Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Guardian Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Guardian Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Keep pets and property safe with the portable Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System. It covers an adjustable circular area of up to 1/2 acre (180 feet diameter) and is easy to set up-- there are no wires to bury.
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%23 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Great for keeping pets safe

11/16/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received the Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System on Friday afternoon and I had it up and ready to go within 10 minutes. I got this one because my old one by Petsafe no longer functions correctly. My dog is already trained to the boundaries so I did not have to use the flags but this unit does come with small white flags to mark your boundary lines. Setting the distance was pretty east with this unit. There is a dial on the front of the unit that has numbers marked on the side of the dial. The number "one" being the smallest boundary area setting and "ten" being the largest. Then there is a switch that has negative and positive on it which will allow more area on the upper numbers. The collar has the static correction pack already on it and the collar is made to adjust to your dogs size. The battery is also already in the collar, you just have to turn it to make the connection and lock it in place with the provided "key". The "key" also is for setting your boundary. Just place the metal lines onto the collars contact points and walk towards your boundary until you here the beeps. This will let you know where your setting places your pets boundary line then just adjust as needed. This can be done with just one person. I set mine by myself. When setting your unit up, make sure your unit is in a place that is away from microwaves and water sources and is in a permanent place. If you move your unit, you will have to readjust your boundary lines. The collar also has a static corrector setting that you can adjust for the timid dog up to aggressive dog. My dog is pretty laid back so we have it on the lowest setting. It will only correct for 30 seconds then it will stop. It is also suggested that your pet not be on this longer than 12 hours a day. We place ours on it long enough to potty and play then he comes back in the house. This really is a good system for training you dog and keeping them safely in your yard. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has a pet that often strays away from your yard.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 2 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Way too complicated and limited

12/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The collar is way too large and aggressive for my 15 lb dog, even though it says you can use it as low as 8 lbs. The contact points are huge and very scary. Maybe this is a last resort.
The plug-in unit must be placed in the exact center of 'pet area' and it ONLY goes in a circular shape. Hills will affect this. Not good for rectangle or square shaped yards. It must be at least 2' off ground in a dry, well ventilated, protected area where it won't get below freezing. And at least 3' from large, metal objects.
It is unbelievably hard to try to set the size of the pet area. We gave up after 2 hrs. If you are alone you would have to go back to the unit over and over for every side.
You must do intense training with your dog(s), they recommend 10-15 minute sessions for each dog for a MINIMUM of 14 days. Your dog must be "completely comfortable" near the boundary flags at the end of every training session. (If my dog was this well trained, I wouldn't need a containment system).
Not sure how this could possibly work as a portable devise for camping.
While this system is good in theory, it has way too many problems. I couldn't even finish setting it up. I don't trust accidental set-offs, either.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 3 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Nice - once the effort is put into it

12/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This system requires training your pet to understand it – and it takes time and effort on the human part. I have only complete the first two weeks (just barely) before the temperature outside became too low to use it. At the very beginning, my dog had no clue what we were doing. But he is quite clever and started to “get it” right before we had to stop. I look forward to completing his training with this system in the spring.
Pros
Not a lot of parts, no assembly except inserting a battery, and possibly mounting the main unit.
Wireless
Portable
Adjustable range/play area
Cons
It is suggested that the main unit be placed in the center of the play area. However, since it needs an electrical outlet, this could pose a challenge in some yards.
Set up is required to mark the boundaries and get the right range set. This is easiest with two people.
This system is not a quick easy fix. It takes some effort and time to get to the point where your pet will understand and react to the system reliably. The instructions have five phases that last 30 days.
The device on the receiver collar is on the large side.
The way the receiver collar was packaged, it took a utility knife to open the plastic. (see picture)
I would have liked to have suction cup stands on the flags for indoor use. Although it's not stated in the manual that it's strictly outdoor use, it is assumed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 4 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Keep your dog contained !

12/01/2014
By ,
South Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wireless Pet Containment System
===============================
I have 2 Catahoula Cur Leopard puppy dogs with a lot of energy.
We live in South Louisiana on 3.5 acres out in the country
where my closest neighbor is 200 yards away. There is a
road next to my property which people drive fast down it.
I lost 1 of my puppies, he was hit by a car. I got another
puppy, and purchased the wired fence with 2 collars
and it worked great covering 1.5 acres for a year.
Then the collars wore out....Which brings me to this system.
It took all of 2 weeks to get them familiar with the flagged
boundaries. Trained them by walking them on the inside of the
perimeter of the flagged area. It took 2 times to get shocked
before they realized not to go any further.
I have found the distance on bright sunny days the dogs
can go a little further than on cloudy days.
This system works well, but the batteries wear out quick
if the dogs keep getting to close to the barrier often.
So I recommend taking the batteries out at night or when
not in use. The neat thing about this system, it is portable.
I take it with me when camping and when visiting my daughters.
I am giving 4 stars because the area covered/distance could be larger
and cost of extra collars are expensive.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Very Good Most of The Time

11/27/2014
By ,
Mission Viejo, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this system for a very active dog that loves to greet the school kids as they get off the bus. The set up was easy and it can fit inside even on a counter. It worked perfectly for the first few days. For one day, the dog ran towards the kids and the zap worked..... but then it wouldn't stop! the dog ran back to the house as learned from the system but it still did not stop. Reset the main control and it has worked fine ever since. The dog is fine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 6 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

11/23/2014
By ,
siren, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Guardian by Petsafe Wireless Pet Containment System is a portable system that keeps your pets in your yard or outdoor area. It is for dogs that are 8 lbs or more, and covers about ½ an acre. So what you do is pick out the area you want your dog(s) to remain in, and plot it out with the 50 flags this unit comes with. That is the boundary area, which is the warning area for your pets. You locate the wireless transmitter within the center of the boundary area and put the collar on your pet. It states that is takes about 2 weeks to train your pet to this area, so that when he sees the flags he will know he cannot go beyond them. Of course I think the time it will take to train your dog will depend on how smart or stubborn your dog is. The collar has 3 adjustable levels of correction, which are static shocks. I know no one wants to shock their pets, but having them run away and starve to death or get hit by a car is a far worse scenario. This unit comes with one collar, you can purchase additional collars for more doggies.
The best part of this unit is the fact that it is portable! If you go camping or RVing with your pets, you can take this unit with you and set the boundary’s there so your pets can stay safe. Now you no longer have to keep your dog chained up and have him tangle himself around things. The unit runs on battery power and has a low battery warning so you know when they need to be changed.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 7 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Wnderful product

11/29/2014
By ,
Meridian MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Portable wireless system is For dogs 8 pounds and up with a neck size from 6 up to 28 inches. It all so has 5 adjustable levels of static correction and a tone-only mode alerts your pet with a beep
It all so has a built in safety that it will Automatic safety shut-off: correction stops after 30 seconds when they get out of range, but allows them to cross back into range without any warning or zap. But once they are back inside the range and they try to go back out the system will let them know it in a hurry. Be care full because setting 5 is pretty strong on a dog that has never had one of these on before. It took two days before my dog would come back out of his house after getting hit with #5. But now Samson can walk around the house (180 feet in diameter) (half acre) as he pleases. You can expand containment size with additional wireless transmitters but really that is a pretty good area to roam. It has a Waterproof receiver collar that comes with the battery already installed. It took less than 30 minutes to plug in the system walk the area with the dog collar before placing it on the Dog. Then you walk the Dog around the area that is his area stepping out of the area once or twice so that he hears the beep from the collar then allow him to go as he pleases with the static turned on. After about two times they start to learn. My Dog is about 11 years old and it was a shock to his old system and at first it made him sad. But now he knows that he can go and do more things without a chain holding him back . PS I had someone that uses the collar to train his dogs come and set up mine. Included in this system
Wireless transmitter with power adapter- Receiver collar with RFA-67D battery
Long contact points for long-haired dogs - Test light tool
Operating and training guide - 50 boundary training flags
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Mixed reviews....

11/17/2014
By ,
jefferson s.d.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I can say this is a bad product because its not, it actually works! My husband and I tested it ourselves ( on our hands of course lol ) because we didn't want to hurt our dog since I am anto shock collar BIG TIME! Good news is that is does work, when you get past the barrier you really do get a zap and it puts you back in line. My complaints is that it just doesn't work the greatest on OUR dog. She isn't overly fluffy. She is an average sized Malamute but not a big wooly one, and it doesn't seem to affect her to much. She definitely feels it and will step back most times but sometimes she just keeps going, as if it doesn't affect her at all. The instructions say its for dogs 8 lbs and up. In my opinion 8 lbs is FAR too small for this, borderline abusive I would say, but its also not overly effective for large breed dogs like our Malamute. So we tested it out on our good dog, the one that doesn't run out of the yard and he is about a 55-60 pound Shar pei and it seems to work perfectly on his size. He doesn't leave the yard usually so we had to coax him out towards the sidewalk ( yes I felt like a real jerk for doing that but I had to to test it ) and he would stop at the barrier and back up. So yes, this does work BUT its not for small dogs and not for very large dogs. Another thing is that the barrier unit itself is quite large! About the size of a gallon of milk so its not some little counter unit, it will need a special place of its own since its a space stealer and not nice to look at ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 9 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Dogs Happy to Learn Good Behavior

11/25/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Guardian containment system for pets can be adjusted for yards and property less than the maximum of one half acre, and my yard is smaller, so I am glad it is perfect for my pets. I thought the property had to be 180 feet across. Setting up and using the system with my dogs is enjoyable. Training my pets helps teach them to walk on the leash without pulling because they get the beep when they go near the flag line boundary so stop.
The system is placed inside the home and its beams penetrate the sides of the building. When I asked if the system could work on smaller property than 180 degrees, they asked what kind of siding was on my home: vinyl, brick, or wood. They said this wireless system does not penetrate metal siding so would not work for a manufactured home. Even though it might work a bit, there would be dead spots and areas caused by metals, so they recommended their wired system. Yet, when I tried to set the system up, it did work without any problem when located inside my manufactured home. I tried it in different locations in my home, and when I moved the system in front of my refrigerator and went outside to locate the boundary with the collar, it beeped when I reached the limit just like it is supposed to. The beam penetrated through my refrigerator and the metal aluminum siding on my home! Although I was told the beam would not pass through these metals, it did fine without any problem spots at all. On the box there is a photo of the system being used in a yard around a small, metal-sided travel trailer.
The containment system can be used in an area that is fenced or not fenced; the pet has to learn slowly to respect whatever boundary line the owner establishes. Without a fence, the pet really has to have learned to notice the boundaries and to turn away from them to stay in the home area so he does not go out and get lost. The pet is trained by showing him the area limits repeatedly while on a leash. With a fence, the pet learns not to run up to the fence lines to bark at neighbors, chase along with vehicles, or dig underneath, because the boundary area is set to be inside the lines of the fence.
The parent-trainer notices their pet holding back from going forward towards something he/she would otherwise probably do and turning his head back and forth a bit. This is the right setting level to use for correction. Noticing this reaction of their pet, the sharp owner can teach their pet to avoid things on the least level of correction. When my two dogs are fully trained and aware of their area border, they will both be very content to not be on a leash and be able to walk freely around with me on their own! It has been raining so I have not had time to complete their training. Using this system has been fun working with my dogs and I have been able to use the same collar for a small and a large dog by bringing the end through the plain buckle and back and then folded under the collar and through the collar like a knot, not too tight. I like the wireless system because of its circular boundary to keep my two pets inside my property lines for various safety reasons. It works very well and is easily set up by one person.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

It really works!

11/30/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of our dogs is a fence jumper, it had gotten so bad that I was beginning to doubt that we would be able to find a solution. This containment system is so easy to use. You set it up in the house and it creates a radius around the house of about 90 feet. It is the perfect size, we were able to set up a perimeter around the front and back yard. It comes with a manual that has a two week training time frame. We were able to train our dog within 3 days. He quickly learned the boundaries and exactly how far he can go. He no longer jumps the fence and we are able to let him out in the unfenced front yard. We have also been able to remove the guide flags from the front yard. This system is so much easier than the underground systems that I have researched and I love that it is easily portable for when we decide to move. I am concerned about battery life. We have had not had any problems yet but time will tell how long the battery in the collar will last. The manual recommends watching for any changes in behavior such as going farther than normal or not going as far as he usually does. Either of these things may indicate a problem with the collar. So far we have not experienced any problems with the unit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 11 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

works great

11/25/2014
By ,
barnegat,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying I have always wanted to buy a containment system for my dog, if I don't watch her at all times she will roam off she doesn't go to far but I still worry about her. We started to set up the system it comes with 50 boundary flags and covers 90 feet in any direction from the receiver there's no wires to have to worry about the collar is waterproof so if there out in the rain you don't have to worry about that either. It took about 1:30 minutes to set up, placing the flags in the boundary area then you have to test the collar to make sure it's working in the area it takes up to 15 days for you to be confident that the system is working for your dog. It did take a lot to setup and and to train my dog about the tones to puts out but eventually she did learn to stay in side the flags , the The wireless fence Transmitter has to be placed inside like at a window works great it's not waterproof. One of the downsides is when it comes to mowing the grass it gets tuff to mow around them I mean there are 50 flags so that takes a lot of effort for my husband to do but when it comes to our dog shes worth it. The Guardian is well worth the money to have a safe dog and to give you peace of mind.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Surprisingly, it works

12/08/2014
By ,
Kellyville, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had low expectations for training system. I was pleasantly surprised that it worked. My daughter lives in a rental house that is only partially fenced. She is using this to "close up" where the existing fence stops.
Once the system was all connected & working, it is easy. It is a system that a person needs to have some mechanical knowledge. My daughter was somewhat challenged in putting it together. I found it was not difficult, after reading the instructions. KEY WORDS - Read the instructions!
After getting it set up, we put the collar on her dog. He wasn't sure what to think about the experience, but it didn't seem to hurt him, only deter him. My daughter was very concerned her dog would suffer injuries, but she is quite pleased that he didn't & that he is learning not to leave the yard. I am hopeful that nothing comes along to really make him want to leave the yard. I am also hoping that if the low battery warning comes on when no one is around, there will be enough time to get it replaced before it completely runs out.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 13 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Great product

12/02/2014
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My collie/lab mix only needed one zap and she knew what she was dealing with. She won't go near the boundary. The guardian by petsafe wireless pet containment unit was very easy to set up and I didn't even have to train her on it. She is staying right in her zone. No cat or car will pull her out of it. The circular containment zone is my only hang up. We have seven acres but our yard is long and narrow. I have to keep the boundary level around 6 (about 75-80 feet) so she won't go in our neighbor's yard; this doesn't give a big, playful dog like her too much room. Plus, after three months, the battery needs to be replaced. So if Petsafe could give us more boundary options and better batteries, this thing would be perfection. In the meantime, if you want an easy setup, no wires that your tractor can run over, and guaranteed containment, this gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 14 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Very easy to use!!!

12/02/2014
By ,
Pawtucket, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new system it has been doing everything that it was promised to do. My dog is much safer and well contained and that is a joy in itself. The fact that it works on a radius, it covers my front, sides, and back yard. I am not a handy person at all and I set this system up with no problem that was a relief. Also, for a person with multiple dogs you can purchase more collars and use the same system which I thought was very handy. Another wonderful feature is that the system can be taken down and moved so it can be brought on vacation or if you have different homes you live in thru out the year you don't need to buy a separate system for each property you can just bring the same one with you to different places. My dog is so much happier now that he does not always have to be on a leash!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 15 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Lifesaver for sure!

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live on an extremely busy corner in the midst of the community park. Its a beautiful neighborhood and a lot of people take advantage of the scenic trails and sporting fields that surround the area. We always stood outside with pup-pup on a leash to protect her from all the traffic. This Containment system has been not only a life saving device for our little precious, but it has afforded us the freedom from poopy sitting. I think we had about a week of not trusting which turned into a week of semi trusting, now we just open the back door, which come spring we will be even lazier and it'll have a doggie door of its own, and out she goes. Now that its gotten much colder, she comes back pretty quick but give her a warm sunny day and she's out socializing with anyone that'll say hello. Pup-pup only weighs about five pounds so another concern was the "punishment" during use. She has gotten a few "zaps" that she's noticed immediately but they weren't so strong that she yelped in pain, and believe me, she's more than willing to let you know she's displeased with you. We love the system, our dog is safe and alive, the cost was more than reasonable. What more could you ask? Oh! The best part.. We took it on vacation with us and set it up around the beach house. It's just that good!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 16 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

easy fence for pets

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I set this up in no time , just read the book before you start . You will need to think ahead about any cars parked near by or if you have a metal building close by , they can mess up your signal some . Set it up and tack the collar in hand checking form the beep sound before putting it on your pet .Then walk your pet around so that they will know where and when to stop .
My dog is blind and he learned by our second time around the yard when to STOP ! He now knows what the sound means . We were having to keep him on a long leash but now he can roam around the yard and is alot happier.
We had the under ground fence before and it was ok after you got it all set up .But with this you can take it with you on camping trips or for overnight stays at friends homes.
Great idea and it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

(e.g. A very helpful product)

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System is a great product. I live in a rural area where no one fences their yards including me. I have a Yorkie Poo. Her name is Sadie and she loves to play in the yard after being in the house all day long. I was always afraid that she would run away or run in the streets and get hurt. The wireless system allowed her to run all over the yard and when she got close to the flagged areas she instantly turned around. This system worked out great for me and Sadie. It's easy to put together and Sadie didn't mind the collar. I don't think she really knew it was there. I can confidently let her go outside and know she's in the yard. This us a wonderful product it's like having an invisible fence up. This is perfect for someone that doesn't have a fence, live by the highways or an unruly dog that likes to wonder the neighborhood.the collar is great for a small or big dog. It's not too bulky. Soon I'm hoping Sadie won't need the collar that the wireless containment system will train her to stay within her boundaries. So this product serves as a dog trainer also. It's great. Sadie's happy and enjoying the cool weather free to run around the yard without me screaming her name to come back in the yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 18 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Good pet containment for my dog

12/01/2014
By ,
Norr. Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the set up to be quite sensitive to get the settings right, but once I fiqured out a little better how it worked, i't went fairly easy, I'm still in the trainging process with my dog but so far he is responding to the tones very well. I will update my results in the future. I feel over all this is a very good product and would highly recommend it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 19 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Great product

12/01/2014
By ,
Morse, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband set this out so our 42lb pit bull would not leave the yard when let off of his chain. He said it does its job!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 20 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

worked as stated

11/23/2014
By ,
Plattsmouth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to set up. I was worried it wouldn't work on my 10 lbs yorkie who is very hard headed...but he now will not leave the yard. When he gets close to the boundary zone he received a static correction and turns right around. I recommend this product to anyone with out a fenced in yard who wants to keep their dogs safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:Yes
Free sample received:Yes
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next