Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Meade Instruments Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Meade Instruments Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

The world's top astronomers got started with a telescope just like this one, and you can too. A quality refracting telescope for land or sky viewing, Meade's 70AZ-USB is perfect for observing Saturn, Jupiter, the Moon and land objects. A large 70mm diameter lens captures more light, for brighter images and greater detail. Two premium 1.25" eyepieces offer superior eye relief and a wide visual field. Plus, it includes a USB color camera to take pictures of the moon, bright planets, birds, mountains and trees — all can be viewed live on a computer. The telescope assembles in minutes, and includes everything you need to explore your universe. It even comes with bonus AutoStar Suite Astronomer Edition software to help you learn the night sky. It displays more than 10,000 celestial objects, including planets, stars, galaxies and nebulas, so you can print out star charts and plan your observing sessions. You'll be up and running in no time. The universe is waiting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%13 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Not too shabby

04/10/2008
By ,
Fresno, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife gave me this telescope for Christmas 2007. I was very excited to put it together as soon as I opened it. It is made very well, it does have some plastic pieces, so one has to be cautious to not break or over torque these. The mount is a bit shakey, especially on windy days, so you can loose your object of view, but otherwise it's not too bad. I have been able to view the Moon, Saturn and it's rings, the M45 cluster and one other star cluster that I do not know the name of. I am an amateur, so I am still learning. This product is very easy and quick to set up. The only con I have for this is the USB camera, I cannot get mine to work, each time I hook it up to my pc running Windows XP Pro, it reboots my pc when I try to run the camera program. Other than that, it's a good product, you will get lots of enjoyment out of it, but be patient, stargazing can be frustrating. Enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 2 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Just Fair

12/09/2007
By ,
Hatfield PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am fairly new to astronomy and bought this pretty much on a whim. While you can see some decent things with the scope itself it is quite shakey which makes very easy to loose what you are viewing. The camera is a different story, if you DO NOT have a laptop with USB 2.0 ports it won't work. There is nothing on the packaging at all stating this or anything telling you about minimum system requirements. Since I am a computer geek by trade I soon relaized that they didn't write the driver to be backwards compatible. After numerous calls to Meade (after I figured out the problem) I was told they probably wouldn't put a fix in for it. I am lucky enough to have a few laptops around and did get it working, it will take moon shots and land shots don't expect any planets or nebulas. Bottom line is if you are going to spend $100 kick in a few more $$ and get a better telescope. If you want to do astrophotography Meade does make a nice USB LPI image kit for $99, it's far better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Very Nice Telescope

01/15/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice telescope. You receive a lot for your money. The only confusing part is the camera. You have to have a computer hooked up to the camera to actually snap the picture, so a laptop is a must if you want to take pictures. That wasn't really explained in the "details" section.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Nice beginner telescope

12/26/2007
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got done putting it together and checking out a few things. It went together fairly easily with no "forcing" of pieces...which is nice. The
instruction book is not great, but it's not bad either for the assembly. What it is good at is giving lots of ideas and information about how/what/when and why to look at things. It's not an encyclopedia, but it's good for a "Get your interest" read.
The telescope itself is about what I expected for the money. It has mainly plastic pieces with metal screws and thumbweels (don't over-tighten or you will crack the plastic). The optics, which are the important parts, seem very good. The viewer to initially line things up even has decent magnification instead of being simply a look through tube. Who ever designed the thing did a very nice job...sorry, I admire good work being an engineer. It is very well thought out.
I got this for my 7 year old and she is chopping at the bit to use it, especially with Mar's being so close to earth right now. Too bad is was cloudy tonight. I was able to see a few things in between clouds after
she went to bed. Good magnification and ease of use for a "cheap" telescope. You won't be disappointed unless you are wanting the Hubble
telescope for a hundred bucks. I am now impressed with Meade...and that doesn't come easily with me. Get it and enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 5 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Helpful Learning Tool

01/08/2008
By ,
Rensseler, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera, as a gift for a 9 year old and she loves it we would recommend this product.
As I continue this review I will be putting in her input on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

a great gift

03/04/2008
By ,
pocola OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good product for the price. It was bought for my daughters 23 birthday and she loves it! She is teaching her little sis about the constellation. it is great entertainment and educational.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Piece of Junk (POJ)

04/14/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1. The metal locking bar (that is supposed to hold it in place for viewing) separated into two pieces within 5 months of minimal use.
2. The plastic adjustable leg lock snapped off in cold weather.
3. The biggest problem is that there is no way to purchase replacement parts from Meade.
There is no way I would recommend this, even though the price is low. Your first incident will likely be your last use of this telescope.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Toy for Grandpa

12/23/2007
By ,
Carmen, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this telescope for my Husband for Christmas, but gave it to him early. He has no real hobby that he can do at home. He needed something he could do that doesnt take a lot of physical effort as he has arthritus. This was the perfect gift for him. He can use it indoors or out. Thanks Wal Mart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Nice for money

12/26/2007
By ,
oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a gift and we are really pleased with the package. It has software to help with setup and the camera is really a wonderful addition to the telescope. The person we gave it to likes it a lot. We are very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera
01/03/2008
By ,
Champaign, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband got this as a gift. He was very happy when he opened it up. He had it put together (with the help of the DVD) and was outside in the cold getting everything lined up.
Very Happy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera

Great Quality and Value

01/02/2008
By ,
Longwood, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great telescope for beginners. It is of high quality and the price is unbelievable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5