Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%19 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Quality Box but Short on Labeling

04/04/2012
By ,
Eastern NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the complete series as a gift. I was disappointed to discover that there are no episode and information slips in the cases, but I found that fact before purchasing. All the new NG Complete Series boxes are like that. Everything else is organized and includes extras. My sister was very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Great show; HORRIBLE packaging..

01/11/2008
By ,
Geneseo, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The contents of the discs themselves is pretty good. From what I've read elsewhere, this is the same DVD transfer as used on the full series set released in 2004, so there's no 'remastered' video quality or anything. The shows are in Dolby Digital 5.1 and there is mention on wikipedia that TNG was one of the first TV shows shot in 5.1. The menu system kept changing throughout the series. Not every season, but every other season or so, they'd go to a different menu system. The last disc of each season has usually only 2 episodes on it so there's room left for the 'season extras'. This is comprised of mission logs, production notes, and usually an indepth profile of one of the main characters. These are a great addition to the set and are worth checking out. I am in the middle of the last season (season 7) at the moment, so I cannot yet comment on the last episode nor the extra 20th anniversary DVD at the end of the set. However, I have read (and can see) that the last episode has a DVD all to its own. Before, I understand this episode was split into two one hour episodes for TV and that several scenes were cut due to this and they've supposedly been restored into one full length feature. I have had a few instances of episodes 'freezing' and getting stuck while playing and a few times an episode wouldn't launch from the menu. This didn't happen too often and usually just restarting the disc or the player fixed the problem. The video is full screen, not widescreen.
The packaging, however, is a totally different story. It is TERRIBLE, and very, very cheaply put together. As you can see in the picture above, it's a cube. Once the outer plastic is off, the cube is surrounded by a clear plastic box. This box is made of some EXTREMELY brittle plastic that breaks VERY easily. In fact, when you open the flaps at the top to get a set of discs out, they will fall back in your way. The natural thing to do is fold the flaps back so they crease a bit and stay open, right? WRONG - they will break right off with only one or two creasings like that. Mine broke off right away, on both sets I bought (more on that later). I ended up taking some wide, clear packing tape and taping and supporting the three flaps making a hinge with the tape. I then taped the inside and outside of all 4 corners of the box to strengthen it. It is VERY flimsy and very cheap.
The discs themselves are mounted on green double-sided DVD trays that are also VERY brittle. They crack and the corners will chip off and break very easily. The trays are grouped together into 3 groups of 9 trays. Each group of trays is TAPED along one end to act as a hinge. So when you get a group out, you flip through it like a book. This tape is bound to give out as time and repeated openings/closings occur. Each season typically has 7 discs. Each disc is lablelled with the season number, the disc number and the episodes on the disc.
The set I have now is my 2nd set. The first one was very badly damaged in shipipng because it was sent to me in just a bubble lined envelope. Many of the corners of the trays were completely broken off, and many other trays were cracked. I really couldn't believe something this fragile and expensive would be shipped out in a bubble envelope. So, I sent it back. The 2nd set came in a box packed with air pillows. While much better packing, there was still one or two corners broken and a few cracked trays. This just goes to show how brittle and cheap the packing is on these sets.
Best recommendation I have is to reinforce the outer box like I did, and/or take all the DVDs out and put them in a vinyl DVD zipper case. Then, either keep the packing on a shelf somewhere if you want to keep all the peices of the set, or just throw the packaging in the trash where it belongs.
Most of the bad ratings I gave were for the packaging. For the $300 charged, it's a very shoddy, chincy, cheap peice of work that for the 20th Anniversary of such a major show like this, should've been done a LOT better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Bad disks

11/21/2007
By ,
Scottsdale, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great series and a great show for an exceptional price...too bad some of the disks freeze up or skip and they don't carry the item in store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

excellent

03/22/2008
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with this product. Some other reviews said the cases were a little flimsey so I got an album to store the disks in. Since there are 49 dvd's in the set, I feel this will work out well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Good times again!

02/11/2011
By ,
Denver Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok I'm a trekie and having all 7 seasons of the next generation is very enjoyable. This package comes in an atractive box with the Star Fleet logos which is a real eye catcher on my shelf. The disk were all in good shape and all worked. Ya I got red eyes from watching them all one after another. If your a trekie too then this is a must have. Voyager is next on my want list.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

STNG Complete Series

10/21/2010
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the least expensive way to own a legitimate copy of the entire Star Trek - The Next Generation series. On a HD-TV, the picture quality is pretty darned good even though this set is not of "Re-Mastered" or "BluRay" quality. STNG was shot in Dolby 5:1 and you get excellent quality sound off these discs with a good Dolby 5:1 sound system. I have 2 friends who also have this set and their packaging differs from mine: All 3 sets are the same size, have the same silver bottom container and the same clear top cover but, my set has 1 disc per side of the plastic disc cases and their sets have 2 discs per side. The disc menu does change every season or two, but they are neat and easy to navigate. The last disc of each season usually has only 2 episodes and contains season "extras", including: Mission logs, Production notes, and a Character Profile of one of the main characters. These are pretty neat and are worth checking out. The final 2-hour episode is shown here in the original uncut version as a full-length feature.
I have had several episodes freeze-up while playing - so there is a minor encoding problem on some discs, but I was able to get around this by restarting the dvd each time. The cube packaging is very, very cheaply put together and the clear shell is brittle plastic that breaks easily. The green trays that the discs themselves are mounted on are also very brittle and easy to damage. Each season typically has 7 discs and each disc is labeled with the season, disc and episode numbers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.

05/17/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only watched the first two seasons, but so far there are no malfunctions, except that when I got the shipment, the clear cover had a tear up the corner, and one of the poor widdle green cases had a part busted off. So don't be surprised when that happens to you.
Wal-Mart is one of the cheapest ways to get this set with it still being Kosher, and not a bootleg.
Someone once called these episodes "VHS quality." But that's not Wal-Mart's fault and this is the best you're going to get from Paramount for a while.
And frankly, I think Data never looked so adorable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Star Trek TNG complete dvd set

01/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great colletion at about half the cost when it was first released. A must for star trek fans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Awful! skips and freezes constantly

04/24/2013
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am an avid Trekker and this is so disappointing. I viewed this set the first time and it played perfect after that nothing but skips and freezes up. Way to expensive to only view one time. I do not let anyone put so much as a fingerprint on my discs I am very picky and keep them in perfect condition. I even bought a new padded wallet just for my Star Trek collections because the boxes are not worth 1/2 the price.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THESE
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Decent.

01/15/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking to buy it all in one go, it's a good setup. However expect to buy a cd binder or some other form of storage at the same time as the packaging (the green part anyway) is *terrible*. A paper thin connection goes between each of the trays of the CD holding part and it pulls apart easier than tissue paper. That's the only flaw I've found so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)
01/13/2009
By ,
Wausau, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the product as a gift. As said in other reviews, the packaging is not well made, and not reusable. Expect to buy a cd case to hold the set. The case was broken in several places when it arrived, due to poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

Star Trek The Next Generation

12/21/2009
By ,
Bluffton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an outstanding product. You dio not have to worry about cutting out commercials at all. I would recommend this product to any star trek fan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)

The best star trek

03/24/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next generation is the best star trek.It has the best cast.the best story line.picard is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Complete Series (Full Frame)
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5