Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The Host

The Host

The author of the #1-bestselling Twilight series delivers her brilliant first novel for adults that's also suitable for teen readers: a gripping story of love and betrayal in a future with the fate of humanity at stake, featuring what may be the first love triangle involving only two bodies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(123 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%118 out of 123reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Host

Intense!!!

09/18/2009
By ,
Maysville, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is now one of my favorite!!!
Yes, it starts out slow and confusing but stick with it, you won't be disappointed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Host

As good as Twilight Saga!

09/27/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently became obsessed with the Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer, so I was wondering if The Host would be just as good. I wasn't sure, but I ordered it anyway. Once you figure out who is talking when in the first couple of chapters (I was sick when I was doing it so it made it a little difficult to follow) the book flows seemlessly. I quickly became engulfed with the desire to keep reading and I did not want to put it down. I don't know what it is about her writing, but she has the capability to draw you in and keep you wanting more. I do not know if she plans to do any sequels to this one, but she wraps it up nice and neat at the end. You will be satisfied with the conclusion and not worried if you are waiting for the next one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Host

OMG!

06/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all of the Twilight Saga in 6 days, so when I heard that Stephanie Meyer had another book published, I practially went 500 m.p.h. to get to Wal*Mart. I expected the book to be near good, but when i got into the book, I couldn't get out. Honestly, this book kept me up all night reading it. I know this might be really hard to believe, but in ways it is so much better than the Twilight Saga. I just can't believe how amazing this book is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Host

Great Story!! Loved it!!

03/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stephenie Meyer has written yet another exceptional novel that captures your attention from the first page to the very last. I read the previous reviews prior to purchasing this book and I don't understand why others felt the first half was confusing. If you love romance mixed with suspense this novel will keep you up late at night and leave you wanting more when your finished.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Host

Stephenie Meyer does not disapoint!!

11/18/2008
By ,
Dunkirk, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will admit that I love Stephenie Meyer from her Twilight series so I had some pretty high expectations when I ordered this book and I was not disappointed! The book starts slow, the first 50 pages or so are kind of confusing but it's trying to set you up in this whole new science fiction world that you're not familiar with so that's understandable. After that, I flew through every page because I just couldn't put it down! I would recommend this book to anyone who like romance because although this is a sci-fi it really does focus on relationships. Great book!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Host

A great read

05/30/2008
By ,
Wells, ME USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another must-read from Stephenie Meyer. This book is everything a first in a series should be. It stands alone as a great story with sufficient resolution, yet leaves just enough unresolved to invite the reader back for the next round. I'm greatly anticipating the rest of the story.
Stephenie Meyer is a wonderful storyteller. This book has a perfect blend of drama and action that I find captivating. The character development is superb. The story is inherently personal- not a story of big alien warships bombing the earth, but of individuals being inhabited one by one, which leads well into a personal story of individuals coming to terms with their new post-invasion world and their own humanity.
The first bit of the book is a little slow as she introduces the reader to the new world. Not boring slow, just not quite can't-put-it-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Host

Another Spectacular Book

05/16/2008
By ,
Oviedo, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the Twilight saga and love it to death, stephanie meyer is a great writer and i cant wait to see what kind of behind the scenes things she puts on her web site for this book.
I wasnt expecting the book to be quite that big but i am glad it was because i enjoyed every page. She writes that its a science fiction book for those who dont like science fiction and she's right. I loved this book, Wander was amazing.
Think about it as Invasion of the Body Snatchers from the alien point of view and you got the basis for this book. But the way she writes it is so much better than that.
I dont know if there will be a sequal to this novel. But if there is i will be waiting as soon as the book store openes.
i would recomend this book to anyone who loved Twiligh, New Moon, and Eclipse becuase its another great book from the great writer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Host

Something a lil diff than the normal

06/07/2009
By ,
Hbg PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally sought this book out bc of reading the twilight series. I love Stephanie's writing and was hungry for more. When I went to her website and saw her newest addition I had to try it. Usually I read the summary of a book before reading so that I can determine if its something I would be into, but this I dove right into all bc it was something she wrote. Well the book is not something I would normally read. Its a science fiction book with her own lil love twist. I am into the vampires and fantasy creatures but aliens is really not my thing. When I read the first couple of chapters I was skeptical and worried that I wasnt going to like it. But a lil further in I saw I was hooked and once again Stephanie delivered an awesome book!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Host

Not Stephenie's Best

02/24/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Don't expect this to be like Twilight. This book starts off with a complicated plot. I almost stopped reading it, but since I loved the Twilight Saga, I thought I should give it a change. This story takes FOREVER to develop, but once it does (more than halfway through) the story is pretty good. This book took me a lot longer to read since it felt like a drag to get throught the first half. If you stick with it, the story will pay off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Host
08/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
honestly i loved it i will admit it was a little confusing at first but if you keep reading you realize it adds to the exitement of wanting to keep reading and in the end i wanted a sequal i truely recomend it all fans of Stephenie Meyer should read "The Host"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Host

Worth the wait

05/12/2008
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a HUGE (adult) fan of Meyers Twilight saga, I waited eagerly for the release of her new novel "The Host". NOTE: THIS BOOK IS NOT TWILIGHT, anyone who picks it up thinking it will be, is going to be disapointed. However, it is a good book. It starts off a little slow in an effort to give the back story, but dont give up, it picks up and is an interesting read.
"Souls" (the aliens) take over the human race and live in a utopian society. But, the main character, Wanderer just can't seem to escape the thoughts of her host, Melanie. Melanie doesn't just dissapear like a host should. Instead she lives on in Wanderer's head, sharing her most beautiful memories about lost love and family. Soon the soul finds herself in love with the host's family and sets out to find them. Conflict and turmoil ensue. Confusing love triangles form and interesting sceanarios play out.
I did enjoy this book and have recomended it to friends already. It's a great way to pass time while waiting for breaking dawn! The Characters that Stephenie Meyer creates are vivid and each really has a very unique personality. I would really recommend anything Meyer has published, (Twilight, New Moon, Eclipise, and The Host). I know Im hooked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Host
02/26/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read Twilight saga books and love them. I saw this one at the library and tried to read it. At first I couldn't, an alien taken over a human's body. Evil. Horrible. The stuff of people's nightmares. At least mine, so I could not get into it. After two weeks of putting it down and picking it up, I did the unthinkable. I read the ending first and took myself out the way. Iwas hooked. Wanda is not evil. She is one the kindest, sweetest most unselfish souls there is, and we as humans should strive to be like her. I took the book back to the library and bought the book online so Icould it read over and over. I hope the rest of the series comes out and now I want to see the movie when it comes out. Thanks Stephanie Meyers for a great book. I recommeded it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Host

I hate this book.

01/29/2009
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After finishing the Twilight Saga August 2008, I bought this book because of all of the good reviews. Surprisingly, I did not like this book at all. I literally fell asleep reading it. It's like the same thing is happening and the story doesn't pick up at all for like 200 pages. I didn't even bother finishing this book because of how boring it is. I gave it to my mother as a Christmas gift just to get rid of the book. I do NOT recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Host

not what i expected

03/13/2009
By ,
Ray"ville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When i saw this book and saw it was catigorized as sci-fi I didnt want to give it a chance. I kept passing it over. I couldnt find anything to read or do so I thought i would give it a chance since i loved the twilight books. It was more than what i expected. I couldnt put it down and thats hard to do when you have four kids. the plot was good and there was always something to keep me reading a little longer. And when you thought there was no hope it surprises you in the end. I loved it and kicked myself for waiting so long to read it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Host

Just as good as The Twilight Saga

01/31/2010
By ,
Bentonville,AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book in the first few chapters were a bit confusing, but once you get a sense of who's pov you are reading from, it's turns out to be a really good story. The book ended well, while also leaving you with an urge to want more! If you are getting this book in hopes that it's like Twilight, don't because it's far from it! I'm not sure why she considers this her first "adult novel" though..there was hardly any romance.....Twilight had waaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy more romance! But overall, it's a good read!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Host

Very Good Book

12/08/2008
By ,
Weatherby, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all of the Twilight Series and was very excited when I saw Stephanie Meyer had written the host. I had read an excerpt from it on her website, and was hooked. I went to walmart one day, saw it, and picked it up. When I started reading it, I could not put it down. The conflicts between the characters give suspense and wierdness lol to the book. Once you figure out who is speaking in the beginning, you really get into it. I really recommend this book to EVERYONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Host

Phenomenal

05/26/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, I didn't necessarily have high expectations for this book, but I was more than pleasantly surprised by the Host.
It can't be described as anything less than a gem. The writing is much better than anything I've seen from her thus far, and the plot is nothing less than epic, with twists in all directions.
I would recommend reading this only when you have a lot of free time on your hands, because it's long (619 pages in all), but nothing short of a page-turner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Host

Great Book

03/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge Twilight fan, so naturally when Stephenie Meyer came out with The Host I had to read it. This book is not what I expected, although I wasn't really sure what to expect. If you liked what Stephenie Meyer did with Twilight you will like The Host. It didn't get very far into the story when I became enthralled by this book. I simply could not put it down until I finished reading it. I highly recommend this book, great characters, great story, great ending!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Host
02/26/2009
By ,
Clarksburg, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've not actually read the book yet, but it has arrived and is sitting on the shelf. This is actually the first time I've been perturbed at Wal-Mart's packaging. The book jacket is all askew and ripped in a place. When I buy a brand-new book, I like it to look brand new. As I love all of SM's other works, I'm sure that I'll enjoy this book as well. Wal-Mart is definitely the best place to buy books. I much prefer the price and ease of walmart. com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Host

Excellent book!

02/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never really been into reading, I thought it was boring. That is not the case with this book! It was a little hard to get into at the beginning but about 1/4 of the way through, I did not want to put it down. Everything was so easy to picture and play out in my head. When I was done and heard that there will be a movie made from it, it just made it 10 times better! I can't wait to read it again sometime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next