Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Shark Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

The contemporary Shark Cordless Sweeper, V1700Z, is designed to make smaller cleaning jobs quick and easy. The 10" All-Surface Cordless Power Sweeper is equipped with a motorized brush roll that sweeps any size and type of debris into an easy to empty dust cup. This Shark Sweeper easily converts from a long-reach stick design to a hand held sweeper. The Shark Cordless Sweeper, V1700Z, is quieter than many other vacuums and features a patented swivel steering, making it easier to maneuver. The 10" All-Surface Cordless Power Sweeper is a rechargeable unit that works on one charge for up to 30 minutes each time. This sleek Shark Sweeper has a low profile and a long reach making it easier to clean under furniture. For the hard to reach areas and the quick jobs, choose the Shark Cordless Sweeper, V1700Z.
Average Customer Rating:
3.874 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation77%91 out of 118reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Great cordless sweeper for quick pickup jobs.

12/15/2012
By ,
Richmond ,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to place an order. Order was available same day. I use the sweeper frequently to do quick pickup jobs on carpet, small and large rugs, ceramic tile, and wood floors. It even picks up loose dirt in the grout of my ceramic tile.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

best buy for a vacuum so far

12/09/2008
By ,
glens falls ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this b/c I have 2 young kids I have been looking for about 2 yrs now on something that I would get my money worth. If it dies tomorrow I would be very sad but I can't say that I didn't get my money out of it. I have to fight my son for this b/c he loves to vacuum but he loves it even more now b/c it is very light and he can move it he is not even 2 yet. My dog thinks it is a toy and when I start to vacuum she goes after it. It is a sight to see.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Money-sucking batteries

08/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchased this sweeper for use in my dorm because it will clean both the carpet and tile flooring in my room. I thought it was a great deal until I opened the box and read the instructions that say that "the battery should be replaced every 9-12 months". This was not mentioned in any of the outer packaging. The replacement battery is only available from Shark for about $20. $20/year for maintenance for a $30 sweeper, and the hassle of disposing the old batteries properly (and their environmental impact) and ordering the new one? I think not! Exchanging this immediately. Don't waste your time or money!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Forest Grove OR
New Battery
Posted 05/02/2012
We have had our Shark for over 7 years and haven't replaced the battery yet! However, we are at the point where a new battery would be helpful. So we will probably update with a new sweeper. Works great for carpet and floors. Highly recommend for quick clean-ups and small areas. Great for seniors or people with back problems. Definitely got our money's worth and more.
+1point
Customer Avatar
DFW, Texas
Not always true...
Posted 11/07/2011
I had this vacuum for almost 4 years, used it daily to clean up small spills (3 kids 4 and younger) and it just now finally drained the batteries... This sweeper is amazing and I LOVE it... I was looking online to see if there were any better ones on the market since I got mine, but nope... I'm going out to buy the same one again. It was totally worth the $30 spread over 4 years!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Exceeds expectations!

08/13/2010
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product! Does a wonderful job on low carpet. Had no problems picking up cereal and other small debris that size. Im going to buy another!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Shark 10" V1700Z

04/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item doesn't deserve any stars. It spits out as much dust as it takes in. The small, rectangular drawer for catching whatever the shark "inhales" is too small and any dust particles that are not clumped together get spit out through the sides of the drawer, so I constantly vacuum over the same area and I'm vacuuming up the same dust over and over again. It is NOT worth the small amount I paid for it. I should have taken the hint when one lady said she bought it so her 3-year-old could vacuum while mommy vacuumed. That is about all it is good for.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Love it

05/19/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 3-1/2 year old daughter, so she could vacuum whenever she felt like it. It has a 3-part handle, so I put together only 2 of the parts to make it her size. She loves it. It's very easy for her to maneuver, turn on and off, and put the handle up and down. It's much quieter than a regular vacuum. It picks up hair and fuzzies. It doesn't have the strong suction of a standard vacuum, but that's not what I was looking for. For surface dirt, it does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jamestown,TN.
Best love it
Posted 12/01/2011
It is a good vacuum. Good price!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Wonderful.

11/05/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picks up great, and very easy to clean up with, with the whole swivle action. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Wait for the Cordless Vac to go on Sale

05/04/2012
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this knowing it is a sweeper, not a vacuum. I had a Shark 5 years ago and knew what they are like. But this I purchased mainly to pick up crumbs and clean under the sofa and bed.
It won't pick up crumbs and will not go under the sofa. It will go under the bed and will clean
on a very low pile carpet. The battery will last longer than 30 minutes, I know because the handles
came off and it got stuck under the bed. Had to move the bed, could be I didn't have the handles tight. It won't pull anything away from the baseboards near the floor. The other one I had did pick up kitty litter. I am thinking of returning this.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Not good

03/08/2011
By ,
South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The battery died after one year. Tried to find
a replacement battery online and at local
stores could not find a replacement one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z
12/31/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Shark is terrific for every-day carpet sweeping. It's super easy to put together and extremely lightweight - also easy to empty. The brush bristles are long, and I have found pet hair will get tangled in them vs being picked up, so pet issues require a heavier vacuum. I use it around where my toddler spills his crumbs whether on carpet or hard surface. It's so light and maneuverable that my three year old has cleaned my entire house with it and it's a great hit with his toddler buddies, too. My seventy-ish mother loves hers also. So, to sum it up: 1) Terrific product for carpet sweeping and does a decent job on hard floors 2) Helpless old ladies can use it 3) It's cheaper than most kids toys.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Perfect for us!

07/11/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For about $20, I wasn't sure what to expect - I purchased this great little rechargeable vac for my new tiled kitchen/dining room, but I immediately started using it everywhere! Works GREAT on carpet AND hard floors, and soooooooooooo convenient! I use it every day, so I'm expecting to have to replace the battery more often than the "once a year" the enclosed material recommended, but that's okay - I wouldn't trade this great little vac for anything :-) BTW, it's also veeery quiet (compared to other vacs or a handvac) - a great plus with napping little ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Wife loves it!

07/22/2011
By ,
Lake Charles, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought one 3 or 4 years ago and just loved it until the dog chewed the power charger to pieces. Since then we've been wanting another one. She says it is just perfect for quick touch ups on floor surfaces on every thing from tile to hardwood to tight loop low pile, and some berbers. Realizing that the whole unit is only a few dollars more than a replacement charger, I decided to buy another one instead of just the charger. Now when one runs down, we just swap it out. She is tickled to have her electric broom back, and now there's no down time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z
12/30/2008
By ,
Edinburg, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am really disappointed with this product. Although it works great and picks up just about anything on the floor, THE HANDLE BROKE OFF AFTER ABOUT A MONTH. The handle is really hard to lower to an operating position. You have to place your foot on the blue body to lower the handle. The reason for this is that the handle is held up with an extremely hard spring; I took the handle assembly apart to figure out what the problem was. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. YOU WILL BE WASTING YOUR MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

cordless shark

07/26/2011
By ,
knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum, i have a newly crawling daughter and it is just what i need to keep my floors debre free. (she sees everything). I have one rug in my living room that she plays on and i have 2 cats that roll all over it so u can imagine the hair. This vacuum gets all the hair and all the dust and just spots of stuff off our shoes from walking across it. It also picks up all the cat litter that the cats track out of their litter box. I love it. it wont pick up though if the little container is full so if you empty it everytime you use it then it works great. If this one ever messes up (plus i have had it for 3 years now) I will buy one just like it. I have hardwood through out the house and it picks up all the hair and dust too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Toy Dirt Devil Works better

05/14/2008
By ,
Logan, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only used one time, and that was one time too many. The brushes picked up the dirt and blew it everywhere put in container. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, YOU WILL BE WASTING YOUR MONEY AND TIME. I bought this to do just quick clean ups. In the long run after using this product, I had more of a mess then when I started cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Lasts about a year

04/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working, belt slipped off, major dis assembly required to replace, now switch not working. Plus batteries cost as much as the machine itself.
If WM wants to be Green then don't sell this product.
Sell one with batts that last, and that can be repaired.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

it does not clean the way it should

04/19/2012
By ,
TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previousely bought one from QVC and it was awesome same brand , model and everything. this does not pick up the way the old one did.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

Nice

01/23/2009
By ,
schenectady, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the thinnest, most quite vacuum I have ever used. It was nice to vacuum without a cord. It was efortless and it picked up everthing in went over in my house. This made cleaning so much quicker and easier. I have no complaints. Worth the tiny $29.99 price tag for a vacuume. It just doesn't do edges so when you do that in your house you'd need to use a 2nd vacuume, which is fine, we have a little dirt devil might might for that which is also awesome. This was also VERY easy to empty. Pull out the dirt cup and dump. I also gave the whole vacumme a couple "spanks" over the garbage can which was simple because it was so light and pulled hairs wrapped around the brissle roller, but it was so easy that I can't eve explain. Recommeneded, especially for a dorm, a child or a person who just doesn't feel like dropping a bunch of money on a vacuum cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z
03/19/2013
By ,
Gettysburg PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is our second Shark cordless sweeper. Read a previous review that found fault with the sweeper because the battery needed to be replaced every year. We did not know this .. however, our first shark lasted FIVE years .. without ever replacing the battery. It finally would not hold a charge any longer, which is why we are purchasing a second one !! Love it for cleaning around the house .. very easy to maneuver and so lightweight.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark 10" Cordless All-Surface Power Sweeper, V1700Z

If you have kids or pets this is a must have.

01/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the second shark sweeper I've purchased. My first one came with a vacuum I ordered and we use it everyday for quick pick me ups. The sweeper lasted longer than the vacuum. 8 years later when the first one started to slow down I decided we needed a new one. If you have kids or pets this is a must have.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next