Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stamina Stamina InStride Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Stamina Stamina InStride Elliptical

The InStride Elliptical is as effective in burning calories as jogging but without the impact on back, knees, hips and ankles. The foot pedals can be worked in a forward or reverse direction. In forward motion, your quadriceps, buttocks, lower abdominal, hips and thighs are targeted. In reverse motion, your hamstrings, lower buttocks, hips, thighs, and calves are targeted. Since your feet never leave the pedals, the Stamina InStride Elliptical gives a low-impact workout that is easy on your joints.
Average Customer Rating:
3.29 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation68%73 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Great for the Vertically Challenged!

03/16/2008
By ,
Providence, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this elliptical about two weeks ago, and I have used it almost everyday for 20-30 minutes each session. It was easy to put together. Took about an hour, solo. Worked great out of the box, and not product issues.
The first few times using it, it was very awkward and my knees hurt from trying to figure out how to get a smooth movement. By the third session, however, I realized that the stride length is actually more like a stairmaster, and then I was able to alter how I worked out to fit the stride. I tend to be very bouncy, so this works great for me. It may not be great for those who have smooth, flowy.
I look forward to my workouts, because it really works your legs, even at no resistance. I think it's because of the stride length. I get pretty sweaty, and have lost a few pounds, so I'm happy with it. It is also very small, and lightweight, but not wobbly. You can adjust it if it does rock a little.
All in all, this is probably the best $100 I've spent in quite a while!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

What a waste of money!!!!

01/13/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine is a piece of poorly constructed junk, and I didn't even get it put together to use.
When constructing this piece of ecquipment the foot pedals attach to the body of the machine then rest on two wheels attached to the front legs. The front legs have two ways in which they can be installed, one which leaves the wheels at a lower level than the rest of the casement, thereby rendering the machine inoperable. The other way leaves them slightly above ground level, but too far out for the foot pedals to be able to rest upon them, once again rendering the machine inoperable.
When buying any type of equipment that has been manufactured and packaged so the consumer can simply put them together and use them, there should be no need for the consumer to then have to drill their own holes into any part of it. I long for the days in which it took a couple of days to get equipment you wanted because they were hand made..... long live the machines my foot.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Nice little machine

02/06/2008
By ,
Vienna, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first bought this machine I weighed over 185 and my jeans were tight, since using this machine I have lost 8 pounds and my jeans are baggy and now I have to buy a size smaller. My husband loves how I look!
-
This machine was fairly easy to put together however you do have to make sure that you don't overtighten the screws and bolts (I did have to finish drilling a hole that wasn't completely drilled but that was no big deal to me.)
-
This machine is not like a full size elliptical though because the strides are different, this machine is more of a circular motion instead of elliptical. I am 5 foot 6 and I don't have any problems using it but like I said it's not a true elliptical motion. This is a light machine and is easy to move as well as easy to use.
-
It does give a great workout that you can feel in just a short period of time on the machine, I have Asthma and can only use mine for up to 10 minutes at a time before my asthma kicks up but I use it several times a day. The only thing that I don't like about this machine is that my feet keep sliding forwardon the petals and I have to wear shoes to workout on this machine.
-
I would recommed this machine for anyone who would like a good workout without alot of stress for an inexpensive price. I even use my machine while my husband is watching tv, it is very quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Good Value for the $$, but not what I needed

12/25/2007
By ,
Sutton, NE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is fairly easy to assemble by looking at the picture on the box. The actual instructions are not that easy to follow. I put one bar upside down and damaged my carpet. I finally figured out what I did wrong, fixed it, and now the machine works like it is meant to. This is a good product for anyone wanting to strengthen or shape up their calves and upper legs. I should have gotten something that was more suitable to the stomach as this is where my major problem is. I have actually gotten up to 3 minutes but I have forced myself to go this long. My usual limit is 2 minutes and sometimes that is pushing the envelope. I need to mention that I have severe heart trouble and got this machine because the cold temperature, snow, and similar bad weather, makes it very difficult for me to walk outside. My heart problem also reduces my stamina for working out on the machine. I try to do my "exercises" at least two or three times a day. This makes my doctor happy (because I am "walking"), but my legs don't appreciate the workout. I should have gotten a different machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 5 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Great Workout

11/27/2007
By ,
Pasadena, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a bargain for the amount of workout you can get out of this piece of equipment. It made my lower body sore. It definitely targets my problem areas such as the buns, thighs, lower abs and hips. It is low impact and has all the basic features like timer and calorie counter. It doesn't take up a lot of space in my living room. I like watching TV while doing my 30 minutes daily. It's good for jumpstarting my at home workout regimen again. I just terminated my gym membership since winter is upon us and I do not like having to drive to my gym after work when it's freezing cold at night. It is a good low impact workout for my parents when they come to visit because of the shorter stride. It was easy to assemble with parts that attached quickly without sweat. I would say this elliptical is good for people under 200 lbs. Since i'd imagine the sturdiness might not withstand people over 200 lbs. It might start to squeak and sway a bit since my son who is 240lbs tried it out. The pedal fits sneakers up to size 10. It was also available in store. I just got mine last night!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Inexpensive and gets the job done

01/30/2008
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because of the price, since all other elliptical machines are at least 2x as much. It was pretty easy to assemble, although we noticed that one of the "washers" used in the assembly was not included.
After using some pretty fancy elliptical machines at my university gym, it was a bit hard to get used to this product because the diameter of the stride is so short.
Also, the calorie counter is not very accurate because it doesn't take into account the user's weight, nor the intensity (or resistance) of the workout. Since I've found the calories burned reading to be pretty inaccurate, I mostly just look at the time indicator and measure my workouts by time instead.
Overall, it is enjoyable to use, but as other reviewers pointed out, it is for a pretty petite person. I'm 5'2" and feel that it is just my size. I couldn't imagine a 6'0" male feeling comfortable on this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Excellent Purchase

12/13/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first time I bought an elliptical, boy was it a big mistake. The thing was huge, I have short legs and the large stride was just to much for me. So it sat there unused from day one.
Then a few weeks ago I saw this beauty online and I bought it immediately hoping for the best. That's exactly what I got. Let me explain.
Assembly was a snap. It took me about one hour by myself. All tools were included. The elliptical itself was well made, sturdy and all pieces fit securely. And amazingly the machine is incredibly lightweight.
Using the elliptical I found the short stride was perfect for my short legs. The adjustable tension was great. The electronic counter was also a nice plus. Foot pedals are ample for large feet and it is also very quiet. Great size for a small room. If you are very tall and have regular to long legs, you may not like the short stride.
Finally I have a small note for heavy people. Im over weight, well over the weight limit of this machine. Even so it is built extremely well and of heavy guage steel. I find that it more than holds my weight with no feeling of instability.
That said please be carefull if you are very over weight and you decide to purchase this item. It has been very good to me, it may not hold up for you.
Exercise tip: If you have bad knees like I do, and it hurts on the down step while on the machine. Increase the tension till the down step becomes less intense. It makes a big difference and your knees will hurt less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

*~* LOVE IT *~*

03/12/2008
By ,
Bossier City, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this elliptical about 2 weeks ago...I use it for 30 minutes every night, as thats all my kids will alow me! I have definately noticed a difference in the way my clothes fit and my husband has noticed too! Dont get me wrong, I havent used it every night for 2 weeks, ive skipped a couple days here and there, but its still working. Like the other reviews say, it is smaller so taller people would be uncomfortable on it b/c of the short stride. And...heed the weight limit, please...altho my husband is below the weight limit, he got on it right after he put it together for me (which took him approx 20 minutes) and he broke one of the feet off! He was able to get it back together, but I wont allow him on it any more!! I have nothing negative to say about this product. However, if you are looking for a more upper body work out, this is not for you as the arms are stationary, but I just alternate swinging arms and hold on with the other, to get a better work out. Also, I dont think the calorie counter is very accurate, but thats okay, at least it tells you how far in miles you have gone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Not what you're expecting

01/31/2008
By ,
Peachtree City, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine disappointed me a great deal. I had no problems putting it together or with the cost. But after I assembled it, I gave it a try. To my surprise, the stride on it was awkward, to say the least. I'm only 5'4" and thought after reading the reviews that I wouldn't be affected by the short stride some wrote of. It was so uncomfortable and it killed my ankles. I am returning this and will be upgrading to the Stamina Airstride which specifies it has a stride length of 13". The Stamina Instride doesn't include the stride length in product specifications. I don't know the exact length of it. The only persons I could even imagine not being affected by the awkward stride would be anyone under 5'.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 10 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Not what I expected

01/03/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I got this product yesterday I was so excited that I started putting it together as soon as UPS dropped it off. The first part of the assembly was not a problem at all. Then when I got to putting the pedals on the track one pedal kept coming off the track when I would get on the machine. After that, I noticed that, the thing that tells how many calories you burn and how long you been on the machine, wouldn't fit onto the pole like it should. The instructions says to just slide it onto the pole, but that's impossible because there's no way to keep it on. Another problem is that, I'm 5'11 and the thing is so small that I'm hunched over trying to use it. This machine was not worth 74 dollars. After getting on it I realized that I am never going to use it because it's not steady and I don't feel comfortable while on it. I plan on taking it back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

AWESOME!!!

02/03/2008
By ,
GRETNA, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME BUYING AND TRYING AN ELIPTICAL MACHINE AND I AM IMPRESSED. THIS ITEM IS FANTASTIC. IT ALSO HAS THE BEST PRICE EVR. I'VE PURCHASED EXERCISE EQUIPMENT BEFORE AND NEVER GOT A WORKOUT LIKE THIS. IT WAS SO EASY TO ASSEMBLE. TOOK LESS THAN 30 MINUTES. IT'S EASY TO USE. I WAS WORRIED I WOULDN'T GET A TOTAL BODY WORKOUT BUT WAS WAY WRONG. IT DOES NOT TAKE LONG TO WORK UP A SWEAT. REMINDS ME OF PUSHING A HEAVY SHOPPING CART THROUGH WALMART. FEELS NATURAL!
ALSO IT FITS ITO SMALL SPACES IF YOU ARE WORRIED ABOUT ROOM. IT TAKES UP NO SPACE AT ALL.
I DO RECOMMEND WEARING FIRM GRIPPING, NON SLIPPING TENNIS SHOES OR CROCS WILL DO.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

good for beginning machine

01/22/2008
By ,
Arlington, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was easy to put together, you do have to pay attention to the bolt sizes. I put a couple in wrong and had to remove them. My fault, not the instructions. It has a very short stride so it is not as comfortable as the full size ones. It does work your thighs pretty hard. I am 5'3" and the handle bar is at the right height. My son is 6'2" and his finger tips rest on the bar. It seems pretty sturdy, I have used it every day for a week. I use it more than the full size one we did have because this one is small enought to leave in the living room where it taunts me to use it. Don't plan on using the calorie counter though, it will only discourage you. It is just an estimate, there's no way for it to take into consideration body size, type, condition or gender. The time, miles, and mph are nice to have. Overall this is a good machine for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Terrific

12/22/2007
By ,
Palm Coast FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved to Florida and left my big Elliptical Trainer up north. I wanted something smaller and this machine gets the job done. It has a shorter stride than the larger one, but it gives you a great workout. Really good value for the cost. Will fit just about any place. It took my husband a while to assemble, but the instructions were good. I never saw it in the store, but was able to learn what I needed to know off the Walmart web site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Pretty Good Deal

03/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price paid this was a good deal. Pretty easy to put together and doesn't take up too much space. Not real noisy either. You do need to have on tennis shoes when using or your feet will slid down to edge of foot peddle.
I'd say this is worth the money and is useful in helping to me loose pounds before Summer hits. I'm going to let my parents try it out to see if they want me to buy them one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Alright for a home Elliptical

10/14/2007
By ,
St. Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a bad machine - easily put together, sturdy. The calorie counter is off - a hard elliptical workout burns more than 15 calories! But it's a good machine for the price - I like being able to have an elliptical at home without the huge price tag. I'd recommend it for someone who wants a decent machine at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Great price for product

12/27/2007
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this for christmas, it's easy to use, and gets my heart pumping and I even have broken a sweat. It's compact so it's easy to store, will definitely be a good workout once I get more stamina. I would not reommend this for tall people though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Does the job

11/09/2007
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wished it had longer strides but it does the job. It doesn't take up too much space. I have a small living room and I have enough room to set it up in front of my TV and get a decent workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Great Results

03/28/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 5'4 and a small woman. I got up to 15 lbs. overweight. After riding this machine for 2 weeks for 30 minutes a day, I have lost 5 lbs. I love this machine & it is so easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 19 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

Good for the price paid

06/03/2008
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put it together in about an hour by myself with no problems (and I'm not the best at putting things together!).
The only problem that I had with this product is that the right arm would not screw in all the way, and came off the track twice while I was working out. After spraying it with WD-40, it screwed in properly and had no problems during subsequent work outs.
The calorie count is not accurate, but the distance seems to be on target. The resistance crank is a bit noisy, but not a problem. The elliptical is quiet enough for me to work out while watching TV at a medium volume.
Overall, this is a great product for the price (less than $100!). It is also so small that it fits great in my apartment's small living room. I'm excited to get in shape with this elliptical!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Stamina InStride Elliptical

great piece of equipment for low-budget

01/21/2008
By ,
Piqua, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this elliptical trainer is great for someone looking to buy exercise equipment. i'm a personal trainer and i was looking for something for my wife and i to use for cardio, but i didn't want to spend $500 on better quality ellptical until i was sure we'd use it. now that i have this, and i know we will use it, i don't mind spending the extra money. i recommend getting this as a "test". inexpensive compared to other equipment, pretty easy to use / put together, and will be great hand-me down to a friend or family member when i decide to upgrade.
only downfalls - no programs built in, manual adjustment tension, no arm movement, a little rougher ride than i had hoped for.
overall - worth the money, especially as an "intro" or "stepping stone"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next