Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

The Nostalgia Electrics HDC701 Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella is similar to those seen on busy, big-city street corners. This hot dog stand is a fun way for guests to select and make their own hot dogs at a home picnic or party. Commercially approved, it's also a great item for organizations to use at ball games, fairs, pep rallies and other special events. Cooks up to 8 hot dogs on the heated roller and holds up to three packages of hot dogs in each enclosed steamer. Five separate, covered compartments hold buns and condiments and keeps hot dogs warm. An end compartment is perfect for keeping canned or bottled drinks cold. A unique, colorful and useful novelty item that's one of a kind!
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation77%24 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Great for Back Yard FUN!

06/28/2012
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only issue i have with this is the wells are a little big for some stuff and small for the others. I also with they all didnt heat up because you can store Ketchup and mustard in it. It is a little thin in parts so carting it around a lot isnt recommended.
We used this for 100+ people at a grad party and it was a HUGE success. Looks great, kept the dogs warm all day!
For $300, its a no brainer!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

LOVE IT!

10/22/2013
By ,
30113
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read several mixed reviews and wanted to add my experience. I'm a 55 yr. old grandmother with no men around to help out with putting things together. However I am mechanically inclined so the directions which were not very clear were of no issue to me.
I fount the Nostalgia Electronics Hot Dog Cart VERY easy to put together! It was also very easy to use. I did add hot water to the heating table instead of starting out with cold water which helped the heat up time. The hot dog grill was much faster than the reviews I read! I purchased it for a birthday party which consisted of 30-35 guests and I was able to keep up with the demand for food quite easly! Not to mention it was a hit with the adults as well as the kids! In a nut shell... It looked great and functioned as great as it looked! I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone! I have previously purchased the Cotton Candy machine and plan on purchasing the Snow Cone AND Popcorn machines to go along with them. I can't wait!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Using the cart commercially, attracts attention!

04/09/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little cart, and we are really using it commercially for small crowds.
The good points are the looks, ability to move around, pretty decent functions.
Things to be aware of:
1.It really doesn't steam. However, with a little ingenuity, (buying an old cookie sheet, cutting it, and drilling holes, we made it steam perfectly! And people LOVE steamed buns!)
2. It takes quite a bit of time to get up to temperature. (We use an electric tea kettle and we're up in good time).
3. There is no thermostat, so on and on, and off is off. With the "ON" switch, the water just keeps getting hotter. (We regulate it with a thermometer, turning it off for bits of time).
People come by to take pictures of the cart and often comment. We use restaurant quality beef dogs and buns and many people return and buy more, saying they're fantastic dogs.
This is our way to get cash flow and hope to buy bigger carts. But, this is a great start for the business!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SAN ANTONIO
MODIFICATION WITH BAKING SHEET
Posted 08/21/2012
I JUST ORDERED ONE OF THESE NEAT LOOKING CARTS. WOULD YOU BE SO KIND TO SEND A PHOTO OF YOUR MODIFICATION. I WILL BE SETTING THIS CART UP FOR MY 13 AND 11 YEAR OLD GIRLS SO I CAN TEACH THEM BUSINES 101. THANK YOU.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Wonderful... Worth Every Penny!

06/17/2012
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this Hot Dog Cart to go with our son's Baseball Theme high school graduation party. It was the talk of the party and made great tasting dogs for 68 people!!!
First... I am disabled and no problems with the assembly. I used a battery operated screw driver to make things easier.
Second... I put 15 cups of water into the reservoir and used the two big bins to keep chilli and cooked hot dogs warm. I cooked 13 long Nathan's Hot Dogs at a time for 18 minutes. Then I removed them and put them in the warming bin and added 13 more hot dogs to the grill.
Third... I used the side cooler to hold two sodas, ice, and the big package of 32 uncooked hot dogs. It was just the perfect size!!!
Lastly... When the party ended I drained the water from the cooler and the reservoir and towel dried them. Next I wiped down the work space and hand washed and dried the bins and lids.
BTW... If you are having a large party, start cooking them an hour early on the grill and then transfer them to the warming bin.
I can't wait to use it again!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Great for entertaining, parties, and small events

05/10/2012
By ,
Wichita Falls, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this because I do alot of entertaining esspecially for kids parties. I love the appearance. It is much larger than expected and well worth the price. Just like the other reviews have stated the directions are terrible, but those who have bought Nostalgia Electrics before are aware of this fact. I think they would be easier to understand if they were in a foreign language. I had a very difficult time putting it together not so much because of the instructions because its easy enough to figure out but because the holes dont quite line up and the screws dont have anything to catch on in some places. But with a lil help from my brother and uncle the handy men and a few power tools it all worked out in the end.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Arrived dented, and screws don't have holes....

05/21/2012
By ,
SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was, by far, the worst thing that I have purchased recently. The item, while properly packaged, was dented, and the screw holes were mis-drilled. The instructions to assemble it, were incomplete, as well. I ended up with extra parts that were never referred to, at all, in the instruction booklet. I got it together--good enough--to use it for my daughter's birthday party--which was it's original first use, intent. The hotdogs were excellent, and from a cooking stand point, it was great, and worked well. However, that said, it is rickety, and the shelf is barely hanging on the side, due to the poorly aligned drilled screw holes, and the dent/warp in the front makes it look bad. I am hoping that I just got a defective one, and that if I return it to Walmart and they order me another one, that the next one will be as nice as the photo, and assemble correctly. I had planned to keep it by the pool all summer. Hopefully they will exchange it for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

GREAT PRODUCT NOSTALGIA

07/19/2010
By ,
Kingston, Jamaica
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this product for the preschool...the children love hot dog day at school and so are the parent....I have the snow cone, cotton candy, popcorn, ice cream maker and now the hot dog cart. love it love it love it love it thanks a million Nostalgia
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701
02/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the hot dog cart for 10 yrs. old birthday party. The party was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!. The guest were asking what kind of hot dog did we purchased, plain beef hot dogs from walmart the cart cooked the hot dogs great, chilli stayed hot and onions. Easy to clean up after will be using this cart at all other family gathering. Kids said it was the best birthday they had ever been to. We also purchased the popcorn machine, cotton candy maker, and the chocolate fondue machine. People were calling after the party said it was the best birthday party ever. People are already asking to use at their kids birthday party. Great investments for family to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Great hot dog cart

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm overjoyed with the cart .simple to put together and took 35 min and even was delivered a day early !!!! I have the popcorn cart as well and nostalgia product s rock !! Will continue to purchase from Walmart and nostalgia
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Best and worst thing I ever bought

07/17/2013
By ,
NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I gave this 3 stars because it's the best and worst thing I ever bought. Worst because it was the HARDEST thing I've ever had to put together and I have bought lots of things online that had to be put together. The screws did not fit in the holes and when they did, they wouldn't catch on the threads. I put lots of WD40 on the screws and that helped A LITTLE. And a power screw driver did not help at all... had to do it all by hand. Having said that, it's one of the best things I ever bought (if it was already put together). It was such a hit at my BBQ... it looked great and I was able to put all the buns in one of the big trays, the hot dogs in another (with water), and in the small trays I put chili, onions and sauerkraut. Added water to the bottom of the machine, turned on the heater and I didn't have to touch it again for the rest of the day... so easy and the best "dirty water" dogs you'll ever have!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

good value

04/02/2014
By ,
Horatio, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some of the screws were difficult to start but I got it together. Works very well. Cooks fast and stays very hot. Wish the cooler was bigger, only holds 12 cans. Over all very satisfied with this cart. It will be used often.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701
01/29/2013
By ,
Johnstown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We tried ordering this product twice, both times the cart came damaged and rusted. Very poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701
07/16/2012
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our 3rd Annual 4th of July party. It was the hit of the party!!! It truly makes great hot dogs!! I took the advice of a previous customer and bought a cheap foil pan with a bunch of holes in it and cut it for size and put in the bin where I kept the buns. I put a tiny bit of water under the makeshift pan and it steamed the buns perfect!!! I love it! Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701
04/16/2013
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Everything looked great until I noticed the hot dog sign on th inner side of the stand was upside down due to a manufacturer error now I have to take it all apart and return it
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Doesn't really cook burgers...great for hot dogs!

08/31/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I was disappointing in was that the under tray they claim you can cook burgers on is a flimsy sheet of aluminum that is really just for protecting the rollers from juice and doesn't even do a very good job at that. So clean up of the rollers isn't the easiest.
Overall, the cart looks great! Some of the holes didn't line up perfect but they weren't so off that it couldn't go together. Was surprised that they used short screws to attach the drink bin (which could get heavy) but 1" screws for everything else. We will see how long those hold. There were a couple of pin holes in the side of the main frame from where they welded the inner heating element bins in but most of those you can't see because of the attachments that screw over them.
So far so happy with this! It is a little pricey for what it is. If it had a nice flat grill surface under the rollers like a dinner grill that would be easier to clean with the heating elements contained under that surface and that you could actually grill stuff on if you wanted then the price would be right. It is very cute and looks great from the front and for events/kids birthdays!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Hot dogs cart

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it for all my outdoor party for my kids!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Awesome Cart!

12/23/2013
By ,
Crete Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read some reviews and had to speak out in favor of this product. My sister in law purchased this two years ago. We have alot of family functions throughout the year and her hotdog cart is a smash! My Husband and I purchased a bounce house, popcorn cart and cotton candy cart to save from renting these things for our family events. Mind you, none of the above are commercial grade, but if you are looking for carnival like equiptment and loads of fun, I would highly recomend the cart. I have barrowed it for my job at the car dealership and the customers LOVE it too and it has a professional look. My brother in law put it together so I dont know how difficult it was but let me tell you it was worth the effort. My husband and I will be purchasing one ourselves this summer(because we do live quite a distance way from the inlaws) along with a snow cone cart to ad to the fun. Our Parties are OUTSTANDING!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Outstanding product !!!!

05/26/2012
By ,
Houston Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hot dog cart is beautiful, cooks with electric coils and rotates the dogs.... The other side heats the chilli with steam.... Easy to put together and is well made !!!! Very happy with it and would recomend it to others....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701

Not a good product....

11/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit for my commercial business which is party rentals. The unit came with missing pieces, bent out of shape and it looked like it had been restored and repainted. None of the screws matched up and was very hard to put together. Once I opened up the umbrella, it was ripped at the top. This unit is not good for anyone who wants it for commercial or personal use. Very Disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Vintage Collection Carnival Hot Dog Cart & Umbrella, HDC701
08/21/2012
By ,
Atlanta,Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cart looks good but the quality is poor. a lot of dint and dent on the cart. Places where to attach the cold drink cooler and the back shelves, all the holes do not line up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next