Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

The VIZIO 47" 1080P LCD HDTV makes a great centerpiece for any home theater or gaming system. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the VIZIO 47" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation94%68 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Vizio #1 in USA

01/27/2008
By ,
Pawleys Island, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I also spent time looking at TVs but not overdoing it. Sony was not on my list only because of price. I'm not new to HDTVs, I own a Westinghouse 32in I got from Best Buy 2 yrs ago for 1149.00. At first the 32 in my entertainment room looked big then as time went by it starded to look smaller & smaller. I decided to upgrade. I wanted a 1080P Full HD TV. I have a PS3 & I wanted to get the full atvantage out of it. I also own a Wii, and 360. I wanted to go with a 52in but I didn't want to spend over 2 grand for one. so I decided to go with a 46 or 47in. Vizio has a 52in but that model is a Costco model & it was an older model. My friend was also looking for his first HDTV. I already new a little about Vizio so I pushed him to get the 42in Vizio from Walmart, not the Sanyo that he was looking at. I went with him to get the 42in, while wating on him to buy the TV I saw the 47in I fell for it that first time I saw it. 1080P Full HD, HDMI 1.3, Price. Well enough with that. I got the HDTV on 1/25/08. I went to Walmart at 2:30 AM right after my income tax checks were direct deposited. The box measurements on the website are not correct because I measured from what they had against my trunk size. It would have made it if the measurement were right. Well the box was bigger so I had to take it out the box to get it in the trunk. Heavy TV. Got it home I put it on the stand, Oh my that TV is massive in a smaller room. Now that it's all set up (no Problems) I was able to view it in my house, vs in store. Hooked up with HDMI with HV channels it is out of this world, hooked up with Componet not that bad. Regular channels not toat good but I'm not worried about that because it will all turn HD quality by Feb 2009. Everyone looking for HDTVs you need to add Vizio next to your Sony, Sharp, Samsung, etc. list. Then the next thing to do is cross off all except Vizio and go buy one, you will enjoy. I sure do & I still have plenty mony left over from my Income Taxes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

1080p at a great price!

11/26/2007
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The VW47LF represent's a new line of LCD models from Vizio. Unlike the GV line, the speakers aren't removable and there is no "piano-black" finish on the screen's frame. In my opinion, the newer frame is much better looking, since the shiny frame on the previous model was a fingerprint/dust magnet.
The speakers aren't removable but they are quite small and their complements the overall look quite nicely. In other words: you can still use your stereo speakers and still have a great looking TV.
The overall performance was quite good, with black levels being a bit more accurate than on previous Vizio's LCDs. The addition of a third HDMI input is quite welcomed, and so is the redesigned remote and on-screen menu/guide.
Even at 8ms response time, there isn't any noticeable trail/ghosting on fast moving pics, so those concerned at that shouldn't be. My only gripe with the set is that it was extremely hard to find one locally, unless I settled for a floor model (with no discount!), so I had to "travel" about 40mi to get one.
I highly recommend this set for anyone wanting a great looking set with excellent picture quality and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF
12/01/2007
By ,
Cape May, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never having a LCD or knowing anything about them or even considering buying one at the time of purchase, I spoke with a representative of WalMart while just browsing the store. I was considering the purchase of a LCD, but only when the right deal came along. He talked me into this purchase at the price of roughly $1400. This is an absolutely awesome set! At first, I was somewhat disappointed with the picture as it appeared blurred and any adjustment to it did not seem to work on it. After having adjustments made by a friend who is knowledgable w/this stuff, the picture quality is perfect, crisp & clear and there are so many other features/qualities w/this set. My friend has a Sharp 46" which he paid close to 2800. for, I see absolutely no difference! At total costs of $1524. (cost of set + taxes + warranty), for this set, this was the right deal for me. I am absolutely thrilled with everything about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Hope I can Help

12/27/2007
By ,
Hammondsport, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent about a year searching for a TV so I hope this review will help you in the selection of your HDTV.
First if your a person who hates waiting for a sale to buy something, this TV is for you. I hate buying from companies such as Best Buy or Circuit City because the product might be much cheaper the next weekend.
Why I selected this TV: Its quite simple, it's the highest quality at the best price. It's 1080P (the highest definition to date), it has 3 HDMI inputs, and it's HD integrated which means it'll receive digital broadcast with-out the use of expensive HD cable/sattelite boxes. Its also a very simple TV without a bunch useless confusing feature.
About six months ago I was all set to purchase Vizio's other 47" TV with the Gallevia label (at Sams Club), but I didn't have the money. It was a blessing in disguise becaus this TV is essentially the same. It doesn't have detachable speakers or Picture in Picture like the Gallevia, but I don't care.
Why I selected Vizio: It's quite simple VIZIO ONLY MAKES TVS! Its their specialty, and right now they make more LCDs than any other company. I know several people with Vizio TVs that have no complaints.
Why I purchased at Wal Mart: $78 bucks, the cost of an additional service plan. Plus Wal Mart never has sales so don't worry about your TV being half price next week.
Why LCD instead of Plasma: Plasmas have a better picture and they cost less, but you can't turn them on their side or move them very much. Plasmas also have issues with glare.
Issues with my TV: I have very few complaints. My main issues are the black levels. Black simply isn't black enough. This, however, is a common problem with LCDs. The TV doesn't have Picture in Picture, I would never use it but some people might like it. The standard definition (480i) isn't that good, but I've never seen standard def on other brands so I have no comparison. Also the colors arent as nice as some of the more expensive TVs (this problem isn't worth hundreds of dollars more though).
Buy this TV if your looking for a big high quality HDTV at a low price.
Dont buy this TV if you don't have any HD sources. Don't buy this TV if you like lots of features such as PIP.
I hope you find my input useful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 5 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Tuning required for best image

12/25/2007
By ,
Sarasota, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would like to help Vizio buyers to obtain the best quality image possible. Upon initial warm-up my VW47LF was sadly hampered by a blurred screen. To correct the image use the following settings:Set picture to Custom mode. Set Backlight between 30 and 60. Set Contrast to 54; Brightness 51-55; Color 30-35; Tint -6 to-4; Sharpness +4; Color Temp to Custom: Red 133; Green 126; Blue 106.
Advanced Video: DNR OFF; Black level extender ON; White Peak ON; CTI OFF; Flesh tone ON; Adaptive Luma OFF. These settings have been verified by electronic means. I suggest that you make very slight changes to these settings to suit your personal preferences. You might want to increase the Color levels, for example. Enjoy this
oustanding value from Wal-Mart. I know I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Vizio 47" 1080p LCD VW47LF

11/22/2007
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To start off, this is the 3rd Vizio that I have purchased. So far, I absolutely love this TV even more so than the previous 2 Vizio's that I have owned.
The sets that I had before this one were a 37" and a 42". I don’t remember the exact models numbers otherwise I would post them.
Next I will talk about the features of the TV. The few things that sold me on it were as follows.
The PQ (picture quality) is awesome. I run an XBOX 360 HD DVD player that puts out a 1080i signal and I have a PS3 that I use for Blu-ray movies solely and it puts out 1080p/24. Watching movies on it are extremely enjoyable. The TV is full 1080p/24, as were my last 2 were only 1080i.
This TV does not have Picture in Picture like the last 2 Vizio's that I have had. PIP isn’t a very big deal to me. It was a feature that I never used and didn’t really care if I had it or not.
It has 3 HDMI 1.3 inputs so that is another thing that upgraded on this model.
The set also has a built-in digital tuner, which I wanted. It also has the QAM tuner, which I love. It automatically decrypts digital cable signals. I do not have digital cable and it picks up 119 digital cable channels. I get about 60 regular channels, about 50 some odd Music Choice channels, and 3 channels that are in full HD. They are CBS HD, Discovery Channel HD, and TNT HD. All are absolutely free and I do not even pay for standard cable.
This TV is also full 1080p through the RBG input. It is very nice if you plan on ever using it as a monitor.
The remote for the TV has a nice look but doesn’t have near as many features as the last 2 sets that I have owned, another thing that is not a very big deal to me.
The Menu is very user friendly and easy to use. Initial set-up is a breeze. It prompts you for set-up immediately upon first use.
I also did quite a bit of research on the Product Protection plan that Wal-Mart offers. Vizio guarantees their TV's for a 1-year period starting from the purchase date. They will fix any TV in home if it is 30" or larger. The Wal-Mart Buyer Protection Program for this TV costs roughly $78 and lasts for 2 years. It starts immediately after your 1-year manufacturer's warranty ends, which is what sold me on it. So basically, you are getting 3 years of warranty for $78. Wal-Mart also offers a 3-year plan but I don’t know how much it costs and I believe you have to call them over the phone to purchase that plan but I’m not really for sure.
I hope this review is helpful to anyone considering purchasing this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

VIZIO 47 inch is Phenominal!

12/26/2007
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical at first about purchasing this TV because I was not familiar with the name VIZIO. I first saw the name VIZIO at Best Buy when I was doing my research on LCD flat panels. But when I saw this TV on Wal-Mart’s website, I was pleasantly surprised at all the features on it, 1080p, full HD, built-in digital tuner, etc, and then the Wal-Mart price for a 47 inch, I WAS COMPLETELY SOLD!!!
I purchased it on-line and requested the Wal-Mart “Site to Store” option that offers “free shipping”, which turned out to be the best transaction ever. It was a very smooth transaction and took about 10 to 15 minutes for me to take it out of the store. No long lines and hassle free! The Wal-Mart reps were very professional and pleasant to work with. When I got the TV home, I opened the box and turned it on. Using the manufactures easy on-screen set-up instructions, I had it set-up in about 15 minutes. I didn’t have to change the settings, the manufactures settings were perfect! The picture quality was very nice, better than I expected. The following day, I had my cable company add the HD box and WOLLA, the picture quality was extraordinary! I love this set so much, I plan to purchase the VIZIO 42 inch LCD at Wal-Mart for another room.
The cable reps showed me how different regular digital cable channels look compared to the HD channels. What a tremendous difference! The HD channels are crisp and crystal clear, life like. If you want to get the full HD benefits of this TV, please be sure to get the HD service from your local cable and/or satellite company. You will be so glad you did because there is a huge difference between the two. You will have to also buy a HDMI cable (I also purchased a HDMI cable at Wal-Mart) to complete the set-up of this TV because it is not included with the set. I am soooooo happy I bought this TV. My research really paid off. After searching for a LCD TV at many of the major retail stores, I found out that Wal-Mart actually had the best price for this model. I also purchased a Philips home theatre system at Wal-Mart to add to this TV. Adding a home theatre system tripled the sound quality on this set. The TV speakers alone will not give you the movie theatre sound you’re looking for. You won’t get that from any TV without adding a home theatre system. The home theatre system I purchased has more than enough bass in it to give me the full movie theatre sound I was looking for. When adding a home theatre system to your TV, make sure you turn off the TV speakers and allow the TV sound to come through your home theatre system speakers. If you don’t turn off your TV speakers, you will get a double sound/echo. One sound coming from the TV and the other sound coming from the home theatre system at the same time.
With the sound on the home theatre system hooked up to my VIZIO 47 inch TV, it sounds like I’m at the movies. It is more than enough sound for a living room dining room area. I can hear every little thing. Birds chirping, crickets, flying airplanes, etc. I LOVE IT!!! You can’t beat the price for this VIZIO 47 inch LCD flat panel, and the quality is phenomenal! You won’t be sorry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Excellent HDTV

12/31/2007
By ,
Central Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to upgrade from my rear projection 52" RCA. I wanted to upgrade to HD but the RCA was only 480p. I researched for weeks and the Vizio kept popping it's head up. Spent hours in the store watching multiple displays trying to notice differences between the displayed models. Did not like the black piano finish on most units, it was distracting and a finger print magnet. Picture quality was as good if not better than more expensive units there. I love the available connections this unit has. I will be feeding it with Dish HD and over the air HD as well as an upconvert DVD-R. Set up was a snap, remote leaves a little to be desired, but plan on programing my Dish remote to work it anyway. I love this unit, perfect size for wall I wanted to mount it to. All in all, I don't think I could have made a better decision. Vizio gets my vote for excellence!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

A great TV

01/08/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked at Flat screen TV's for several weeks before breaking down and buying one. We researched all the features from several different retailers. I had read good reviews about Visio and the price was better at Wallmart than any where else. Local store did not have it but was able to find a store about 35 miles away with stock. First hooked it up with standard non HD cable and was pleased with the picture. Found that an old UHF antenna we had purchased 10 years ago would now get HD signals for the new set. WOW. I like this TV. The picture is absolutely amazing. Clarity and color are fantastic. I swear it looks like you are sitting 12 feet away from the actual scene. The only downside is that it only has one connection for a coax cable and both the Cable provider and our old UHF antenna needs it. I tried a splitter but the picture is not right unless only one source is actually connected. So I manually switch the incoming cable and change the source on the menu. The TV remembers the favorite channels for each. Would I buy this TV again, absolutely without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF
01/10/2008
By ,
Ardmore, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to purchase my first wall mountable flat panel TV for our living room. I found a great sale on a 42" Magnavox plasma at Target. I got it home and hooked up the dish (no HD yet, but digital). The picture was horrible; blurry, actors were out of focus, letters were streaking. I packed the TV back up and returned it.
Next, I went to Wal-Mart and stared at TVs for about 2 hours before deciding on the Vizio. It blew away all of the others due to its price, diagonal size, depth size, options, and clarity. Since I had the wall mount up from the previous TV, I installed this one in a matter of minutes. It has a great picture for those of us who haven't made the move to HD programming yet (but is full HD capable for later). Also, the cables can be hooked up without removing the TV from the wall. This is a big time saver for when you add components later.
Can't beat this TV for the size and price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF
01/03/2008
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vizio has a quality product and at a price that don't rob the bank. I look for quite a while before purchasing the Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

VIZIO Way To Go

12/02/2007
By ,
Audubon NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 2 weeks of researching Wall Mountable HDTV's at Circuit City, Best Buy, Amazon, Tiger Direct etc. I bought the VIZO VW47L from Walmart. I can't tell you how happy I am with this purchase. The picture is fantastic ! 1080P and HDMI who could ask for more, and it looks absolutely beautiful mounted on my living room wall. I am no stranger to HDTV's having purchased a 42" Sony last year. The Sony was my primary TV until this baby walked through the door, now the VIZIO is front and center. If you are planning on purchasing this model, don't wait till the last minute, as I had to call 3 Walmarts before I could find one in stock, and it was the last one. Also the only retailers I know of that are selling VIZIO's are Walmart, Sams Club and Costco. Sams Club and Costco are carrying the older G series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Very nice television

01/17/2008
By ,
Gravette, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first large screen HD TV purchase. I did my share of research before purchasing this set.
First this model (VW47LFHDTV10A) has a 2000:1 contrast ratio as stated on Vizio Inc. WEB site. Not the 1000:1 contrast ratio as mentioned on the Wal-Mart specifications.
The standard 480i picture that I receive from Dish satellite is very good but when I play an HD DVD the picture quality is amazing. I've yet to see a picture that is more crisp and clear.
With the original warranty and the optional 2 year extended warranty ($78.00) from Wal-Mart makes this an excellent purchase.
I have had my TV for about 1 month now and have had no problems. Set up is very easy. The remote is very simple which I really like as I do not like anything complicated.
At the price and the extended warranty its a win-win purchase. I Highly recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

It's a quality item, Clark

12/28/2007
By ,
Chicagoland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We installed our Vizio 1 week ago today. I absolutely love this set. It is our first flat pannel and ancor to our HD upgrade process. The satellite company has not made it out yet to upgrade our dish and receiver but I have hooked up a Sony Blu-Ray and WOW! Football used to be relegated to the basement 40" tube on Sundays, but I don't think that will be happening anymore. Set up was easy and we haven't needed to adjust the picture in any way. We might look into this further when the satellite feed is completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

vizio 47" 1080p VW47LF TV

01/23/2008
By ,
Casper, WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I order this set on 12/11/07 site to store, I received it 01/08/08, just shy of 30 days. The only reason I ordered it online was because my local store did not stock this size or model. I took the set home, unpacked it and tried to program the initial setup screen. I never could access the setup screen. I then discovered that the buttons on the side of the screen were totally non-functioning and the remote (a real funky unit) only functioned part time, even after changing to new, fresh batteries. I had the dish network people come out and install HB Dish TV and the set lost all color and it started jumping around in the menu, finally settling on spanish language and then the menu went away again. Luckly, I had saved the box and packing. I repackaged it and took it back to WalMart and they refunded my money with no problem. Apparently, I got a LEMON. I took my refund money, went to Sam's club and purchased a Visio 47" 1080p Gallevia model GV47LF, slightly more expensive, but very easy to setup and program and the picture and sound are great and the remote looks and functions like a real remote. This model also has a picture in picture, which the other model did not.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Money well spent!

01/28/2008
By ,
Springfield, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never heard of Vizio till I started working for Wal-Mart 7 months ago. After noticing that it was one of the least returned TV's we sold in our store I did some research and found that for the price Vizio was a great deal! I had purchased a Playstation 3 earlier, and thought the graphics were great on my 27" SDTV that was almost 8 years old and knew that most PS3 games had graphics that were at least 720p. However Blue-Ray, which the PS3 is capable of playing were mostly 1080P and rumers are that the PS3 games will soon be 1080p as well, so I made the descision that whatever tv I bought would be 1080p capable. This tv, while not having the best sound, not having extra features like pip, and really only having the simplest of remotes. Has a very nice picture, I do not see any of the blure normally associated with LCD tv's and fast action, or any real problems with the black. There was one white line accross the top when I hooked it to my cable box, but some simple adjustments on the tv fixed that. If your looking for extra features and goodies then this tv may not be for you, if your looking for best picture quality at a fair price, then this is the deal of the century!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Everything we expected

12/26/2007
By ,
Bradenton Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price
Only complaint is the sound is average but we expected that.
Bought and connected a Home Theater system to our Vizio 47'' HD TV and the result is EXCELLANT, Just like being in a Theater.
The Vizio has all the connections you will need.
Definitly use HDMI Cables for your connections if possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

a real value

12/24/2007
By ,
sun city ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good price and a quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

"HD" Looks great!

01/16/2008
By ,
Dearborn, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I'm very happy with my Vizio 47" LCD purchase with only slight hesitation. I'm not crazy about the fuzzy, white, noise lines that appear on the top of the screen when tuning into several of my cable stations that are letter boxed. Reading all the reviews below I see that I'm not alone on this. For me, this is only a minor nuisance but because of this I could not give the "picture quality" a five star rating, however, the "HD" channels look nothing short of totally awesome. It's hard to watch "regular" TV after you've had a positive experience with a large, flat screen, LCD TV with "HD" programing. Overall the Vizio gets the thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for VIZIO 47" 1080P Full HD LCD HDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner, VW47LF

Great HDTV No Brainer

12/19/2007
By ,
Eau Claire, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been shooting and editing HD for over a year and I'm very familiar with what HDTV's should look like. This TV scores 5 stars in every category.
If your questioning the quality of Vizio DON'T. The HD picture is awesome, the response time is great. 3 HDMI inputs for this price is a real selling point. The only problem you may have is finding it in stock at your local Wal-Mart. If they have it BUY IT you wont be disappointed. The extended warranty for $78.88 is also a no brainer.
If your a serious buyer keep doing your research and reading reviews. You will come to same conclusion I did. This is a great HDTV at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next