Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Guardian Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Guardian Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Keep pets and property safe with the portable Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System. It covers an adjustable circular area of up to 1/2 acre (180 feet diameter) and is easy to set up-- there are no wires to bury.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Great for keeping pets safe

11/16/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received the Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System on Friday afternoon and I had it up and ready to go within 10 minutes. I got this one because my old one by Petsafe no longer functions correctly. My dog is already trained to the boundaries so I did not have to use the flags but this unit does come with small white flags to mark your boundary lines. Setting the distance was pretty east with this unit. There is a dial on the front of the unit that has numbers marked on the side of the dial. The number "one" being the smallest boundary area setting and "ten" being the largest. Then there is a switch that has negative and positive on it which will allow more area on the upper numbers. The collar has the static correction pack already on it and the collar is made to adjust to your dogs size. The battery is also already in the collar, you just have to turn it to make the connection and lock it in place with the provided "key". The "key" also is for setting your boundary. Just place the metal lines onto the collars contact points and walk towards your boundary until you here the beeps. This will let you know where your setting places your pets boundary line then just adjust as needed. This can be done with just one person. I set mine by myself. When setting your unit up, make sure your unit is in a place that is away from microwaves and water sources and is in a permanent place. If you move your unit, you will have to readjust your boundary lines. The collar also has a static corrector setting that you can adjust for the timid dog up to aggressive dog. My dog is pretty laid back so we have it on the lowest setting. It will only correct for 30 seconds then it will stop. It is also suggested that your pet not be on this longer than 12 hours a day. We place ours on it long enough to potty and play then he comes back in the house. This really is a good system for training you dog and keeping them safely in your yard. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has a pet that often strays away from your yard.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 2 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

11/23/2014
By ,
siren, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Guardian by Petsafe Wireless Pet Containment System is a portable system that keeps your pets in your yard or outdoor area. It is for dogs that are 8 lbs or more, and covers about ½ an acre. So what you do is pick out the area you want your dog(s) to remain in, and plot it out with the 50 flags this unit comes with. That is the boundary area, which is the warning area for your pets. You locate the wireless transmitter within the center of the boundary area and put the collar on your pet. It states that is takes about 2 weeks to train your pet to this area, so that when he sees the flags he will know he cannot go beyond them. Of course I think the time it will take to train your dog will depend on how smart or stubborn your dog is. The collar has 3 adjustable levels of correction, which are static shocks. I know no one wants to shock their pets, but having them run away and starve to death or get hit by a car is a far worse scenario. This unit comes with one collar, you can purchase additional collars for more doggies.
The best part of this unit is the fact that it is portable! If you go camping or RVing with your pets, you can take this unit with you and set the boundary’s there so your pets can stay safe. Now you no longer have to keep your dog chained up and have him tangle himself around things. The unit runs on battery power and has a low battery warning so you know when they need to be changed.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 3 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Mixed reviews....

11/17/2014
By ,
jefferson s.d.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I can say this is a bad product because its not, it actually works! My husband and I tested it ourselves ( on our hands of course lol ) because we didn't want to hurt our dog since I am anto shock collar BIG TIME! Good news is that is does work, when you get past the barrier you really do get a zap and it puts you back in line. My complaints is that it just doesn't work the greatest on OUR dog. She isn't overly fluffy. She is an average sized Malamute but not a big wooly one, and it doesn't seem to affect her to much. She definitely feels it and will step back most times but sometimes she just keeps going, as if it doesn't affect her at all. The instructions say its for dogs 8 lbs and up. In my opinion 8 lbs is FAR too small for this, borderline abusive I would say, but its also not overly effective for large breed dogs like our Malamute. So we tested it out on our good dog, the one that doesn't run out of the yard and he is about a 55-60 pound Shar pei and it seems to work perfectly on his size. He doesn't leave the yard usually so we had to coax him out towards the sidewalk ( yes I felt like a real jerk for doing that but I had to to test it ) and he would stop at the barrier and back up. So yes, this does work BUT its not for small dogs and not for very large dogs. Another thing is that the barrier unit itself is quite large! About the size of a gallon of milk so its not some little counter unit, it will need a special place of its own since its a space stealer and not nice to look at ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 4 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

works great

11/25/2014
By ,
barnegat,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying I have always wanted to buy a containment system for my dog, if I don't watch her at all times she will roam off she doesn't go to far but I still worry about her. We started to set up the system it comes with 50 boundary flags and covers 90 feet in any direction from the receiver there's no wires to have to worry about the collar is waterproof so if there out in the rain you don't have to worry about that either. It took about 1:30 minutes to set up, placing the flags in the boundary area then you have to test the collar to make sure it's working in the area it takes up to 15 days for you to be confident that the system is working for your dog. It did take a lot to setup and and to train my dog about the tones to puts out but eventually she did learn to stay in side the flags , the The wireless fence Transmitter has to be placed inside like at a window works great it's not waterproof. One of the downsides is when it comes to mowing the grass it gets tuff to mow around them I mean there are 50 flags so that takes a lot of effort for my husband to do but when it comes to our dog shes worth it. The Guardian is well worth the money to have a safe dog and to give you peace of mind.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

easy fence for pets

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I set this up in no time , just read the book before you start . You will need to think ahead about any cars parked near by or if you have a metal building close by , they can mess up your signal some . Set it up and tack the collar in hand checking form the beep sound before putting it on your pet .Then walk your pet around so that they will know where and when to stop .
My dog is blind and he learned by our second time around the yard when to STOP ! He now knows what the sound means . We were having to keep him on a long leash but now he can roam around the yard and is alot happier.
We had the under ground fence before and it was ok after you got it all set up .But with this you can take it with you on camping trips or for overnight stays at friends homes.
Great idea and it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

(e.g. A very helpful product)

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System is a great product. I live in a rural area where no one fences their yards including me. I have a Yorkie Poo. Her name is Sadie and she loves to play in the yard after being in the house all day long. I was always afraid that she would run away or run in the streets and get hurt. The wireless system allowed her to run all over the yard and when she got close to the flagged areas she instantly turned around. This system worked out great for me and Sadie. It's easy to put together and Sadie didn't mind the collar. I don't think she really knew it was there. I can confidently let her go outside and know she's in the yard. This us a wonderful product it's like having an invisible fence up. This is perfect for someone that doesn't have a fence, live by the highways or an unruly dog that likes to wonder the neighborhood.the collar is great for a small or big dog. It's not too bulky. Soon I'm hoping Sadie won't need the collar that the wireless containment system will train her to stay within her boundaries. So this product serves as a dog trainer also. It's great. Sadie's happy and enjoying the cool weather free to run around the yard without me screaming her name to come back in the yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 7 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

worked as stated

11/23/2014
By ,
Plattsmouth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to set up. I was worried it wouldn't work on my 10 lbs yorkie who is very hard headed...but he now will not leave the yard. When he gets close to the boundary zone he received a static correction and turns right around. I recommend this product to anyone with out a fenced in yard who wants to keep their dogs safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:Yes
Free sample received:Yes
0points
Review 8 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

For cats too!

11/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though most people buy this to keep their dogs contained in an area that does not have a physical fence it can work for cats too if the cat is at least 8 pounds and can wear the collar. It does not work unless the pet is wearing the collar. But cats are a tad more difficult to train to it. We are still trying to get Sammy used to it. We got this hoping to keep our cat Sammy from jumping our privacy fence and running out in the street. If he did not head straight for the street we would let him run free more but he is stupid so he is not allowed to roam any more. Plus there are all sorts of wild animals that roam around this neighbor hood at night that would gobble him up. So we thought this invisible fence might work for him.
It took us about 2 hours of time installing it. And you need to really read the directions carefully before you do install it. It is not a project you can just jump into and get done with out doing some reading first.
Also, it takes about 2 to three weeks to train your pet to get used to it. This takes time and patients so don't think this is going to be something that is going to happen in one day. You also can order more collars for it if you have more than one pet you want to keep inside it. It covers a half acre so that is a lot of room for your pest to roam freely in.
It works by giving them a warning sound first in their collar then if they keep moving toward the fence line they get what is referred to as a "correction" which is a little static shock. You can adjust the level of this little shock too.
Really its a fantastic way of keeping your pet from running out in the street if you don't have a physical fence around your yard. And if you move you just pack it up and take it with you. There are two tutorial videos on YouTube that shows how to install this system and how to train your pet for it. they are made by the Pet Safe company that makes this product.
They are at these links…
Petsafe Wireless Pet Containment System How to set up and install
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ksc2JCLjD8
PetSafe® Training Your Dog: PetSafe Containment System
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGga8Fx5RZU
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 9 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

Different way to use wireless containment for pets

11/15/2014
By ,
Adirondack Mtns, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finally received this, this morning. All parts were as stated on box. The instructions were a little confusing at first, but after playing around with the transmitter, I finally got the hang of it.
I did not like the fact that the transmitter could not be put outside due to weather considerations or in a container due to overheating considerations. I would like to just contain the dog to the back yard and not have my house in the "containment area" as the transmitter has to be at the center of the "containment area".
Set up was fairly easy, once I understood the instructions. We have 2 dogs and 1 collar, so until we get a 2nd collar, training will be separate for each dog. We followed the directions for fitting the collar to 1 dog (they are 2 different sizes, hence the need for 2nd collar). This was fairly easy as the dog has short hair.
Marking the containment area was a little tricky. 50 flags are a LOT of flags to have to place. The first couple were the most difficult to place; but once we got the hang of it (using the 2-person method) it went better.
Total time about 70 to 75 minutes to set up transmitter, place flags and measure collar.
Today was only day 1 of training. Dog was excited at first as he is used to being on a chain run with very little range to move in the yard, only a certain amount of feet either side of the run. He was a little surprised at the correction of the collar; but with some encouragement, we were able to do 2 flags before he refused to do any more, laying down in the containment zone far away from the flags/boundary.
The transmitter and collar seem very sturdy and well made. So far the transmitter and collar work well and as stated in the instructions/training manual. Time will tell if we can train our dogs to stay in the yard this way; they are only 2 years old so still puppies sort of, so we will have to be consistent and watch them.
I cannot take pictures at this time as I have no digital camera and laptop camera does not take clear still pictures. Overall pretty good value for the price, easier to set up than a buried wire system, and once you get used to the way the transmitter and collar work is pretty easy to set up and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

I like this product

03/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Boston terrier. He was esy to train with this system and I feel totally comfortable with him outside using this system. He loves to play with people and used to run to anyone who would call. Now he stops at the street as he knows his boundry.
I wish the batteries would last longer. I have had this for over a year now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Review 11 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

works great

06/08/2008
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have had this fence for about 6 months
my dog was afraid of it at first but now knows where he can and can't go. he has never tried to go through since the first time. the batteries don't last long though. he loves to be outside and i feel safe with this fence
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Guardian Wireless Pet Containment System

not helpful

01/03/2008
By ,
ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this did not from day one for my dog, direction said to set it on 2, she is so scared I can't get her her to stop shaking.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-15points