Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

This tournament sized table tennis table is easy to set up: a fold-up model that can be handled by one person, with rollers to allow you to move it without fuss. Brakes on the wheels can be applied to stop the table from moving around when you're playing, with a safe and easy storage position with straps. Net and post set included. (Paddles and Balls not included.)
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation78%28 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Steer Clear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

02/03/2008
By ,
Princeton, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't even let someone give you this piece of junk!! I spent one snowy day (and evening) putting this thing together. Then, within months the top started peeling! Sportscraft sent 4 new pieces (they were very heavy to get into the house), this time I told my husband, since I had blisters on my hands lat time, he would need to take the old one apart and put the new one together with the new tops. After 8 solid hours of work (and he used his drill to put in the screws), it is still a piece of junk!! The new table tops are dented (it is just pressed wood and they can't seem to package it so they don't get damaged). Now the table has bumps down the middle of both sides, and it is obviously going to peel again. It's cheap, but it is not even playable for my 8 year old. Now my biggest problem is how to get rid of this garbage!!!! I wouldn't get another sportscraft table after seeing this quality!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 2 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

OK product for beginner

12/28/2007
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item if you are looking to save $$ is ok. The only downside is that there is definitely a issue within the gap between sides. The picture of the advertisment does not display this ofcourse but the reality is when you join both tables together, there is about a minimum 3 inch gap in the middle which is not good at all very dissappointing as ball when hits net will fall between the gap. I would recommend the manufacture make the Welded Frame Support that connect both ends together approx. 2 1/2 inches shorter in length as there should only be about a 1/2 inch of gap between tables and not 3 inches.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Great Table At A Great Price

11/20/2007
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I give it 5 Stars because at around $100.00 (I paid $98.00 at my local walmart) the table is all that a person/family needs to enjoy the game of ping pong. Remember the paddles/balls are not included (the net/posts are). The table thickness is 5/8" which is not bad for a beginner table (some of the higher end tables have a 3/4" thickness although 5/8" is also common).
It being a "4 piece table" (four sections of the playing surface) which one puts together made it easier to assemble. All the holes are predrilled and as long as a person takes there time, follows the easy directions, the table will line up perfectly (which is amazing at this price point). After assembling the table is level, so no complaints in that area. Really, overall, there are no complaints. The table I purchased did have a scratch or two on the playing surface (very minor and not deep enough to effect game play).
Playback (one side up) works flawlessly and either side can be raised. Sportcraft did an awesome job on how that works (which you'll understand when you put the table together).
One thing with any beginner table is moving it. I'm confindent that the table will hold up for many years if remained stationary. Moving it is easier with the wheels (which are lockable) but even with the basic wheels, I recommend having two adults just pick it up to move it. Sure, it's sturdy enough to handle moving here/there but with any table tennis, any small accident may offset the table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 4 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Great For The Price

01/03/2008
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading complaints about some higher priced tables out there, I decided to take a chance on this table since it was for recreation only. It saved a lot doing site-to-store instead of shipping. The box is heavy though so you will need help loading/unloading. There is a bit of complicated assembly required but once you do one piece the others make sense. Even though we tightened as much as we could the table was still not perfectly flush where it comes together. The tape that comes with it helps to smooth the lines and the clamp for the net also helps bring it together better. Some of the pre-drilled holes seemed a bit off, but we were able to get it together anyway. We also had to figure out why the 2 tops weren't coming together on one side and ended up flipping one of the bottom black panels (that attach to the legs) and that did it. We have only had it a couple weeks but so far we are satisfied with it. The price is awesome for what you get. It is all you really need if you like to play for fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

OK overall; with one major shortcoming

01/07/2008
By ,
Kansas City
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am an experienced player but bought this less expensive table because it would be the first table for my three young children, ages 3, 7, and 9. I will start with the main flaw in the design -- it comes in 4 pieces vs. 2. With a 4 piece design, there is a high risk that the seam down the middle of the table won't be perfectly level, even when covered with the tape that is provided. This means that the ball will hit off the side of the seam and go in a completely different direction and, possibly, off the table. This can be very frustrating. It is possible that I can fix this flaw by adjusting the connections, but I am skeptical it will ever be perfect.
Other than that, I like everthing about this table. The directions were good, although count on 1-2 hours for two adults to put this together. The playing surface is good. It is very easy to move around and does not feel like it is going to fall apart when you move it.
Overall, I would recommend pricing out 2-piece tables before buying this one. A 2-piece table is probably not worth twice the price of this one, however.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Great table for the price

01/10/2008
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great purchase. First of all, it was shipped to the store for free and it fit in the back of our Sienna minivan (seats folded down). The setup took 3 hours. That was the only drawback, but it was Christmas morning when we set it up, so my husband had to do it on his own while I was putting together other toys. Once the table was together, there was a 2 inch gap between the two halfs, but we couldn't figure out why. I called the customer service number printed on the directions the next day but it was busy. I tried the following day, and had to wait 20 minutes. However, once I got through, the rep was very nice and explained what we did wrong(some type of bracket was upside down). We fixed it, and now the table is correct. My kids are having a great time. The table is very sturdy, and it folds up easily for individual play. I would recommend this item to my family, friends, co-workers, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

unadvertised flaws

12/23/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 1 minor and 1 major complaint. The minor one is that the table comes in 4 parts, so that each side of the table has a seam down the middle which causes the ball to take funny bounces - even with the tape they give you to cover it up. The more important problem is that there is an approx. 3 inch gap between the two sides of the table, so that every time the ball hits the net it falls to the floor. I tried contacting the company with the URL on the installation instructions, but the website did not exist.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 8 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

table tennis

01/14/2008
By ,
Ashland, Va
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't mind the assembly, took a while, but that's o.k. It's the gap that I can't seem to get rid of. On one side the gap is wider than the other. I think I would rather pay more and have less gap.The picture on the box doesn't show any space in the table.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 9 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Good Value

01/06/2008
By ,
Cypress, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table tennis table is definetly worth the money. It is not that complicated to assemble but it did take me 3 1/2 hours to do so on my own. Luckily I didn't wait until midnight on Christmas Eve to start.
The other reviewers mention a gap in the table at the net. I also experienced that but it was because one of the side supports was installed upside down which was easily fixed.
It does fold up and store easily and I have had no issues with the paint coming off. There is a slight raised edge at the join of the boards and I may go back and add a support board under the join. It doesn't really affect play though.
All in all it is well wortht the $90 I paid for it. The kids and I as well as all the neighbor kids have had a great time with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

not bad for the cost

09/23/2008
By ,
Belmont, N.H.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have now had this table for a few months and I have not had too many problems. Delivery was horrible. The guy was nice enough but they stuck it on a tractor trailer that would not fit down my street so I had to meet the guy so for what I paid for shipping it was not worth it. The table itself is fine. The putting it together was a nightmare and took hours and hours to do. The instructions were not that good and the tool screw driver thay give you is way too small, makes the hands hurt and I was afraid to use another for fear of stripping it. Some screws didn't quite fit right but overall for a fairly cheap table for my 12 year old son it has worked out just fine. Another person wrote a review and said it peeled but I have not had that problem. I have kept all moisture away in a cool dry place and it is holding up just fine. For a cheap table for kids who most likely will ruin it eventually or for those that will loose interest it was a great deal and well worth the hours putting it together. We actually take it outside the garage to use it and that gets my kids outside playing and getting some exercise chasing the balls. In fact it actually gets our neighbors out playing with it too. Make sure you have plenty of floor space to put it toether too. It is big.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Good value for the money

07/07/2008
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was bought for grandchildren just learning to play so I didn't need a world-class setup that you might see in the Olympics. We used to play on a plywood board on sawhorses...so you get the idea. Delivered as promised; all parts in the box (page 7 of the instructions was blank however...no big loss); quality is acceptable (actually better than I thought it would be); functions as advertised (folds up out of the way). Two large pieces make up each end of the table so you do have a "seam" down the middle...I suppose the ball bounces a little differently there, but our family doesn't get excited about it. All-in-all well worth the money and delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

worth it

12/24/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and great value for this table. I would definitely purchase again - easy to read instructions and diagrams for assembly- all parts in tact and even though it suggests using the provided screwdriver I would recommend a cordless as there are over 136 screws and it could get painful doing them all manually. Just be sure not to screw in too tight so screws don't pop through the top. Table is very sturdy and level- great play and stores nicely. I purchased through site-to-store but would recommend going straight to the store and save $11- Box fits easily into a minivan- heavy but manageable with two strong adults.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Within Expectations

01/02/2008
By ,
Live Oak, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8 year old played table tennis on our summer vacation and loved it. I loved the idea of him being able to do some one on one time with his Dad, so we purchased our table for Christmas. All age children and adults enjoy it and it is a great thing to do as a family. Our three year old keeps up with calling the net shots. It did take some time to assemble and even though we did everything correctly, the table does not align correctly. The other issue that we did not consider beforehand; due to the type of material it is compose of, we cannot store it on our screened in patio, due to concern over moiture damage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Good value

01/03/2008
By ,
Phoenix AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First I want to say this is a very good value and you do get what you pay for. The table surface action is not near as good as a much more expensive table but if you only play occassionally and only for fun not serious competition this is a great table. The quality is good for the price but not real durable if you are going to use it extensively. I had no problems setting it up and all the parts were there. The only damage was a small buckle on the safety strap for storage but was able to make a real easy fix to make up for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Grand Slam Ping Pong Ball Table

01/12/2008
By ,
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an extremely great value for the economically minded on-line Christmas shopper. It was ordered to the store requested on time. Installation was actually surprisingly easy. The directions were accurate. Our kids as well as my spouse and I enjoy playing. It's something that gets the family together and off the computer. It also brought back fond memories when I played growing up with my parents on a table we had back then.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Great Gift for the Entire Family

01/02/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Table tennis was the perfect gift for entire family. It took a little time to set up, but in the end, it was wonderful. We've spent hours playing, and the kids constantly have friends over to play as well. We're thrilled with this product and would recommend it to anyone. Also, the site-to-store option from Wal-mart worked great and was very helpful during the holidays.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Great table for the price!

01/02/2008
By ,
N Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tennis table to have. You can't beat the price on this. The hardest part about this table is setting it up. Took me hours to set everything up with a friend. It's easy to mess up often when setting the table up. The table is fold able and very large to play on. If you need a great tennis table for a cheap price, I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Good beginner table

11/04/2008
By ,
Escondido, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table arrived in fine shape. It does take a while to put together and it is best you have at least 2 adults for lifting. The only thing I wished I had known before purchasing is that the top comes in 4 parts, and unless you have them perfectly aligned and not one of them is slightly warped you will end up with uneven surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

good product

01/03/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a bit bigger than I thought it would be. Not to bad to put together. However, in the pic it shows the two parts of the table touching under the net and in real-life...we couldn't get in to do that. It is still fine for playing. Seems to be very sturdy and worth the hundred bucks :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 20 for Grand Slam II 4-piece Table Tennis Table

Good Quality AAA+

01/08/2008
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Quality Table for the price, strong and nice size, If you looking for one this one will do the job, and a you don't have to pay alot. Love nice color as my pool color blue and big size table. I'm a happy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next