Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Smithsonian Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Smithsonian Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

Make beautiful jewelry and crafts with this heavy-duty rock tumbler. This rock polisher comes with rough stones and actually changes them into high-luster, semiprecious gemstones.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation64%7 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

A decent entry-level tumbler

09/28/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used this product in the past, and this tumbler will get decent results for the price... There are several reviews here complaining about it being too loud or taking too long, etc... I think that the people who are disappointed in this product have never worked with gems before. Of course it's going to be loud- it's a bucket of rocks tumbing around in there! And no one is going to put anything close to precious stones in there for $25 bucks... but if you have rough gems or minerals of your own that you would like an inexpensive way to refine, go for it, and you will end up with decent results that can be worked into pretty jewels. You DO have to be patient- this tumbler is sumulating decades of erosion in nature... a month is not too long to wait! But, that's why they recommend this for children from 10 to 14 years old... at this age, they have the capacity for waiting that a 5- or 6-year old would not. My 13-year old gets it! But seriously... try it, give it a honest shot, and you will enjoy it. And if you enjoy it enough to stick with it, buy a more professional tumbler and you'll love it even more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 2 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

Not worth the headache

01/02/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product. It leads your kids to think they can have these beautiful rocks that are on the box; and the items needed to make the jewelry. It does neither. The rocks that are included are huge brown rocks that are no better than what you could dig up in your yard. They show on the box this beautiful jewelry and colorful stones you can make. False advertising. They give you large brown rocks and the material to make 1 set of earrings. Which of course the rocks are to big for. Also dont be misled into thinking this is something your child can do as a craft in on a paticular day. You have to let the rock tumber; which is very loud by the way run 24 hours a day for a month. After you buy the pretty stones and additional material. What a joke. I didnt expect much for the price but this was a total disappointment to my child.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

Rock Tumbler

01/21/2008
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I dont think this is all it is cracked up to be. It is very loud and only comes with a one time supply - you need to order an additional for about $15. It takes about a month and they certainly do not include semi-precious stones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

Tumbles Glass Too!

07/28/2008
By ,
Geneseo NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to tumble smashed up wine bottles, so I could use the glass for craft projects without cutting myself. I have tumbled a bunch of loads - takes about 5 hours, just glass with water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

Can't wait!

01/29/2008
By ,
Aurora, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My grandson was very excited to receive this product but disappointed that it takes so long to tumble and polish his rocks - 21 days. It is a 3-step process and very noisy too. The rock tumbler has been banished to the garage for the long, noisy process. I think the final product will be good, but it's difficult for a 6 yr. old to wait that long.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 6 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

child enjoyed

07/22/2008
By ,
charlotte, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
was as expected. this was our first rock tumbling experience it took a month to complete all the stages so let your child know it is a lenghty process. he had fun and made some jewelry. it is loud tumbling so you really want to set it up in a spare room garage etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 7 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

Poor Product

02/03/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The container leaked badly enough to be empty in just about an hour. The motor itself is also way to noisy, don't plan on having this anywhere in your house, we had to move it to the detached garage and still heard it running.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 8 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

good value

06/19/2008
By ,
Montrose,co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At this price I don't expect this tumbler to last forever
but if my grandson wears it out then I'll invest in a higher quality model.So far however its doing its job.Advice it has small parts that can get lost unpacking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

great

01/20/2008
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product! Very easy to work, a few confusing steps, but nothing major. Overall result was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

quality rock tumbler

06/13/2008
By ,
Traverse City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tumbler did a great job polishing petoskey stones that I found.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Smithsonian Rock Tumbler

noisey

01/10/2008
By ,
Oh
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good product but is very loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points