Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PUR PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

PUR PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

The improved next generation of PUR faucet water filter is at your service. With 1-click installation, superior contaminant removal, and a two-year warranty, there's never been an easier or more reliable way to get PUR water. Each PUR MineralClear water filter gives you 100 gallons of clean, healthy, great-tasting water.  
Average Customer Rating:
3.528 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation69%25 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Only lasted 2 years.

06/13/2012
By ,
So.East Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The chrome started to peal off with in a few months, but as long as it still worked it was OK. However, now 2 years later the light that is to blink gree - yellow - or red letting you know when to change the filter is always red and even comes on when it is not in use. We changed the filter twice, and still is remains RED. This is our second one, the last one we left in the house we moved from, had it for years, wish we had kept it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
From ManufacturerTechSupport11/15/2013
Our faucet mount filters are designed to filter approx 100 gallons on average. However, water quality and the amount of contaminants in it can fluctuate and vary greatly depending on where you live in the US, and that can impact filter life dramatically. Also, the LED light is really a reminder guide only. If flow is drastically reduced, then the filter has been saturated with contaminants and its time to change. If not, its OK to keep using until water flow slows drastically or stops. Check out where your local water stacks up vs. the rest of the county by clicking on this link http://www.uc.edu/gissa/projects/drinkingwater/HoneywellSupportTechnician
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

a product that doesn't last

11/11/2007
By ,
Tampa, Fla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought three of these water filter systems
and all three times its cracked right underneath
the view window that shows how much filtration
you have left. I will not buy the style again. I
think the one with the turn handle might be a better
buy, but this model is a terrible buy and I have lost
enough money with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Colorado Springs
PUR Water Filtration System
Posted 06/28/2012
I have to agree with this comment. I have been through 3 or 4 of these systems, and everyone ended up with a terrible leak about a year into use. I called PUR's toll free number and explained the problem. In every instance they sent me a voucher for a new system at 100% replacement cost. I did not have a receipt so the purchase date was not an issue. I think they are aware of the quality issue and are banking on its cheap construction materials against how many people will actually request a refund. I am about to call them about another one that is spraying all over. The plastic and glue seals just cannot withstand the pressure of the water. Good luck! ...and find that 800 number :-)
0points
Customer Avatar
gilbertsville, ky
Water filter
Posted 06/10/2011
I have purchased a different Pur filtration on two different occasions and both ended up cracking on the side or on the part that screws onto the adapter. I wouldn't recommend Pur to anyone unless they just like returning it to Walmart all the time.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Wish it wouldn't break so quickly

08/17/2009
By ,
Kentucky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We love having a home water purifing system and are used to Pur and love the way it makes our water taste. However, they break after a few months. After this Pur system breaks (our 5th one) we will probably try another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alamogordo, NM
Re: Wish it wouldn't break so quickly
Posted 08/23/2011
In response to KatherinesJewels' post:
I have had my PUR 3-Stage Faucet Mount Filtration for over a year and a half...same unit...haven't had to replace it yet.
You might be screwing on the cap when replacing the filter or just banging around when you wash dishes and whatnot. I had a previous model break on me for the same reasons... Just a thought.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

poor quality

12/27/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these and within a month it began to leak from the side. I returned for a replacement. The second one ended up spliting down the side. This model obviously has a manufacturing defect.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

works well small pressure leak

10/01/2014
By ,
west, tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
everything works well except a small leak around faucet connection when filter is in use. does not really affect anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B
11/25/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cracked right under the window. Totally agree with the previous reviewer
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B
12/04/2007
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this less than 3 mths ago and it cracked beside the window making it unusable. I have had the filter with the turn on knob and it worked for a couple of years. I think that this particular model is extremely poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

I LIKE PUR BUT...

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A NEW DESIGN BUT I DON'T UNDERSTAND THE EXTRA HOLE THAT IS NOW AT THE AREA WHERE THE WATER COMES OUT. IT'S AN ADDITIONAL HOLE THAT WATER RUNS FROM WHEN I'M RUNNING THE REGULAR FAUCET PORTION OR EVEN WHEN I'M USING THE FILTERED WATER AREA. THE ONLY REASON I DISLIKE THE PRODUCT (AS I'VE USED PUR FOR YEARS AND HAVE BOUGHT SEVERAL THROUGHOUT THE YEARS) IS DUE TO THIS ADDTIONAL HOLE. ALSO, I BOUGHT ONE JUST LAST YEAR AND HAD TO REPLACE WITH THIS ONE BECAUSE THE LIGHT INDICATOR WASN'T WORKING ANYMORE. KIND OF DISAPPOINTED.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Horrible...

08/18/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have returned this product, now, 3 times. None have lasted past one filter change before, what I am reading, is the customary cracking problem on the outer wall. Nothing better than getting more water on the wall than in your glass. I've contacted the manufacturer twice now. They've suggested I try the next step up. There's something really screwy about the little red indicator switch that seems to really warp the plastic? OK, Pur....I'm about to go to Britta if the "upgraded" version is no better. Not holding out too much luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Pure...

02/03/2008
By ,
Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Filter life, easy to install and a smart design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Love this new design!

07/28/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say I have been less than pleased with our Pur Water filtration systems in the past, but this new design is wonderful! I love the fact that you can easily remove the whole system when washing dishes (large pots and pans tend to whack the systems during washing!) and then put it back on without any hassle when you're done! Much happier with this system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

PUR 3-Stage Faucet Mount Filtration

01/14/2011
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to switch out old filter system, unpack and install new filtration system and new filter in less than 20 minutes. The assortment of adapters made it very easy to find the right one for my faucet and pop on the new filtration unit.
The directions were easy to understand with great illustrations on each installation step.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

We have this product

02/16/2008
By ,
lynnwood,WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have had this mount filtration system for 1 year Pros: The water tastes great. Cons: We have to replace it every 2 to 3 months because it starts leaking and ends up cracking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Love this product

09/16/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the last one for about 3 years with no problems till the red light stayed on...love the easy snap on and flip switch....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

GREAT CONCEPT, BUT NEEDS A BETTER CONNECTOR

01/28/2014
By ,
TIONESTA, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS PUR FAUCET FILTER IS GREAT FOR PURIFYJNG THE WATER.......THE PROBLEM I HAVE WITH, AND AFFECTS MY RATING, IS THAT THE PLASTIC FAUCET CONNECTOR KEEPS FALLING OFF AFTER JUST A FEW WEEKS OF USE.....I WILL SEE IN A FEW WEEKS IF THIS NEW HAS IMPROVED
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

No more water bottles!

01/17/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our water filter! We have well water so I'm not sure how long the filer will last but it's much nicer than lugging water jugs home & trying to fit them in the fridge. It matches our kitchen very well & doesn't scream "I'm an add on to the faucet!" One nice little detail is the logo is also silver so it blends in. The other silver one has a black logo. We want sleek in our kitchen. One negative though, was that the instructions weren't the greatest. This is our 1st faucet filter & I thought that because the "filter chamber" was filling up with water that I hadn't installed it right. A coupon for replacement filters & a picture of which replacement filters we will need would've been nice as well. Over all we are very happy with our purchase & would definitely buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B
12/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this filter system almost two years ago and have never had any problems with it. It has never cracked. We never had any leaks. Installing it was a snap, literally. The mount swivels to either side of the faucet so you can always move it out of the way. Or you can just take it off and put it back on very easily. My only issue is the cost of buying replacement filters. We drink alot of water so it can get pretty expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Works like it should

04/18/2014
By ,
IGH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, easy to use. Every so often you have to tighten the plastic one click adapter, but that is quick and easy to me it wasn't worth taking off a star. Easy to use the light on the side tells you when it's time to replace the filter, Changing out the filter is easy, unlike another brand I had just before this. Have had no issue with cracking or it just popping off, but I make sure to use the water on a low setting and work up to a higher output. IMO this is great and you can't go wrong with this filter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

Works for about 2 months.. then leaks

05/04/2014
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second one of these I've purchased. I used to get the old kind. Now, this snap on says it's improved. NOT! It leaks no matter what you do and PUR won't do a thing about it.
Going to get another brand. I'm done with leaking filters. Do not waste your money. Also, this is the second one I've had that the green light goes out in a week or so. No, my water isn't that bad. It's the units and they know it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for PUR Advanced Faucet Water Filter - Silver  FM-4100B

not worth the money

09/09/2009
By ,
Olathe, Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we had our filter for about 3 months before it cracked really bad and leaked. my mom didn't have that problem with her stainless steel one. we have really bad water here and i honestly wasn't ever happy with the taste. Also the filter is pretty bulky and with the way our sink was laid out it was always in the way!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next