Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Black & Decker Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

This Black & Decker The Classic Iron has a classic, retro look and is loaded with innovative features that make ironing an easy task. It uses variable temperature settings to select the right heat for the right fabric type thereby protecting your fabrics from accidental burns or damage. To ensure that you have set the right ironing temperature all you need to do is check the Smart Temp indicator light on this Black & Decker iron to verify the temperature you are using. The durable brushed aluminum soleplate heats up quickly to clear wrinkles from clothing, linens and more. The handle of this steam iron is designed with comfort, a firm hold and ease in ironing in mind. Other features include an easy-to-access steam button and an anti-drip system to avoid spotting. The motion-sensitive automatic shutoff feature of this steam iron provides assurance that it will shut off if dropped or tipped over. The button groove makes ironing along buttons and seams a breeze.
Average Customer Rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
43
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation80%146 out of 182reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 137 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
43
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

A wonderful product.

08/11/2010
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used several other brands of irons, only to come back to this iron each time. It doesn't have a lot of frills, but it works so well. I always have to return the other irons, but I literally wear this iron out each time. I just love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Great iron for quilters

10/13/2014
By ,
Washington. (Pacific NW)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been buying this classic for the past twenty years. I keep two in my sewing room.....one next to my sewing machine and a second one at a much larger sewing table. When I first started quilted my mentor told me this is the best iron quilters.......has great steam, and is nice and heavy a little over 3#, gets very very hot. And the price can't be beat. A few years ago it was reintroduced with the basic features , no frills, no beeping, no huge bursts of steam but a great product. I'm certain they wouldn't need frequent replacement in my sewing room (once every 4-5 years) if I didn't drop them so frequently.....a few years ago the manufacturer added a Teflon sole plate and I bought one. Love it , keep it upstairs in utility room for clothing touch up.
Quilters need the heat for we almost exclusively use 100% cotton fabrics. a great product! AnD a super great price. Quilters also leave irons on almost all the time they are sewing. This product gets a real workout in my home.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Does not glide, but drags across fabric

06/05/2013
By ,
Bay City, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I owned one of these years ago, wore it out, bought one of the newer style irons, wore it out, then bought this style again. You could say I iron a LOT. I had better memories of this style than I am now experiencing. It drags across the fabric. It does not steam well. It does not iron out the wrinkles as well as the newer models. I don't know if this model has changed since the last one I owned like it, or if I just got used to the better performance of the newer model irons.
It takes a lot more energy to move this iron across your clothes, it really seems to have a rougher sole plate, even though it looks shiny and feels smooth to touch (when cool, of course). I find it does not iron out wrinkles in cotton clothes, even on the highest setting. There is no steam boost option, and I find myself ironing over and over the same wrinkles w/o getting any improvement.
Sadly, I've already discarded the packaging, or I would return it. Guess I'll store it and go get a good, new style iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/06/2013
Hi TXhousewife, thank you for providing your feedback. We apologize that this product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40720282 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Best Iron I've Ever Had

09/12/2012
By ,
Asheville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this iron. Just flat-out love it. I even almost enjoy ironing now. I was concerned about it getting hot enough since it's only 1,100 watts, but it is plenty hot enough to iron heavy fabrics. Also, this iron is heavier than most models I looked at, and the additional weight helps with the tough wrinkles. The only small drawback is that you can't see how much water is in the tank, but it becomes obvious when it stops steaming. It's a no-frills throwback to the kind of iron my grandmother had, and it proves to me that what's new and improved isn't always so. Just for the record, I've gone through four irons in two years. The other three spewed water, leaked water, left trails of water on my clothes (making me spend more time ironing to dry the wet spots), and were so large it made ironing small areas difficult. I love this iron. This iron is my friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Good basic iron!

10/25/2014
By ,
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this iron since GE first put it on the market over 50 years ago. It is easy to operate, not as heavy as the newer irons on the market currently, and has good steam with a smooth sole plate. My one complaint with this newest model by Black and Decker is the addition of a shut-off mechanism. It shuts off MUCH TOO SOON--in 30 seconds after you finish a garment. By the time you hang up a newly ironed shirt and button the top button the iron has shut off! This is ludicrous! I can see a 5 minute shut off, but NOT 30 seconds!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Good basic iron

10/29/2014
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good basic iron that does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

A- missing only one thing

08/10/2014
By ,
philadelphia, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This iron feels and looks old school (in a good way) and solid. The heft of it is perfect, no too light to press out wrinkles, not too heavy to tire out your arm when ironing a few pieces. It heats quickly and steams well. The only thing it seems to be missing is a spritz function to enable one to spray a mist of water onto especially tough wrinkles while ironing. Although I must admit that I haven't needed that function because the iron knocks the wrinkles out easily without it. I'm just used to having it. Otherwise, this iron is a solid buy for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Gets Hot!

08/06/2008
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this iron in the past and I like it because it really heats up and gets hot, not like the newer irons. My old iron, which I wore out (I am a quilter and have the iron on A LOT) did not turn off automatically, which this one does after 8 minutes. I do not like this feature because when I am quilting, there are many times when I go longer than 8 minutes between uses. It is very frustrating to go to use the iron and it is cold and I have to wait for it to heat up again. I personally do not need the automatic turn off and am frustrated at how difficult it is to find an iron without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

The only heavy duty iron!

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Been using this iron for years. Jeans, khakis need a heavy base iron so you don't have to keep sawing back and forth to get the wrinkles out. Excellent value for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

The best iron ever

09/21/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best hot iron made since the older ones that you would just plug in and did not have the temperature option. However, Black and Decker changed the "Classic" to add the auto shut off feature, which lowered the functionality of this iron. If you have the "Classic" model that does not auto shut off, then yes you still have the BEST temperature featured iron made. I will continue to buy this iron, even though I have noticed it does not last any longer than the newer model irons. I love that the "Classic" still gets "HOT", which is a feature that I immediatly noticed was missing from the newer model auto shutoff irons, they only get slightly hot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AZ
Disappointed
Posted 03/29/2012
I read all the wonderful reviews on this and was sorely disappointed. It was great at first, hot and perfect creases. Then it started bubbling out the bottom instead of steaming and them it poured out the bottom and then it started bubbling water out of the crack between the black plastic and the stainless steel higher up. It lasted for less than a year and I only iron once every 2 months for craft projects. Poorly made!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

I LOV E MY NEW IRON

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
am happier with this iron hate the new irons. will always try to keep this type of iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Best iron ever! Just like mom's back in the day!

05/29/2014
By ,
MISSISSIPPI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavy Duty and can't go wrong! I don't even have to use starch or steam!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Excellent for a Working Woman

01/25/2010
By ,
Port Gibson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this product for over a year and its excellent. I wear casual pants everyday and its great for thin material. My work pants are ironed easily (quickly)...Im never wrinkle. Other irons do not get hot enough but this does...great for jeans
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Always my favorite

07/23/2009
By ,
Buford, Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this model Black and Decker iron for many years, The "Classic" has always been my favorite and when they wear out I immediately get another just like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Disappointed

01/14/2008
By ,
N. Central Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have owned several "classic" irons with complete satisfaction. When our current model failed after 8-10 years was happy to find the current model. However this one had add'l feature of automatic shut-off after a few minutes of non use. Iron failed to heat and produce steam properly, water dripped from front. Possibly a faulty thermostat, also shut off and did not reheat by shaking as instructions indicated it would. I will try another if I can find previous model without auto shut off feature. Otherwise will go to another brand, I do like appearance and weight but do not want their new and "improved" model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Fantastic Iron!

06/21/2010
By ,
Horseshoe Bay, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Classic finally died on me last week. It was a hand-me-down from my mom when I left home for college 25 years ago. It was probably 5 or 10 years old when she gave it to me. I had to replace the frayed cord about 12 years ago. The heating element died last week. I immediately went to WalMart.com and ordered another one because it was not in my local store. This is the best iron ever made. I pray that B&D never stops making them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Great Iron!

05/24/2012
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this iron today. However, I just finished ironing 5 of my uniforms and 4 of my husband's dress shirts, plus a tablecloth so I feel like I can write a fair review. First, I like the look of it. It reminds me of the iron we had growing up. Plus I'm not the biggest fan of most of the newer irons that resemble spaceships. Second, and more importantly, I liked the price. Our last iron was more than double the price of this one and only lasted 2 years. Third, and obviously most important, is how it irons....I was impressed with how hot it got (and how fast it got hot), the weight of it (some other reviews complain about this, but I didn't think it was ridiculously heavy) and how well it ironed both with and without steam. I didn't have to go over each garment several times like previous irons that I've owned. I also really liked the button grooves! It has automatic shut off, which is nice, although I don't leave my iron and ironing board out all the time so this wasn't a must for me. The bottom line is that this iron is no-frills and does what it says it will, which is get wrinkles out of clothes. It can be used with or without steam and works well both ways. I hope it is as durable as the one my mom had for many years as I iron several times a week. I would definitely recommend this iron to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Great product for the money

09/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this iron and I haven't used another one in probably 20 years! It is very solid and does
a great job. I prefer a heavier iron to ensure the wrinkles are erased from my clothes and this fits the bill. The steam feature is great and I love the fabric temperature control too.
A great product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

Love the steam.

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gives good heat on all settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker - The Classic Iron

So disappointed in this Iron!

05/11/2011
By ,
Queen City NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a shame that B&D decided to mess with something that wasn't broken to begin with and redesign this classic iron into something that totally does not work properly. It now has a Auto Shut Off, and it shuts itself off while you are trying to iron causing the iron to spit water all over your clothes! I returned my B&D Iron and found a cheapy Rival Iron that does not have the Auto Shut Off and boy does this one have plenty of steam!
If B&D decide to bring back their original Black Classic Iron, the one our mothers had then I will purchase from them again, but not while they are selling this junk iron!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Flatwoods, KY
Same disappointment
Posted 05/17/2012
We whole-heartedly agree. Love the heat and weight of this iron..but it makes us unplug the iron and replug it each time you use it. I guess this is to ensure the iron has no power and therefore, no way to be left on by accident. But who wants to unplug and replug the iron every time you use it? We have not time for that, plus it is hard on our back to bend over and reach behind the ironing board every time we use the iron. This was a crazy idea. We are taking ours back.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next