Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VR3 VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

VR3 VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

var pattern1 = RegExp(".product_id=(.*?)&.*");var pattern2 = RegExp(".product_id=(.*?)");if (pattern1.test(location.search)) var productID = location.search.replace(pattern1,"$1");else var productID = location.search.replace(pattern2,"$1");var link = ' Click here to see if this product fits your vehicle ';document.write(link);
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation76%28 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

SOLID 5 Star!

11/30/2007
By ,
Brockton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here is the raw deal, coming from someone that never leaves reviews. I feel this unit needs it. Now Wal-Mart has had many items that have filled a multimedia void and that had gaps and void in operation that I felt were not buying. You have to realize this review is coming from some one that has over 10 years in multimedia production, engineering and implementation. I know my Gadgets and almost all on the market for the last 10 years. I am in no way A know it all, but in some genres I do consider myself an Expert in some aspects. For anyone that is even considering purchasing this unit I will give you the low down. This unit will get the praise and accommodations from me that it deserves.
Now, down to the nitty gritty. I will start off with the negatives first because there honestly is so few of them. Then I will move along to what works amazing and little quirks I can deal with. First off the bat VR3 is a division of Roadmaster and pretty much replaced their old very popular junk Brand Kraco from the 70’s and 80’s. That is about all there is for bad, honestly. There are quite a few things that I can live with, but would rather different. The audio from any file whether it is audio or video plays while the Gps is working flawlessly, but when u try to change the volume while the GPS is on the screen it changes the volume for the GPS and not the audio. “I can live with that.” When trying to navigate the files of any type if the name is too long then the file name is cut off. They do provide a one line up the top that will display the whole name of the file highlighted. “I can live with that.” The GPS text that displays the time current, eta, and mileage is not too small but smaller than my MIO Digiwalker C320. “I can live with that.” The reason I say that is that the interface and pretty much the whole entire GPS portion of this unit is exactly and I mean “exactly” like the MIO Digiwalker C230 that I have recently upgraded to the MIO Digiwalker C320.
I looked up a bunch of my customers with the search feature on the POI and found everyone I could think of. I used them both and at the same exact time and the VR3 was actual more responsive and a few seconds quicker than the MIO. That is pretty important when your hauling but and it is time to turn. Now I know this unit is missing 2 key components TV tuner and Bluetooth. For one I wear a Plantronics about 16 hours a day and love it. The second is all TV in 2009 is going digital so the tuner would render useless. A separate tuner is my best bet anyways. The video is very smooth and the LCD quality is much better than my PDA with the same size screen. The Mio is a 4.3” LCD and the VR3 is a 4” but not really much at all.
The video of DIVX files is stretched out from 4:3 to 16:9 and no way of correcting it permanently that I could find. It is 3AM and I just installed it at midnight. They advertise 180 watts max and 23W RMS X 4, but on the unit it clearly says 16W RMS X 4, but here is the catch. I had a premium Chrysler 6 disc in-dash with a stock amp powering my Polk and Boston acoustics and it sounded good. When I finally connected just my front speakers with this it was louder and cleaner than it ever was on the stock system and it was only on volume level 12 out of I think 50. When I crank this thing up only half way it sounds like these Boston Acoustics should sound clean and crisp. I was absolutely shocked at the deep lows I was getting and the crystal highs. It does everything I want. Roadmaster / VR3 usually makes junk, but here is where it gets interesting this unit seems to be manufactured by a company called Cydle and the whole unit runs on Windows CE 6. There are a lot of these types of units on the market similar to this, but none come with GPS.
Solid 5 Star, to this unit everything works and this quite possibly can bring a whole new market of dedicated customers to VR3. Don’t get me wrong this is not Pioneer Elite competitor at all, but some regular pioneer stuff possibly. At one third the cost, this unit in consideration really runs a good race. If VR3 keeps rebranding components with this caliber of quality I will certainly buy many more products from them. I expect some units might come DOA maybe something don’t work properly. Take it back and exchange for a new one. It is absolutely worth the extra trip. I just installed it tonight, so no way of knowing when thing will go wrong, trust me they will eventually. There are mechanical parts that have to one day fail. I was just testing this unit, but I am keeping it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Pleased with unit

01/01/2008
By ,
Pleasant Grove, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this just before Christmas, on the 22nd and installed it on the 24th. Installation was clean with the only one problem, no instructions on hooking up the GPS receiver. I wound up putting it on the middle of the dash.
Instruction manual is marginal at best, at least the interface is fairly user friendly.
As far as the audio inputs go, using two different MP3 players the audio level is low and the volume has to be turned up all the way. Radio and CD use is very good with good sound and output levels.
My wife and I took a trip to Arizona and the GPS worked great (in fact I should have trusted it more). Some of the directions were not the most direct route but other units I am familiar with have the same routing problems. At least it gets you there. I do wish there was a way to program your route from a regular computer.
Everything considered it is a good unit for the price. Others that I looked at cost considerable more and I am not sure would be worth the extra cost for any advantages they offer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Insane features for the price!

03/11/2008
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To start with, to get the same features and functionality from a more recognized brand name would set you back between $750 and $1000. Now on to the real info.
-----------------------The Good-------------------
Installation:
The unit installed as easily as any other stereo I've ever installed, and the sound quality is much better than the factory "Premium Sound System" it replaced. The installation kit included more hardware than necessary (a pleasant surprise).
Radio:
The radio is a full-featured am-fm unit with several presets. The touch-screen layout is very intuative and a pleasure to use.
DVD/CD:
CDs and DVDs DO NOT SKIP with this unit even on dirt roads at 30mph the playback is rock-solid.
GPS:
What can i say? The maps are up to date and it holds a solid lock. The GPS antenna was able to track several satelites regardless of where I placed it, so its sitting up under the dash out of sight.
SUPPORT:
VR3 and Cydle (the software manufacturer) both have very knowledgeable techs and great support forums.
----------------------The Bad-----------------------
MP3:
Someone missed the boat here. I was elated to see that the unit was reading every piece of media I tried (including a 10GB USB harddrive), but when I tapped a song on the screen it displayed a set of soft-buttons to navigate with. If you use the MP3 player alot just use the remote the screen is useless.
SOFTWARE:
This system runs windows CE and several software packages, as such it has the same bugs and quirks as any home PC and must be updated with an SD memory card regularely.
-------------------------The Cool---------------------
APPS:
The software includes a calculator and calendar which are kind of neat on trips.
WINDOWS CE:
Let your imagination run wild. Once you read the support forums and figure out how to open explorer its all up to you. Our's displays a family photo as the loading screen and has some games installed now.
A Final Thought...
I bought and installed this stereo as a Valentine's Day gift for my wife and she loves it. I'm installing extra screens for the kids before our next trip to the coast (they love it too)!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Good product but a few issues

04/13/2009
By ,
Russell, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product a year ago and had it installed. It worked extremely well until recently. I have noticed that it is heating up rather quickly and sometimes upon starting my car I will have to turn the unit off and on several times (the most so far has been about 20+ times). it has only been doing this once the weather started warming up again. other then that I have loved it. the SD card function is an amazing idea. No more worrying about CDs taking up space in your car (a down side is the 2 gb max on the car but will be more the enough for most people). the screen is very easy to see details on movies but can be hard to see with changing lighting conditions. It has some features I personally found useless like the calculator. The gps system is good but some of the roads I believe to have been installed wrongly since some roads say I'm going left when actually the road swings right. I am thinking of replacing the unit due to the overheating it has in my car and maybe see if my cars space design isn't the reason for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

VRVD640G

12/23/2007
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed the VRVD640G in my car a few days ago and I must say that this thing is aw-some! The radio sounds great, the DVD works fine and the GPS is cool.
As of this post, I have not used the USB or the SD card but if they hold up to the rest of this radios rep then I have found a very cool radio for my ride.
I have only found two small issues that I can live with.
First: You can not adjust the volume of the radio while navigating with the GPS. You have to return to the radio display in order to adjust it.
Second: Although I have set the GPS time to my zone, GMT -5 for the Eastern Time Zone in the US as I live in Atlanta, every time I turn the unit off and back on both with the power switch or starting the car, it returns to GMT and displays the time 5 hours later.
Other than that, this is a cool radio and I will soon be getting another for my truck.
Thanks for a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Great product!!!

04/24/2008
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Does what it says and is a great value for the money. I added a rear screen for the DVD and it works perfectly. The GPS is pretty accurate, not precise but close enough. The GPS program has a lot of streets listed that my wifes factory unit does not. This unit has great sound and is easy to use. The install was easy. Overall there are a few quirks to the operation, but nothing that cant be overcome. For the money you will not find a unit that does all this one does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Great Product...Great Price

05/21/2008
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me first tell you the VR-3 has blown me away with the quality in this unit. I have Jeep Wrangler w/soft top so it's easy to get in and recently had my Kenwood head unit stolen(forgot to remove faceplate) and when it came time to replace I started researching for a gps and dvd unit to keep both myself and my kids happy. I found that unit and much more with this unit not only is the gps great so is the dvd feature. I do agree with the others on the clock issue however that is very minor when you compare it to the GPS/DVD and the quality of sound that is produced by this non-name brand unit.
The installation was very simple and straight forward, but I have been installing radios as a hobby for over 15years, I added two monitors in the back for my kids.
In closing I would have to say look into the quality and features of the product before worrying about brand, because this unit is that diamond in the rough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

nice unit

11/20/2008
By ,
san antonio,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well it was very easy to install. and its very user friendly. like i read before i do wish there was on screen buttons while playing an audio CD. its hard to read the words along the very top.
i did have a problem with this unit, my cydle (navi aplication) does not work. it wont pull up. i already called the 1800 number and they were very nice and very helpfull. they told me to return it to the store, i let them know that walmart does not carry this item in store, he assured me that they typicaly do. i let him know that i would go look. he said to call him back and gave me his extention #. if walmart does not have this unit instore for an exchange then roadmaster will send me out a new unit with a return shipping lable, and all i would have to do is send them back mine. very helpfull and it doesnt leave me with out a unit.
overall experience: this is a great unit. not only does the face plate have a tilt function but the acual 4 inch screen also can tilt out away from the face plate itself.
sound quality: it sounded amazing, sounded more full and more clear then my pioneer premier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

VR3 Needs to Go Back to the Drawing Board

04/23/2008
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this unit because I have a lift on my truck and wanted a GPS unit to give me a better idea of my speed as well as all the other great features of having GPS. I loved the idea of having my mp3s/radio/dvds/cds and GPS all in one unit in my dash.
At first, I noticed lots of quirky issues, but quickly looked past them being so excited about this unit.
2 weeks went by and among the many annoyances I had been trying to overlook, a new issue crept up. The stereo's amp was going out. The stereo when turned up to normal levels was making crackling noises. (It's not my speakers, I have since changed to a JVC unit and the sound is spectacular). I was on the 15th return day of the 15 day return policy on some electronics. Luckily it happened JUST in time. I returned the unit THAT DAY to wonderful Walmart. I expressed to the Customer Service how many issues the unit had, they didn't seem too surprised and were very helpful.
Now here is what I think of the unit:
This stereo is an utter piece of junk. List of annoyances and problems I tried to overlook:
-Constant hiss from speakers
-Constant high pitch fan noise from unit
-Floppy adjustable touchscreen
-Motor Extremely loud (sounds like ET yelling)
-Timezone ALWAYS resets
-Daylight Savings Time Issues
-In order to adjust music volume you must exit GPS while driving and navigate to your music source THEN adjust volume. Roadmaster stated no fix was planned for this. It may not sound like a big deal, but trust me over time it gets SO OLD having to do this and not to mention a driving hazard.
-In order to access SD card slot, the faceplate has to be removed.
-Awful sound settings - Subwoofer control consists of "On and Off" - Extremely basic equalizer consisting of "Bass and Treble". End result no matter what settings, it still sounds terrible.
-Controls are confusing and aren't consistent throughout different features. EX.: GPS has completely different looking/style menus than the radio. Radio has completely different looking menu/style than SD/DVD/USB menu. It looks like a hodge podge of different pieces of software UIs.
-Unit comes with a widescreen yet after messing with all the screen settings it will not display in 16:9. It is instead stretched with bars on top and bottom. Roadmaster support could not help.
-The most nitpicky of my complaints is that the unit sticks out of the dash rather far. My new stereo actually is set inwards. The VR3 sticks out about 1 inch, and my vehicle's bezel allows for quite a bit of extra length. Some vehicles the unit may stick out much further.
Pros with the unit are that it has pretty nice GPS software.. which is licensed from another company (explains why it's the only good thing about the unit). It's the only reason I give the stereo 2 stars. The GPS is actually decent, aside from the time zone reseting everytime you power down.
Bottom Line:
Save your money, this unit is trash. I ended up getting a separate GPS unit and a name brand JVC stereo. Couldn't be happier... Don't make the mistake I did with this poorly engineered product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

VR3 VRVD640G review

01/24/2008
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the unit for two weeks, it cannot be matched for features per dollar.
Some points:
(1) FM reception is very good in my truck. The stock Infinity stereo did not pull in half the stations of this unit.
(2) There is more than one clock display. If you press the OSD on the remote when the radio is on the display switches momentarily to the time. I would like to have seen an option to display the time constantly, as many factory radios do.
(3) The processor is actually pretty fast - but one must consider that this unit is running Windows CE. It just takes a few seconds for unit to boot up but many lesser GPS systems have a similar delay.
(4) There is a problem with the time sync, but this typically is encountered with older firmware, which is updateable (I have updated this unit and it went perfectly).
The maps and applications can be updated via a download from the web.
The unit does have some annoyances mentioned by other reviewers. The installation section of the manual does not give details on the GPS antenna placement. Some features can be chosen only via the remote.
Reading the manual is time well-spent due to the sheer number of features and options.
For the price there is no other product that is even close in terms of features. It has AV in & out to allow movies to be shown on an external display. The ability to play music and even Divx movies from the CD/DVD player or the SD card slot is sweet. The screen tilts and can be set at various angles. There is a forum on the roadmasterusa for car stereos which covers this product. The folks over there seem to be responsive and helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

good but...

09/01/2008
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product sort of broke my heart, and I returned it after a week and here's why.
Pros:
It physically beautiful. The colors are great and it's super cool.
The menus and touch screen are really nice.
The sound in cd mode is awesome.
The navigator is awesome, and accurate.
Price.
Cons:
30 day warranty? C'mon.
Sound through the aux input? I'm not sure, but I couldn't get it to sound good.
Other thoughts:
I was unsuccessful in getting the sound to be as good as the cd when using the aux input. I was using it with xm and just could not get it to sound good. I'm willing to accept the fact that it could be the xm, but I used it in my other car and it sounded great. Also I installed the unit myself and I'm not that experienced so I'm willing to accept that I could have done something wrong.
The navigation is really cool but a bit complicated, nothing that can't be learned in a couple of hours.
I returned it because I couldn't get the sound right through the a/v (aux), and because some other reviewers said it died after a few months, and I find a 30 day warranty to be unacceptable. I'm going with the jvc unit but it's about 700 dollars. Ouch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Big Things Come In Small Packages

03/29/2008
By ,
Hurricane WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never heard of VR-3 untill I visited my local Wal-Mart. I looked at this unit and thought that all of the features that it offered, the units size, and price were too good to be true.
I bought it, took it home, and installed it myself. Installation was very easy. The GPS in the unit is very accurate and syncs to the satelites quickly. The radio works great, with no problems. The cd/dvd playback is great. Sound quality is excellent.
All in all, I am VERY impressed with this unit. May buy another one to put in my wifes suv for road trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Great Value Clost to Perfect

03/11/2008
By ,
orlando
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am very pleased with this product. A few improvements and it would be perfect.
-XM radio tuner
-Speaking the name of the street not just "turn left in 100 yards"
-Bluetooth
Pros:
-Great Radio Reception
-Very loud and clear sounding radio
-GPS has lots of features and is easy to use
-DVD can play about any format out there
-Can play games on it from the sd card it runs Pocket Pc software
-Price
-AV in for ipods
-Can hook up a rear camera or a dvd in the backseat from the unit
Cons:
-Can't change volume or track selection in the GPS program
-2gb limit on SD Card
-Can't sort MP3's by artist it is either play all in a row or randomly
-Time Display is only visible in the GPS app. You can hit OSD in the radio app the time briefly appears but it needs to be permanent
-Slower to find satellites than my old Garmin i5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

vr3

04/12/2008
By ,
San Antonio,Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product has great features, i cant argue with that. It does have many downfalls to it . For instence everytime that i take the faceplate off, it does not save my preset radio stations and settings .I have to set them back everytime i put the faceplate back on wich gets annoying after so many times. The buttons on the faceplate itself are getting stuck after 3 months of use. The font on the screen is too small to read. When i use a mp3 player/i pod the screen displays no video input which doesnt make the apperance of the radio intresting while music is playing. The font of the street names on the gps are too small to read. If i were you i go and pay just a little more for name brand radio with the same functions that actually work the way they should for the amount of money you payed for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

WOW!

03/16/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok I am impressed, I am a diehard Pioneer fan. I looked over the reviews and thought what the heck, if I dont like it Ill take it back. I cant believe that you can get this for under 400 bucks. install was a snap, owners manuel is awesome, and the product. Well lets just say its staying in the car. GPS picked up signal in my garage, with the door closed, while the antenna was laying on the concrete floor. although it takes a couple of min to load, it is pretty acurate, not as precise as my garmin but close. Great sound in all areas, not the best interface for navigateing through cd play and multimedia but for the price you cant complain. ROADMASTER, who would have ever thought they would make something worth putting in a nice car? update cd is a little expensive but just found it for a LOT cheaper with manufactures warranty somewhere else. check the net. 2009 download, and you will need a 2gb sd card to complete. you will have to get a cable for the ipod to connect to their supplied cable also. not ready right out of the box. but I cant imagine that it will cost more than a couple of bucks. male to male connector from ipod to their cable. all in all im really blown away by this product. I hope it holds up. i will be back in a month to give another review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Not a 400 dollar stereo

01/02/2008
By ,
NY, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Though the stereo boasts many features it lacks in basic functions. First of all the radio has a very poor fm reciever which barely picks up the powerful stations like it should for a 400 dollar stereo. It has no clock other than a very tiny gps clock that is barly visible from the drivers seat. The processor speed of the stereo is very slow leading to slow powerup of the stereo and also the gps. The gps clock also will not keep the correct time on the east coast changing everytime you change functions. It appears the radio went to production before the bugs were worked out. If it was a 129.00 dollar stereo i would live with it but for a extra couple of hundred i would invest in one of the well known brands.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 17 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Great GPS head unit

05/23/2008
By ,
Laurel, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me just say, that for $400, I was only looking for a GPS unit. But what I found was a head unit that does so much more. It comes equipped with a USB port, SD Card Slot, iPod adapter (NO MORE CD's!!!), 2 sets of Video Ins and 1 set of Video Outs. This is a Multimedia dream machine. I have always purchased Sony products and I have to say that the quality of this product matches that of Sony. Very easy to use interface and the options are unlimited. I also hooked up my rear view camera to this unit and it all works perfectly together. I highly recommend this unit if you have a factory unit that just isn't doing it for you and you want to upgrade to GPS and a nice overall system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Beyond Expectation

03/25/2008
By ,
Hayward, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this thing is way beyond my expectations! I had no problem installing it on a 04 Camry.
::: Pros ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
- pretty accurate GPS reception
- loud and clear voice guidance
- lots of POI to choose from
- multi-point routing (usually avaliable only on those high-end Garmin units)
- map stored internally, no need to run dvd when you use GPS like other brand
- play DVD movies and MP3 CD/DVD
- USB port and SD card slot, play movie mp3 and pictures!
- excellent stereo and radio quality as well as reception
- touchscreen system is fairly responsive
- fairly easy to navigate menu
- comes with all the necessary part for installation and a remote!
::: Cons :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
- doesn't say street name, but in my opinion it's unnecessary as you don't need to look for road name as the GPS will remind you where to go when you get near your next turn, and you can look on the map
- hard to read the screen on sunny day but the LCD viewing angle is pretty good
- the text on the buttons are too small to read
- kind of loud when the system is running even without CD/DVD
- the menu for reading external media like USB/SD is kind of hard to navigate when you are on the road
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

Amazing Product With SOOO Many Features!!!

07/03/2009
By ,
Space Coast Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best part about this unit.. for this price is.. It Even Has GPS Built In!!!!
I dare you to find all of these features on a nice unit like this for anywhere near this price... you wont! I love this unit... plain and simple. You got the
4" Color Touchscreen LCD Monitor which is more than enough to enjoy your trip...
Seriously... lets go over some tech specs.......
Plays DVD, VCD, CD, CD-R, CD-RW, MP3, WMA, DixV,
Also has.......
Over 12 million Businesses, Restaurants and Landmarks in Points of Interest Database pre-loaded with 2D or 3D maps
And My Favorite Feature That Should Be on EVERY Radio.... SD Cart Slot, USB Port, Audio/Video Input
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for VR3 In-Dash DVD Receiver w/ 4" LCD & GPS, VRVD640G

A worthy addition to anyone looking to upgrade.

04/23/2008
By ,
Midland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this stereo about a week ago and for the most part I love it.
Of all it's features, the only few things I would like to see changed or upgraded would be the media player. The display interface for DVD's, CD's, MP3's, ect... is a bit hard to navigate when on the move as the buttons are kinda small. That, and the music information display (how it shows song information) could be much improved.
One thing I am really proud of is that the entire raido system (GPS, and stereo software), can be upgraded.
Overall, I do love it and would recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next