Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of an HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
2.902 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation46%19 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Totally Satisfied

04/27/2008
By ,
Rockwall, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV a week after purchasing the Emerson 32" TV. Unlike some other reviewers. I like this TV. The picture is fantastic, it mounts easily to the wall and the sound isn't bad. Previously, I had a 13" Samsung TV in the bedroom and this is worlds better than that television. I don't expect this to sound like my larger TV set up with surround speakers but it isn't bad. Plus, the price was great. I bought this Emerson since I was (and still am) throughly satisfied with my other larger Emerson LCD TV and the history I've had with Emerson's in the past. My parents bought a 20" Emerson TV 25 years ago (woodgrain cabinet and no remote control) and it still works in their campsite so the quality is definitely there and I would recommend this TV to any of my friends.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Cheap and it shows

12/26/2007
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know I was buying a cheap flat panel TV for my 2 yr old daughter. I needed to connect an average quality DVD player and the LeapFrog ClickStart. When I first hooked it up via RCA cables I noticed the picture via the DVD was poor but did not care much. The sound seemed to be quite low as if it was coming out of hearphones....very very squeeky. Again, I only paid 198 + tax at the store. On Xmas day we gave our daughter the LeapFrog ClickStart, so I went ahead and connected the LeapFrog via the supplied RCA cables and the DVD player with a new component cable. The component input DID NOT WORK. I made sure it wasn't the DVD by hooking it up to the other flat panel TV we have in our bedroom and it was fine. So, I have to return this unit but I am not sure I am going to get the same brand/model. The only problem is thta there isn't much choice for such low prices. I may get a 19" HDTV from Costco or the Polaroid at the local Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Not Worth It

01/15/2008
By ,
Marion, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owed Emerson products before and was very satisfied with each purchase but not this time. For me nearly $300.00 when you count the taxes isn't cheap for a digital LCD TV. You would think for that kind of money you are going to get a decent buy, maybe not the best but at least decent. Not with this buy! This was a birthday gift for my wife so when I hooked it up and waited with anticipation for the auto scan of the CATV to finish - man was I surprised and not in the positive way either. The first thing that I thought took me back a few years to the drive-in-theaters. That's what it sounded like - just like you had one of those little speakers hanging on your car's window. Then I though no, this sounds like I have headphones hooked up and have laid them down and was hearing my sound coming through the headset. I was highly disappointed needless to say. The next thing that popped into my mind was my wife, what is she going to think. Well, she was surprised in the positive way until I turned the sound on. Of course I was redeemed when she heard the phrase, "I am going to return it for something better". Thank goodness Wal-Mart is usually good and returns.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Works just fine...

02/18/2008
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If I had read the reviews before buying the TV, I wouldn't have bought it. But I didn't read them, I did buy it and I'm satisified. True the sound is lousy, but, as someone else said, buy some small speakers and the sound is great. I did have to tweak the picture to suit my preferences, but I've had to do that with any TV I've ever puchased. Including the much more expensive and larger HD TV. No regrets at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8
12/08/2007
By ,
Carlisle Pa.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tube TV better. I wish I never got this TV.
Bought it on the Internet. One day delivery took 5
days. There is NO HDMI hookup.
for HD-DVD player Or PC
All RCA hookups. All I can get out of my TV IS 75% HDTV When using HD-DVD Player.
Tv cable may be ok. Don't have mind on cable.
I bought this for my HD-DVD player & PC.
If I would have bought this at the store ,I would be taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Good TV - Bad sound

05/20/2008
By ,
Bowie, Md.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the sale price ($200), this is a pretty good deal. My only complaint is the sound. It sounds hollow and tinny – like a set of cheap headphones cranked up and listened to from 10 feet away. The TV this replaced was way smaller, but sounded great as compared to this one. Besides the sound, it’s a pretty good TV for the kitchen or bedroom – especially if you use external speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

shoptillyoudrop

04/18/2008
By ,
Cranford, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of these televsions one for my computer room and one for my grandson's bedroom. I read the reviews about the sound so I was prepared. I bought $14.00 computer speakers and I do not have a problem with the sound. The only fault I find with this television is the cable remote. I cannot get it to adjust to the cable box. I have Verizon and I called them they suggested I called the manufacturer, which I did. Funai owns Emerson, they are not helpful and not very knowledgable. After phone calls and emails to Funai I was told that some new televisons are not programmed in the cable remotes and I would have to wait a few months to see if Verizon updated codes in their remotes. So I have to use 2 remotes.
For the money this televison is okay.
I would not suggest this TV as your first HD televison.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Decent PC monitor, lousy television

04/01/2008
By ,
Pleasant Prairie, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this set for three weeks. I went to Walmart for a PC monitor, but was lured by the price of this TV/PC combo model on a nearby endcap display. In the end, I wish I would've saved a few bucks by buying a PC monitor of the same size.
I give this item 4 stars as a computer monitor, but zero stars as a television, thus the 2 star overall rating.
The widescreen 1440x900 resolution is beyond what I'm familiar with my computer. My only problem was finding a decent high-resolution background for my desktop.
As for my issues with this unit as a television... Very poor sound. The on screen menus and graphics are on par with a set I bought in 1989. When changing inputs (PC to TV to Video1, etc), the set doesn't always respond, making me press the button on the remote multiple times for a single task.
The HDTV picture quality is very poor compared to a Sony and an Olevia I've watched recently. I've had low definition TVs with a more pleasant picture. Unfortunately, my Walmart did not have one of these units on display to see the poor picture quality before buying it.
On top of my issues with the product, I'm also turned off by the fact Emerson's customer service department never responded to a question I sent on their website's support form.
If all you need is a PC monitor, this works well, but you can find a monitor of the same size without the TV guts at a lower price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Great, especially for a free tv

05/07/2008
By ,
Charleston, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I won this TV through a local promotion at WCIV ABC news 4. When I was notified of winning it, and before picking it up, I searched it and found it here on Wal-Mart.com. I was disappointed by the mixed reviews, but a free TV IS a free tv. When I brought it home I promptly connected it. I connected it to my DirecTV using S-video and RCA cables for the audio. When I first looked at it I was VERY disappointed. i was standing very close and the picture didn't look good. The audio seemed ok. I hooked up the TV using the coax cable to see if it made a difference in picture. It didn't. I was ready to take it back to Wal-Mart and use it as a stepping stone to something better. I decided to truely compare it to my current 19 inch TV. I put the DirecTV box on top of the TV and this TV on top of the box and hooked up both TV's at the same time. I stepped back and turned them on. This is when this TV can truely be appreciated. The picture is sharper and brighter. The blurryness that I thought I had seen before is also in the regular tube TV and is seen when I moved closer to it. The sound still leaves a little to be desired, even when compared to the analog tube TV. Overall, its a great buy to replace our 19" bedroom TV (especially since I won it for free!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Cheap

01/07/2008
By ,
Woodward, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this because I just wanted a good bedroom TV that didn't take up much space. I brought it home and found that the picture was over saturated with color, and while watching a Mavericks game the players legs turned blue when they were inside the painted (blue) area on the court. It was freaky and I couldn't adjust the color, except to black & white, to get it out. It doesn't have enough adequate adjustments. DVD's looked ok, but not like an HDTV should. I took it back and got a different brand which is much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

If only people were smarter...

01/15/2008
By ,
Chesterton, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, I bought this TV and have had it set up since Christmas Day. Being a SMART consumer, I researched the product before I purchased it. Instead of people complaining about the horrible sound, go out and spend $30-$50 on a good set of computer speakers (2 speakers and a subwoofer). Then the TV will sound MUCH better, in fact, surround sound quality. The picture is difficult to tweak, but after many attempts I was able to find the best settings and the TV looks great. This little TV has MORE than satisfied me. The ONLY negative aspect is the lack of an HDMI connection. But if you connect an HD-DVD Player to this set with an S-Video cord, the picture is still great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Bad Buy

02/05/2008
By ,
Maryland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this to use in the kitchen, and the size was just right. As soon as I set it up, my husband commented that it had lousy sound - and my husband is partially deaf! If he noticed it, you know it was bad. Well, we decided to keep it anyway. About 3 weeks later, we started losing sound altogether on different stations. So back to WalMart it went.
And, yes, I know we could have purchased additional speakers. But why should we have to? We purchased a working tv. Other tv's in this size and price range have adequate sound, so Emerson should be able to provide good sound as well.
Save your money, time and aggravation. Buy another tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

I don't see anything majorly wrong with it...

02/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this TV for over a year now and I can't say I've had any complaints so far. I haven't had much of a chance to hear the TV's sound quality, 'cause until just recently I've been using surround sound hooked up to my DVD player... and seeing as I only watch movies on this tv, I've never really used the TV's audio... But I'd say the only issue I've had with this TV is simply that it doesn't have an HDMI hookup... but I knew that when I got it because Emerson isn't a supporting brand of HDMI, so it's cool. But the visual is definitely much clearer than my old tv, so I approve!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

You are likely to be disappointed

12/27/2007
By ,
Alexandria, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the TV for my bedroom. I just wanted something small to watch movies. It is an Emerson, it looks great and it was on sale at the time, so I thought I was getting a good buy. The color is bad and adjusting it is fruitless. The minute you think you've got it, you change the channel to find that the color works only for the channel you are on at present. It is either too colorful or bright, or not colorful or bright enough. No matter what I and my assistant did, we could not get a favorable picture adjustment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Cheap price gets you cheap TV!!

12/31/2007
By ,
Desert, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased at Walmart store for $198.00 and thought it would be great for our kitchen. We had a 15" Polaroid LCD first but wanted a bigger screen. First, this TV does not work with the Dish network remote. Only the channel buttons work, but no volume or power. Second, it sounds like you are listening to the TV in a tin can. You have to have the volume all the way up to 40 in order to hear it from a distance. And last, the pixel quality was terrible. We took it back and bought the 19" Polaroid and love that one!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Worth every single red cent.

12/09/2007
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this product to replace a 13 inch old tube I got tired of squinting at to see. This tv is a decent size for a bedroom. I got it for about 260 and lets face it's almost impossible to get any lcd tv for under 300 dollars, never mind a good quality product. The analog channels will require a really good antenna(try phillips), but the HD channels are as clear as cable. The setup is a breeze, you literally just hit setup on the remote! This is the best bang for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Not worth $287.00

12/27/2007
By ,
ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this on black Friday for $198.00 and for this price not a bad deal. The digital tuner works fine and so does the analog but you need a really good out door antenna. The picture and speakers aren't bad but you are not going to get what it's big brothers have in sound or picture quilty. Sets this size are really computer monitors with built in TV tuners. IF your going to pay $287.00 better to pay more and buy another set and pass this buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

SoSo

02/09/2008
By ,
FLORIDA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to mess around with the picture settings for a bit to get it to my taste.
Sound quality is very poor but what do you expect from like 1" speakers I have never seen a true flat panel tv or monitor with good sound $30.00 to $100.00 will get you a really nice set of PC speakers that will blow you away. So far have not been able to test it yet with HD but with analog tv and pc speakers i have no real complaints about this little tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

Worth It

01/18/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my kitchen and it serves its purpose well. The sound quality is not the greatest, but I hooked speakers up and it sounds wonderful. The picture quality is very good, but sometimes seems pixelated. That could be related to the fact it's HD and the movies I'm watching on it aren't. Easy to hook up to any DVD player. It's the perfect size for a kitchen and I think it was worth every penny! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Emerson 19" Class Widescreen LCD HDTV, SLC195EM8

unsure

12/10/2007
By ,
Schenectady, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this tv for my 14 year old grandson, I was going to buy the Panasonic 19 inch which is a beauty to look at and has a very nice picture. The salesman talked me into this emerson a 100.00 cheaper and I brought it. I opened it last night before wrapping it and it is ugly! I pray that it works well or I will have to go back and get the Panasonic and pay more. Look at it first, its beyond plain.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next