Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethesda The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Bethesda The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

After the mysterious and untimely death of the Emperor, the throne of Tamriel lies empty. With the Empire ready to crumble, the gates of Oblivion open and demons march upon the land - laying waste to everything in their path. To turn the tide of darkness, you must find the lost heir to the throne and unravel the sinister plot that threatens to destroy all of Tamriel. Oblivion features a powerful combination of free-form gameplay, unprecedented graphics, cutting edge AI, character voices by acting legends Patrick Stewart, Sean Bean, Terrance Stamp, and Lynda Carter, and an award-winning soundtrack. Gamers can choose to unravel Oblivions epic narrative at their own pace or explore the vast world in search of their own unique challenges.
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%38 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Good game, better and cheaper than origanally.

12/06/2012
By ,
Waldron, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game is a cheap way to get all of the add-ons for Oblivion. I currently have four races of characters, Argonian, Kajjit, Nord, and Altmer (High Elf). Each is different. Only problem is it's constant glitching, and freezing for playtime over four hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

pwnage

07/08/2008
By ,
rubicon, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
at first i got it thinkin it would just hold me over till the next big game...but when i started playin it i couldnt stop and i ended up playin it for days on end. this game turned out to keep me interested in over a year cuz there was always something new to try. such as entering guilds, fighting through caves, or just getting your skills up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

12/01/2009
By ,
Canton, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is utterly awesome. You can customize your character in such detail from the way they look to their primary skills. The more you use those skills, the faster you level up. You can do whatever you please after you escape prison at the beginning of the game. Carry on with the main quest or venture into the wilderness on your own. The level of detail is impeccable. You can pick up just about any object and leave it wherever, and come back days later and it will still be where you left it. I had this game for my pc until my pc died. No game compares with this one in my opinion. If you enjoyed Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind, I definitely suggest you pick this one up. You will not be disappointed because there is always something else to do. If you complete the game with one race, make a different one and see how different it is. Choose to use combat weapons, be a spellcaster or a mix of both, its your choice. Either way this game is highly addictive and entertaining all the way. Replay value is through the roof! Definitely reccommend this game to RPG lovers. Trust me, you won't be dissappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Good game but...

03/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The game is good. There is no doubt in my mind about that. The quests compared to those of Skyrim are more engaging and fun to do. If you buy this do not expect great graphics this is an old game and as such the graphics are not as good as those of skyrim or other more recent rpgs. The game has a great storyline and you can put many hours into the game. The reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that if you buy the game of the year edition you will also have to buy a normal copy of the game. There are glitches that can impede gameplay in the game of the year edition which require a normal copy of the game to get through. An example of a glitch is that on the cure vampirism quest you will not be able to give one the quest items to the lady who makes the cure and will have to stay as a vampire unless you have a normal copy of the game to help you get around the quest.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Outstanding!!

10/09/2009
By ,
East Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oblivion is THE best game by far ever purchased. My husband began playing this game a few years ago, then I got hooked and we are still playing. After beating the game, we constantly start over to create different and better characters, learning more and more about the game and it's ongoing challenges.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Epic

07/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I personally believe this RPG rose above the average expectancy for enjoyement. It not only conveyed a sense of adventure but it was also cradled it's gameplay into an Epic storyline that no Video Gamer shall soon forget. Oblivion is a must play for all video gamers, especially for gamers looking for a descent RPG with diverse qualities and excellent graphics.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

great rpg

03/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this game!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Amazing

03/01/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was never a real big fan of RPGs, until i beheld the power of Oblivion.
This game really shows the potential of the next generation gaming consoles. It is so massive and with so many things to do I would be dead of old age before I could finish. Aside from the main quest there are "Millions" of othere things to do like cave searching, joing the ranks of the assassins, theives, knights, mages, and many others, to fighting in the arena for glory and gold. Or if you prefer you can ride through the country on a housre and deer, wolf, or bear hunting. Know how hard you try even if you beat the main quest you can never replicate the game that you did before.
Don't even have second thoughts, just buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

One of the best games Ive ever played!

06/20/2010
By ,
Groton, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TES4(The Elder Scrolls 4): Oblivion is great! When my father first bought it for us to play, I was thinking it was either one of those games that sticks you in a cave and makes you stay there and fight animals or one of those cheesy avatar ones. I was wrong- when you first start the game, you are in a jail cell (the game's prison) and you make your person. Making your person is one of the funnest parts, you can make them look like you or your mom or your friend, or just make it look super ugly (I know that from experience :D). You find yourself out of the cell and down through this wall that moves down into the ground with some guards, meet the emperor, fight some assassins, and find that one kills the emperor. He gives you his necklace (One of the most important parts) right before someone kills him, and then you leave, by yourself, to give it to Jauffre (His...cousin? Or someone thats his relative, excuse me for forgetting). There are probably thousands of other quests to do, and you can talk to others (by others I mean other people IN the game, not real people, there are real game people, ghosts, spirits, and other cool things), buy things, change your person, and much more. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS GAME. One of the best you'll ever play with hours of fun that will never last!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Wow.

06/12/2009
By ,
Elkhart, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. Just wow. Oblivion is MASSIVE! There's so much to do. I've had this game only about two weeks, maybe three already, and I'm not close to having seen everything there is to do in this game. As much as there is to do in this game, there's never anything not to do, so the amount of time put in to completing anything but the main quest, as expansive as it alone is, makes the money on this game well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Oblivion: GoTY

02/19/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would advise anyone who has a PS3 or any console that this game is the one to get it. Comes with all three expansions, lots of quests plus side quests. The game is nearly never ending, you can always play it over and over again. Good character selection and overall job selections like thief's, warriors, mages etc.
Difficulty settings can be changed any time if a Quest is ever to hard. Beautiful graphics and the play is actually like your playing in the game. Keeps you on edge, and keeps you very entertained :)
The down side of the game is that it does NOT have online play. If it did this game would be superior. But other then that, awesome awesome game \m/
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Awesome

07/10/2009
By ,
Oldtown, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe I waited so long to buy this game! Every day my husband and I play it for hours. If you like Sacred you will love this. It has so much to it. We have been playing this game for the past couple weeks and still aren't even close to halfway done. This is well worth the money. It comes with both expansion packs already so that makes it an even better value! I think it is a must-buy for any gamer that likes the Sacred games for the PC will just love this on the TV!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Amazing game!

05/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is an incredibly well made game- the period and world that it is set in is so fully realized that you could spend hours reading historical texts and visiting ruins and not get bored. With a detailed main quest, three factions you can join and numerous freeform quests I'm fairly certain I won't get bored of this game any time soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Very entertaining

04/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. This game is amazing. Why? because no two games are alike. Even if you try and do everything the same you still can't make an exact copy of the first file. Along with the main storyline, there are guilds to join, quests to complete and items to collect. If you're looking for a game that will keep you entertained for days on end, buy this game!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Possibly one of the best games of the decade!

05/26/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you get one game for your PS 3 make it this one. You will not be disappointed. The best thing about this game is you start with a character you make from the ground up. Deciding what class and abilities he or she has. There are hundreds of quests to go on aside from the main quest. Much to do and even more to explore. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Great game!

02/02/2009
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is great! I've had it a couple weeks now and I can hardly put it down. Probably pass this one up if you don't plan on having a lot of time to commit because it's tough to play for only short bursts. Conversely, if you want a long, expansive game that will suck you in, this one's for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Unlike Anything Iv'e Played!

05/04/2009
By ,
Oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very interesting. The shivering asiles is totally cool. But, does it ever end I mean the game. I closed all the gates. It ended then it began again. Mabye I missing something. The over all of my opion of the game, it's awsome. I give it two thumbs up.! I hope they make another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Great Game!

01/13/2008
By ,
Naples Italy (us military)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a big fan of rpg games and I'm very picky about the games I spend my time on, since I have very little to spare. This is an awesome game. Very easy to play and very entertaining. Plenty of content to keep you busy and the graphics are amazing!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Elder Scrolls

01/11/2008
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a gift for my husband for Christmas based on the write up and he is very happy with it. My brother has the same game but apparently it doesn't have all of the levels that this one does so this one is better then all the others...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (PS3)

Ultimate RPG

08/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this game every time I play it at my friend's house and can't give up the controller to him. I can't Wait to own this game when I get my very own PS3.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next