Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wal-Mart Decorative Map Trunk

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Wal-Mart Decorative Map Trunk

This charming, wood mini-trunk evokes the classic look of a bygone era. With its antique maps, leather accents, riveted sides and metal buckles, the sturdy chest can be used for storing anything from magazines or recipes to keeping keys, a wallet, watch, mobile phone and loose change.
Average Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation73%16 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Decorative Map Trunk

not the color show in picture

07/18/2008
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very beautiful trunk, but the map part is not at all beige like in the pic. the whole trunk is dark brown. I wanted it with the 2 colors so I will be returning it, but for someone who WANTS it all one color it's a great trunk. I don't suggest using it as a toy box because it is very small.. it is really just for decoration
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 2 for Decorative Map Trunk

Great for 18" doll clothes!

03/19/2009
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these trunks for my daughters' rooms to store their American Girl doll clothing and accessories.
It is the perfect size! I read the reviews about the decorative map being darker. I rather like it darker as it blends in with the wood of the trunk much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Decorative Map Trunk
03/17/2009
By ,
Birmingham, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this site to store. This trunk was very small. The colors are burgurdy and red. It's nothing like its description. On the website it's cream and brown. It's not worth $29. It should be on clearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 4 for Decorative Map Trunk

So Very Disappointed

09/09/2008
By ,
Wilmington, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first saw this product after it arrived I couldn't believe what I saw. It wasn't even CLOSE to what was pictured. The Old World Map was so yellow/orange that you could hardly see the map, Certainly NOT as pictured on website!
I was so disappointed I could have cried. If Walmart has the trunk PICTURED I'd still love to have it but still for the quality of the trunk the price was too high.
Picture on website needs to be changed!
I'll just keep looking :0(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for Decorative Map Trunk

Great look at decent price

12/18/2007
By ,
Riverview, FLA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this product as part of the "pirates" theme in my twins' room. It is just what I was looking for - a trunk to hold some toys/treasures for a lesser price than a regular trunk. It is not as strong as a regular trunk, but good enough to hold what you need inside. Looks great and it's very light. Made of light wood material (I think) and not heavy at all. I can't say enough about how good it looks. Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Decorative Map Trunk

Does not look like picture

10/19/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was disappointed that the map on the truck does not look like the picture. It is very dark as the other reviewers have said.
I purchased this because my son loves maps especially old world maps. You cannot even tell that the design is a map. It almost looks like dark paisley--just an indescript design.
The wood trim was also chipped.
I believe I am going to return the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 7 for Decorative Map Trunk

disapointment

01/16/2009
By ,
sugar hill, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I fell in love with the picture, the colors were perfect. The reason i chose this trunk was because of its color and the price. How disapointed i was when I got it and it was RED and brown instead of CREAM and brown! Oh well, the price was still good. I just wish they made it the way they advertised. The color is not at all pleasing to the eye.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Decorative Map Trunk

Sad Trunk

10/01/2009
By ,
Sullivan, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was sooo excited about this, it was a birthday present for a friend who decorates old world style. The trunk does not look like the picture at all. It is super dark/reddish. The trunk is a cute product but not at all like the picture and kind of cheaply made for $30. I took it back the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for Decorative Map Trunk

floor model

03/09/2008
By ,
Stowe Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very pretty accessory if you're going for an old world or well traveled vibe. It is larger than I thought so instead of it going on top of my mantle it sits on floor beside my fireplace. It is more fragile than I expected so use it for precious or dcorative rather than storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Decorative Map Trunk

Nice trunk

05/12/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this trunk online with delivery to store. No problems at all -- customer service called when it was ready to be picked up. I was able to open the box and look at it before I purchased it and saw no problems at all. It is exactly as described and fits my decor perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 11 for Decorative Map Trunk
08/30/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The color was much darker then I expected based on the images shown on the internet. I was looking forward to the lighter color to match some similir items in my home. I would still recommend it but not if you're going to be upset when it arrives dark.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Decorative Map Trunk

useful decoration

02/04/2008
By ,
FULLTIME RV'er
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my decorator map trunk, this is my second one, altho the first one has a lighter stain in the map so it can be seen better. I am using one to store DVD's in and the other to store my reading books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Decorative Map Trunk

Nice trunk

10/09/2008
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this trunk to add to my Tuscan decor. I like it a lot, it's a nice size. I just wish the trunk had the map a little lighter like the picture does. All in all it's a good purchase and I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Decorative Map Trunk

dual purpose trunk

01/13/2008
By ,
Barto, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This decorative trunk is a wonderful accent in my living room. It also serves a very useful purpose for storing all my travel books and guides that I have collected throughout my travels
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Decorative Map Trunk

Great decoration piece

08/19/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently acquired this cute trunk... I love the antique look... I use it by my fireplace to display a couple of my favorite candles. (NEVER leave candels UNATTENDED)!!! Enjoy!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Decorative Map Trunk

PERFECT TRUNK!

02/22/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I NEEDED A SMALL TRUNK FOR A BOYS ROOM. THIS WAS PERFECT. GREAT GRICE AND GREAT SHIPPING TIME!
GREAT STORAGE FOR SMALL TOYS AND PLAYTIME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Decorative Map Trunk

Great look

05/08/2009
By ,
Rural Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife loved it as soon as she opened the box. I did have to reset one of the staples, but that appeared to be from the shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 18 for Decorative Map Trunk

meets expectations

12/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
product much redder than image on website. Maps still visible though. I expected the color difference from previous reviews
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Decorative Map Trunk
05/13/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have seen these trunks else where for much more money. I got a great deal at Walmart and love my trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Decorative Map Trunk

Junk

03/11/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it.
Not as described.
Maybe worth $9.99
Got refund.
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next