Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stamina Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Stamina Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Getting in shape in a few weeks is as simple as spending a little time everyday working on the Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper. It not only gives a great low-impact, calorie burning, cardiovascular workout, but tones the calves, buttocks, thighs, and hips, too. With two adjustable hydraulic cylinders, this stepper provides a smooth stepping motion. The Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper handlebars are covered with foam to provide a comfortable grip while working out. The electronic monitor helps you keep track of the number of steps per minute, the total number of steps during workout, the total workout time, and the amount of calories burned. The rubber floor protectors are skid-resistant, thus keep the equipment securely in place. This Stamina gym equipment can easily be folded with just a pull of a pin and stored even under the bed. Featuring a heavy-duty steel frame, this Stamina folding stepper will serve efficiently for many years together.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
44
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%159 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
44
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Exercise equipment

12/02/2012
By ,
Shillington PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together.....and use.....part broken when package opened.....crushed knob......can't determine by diagrams what the knob is for......email sent to manufacturer.....waiting for reply!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

02/24/2011
By ,
Fountain, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This item was fairly easy to assemble, with understandable instructions, and it folds nicely and compactly for storage. I also like that it does not take up a lot of space-just about 2.5 ft by 1.5 ft of floor space when it's open.
I am not impressed, however, with the tension of the steps, or the computerized monitor. The monitor is supposed to count your steps and keep the time, but resets to zero if you change your pace, lean sideways, forward or backward on the machine, or otherwise misstep somehow. Your time and step count just go back to zero, and you start over. I even had the company send a new monitor, which is not much better than the monitor that came in the box. Part of this, I'm sure, is because the machine, overall, is tipsy, which must somehow affect the monitor. I know it's not an expensive machine, but I still expect the parts to work, and I don't like the floppiness of it. Other than the monitor, it does work, and will do the job when you have nothing else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Somewhat helpful

04/13/2011
By ,
DeLand, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had hoped to be able to use this regularly every day (especially for cardiac reasons) but, for some reason the right hand side "CNT, TIME and CAL quit working after a few days. All 0's stay lite up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Finally!! Perfect for mommy

09/01/2009
By ,
Sierra Foothills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm one of the those super researchers who look at all the reviews, stats, etc.. trying to find the "best" product for the best price, esp. when I decided it was time reclaim my pre-pregnancy body. Before kids, I used a step machine and was in great shape, so when I saw the stamina stepper that folds away I went for it.
I must say, after 3 weeks of using it, I'm getting back in touch with my inner hottie! This stepper felt strange after the first few strides - but the air had to fill up first and then you get the good resistance.
I love that it folds so small I can slide it under my bed and my husband doesn't even know I bought it! ;)
BTW I put it together myself, in all of 10mins.
I'm so happy with this purchase, I just watch TV alternate from a lower squat step position (leaning over the bars) for deep glute burn and then up on my toes for calf and front thigh burning.
After 30 mins I'm dripping sweat and my tush has gained some serious altitude.
Moms who like to watch TV, need to get back in shape, have limited space, and/or cheap husbands -- this is the winning combo.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Does what it says

03/26/2008
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read others reviews I was alittle concerned if I should buy it or not. Because others said it hurt there knees, wasn't easy to put away etc...But I went ahead and it is a great machine. Its small so it fits anywhere. It gives you a good work out, and it is very easy to use. I excersice 5 times a week around 30 to 40 min a day and have since I was a teen ager....I'm very happy with the stairstepper. My 13 yer old daughter even uses it to excersice...at first it was something she just wanted to try out....you know how kids are, now she uses it reg. as well. The only thing at first was the monitor, that tells your time and steps would go off and on. I noticed that if your excersicing and you lean to one side instead of keeping the machine flat on the ground, your time will restart. It was frustrating at first but once I figured it out, I haven't had a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

great value

02/01/2010
By ,
bluefield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tierd of being the mom who never lost her baby weight, so after reading many consumer reports on the subject I made the decision to get a stair stepper. I have had this machine around 3 months now and let me tell you that there is not a single day I have regreted the decision. I usually do this 2 to 3 times a week for about 30 to 45 mins a time and i have lost 14 pounds and its staying off. I simple set it up when my 9 month old takes her nap and my 5 yr. old is in school and watch tv while doing this. I would compare it to walking up a hill made of sand on your tip toes, the adjustablity is awsome for those days when your feeling a little more adventurous. It would not fit under my bed however I have a low profile frame because the bed is so thick I did not really expect it too but it folds away so into a small space it fits behind my couch. I have hard wood floors all throughout my home so I did experience a small problem with it reseting and being wobbly however a foam mat I had in my kitchen fixes the problem. I put this together with my 5 yr old in all of 10 min. It is a wonderful product for the money and a simple twist of your shoulders while stepping works your abbs too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Awesome.com

10/24/2013
By ,
Dallas,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive always used a stair stepper at the gym because i knew it was challeging and would make me sweat which burns calories duh right?lol,well i was beyond stoked when i found this stepper because it looked like it could fit conviantly in my house/living room.I am a young mother and hey i got alittle baby fat!lately i wanted to work out so bad but i always made excuses to go to the gym,its late'',im tired'',etc lol but i was browsing and came across this item and let me tell you itfeels awesome to work out in the comfort of your own home you can sweat like crazy and i even bought a sweat suit!i wear that and workout on the stepper for about 45 min and im sweating more than the man on the moon!this is definitely a great product if your trying to lose weight or tone,i use this after lunch and dinner ive already lose 4 pounds and ive only had it for 4 weeks!YEAH
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Nice!

04/09/2014
By ,
Oceanside, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My schedule at work varies so it's hard to get outdoor exercise in or go to the gym. I live in a studio so I need as much space as possible. I searched for something I can easily tuck away and pull back out when I need to work out. Overall this is great.
Shipping was kinda of a bummer, two pieces were broken when it arrived.
I called the company and they replaced the parts with no problem.
Only issue i've found is that balance in resistance.
I'm petite and weigh 125lbs. The light settings slam all the way to the metal bar down below making kind of an irritating sound. So I put a towel down over it and it's better.. the next setting up from the ones that hit the bar are more difficult to push down all the way to get the sensors going… it gets better as the machine warms up, but the first 10mins are slow moving.
After that, it's awesome.
Just needed to get the circulation flowing and it's doing just that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Stepper Madness Leads To Happiness!!

10/15/2009
By ,
Pacific Northwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned a compact StairStepper in the past and loved to use it so much, that I actually wore it out!! When I went on the search for replacement unit, I could not find one that was similar to the one that I owned. And then, lo and behold, I am searching online here at Wal-Mart and they have unit strikingly similar to the one that I had. Naturally, I jumped at the opportunity to purchase this particular product using the Site to Store option, which eliminated shipping charges, which is an added bonus!!
I'm loving the fact that this is one piece of equipment that I actually enjoy using, and the other perk is the ability to fold it and store it. It becomes quite compact when folded and therefore takes up very little room for storage.
I use this every other day for 30 minutes a day, before I go to work for my 8 hour shift on my feet. It boosts my energy level and makes me feel as though I have accomplished something beneficial for myself healthwise. And hopefully I will soon be able to do it for the full hour that I used to be able to do in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

This is not just like walking up the stairs!..lol

03/07/2009
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the stepper because it was small enough to fit in my small cramped bedroom. I haven't folded it up as it takes up very little space so I can't say anything about how that is. It was easy to put together and took very little time. It's sturdy and no wobbling, but I do have it on carpet.
I will say I had never used a stepper before and were under the impression it was like walking up stairs. It's NOT.. When I first tried it I thought I had made a huge mistake. It's HARD to do and that first time I was sweating in no time, and legs aching and shaking. BUT after getting use to it, it's still hard, but getting easier each week. I've had it a few weeks and it's used 3-5 days a week.
I'd recommend it for someone that wants to add to their workout at home, who needs something that doesn't take up much room.
I'm very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper
01/22/2008
By ,
kansas city, mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I realy like this stepper, i have a bad back and bad knee's and they do not hert me when i use the stepper. it was also very easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

It's additive

02/24/2010
By ,
Chicago Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better then I expected. I'm 61 yrs old it is easy on my bad knees it's very stable.
If I don't put it away I find myself back on it multiable times a day.
It's easy to close and move around.
After use I find I am not in pain like I am after other exercise. It is worth every penny.
The monitor has large read out no strain on the eyes.
A little heavier then I thought but it has a wheel which helps when moving it. It's easy to adjust.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Good workout, good quality, great value

04/02/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a male in my early 30's, pretty good shape, about 5'10", 170lbs. My eliptical recently broke and I was looking for something inexpensive that could be stashed away easily. I was concerned about how "intense" of a workout I could get from this machine and if it would be too small. In regards to the intensity, the ability to adjust the resistance is nice and if you really want to get after it you can. 30 minutes on this is much more difficult than 30 minutes on an elliptical (con: you don't get an upper body workout). The quality is much sturdier/better than I expected and its already assembled (except for a couple small things). If I was any bigger, this machine might be too small, but it works for me. Great value for a little over $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Excellent workout...poor quality

11/18/2007
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had my stepper for approximately one year and have used it quite frequently. It provides an excellent workout to your lower body. However, a few months after having it the monitor quit working. When I received it one of the end caps that go on the frame was missing so I had to fix that and now the right piston is leaking oil and after about 20 minutes or so of use there is no resistance on that side. It has never had equal resistance on both sides so I had to adjust the left and right sides unequally to make the resistance balanced. Also, it is not very sturdy...but overall I have benefited from this stepper. It has improved my fitness. And even though it does not work right I still continue to use it. However, I am in the process of looking for a new stepper or maybe an elliptical.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Great Buy for the Money

12/14/2008
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got mine 2 weeks ago. I love this scaled down version of the bigger gym steppers. I did have to set it on the 6th resistance setting to get a decent step and heartrate going. But this is ok, it leaves 6-7 more harder resistance levels still available. Easy to assemble. No broken or damaged parts. I haven't folded mine up to put away. But it takes up minimal room even set up. This gets your heartrate going quickly as well as a really good sweat. Then I move onto eliptical or treadmill for caloric burning.
For the money, you can't lose on this sweet little piece of equipment. For all those coming up with New Years resolutions of better fitness, I recommend this small stepper. But if you don't want a harder, sweatier workout, stick to a treadmill. I give it a big thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Surprising

12/28/2010
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I thought I was going to be disappointed. Very active and fit and when I first stepped on the stepper, I wasn't use to how slow it was. Then I gave it a chance and after 20 minutes, I was dripping sweat even so I was moving at a slow pace. It's only my first day with it but I was pleasantly surprised. I'll update this review after a couple of weeks but for my first impression - I'm happy I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Great Value!

01/22/2010
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my wife as she wanted something a little more challenging than the recumbent bike. She has been using it everyday for six weeks and just loves it. I can see the results and she looks great! Start slow and be careful not to over do it and you will be pleasantly surprised as your endurance improves. The stepper is solid and built well. No problems with it thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

a nice basic machine

04/21/2012
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my husband and i use this almost every day and it meets our needs. i put it together in about 20 minutes. when the package was delivered, the plastic knob that you screw into the body to keep it upright (otherwise it will fold) was completely smashed to bits. the screwing part is still intact--just the plastic of it was smashed. it's hard to describe. anyways, the thing still works, it just doesn't look quite as nice as the picture. didn't feel like returning it.
what i really like about it is that the difficulty settings are pretty broad, so there is little chance of building up a tolerance to this machine. at least not for me. at least not for a loooong time!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

pretty good

03/01/2008
By ,
Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is great to have around the house for when you want to squeeze in some exercise. Only downside is that even though it folds, it is really heavy to move around so you almost have to leave it in place. I would still recommend this though. Tip: when you assemble, definitely follow the part of the instructions that say to put liquid soap on the handles before sliding on the foam pads! Don't be afraid to use a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper

Excellent product

02/16/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted something that I could do at home because I really did not want to invest in a gym membership again. I needed something that would not take up a lot of space because I live in an apartment. After reading the reviews about this stepper I decided to give it a try and to my surprise, I am totally impressed.
I was afraid to put it together myself, putting things together is so not me lol, so I had my 16-year-old put it together and it only took him 10 minutes!!
I have use it so far twice this week for 30 minutes each time, as I just got it last weekend, and it really gave me a good workout. I plan on using it every day for atleast 30 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next