Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Sony Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

The black Sony AM/FM radio is a budget-friendly way to insure against over sleeping. The Sony clock radio features a single alarm with an alarm indicator that confirms your settings. There's also battery backup that maintains clock and alarm operation in the event of a power loss. And when it comes to Daylight Savings Time, the alarm clock radio automatically adjusts the time for you thanks to its built-in calendar.
Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
49
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%191 out of 203reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
49
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Completely Practical

01/25/2008
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to program this clock even previews the alarm set time to assure you get up on time. It has a built in battery that will take over if there is a power outage . The radio tunes in clearly. I'm completely satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Automatic Time Set - not so great

06/13/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for my bedroom & the guest room. I really liked the feature of the automatic time set and our power blips a lot. It was getting very annoying having to constantly reset the clocks after the power would go out for 20 seconds. I also love the feature of daylight savings time change. I don't have to remember. I haven't had a problem with the radio. I like the volume on the low side to wake me up. But after a few months of having these clocks, I found the time to be off. It started with just a minute or two off. Now there is at least a 15 minute difference. And the downside, you can't manually change the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bakersfield, CA
u can change the time manually
Posted 07/13/2012
it's in the manual, i did it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Great little radio!

12/02/2008
By ,
G-Town, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the amount of money spent. you cant beat this deal. the radio reception is great! i live in a very rural area and pick up 'alot' of stations compared to the pricey recievers and boomboxes. And the mutiple alarm settings are a nice addition. theres also the daylight and time zones- kinda nice little extra features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

A Great Value...

02/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plug it in and it is ready to go. The old clock radio's had a 9volt back battery that was always dead. This Sony has built in back up and sets itself. The radio sounds OK and reception is fine. For $10 this is a no brainer, don't waste money on a no-name unit when you could have a Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Good value, simple to operate

11/07/2011
By ,
Bloomigton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for around $9 at my local walmart. It has a few extra features that my previous alarm clock did not have and I found them all pleasing.
1) It sets its own time and automatically adjusts for daylight savings. If you feel like it's off, you can adjust the time manually.
2) Instead of regular Hour and Minute buttons to advance the time, it has a rocker that can adjust forwards and backwards. I'm a college student and frequently set my alarm for different times depending on my schedule for the next day, and it's nice that I can set it backwards an hour just by holding back the rocker for a few seconds rather than having to repeatedly press the 'hour' button 11 times to achieve the same effect. When you go to set the alarm, you just set the alarm switch to either Radio or Beep and then use the rocker to adjust. There are no menus or additional buttons to hold down. Extremely simple.
3) Snooze timer: When you press the snooze button, it will show the number '10' for ten minutes snooze. If you press it again while that number is showing, it will advance to '20.' This could be very bad if you are lazy, but I like it. When the first snooze runs out and the alarm plays again, your second snooze will be 7 minutes instead of 10. Eventually, it will not let you snooze again, which is a good feature if your a snooze addict like I am.
4) The 'beep' alarm starts quiet, but progressively gets very loud. It is also high in pitch. A good system for deep sleepers. You can also wake up to the radio if that is your thing.
The sound quality of the radio is fairly okay for a $9 device. Don't have too high expectations of it. If you want a really good radio, you'll want to look into a higher price point. I also have just one complaint: the numbers are rather bright. I point it away from my bed while I'm sleeping so it doesn't keep me awake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

It's a Sony, what did you expect?

10/30/2011
By ,
Kalamazoo, MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the past 25 years, I've bought Sony brand everything I could get my hands on, and of course within my budget, whenever I could. It seems like 4 out of 5 times; I got a product that costs a little more, but lasted twice as long, was the most dependable on the market, and built with top-shelf quality. This clock appears to have these traditions built in,judging its looks, feel, working options, and sound ( I like high treble & low bass) clarity. In Walmart's huge selections, the price was closer to the middle, in comparison to other no-name brands. It looks good now and I think it will look good in 5 or 10 years, with just a little dusting and polishing.
The only drawback is: The sequence for setting the alarm is a bit awkward and hard to read in the dark. Some of the awkwardness might be due to being so accustomed to my last Sony alarm (13 years) and now having different controls, it just seems awkward. All in all, this was by far the best deal for their best alarm clock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

excellent clock radio

11/26/2008
By ,
NE Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a clock radio that gets good AM radio reception at late night. Tried other radios, but I got the perfunctory response ("What do you expect?").
Well, I went with the Sony brand name. I know the reputation. Not only did I get all the bells & whistles, I get all the stations. I took back the other radio, and now I can buy Sony's for each of my five bedrooms & have change left over. If you want late night reception, look no further, & spend no more!
What a bargain! Happy listening!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Awesome Alarm Clock for the Price

12/01/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this alarm clock for a variety of reasons. The main reason being that it's easy to find the button to shut it up. Especially if you're in a dark room.
It's easy to set time and alarm time as well. If you live somewhere that switches to daylight savings time..........it has a mode for that so you won't have to worry about it.
The green LED gives off just enough light where it's not blinding you while trying to sleep.
I love that it has a radio/buzz mode for the alarm.
Last, if your low on money and don't need anything to high-tech (which why would you....an alarm clock should only serve a few purposes - mainly getting your butt up), then this alarm clock will do the trick. And I believe it will exceed your expectations....it did mine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK
08/13/2011
By ,
Hanover, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My objective was a bed side radio with adjustable volume that allows very low to moderate sound and easy on/off control. I live in an assisted living facility and that requires consideration for elderly neighbors who may be sleeping hence the need for good adjustment of volume. On top of the casing are the on/off buttons easily found in the dark by my outstretched fingers.
I like this radio so much that I bought another one for the bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Excellent product

09/21/2008
By ,
Henderson TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can you say here? It's a SONY. A great
price for an extremely good product. With
all the power outaged with "IKE", it never missed
a beat. It comes with the battery already inserted.
Now where do you ever see that?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK
11/25/2008
By ,
Corning, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great clock and the set up is as simple as advertised. I like the large numbers as it sits on my bureau. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars all the way is the alarm is awfully quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

just so so

02/29/2008
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is an ok alarm clock. I would not recommand it due to the fact that the switch to turn on the alarm is so little and moves around easily. It sems like it could a little tougher. I also do not like the DST and time zone function, it makes it too complex for something that i want to wake me up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Great Product

11/25/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super easy to set! Radio works great!!
Real easy to set the alarm. Great price for such a good product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

EXCELLENT PRODUCT...Unbeatable price

02/04/2013
By ,
Mechanicsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing right from the box - you will be amazed to see exact time when you plug it for first time. I have had several brands of the last 15 years anf nothing seems to keep the clock running accurately during power off, what a waste of putting 9volt battery in clocks when its not good. This clock comes with battery in it and automatically keeps time accurate. Its display is perfect, not too dim not too bright and digit size if just perfect.
The finish of this product is amazing, its rare to find clocks with such good finish, I am surprised how its selling for so low, it really is a steal deal.
Its the first clock(out of 10 different brands that I've had in last few years) that has a better radio receiption. I have put my clock on the tv and yet I get very good radio reception without having to turn it around, where some other clocks have failed.
I totall recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Just Radio and not recommended for Alaram Clock

03/20/2008
By ,
Jersey City NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchase this for Alarm clock and based on brand name. But i am disappointed with buzzer sound. The alarm sound is hardly audible. Not suitable for alarm clock, but people can use it as mono AM/FM radio
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Best brand and value for my money

12/15/2011
By ,
Houston, TX, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a retired engineer at my early 70, and I knew Sonny brand has quality. Furthermore, my wife was a longtime "Sonny person" from stereo component to laptop computer. However, I read numerous reviews of this Sonny clock radio, Model ICFC218K before I bought it, and I was not disappointed. The numerals are 7/8 of an inch and are larger than my previous radio clock. From inside my closet, across our bathroom and bedroom; at a distance of 28 feet, I can easily read the numerals without my eyeglasses. The sound is satisfactory and pleasing to my ears although I have impairment in hearing high frequencies. What I can ask for Sonny design engineers is to include a dimmer switch on the bright numerals, in order that I do not have to cover the numbers with a tissue paper to reduce the light level at night. I do not listen to AM radio stations that's why I always tune-in my radio dial to FM, and this clock radio surely met my expectations. For less than $10.00 (year 2011 dollars) I believe no well-known brand can outdo this Sonny clock radio. By-the-way...this is Made in China, not Japan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

A Gem of a Clock Radio

05/25/2012
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right away we liked the easy to follow directions, ease of setting up the time, alarm and radio station, and good looks. I love waking up to my favorite radio station instead of the loud buzzer. The clock keeps good time and easy to reset the alarm. The display light doesn't keep you awake, but it's still easy to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK
08/03/2011
By ,
DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, working great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Excellent product for the price

01/16/2008
By ,
Ringtown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cute little alarm clock radio. Was looking for a battery backup alarm clock radio and finally found one in this product. Love the large numbers. Radio sound isn't bad, much better than my old alarm clock radio. I am very satisfied and would highly recommend this product. Can't beat the price. A+++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony AM/FM Black Clock Radio, ICFC218BK

Product not very good

11/29/2008
By ,
Scotia, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The clock is good but the alarn is very soft. If ayou are hard of hearing this is not your product. The quality of the radio is poor. Not a very good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 150 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next