed so I find it difficult it was damaged during shipping. Hopefully, Sauder will replace the broken parts. I cannot see myself taking two tall bookcases that weigh 113 pounds back to walmart. Had I known that Canopy is really Sauder I would not have ordered them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Good bookcase but has assemble problems

07/25/2009
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good looking bookcase... but the assemble was really a problem. Holes didn't line up, and the way in which it's constructed wasn't the best design. We also had to saw one of the shelves in order for it to fit. It's sturdy now, but not the best I've seen. All in all I like the bookcase. It's really appealing in appearance and fits well into my spare room. I will recommend this product, however I think the designer need to go and gets some tips from IKEA on how to make funiture easier to asssemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

high quality!!

04/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised to get these nice solid wood bookcases. We bought two of these with the tv stand to make an entertainment center and we are very impressed. My husband was skeptical, but he even admitted that he really loves how they look and how solid they are. I put them together myself, but it would have been easier with a helper. I really like the fact that they come with self-levelers on the legs. Overall my family is absolutely thrilled with the quality and look of this furniture!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 30 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

A good product to have

01/03/2010
By ,
South Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I work from home ... specifically from my office in our bedroom. I needed storage space without making the space look like an office. I used an old (but beautiful) desk and flanked it with these bookcases. The look of the old and new together looks like a picture from a magazine!
I was skeptical when I first brought the boxes home. But set up was easy ... I took extra time in assembling them ... and in the end the quality is really nice.
I am considering other pieces in the Canopy line as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Clutter-buster

06/13/2009
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these bookcases to make "homes" for daughter's games, puzzles, books, etc in our living room area. Also purchased 4 baskets for the bottom shelves above the cabinet doors. The bookcase is easy to assemble, although helpful to have two adults on hand. The appearance is that of solid wood, definitely NOT cheapo "assembly required" quality. We are very happy with our purchase, and will be purchasing the bench, and possibly tables from this line. Great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Nice bookcase

03/30/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bookcase, like all of the Canopy products, was designed with the home buyer in mind. The box fit in our mini-van. It requires only a hammer to put together. It is not flimsy. It has just the features and dimensions that make it useful and versatile. The finish is nice, but not perfect, so the included marker is useful. The choice of knobs make the furniture adaptable to more formal or more country-like decor. No shipping with ship to store option makes it economical (read cheaper).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Very good but not great

06/03/2009
By ,
Downey California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bookcase looks very good. It was easy to put together.It had a few areas that the color did not cover the surface but it did include a touch up marker. One of the shelves arrived broken. I called the 1-800 number and they replaced the shelf and shipped it UPS. Bottom line it is still pressed wood. It you are careful around it it will last forever. If you like real wood you will have to compromise to own it. I love the "chestnut" color.I feel it is worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 34 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Looks great at a great price

11/15/2010
By ,
Asheville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered two of these. The main piece of one of them arrived broken but the help support for the manufactor immediately shipped out a new one with no problem or questions. The bookcase only has five steps to assemble; easiest assembly for a piece of furniture we've ever done. This is the third piece of Canopy furniture we've bought and get many complements on them. They look like much more expensive furniture for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Fantastic piece of furniture!

04/23/2008
By ,
Pomona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When shopping for room furnishings, space efficiency was my number one priority. My room is 9.5' x 10' (which technically is smaller than a jail cell!) so with this product being only 30" wide, it packs a lot of stuff! I have my printer, my sound system control, a few decorative pieces, books, on the shelves; and a LOT of dvds and cds in the bottom cabinet area. This piece truly took me by surprise! I would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Compliments Canopy Console Table

04/20/2009
By ,
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 bookcases with the Canopy console table in the middle. Makes a great entertainment center. One of the bookcase doors doesn't fit just right, it closes but is a few mms higher than the other bottom coor. But we are used to it and no one will notice. Nice and wide bookcases to hold lots. I couldn't believe one held our entire album collection in the bottom. Nice for large living room. Extremely easy to "put" together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 37 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
12/28/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product more than met my expectations. It was of high quality and was so easy to put together. In fact, I have never purchased any other piece of furniture that required assembly that was as easy to put together as this product was. I also purchased the TV stand to go with these bookcases and it was equally easy to assemble. I think that it would be hard to match the quality, ease of assembly and price anywhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish
03/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased the tv stand and the 2 towers as a group and it is simply beautiful.. I love it and it makes the livingroom. It was very very simple to assemble and was well packed. i was quited surprised at the quality of this product considering the price. Very good purchase for the price , i am sure you couldn't find any better.... It is cheaper if you buy it in the group package and it is really beautiful together....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Arrived in pieces

04/12/2009
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I think that this would have been a nice piece of furniture, however, it was extremely poorly packed for shipping. There are a number of pieces with hinges on them and attached to the corresponding piece (the hinges are not taken off and attached at assembly) and where every hinge was attached the wood was totally split. There was no way to salvage anything. It was returned, thankfully without hassle, to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
0points
Review 40 for Canopy Tall 4-Shelf Bookcase with Doors, Chestnut Finish

Great Value!!

09/22/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a beautiful bookcase. The finish is very rich and expensive looking, the shelves are deep enough to hold 2 rows of books each, and my husband put it together in about 20 minutes. We've already received a lot of compliments on it, and no one can believe it came from Wal-Mart! We are very satisfied with this purchase, and with the Canopy 6 drawer dresser as well. I want to order more furniture soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 96 total reviews